Vineland, NJ 
South Vineland Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #3
3 / 168ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fine Vineland

2-4    1/26/2020   2/10/2020
Review By: Ryal
Played: 74  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The course plays through some open fields but mostly favors dense tunnels and tree-dodging in this woodsy municipal park in the heart of Vineland.
+ Bright yellow arrows at the bottom of many of the baskets point the way through the course.
+ While the course is mostly flat, quite a few dips, big bumps, and tiny valleys lend this course a rugged texture.
+ The hole signs are helpful, accurate and well illustrated with just the facts we need like par and distance, but...
Cons: - ...Only the long tee pads have the information signs, so players of the short layout will have to find the long tee first if they want to know the layout ahead.
- Most of the baskets are old with weak and rusty chains.
- There is trash visible on most holes. Please don't litter, folks.
- The tee pads vary among carpet, rubber, none at all and a few concrete.
- The course needs more guiding signage in the denser wooded holes within the back nine. Getting lost is possible between holes 14 - 16.
- No practice pin, info board or lost disc box.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole to play here was hole 3 because of its narrow twisty tunnel. It was like a disc golf pretzel. My favorite hole to look at was 9 because it ends with the player standing atop a tall mound of land surrounded by pines and overlooking a motionless lake below. My least favorite hole is 8 because it plays right alongside the park road.

South Vineland was tough for me to pin down, even by my own subjective scale. On the one hand, I can't ignore my perception of how plain most of the first half and the final three holes seemed to me. Maybe it was the grab-bag tee pads. It could have been that the tunnel shots in the beginning were too brief for me to savor. It could have been its bland topography at the beginning and towards the end. Or maybe it was a combination of all of that.

On the other hand, I love playing in hilly pine woods, and South Vineland has a nice section of that among holes 9 through 15. Those were easily the strongest part of the course. Maybe it was the peaceful and pretty lakes the player is treated to. Maybe it was the thrilling throws over those bodies of water. Maybe it was the jagged landscape of those hilly pines. Perhaps it was the devious lines through the trees that make players feel a sense of accomplishment. Or maybe it was a combination of all of that.

The good definitely outweighs the bad here. Though it is clearly geared more towards accuracy and placement, all golfers can get enjoyment from what is here. Still, there is much to repair, replace and rethink. Consistent tee pads would be a good start. Replacing the old rusted baskets would also be a good change. More prevalent and permanent signage would be a good thing, too. Also, what was the deal with that mysterious extra tee pad and basket near the entrance of the park? Is this place actually a 19-hole course? I skipped that one because it confused me.

In closing, I see potential for an even better course here. The infrastructure can definitely be improved, and maybe the layout can be tweaked slightly. Regardless, I gently recommend South Vineland because it is a little piece of ragged and jagged disc golf in an otherwise flat and boring world. Give it a try if you're nearby, but maybe don't rush to get there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challenging Course with Memorable Holes

1    1/2/2020   1/6/2020
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 119  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A very good course; almost every hole is memorable, with a natural or manmade "feature"

1: Water along the right. Not really in play, but it's in your head. Basket up on a rise

2: Wooded slight dogleg right. South Jersey woods, like Doc or Alcyon

3: Tight trail. Basket not visible from yellow tee

4: A fair par 4. The yellow teepad is tucked against the treeline as you enter the park. The hole is long and straight with a slightly elevated basket in the corner of the woods. Chances are good you'll be throwing into a headwind off the lake (but you might not be able to feel it at the tee). The road on the right is OB, and the downslope brings it into play when your disc fades.

A: Currently marked "A", this hole is between #4 and #5 - it's a great 270' alley shot

5 - 7: mostly straight, but tight wooded lines, reminded me of Doc, Allaire, and Stafford. Hole #7 finishes with an open landing area, but the basket is guarded tightly by surrounding trees

8: A tough par 4 from the yellows because the road running tight on the left side creates the need for a flex or very straight (RH) forehand, with woods all along the right. The second half of the hole is easier though, threading through a pretty open window of trees. Very good hole!

