Hartselle, AL 
Sparkman Park Share
Uploaded By: nelgwoltrap Hole #18
3 / 201ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Good Course, Nice Mixture

2-4    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course situated in nice city park. Conrete tee pads and signage on every hole add to the round. There's also multiple pin locations and pads on a few holes, which adds variety to the course. There's certainly birdies to be made, but I've also seen some pretty good players lose concentration and make a big score.

Hole 12 long is a well designed, really solid golf hole.
Cons: The walk from 15 to 16 is a little long, and it can be confusing navigating the course for the first time. Holes 4 & 5 feel like they just don't belong with the rest of the course. They are both out in an open field, and get very muddy after a rain. Hole 5 has a wide open drive, but it does have a good approach over some trees, a creek, and OB just past the basket. So I can live with it, but 4 is completely wide open and frankly, was quite boring. This park also tends to get crowded with non-golfers, so you really must be aware of people on the paths, and people/children near the pavillion/playground area along hole 12.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is good course and definitely worth playing if in the area. There are only 3 holes that have a lot of length (all +/- 500ft), and two of them (4 & 5) are out in an open field, which takes away a bit from the rest of the course. However, the other long hole, 12, is a great hole with water all along the right and trees/playground area to the left. The course has plenty of birdie opportunities, yet still provides a good challenge.

Favorite Holes: 3 long, 9, 12 long, 17

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Distance and accuracy

2-4    9/6/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 257  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite type of course. It's got a medium density of trees (mostly pines) so there aren't a lot of branches in the way, mostly tree trunks. The majority of the holes are a nice medium-long distance with tree lined fairways waiting for your disc if you stray too far to one side. It's also got a couple long open holes and some shorter holes with more trees in the way. This course requires all types of shots and uses the available terrain well. I find this course to be a nice middle ground between distance and accuracy.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like was the walk from hole 15 to 16, but hole 17 is a great hole and definitely made it worth while.

There were a few people walking laps on the sidewalk and using a shelter when I was there. I was definitely mindful of them, but they don't slow down a round too much.

When I was there the course was plenty dry and I didn't notice any problem with slippery tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course all the time if I could. This course features a fantastic mix of trees and distance. There's enough trees to make you focus on accuracy, but at the same time, many of the holes are long enough that you also need to think distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/9/2008   2/24/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 106  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course with such a limited amount of space. The course provides a variety of options off most tee pads. The design puts a premium on accuracy as it only has three hole over 400 ft, two of which are brand new temporary holes. These provide for a different look off the tee than any of the