9: Here comes the water. Like hole #1 it's all along the right side, not really in play (unless you get a terrible kick). The basket is set on a little bit of a peninsula, with drop-offs and water surrounding it. The best putt is straight on - don't be long, left or right

10: A long carry over water. The tee and basket are at roughly the same elevation, with a big (wet) valley in between. The water was particularly high and the landing area was really muddy the day I played - so I took a penalty and teed from the whites. Still a challenge because you're throwing up at a wooded basket

11: Blind left hand dogleg, but it's pretty open in the landing area, with the basket up a hill. The locals have done a nice job putting in timbers to prevent erosion (and to stop low shots)

12: Long and straight, across a valley. Difficult to make par from yellow if you don't have a big and controlled arm. CAUTION: the valley is full of little vines with razor sharp prickers. Use care when reaching down to pick up your disc

13: Short uphill par 3. This hole provides a little much-needed relief on the back 9

14: Water carry - but you need only about 180' from the yellow tees, and it's significantly downhill. This is a really pretty water hole, and it's easier than it looks from the yellow tees

15: Long walk to find the tee. You pass the basket on your right as you leave the water hole. It's a slight dogleg that makes the turn right at the white tee, which is about 200' from the yellows. The basket is in a nice open area with lots of low brush that will catch and stop your disc.

16 - 18: Open holes to finish the round, A chance to let loose. #18 is particular open - and long, at 792' par 5 - There's a cyclone fence across the fairway at about 100' short of the elevated pin, so you have to be careful with your approach and not end up against the fence throwing straight up into the air


Cons:
- Teepads are the weak link at South Vineland. Mostly rugs, and a few rubber. There's a paver beauty on the yellow tee on #18, so I'm hoping that's a sign of things to come

- Many of the reviewers talk about problems when the course is wet. I didn't experience problems (although #10 seemed really swampy), but I didn't play during a particularly wet time. But if you're coming from a distance, it's worth considering

- The uDisc map is out of date, especially on the back 9. Thankfully the signage is very good. There are a couple of long walks between the last 3 or 4 holes, and not having a map made for some extra wandering around

- The signs are temporary (paper in plastic sleeves), which I suspect indicates the current tweaking of the layout. The signs themselves are great illustrations and include OB. The only mistake I saw was on #18, which indicated the yellow as "792 FEET PAR 3." Ummm...I hope not

- Speaking of #18, the cyclone fence that crosses the fairway is probably controversial. It didn't come into play for me - my 3rd shot landed well short of it. But it seems like having a six foot fence across a fairway could rile people up

Other Thoughts:

~ South Vineland is a very good course with 10 or more excellent, memorable holes. It's clearly a work in progress: the navigation signage has improved, a new teepad on18, the layout is being tweaked. This is a solid "4" if not a "4.5" and it's definitely a much better course than the earlier reviews would indicate.

~ I drove almost two hours to play it and I wasn't disappointed. Walking up #18 and seeing hole #1 on my right across the water, I felt like my round had been a hell of a ride. The same feeling I've had a Stafford, Doc, Alcyon, Allaire, Tecumseh. South Vineland is earning its way into any conversation about the top courses in New Jersey



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Varied, good course

1    2/10/2019   2/10/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 37  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jekyll/Hyde course. Holes 1-7 are tight and mostly short. Hole 8 along edge of parking lot is a good transition. Holes 9-18 are spaced further apart, over rolling terrain, mostly in dense woods. Varied. Back 9 is hard on a beginner, but has some reasonable holes, including 9, 11, 15-17.

Hole 7 opens to a wide, shaded green at the end of the tunnel. Hole 12 requires a drive into a ravine and then back up to a ledge. Hole 15 is very pretty and doable from forward tees. Holes 16-18 are in a sparsely-wooded meadow. Nice reprieve from the woods you've been in since the beginning. No. 18 is super long from yellow and green tees, over open field, need a turnover shot to get over final fence. Not sure I was at green tee though. No tee pads found for green nor white.

Many ponds and the main lake make for lovely scenery. I took alot of photos.
Cons: Jekyll/Hyde course. Rear 9 are tough. In addition to alot of walking and climbing, there is serious water to get over at 10, 13, and 14. I can't yet handle water. No drop zones. So I just don't play them. Write down par+4. Move on.

Course map online is incorrect, out-of-date. Tee pads for 4 are against treeline and play the opposite direction. True of several others in front 9. 5 on map is 4, plays other direction. 6 on map is 5a, 7 is now main 5, 8 is 6, 9 is 7, 10 is 8, 11 is 9. Twelve through 17 also scrambled. Really need a new course map!!

Signage is good until it isn't. I probably wasted at least 30-40 minutes trying to find teepads. Especially 15-16.

No forward tee pads at 6, 13, and 18. Most just a mat: outdoor carpet, rubber mat. Some rear tees have a new, raised pad with pavers. Would be grand to have that everywhere.

One bench at 11. Some logs to sit on at a few other holes. Mostly nowhere to sit and rest. Some of us need such.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is actually beyond hole 3. Enter woods to the east, left side of main lake. You will be on the no. 3 fairway. Turn right once on the park circuit trail (blazed red). Go past no. 3 tee pads. Short spur trail afterwards leads to the lake and both no. 1 tees. Follow arrows on basket pole and trees to nos. 2 and 3.

Despite being beat up by much of the back 9, this is already a favored course. Will know where I'm going next time. So will save a good deal of time, walk less, be less frazzled, and only have to stress about how to get over the water...

Vineland is a small town in the grand scheme of things: 60000 people or so. This is a quality course for a small place like this.

BTW the park is actually at 429 W Elmer Road and has been renamed after former city mayor Anthony Campanella Sr. So look for his name versus South Vineland Park,

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth a drive up from the shore

1    7/24/2018   7/28/2018
Review By: TBabb
Played: 65  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Vineland Park is a well maintained public park with an 18 hole course that plays around a few small lakes/ponds. The Discatcher baskets are a bit old but in good condition and catch well. Most holes have tee signs and include hole distance, par, and a map. Most holes have two tees; white tees are shorter shots adding up to just under 4000 feet of fairway and most holes under 300 feet, while the yellow tees are much longer and more challenging amounting to over 6000 feet of fairway with distances ranging for 178 - 792 feet. The course navigates mostly pretty intuitively around the lakes, through woods, and into a few more open shots. The last three holes are wide open and longer and a great way to finish the round. Navigation signage is mostly present and generally makes getting around the course easy for a first time player. Fairways are generally well defined and foliage maintenance is acceptable, though with most wooded courses, there is pretty thick natural rough. Many tee areas have log benches. The course is quite challenging due to tight wooded shots, long distance, water in play on three or four holes, and basket placement that make you think twice about running long puts. Water shots are fair and losing a disc is pretty unlikely. Elevation changes, when present, are well utilized and the holes are well designed with a varied mix of shots and distances. The park has plenty of parking and walking trails.
Cons: Tee pads are acceptable but could be better; some are just mats that have clearly seen better days. Some holes are missing tee signs. No navigation signage after hole 15 had me lost for a bit. The rough can be frustrating if you land in it and hole 10 is one hole that you'd love to have a spotter for as there's a long walk around the water after your drive.
Other Thoughts: I drove the 45 minutes up to Vineland to play here while on vacation at the shore in Avalon. Most of the courses near the shore had poor reviews and driving up here was worth it. Playing here was very fun and the challenging course humbled me greatly as I shot 23 over par - in part due to strong winds that had me putting several times on a few holes. I'd recommend getting away from the shore for half a day and playing a round here. Great course that will test distance, accuracy, versatility, putting, scrambling, and every other facet of the game!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    10/21/2017   10/28/2017
Review By: DiscGolfingSteve
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty well kept
Many holes that you can practice precision on
Popular, but not crowded
Some cool holes, uphill, overwater
Cons: Broken glass and trash can be seen often
Has many fisherman/women
Has many hikers/people on course
Many parking spots

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be...

1    7/19/2016   7/19/2016
Review By: mthammer
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 18 hole course in the area.
Unique holes with multiple tees.

Cons: Very difficult to navigate.
Park was a bit creepy.
Trash.
Other Thoughts: I played this course just once while visiting the shore. I was an hour away, but this was the only 18 hole course nearby so I made the drive. It was easy to find the park, but finding hole 1, not so much. After that, finding the next tees and holes was a challenge for most of the round. 1-5 wasn't so bad, but a series of baskets from about 7 to 12 had multiple numbers on the bands. So, I was never quite sure I was throwing to the right basket. I had to walk several holes before playing them because I couldn't see the basket from the tee, and I don't think I ever found 12 and 16. I take that back. I did find 12 as I was walking around looking for the tee box for 18. There was no clear tee for basket 12, and I couldn't see where one would even throw at it.

Someone had clearly made some effort to make navigating this course easier with signs pointing to 'next tee.' But, they would only sort of put you in the right direction. In places I swear there were multiple 'next tee' signs pointing different directions.

The front 9 was pretty full of trash. I was literally using trails of trash to find the next tee. The back 9 was, however, very clean, so maybe the trash isn't from DGers but from other park users. There were a few other people in the park while I was there on a very hot Thursday morning. For example, the guy peeing by basket 12.

Overall, I'm not sure this course is worth the trip unless you are right there in Vineland.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite when dry

5+    4/25/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: Glenn murray
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, good mix of open and wooded holes, beautiful park built around a large lake, great variety of holes
Cons: Need signs to show where hole one is, could use yardage signs for holes,
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to play WHEN DRY. Lots of memorable holes make it a lot of fun to play. The biggest problem is when we get luge amounts of rain for consecutive days certain holes may flood where you cannot play them. This happened last year and I did not play it for almost a year. Right now it is in good shape. The last couple holes are a bit confusing. Not sure how you were supposed to play number 18. Teeing area and which basket you were supposed to throw to are not distinctly marked. Overall though I think this is a great place to play. I just hope it doesn't rain too much at one time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs help; but has promise

1    8/9/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: specsman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good location, ample parking, restrooms, short technical holes, open holes, water hazards, variety.

The first 9 holes are worth playing alone. Mostly short technical holes with really tight fairways; but with a few open fairways.
Cons: Trash, flooded holes, poor signage, moved baskets, mosquitos.

This course could really use a trash cleanup day. Not so much holes 1-10; but there were a number of spots on 11-18 where trash was abundant.

The layout of the back 9 is really confusing. It appears that a number of baskets have been moved due to flooding. Its not obvious where the baskets are and you can't see them from most tees and there are no signs. You'll get a lot more out of these holes if you go with a local that knows the course.

I tried to play this course a couple months back when it had been raining a fair amount. We got chased off by massive swarms of mosquitos on holes 6-9. If its been raining avoid those holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a good location with a lot of promise and fun holes. It mainly needs signs and some cleanup.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 We had fun

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: PhillyPhan69
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course in Cumberland County! I like wooded courses. Some very tight and challenging holes for a semi newbie. You will need patience to play this course or you will not have much fun. Very tight heavily wooded fairways, a few gullys to throw across, a good variety of distance with a few open holes thrown in for good measure.
Cons: Not visitor friendly (It might take a few minutes to find the start point...just prior to the parking area on the left. and be prepared to circle back if you miss a hole because half of the holes do not give directions to the next. Short tees have no pads.
Other Thoughts: Not sure about trash? I have seen a review where it says it was, but it was very clean today with an occasional bottle or piece of litter but very nice. Beautiful park even outside of the disc golf area. Bring the family and spend the day. Bring bug spray, they were not a major nuisance but they were a minor headache. It was very, very, windy today and some holes are difficult for someone like myself with a weaker arm...but overall I hope to hit this course monthly when we return to visit family.

*** On a second trip July 16-17, I found myself slightly disappointed and have lowered my rating from a 3.5 to a 3. This course is still fun as has a lot of promise with a little work. I really like the work out the terrain allows....however I did encounter a lot more trash this time particularly hole 11 which looks like some druken fisherman or local tees made the pad their local party place, shirts, cans, bottle etc. Hole 12 has an arrow that directs to the next tee that does not even point in the right direction (thanks). Holes 17-18 are about waist high in weeds so even if you know where your disc went it is not fun trecking to go get it, not to mention those 10,000 little black things embedded in my shoelaces and socks...not sure what they were? Once again I have played this course 3 times and never once seen another disc golfer out here, although the park seems to get plenty of visitors daily. So maybe there are no local here anyway? Another bummer was on back to back days the beautiful park with restrooms, had their restrooms locked....a shame I had to eave mid game and run down to Sherman Ave and hit a Wawa....I wouldn't have returned at all, but was having a solid game and couldn't bring myself to quit...Oh well.....a few improvements needed but still a fun course to play

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Course

1    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two sets of tees
-Bathrooms and water fountains on premises
-This course I expected to be flat like most of NJ but it actually had some cool elevation changes. The course designers did use elevation to the best that they could.
-Water scenery is nice
-Some challenging holes due to trees in the way
Cons: -This course is about the only course in the area so I can see why some people think it's a good course. But if you compare it to PA or NY courses, it doesn't size up well.
-Many of the holes are chuck and hope holes with little fairway to throw through. I am all about woodsy courses, but a few of the holes had almost no space.
-Trash. Trash. Trash. There is lots of it all over, especially the last 7 or 8 holes.
-At one point in the course you actually have to walk past a trespassing sign so there's that....
-My biggest qualm with this course is the lack of incorporating the surrounding water. The website says there are a few water holes here, but you have to be way off line to hit the water. On many occasions the course could have had some memorable throws over the couple of lakes, but no such holes were here. They came close (30 yards) but not used to make it challenging.
-Hole 18 had no fairway so even a straight down the middle throw will cause you too look for 10 minutes in weeds with ticks and poison ivy.
-Navigation is tough on several holes even with the "next tee" signs
-No map to show how the holes lays out which takes away from the appeal for me a great deal since many baskets were not visible from tee
Other Thoughts: Overall this course wasn't horrible, it just needs a few tweaks to be a 3 or 4 out of 5. The changes wouldn't even take a great deal of money for things like signage with maps, cleaning up trash on several holes, trimming some trees in middle of fairways, mowing 18's fairway, and changing some layouts to incorporate water more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.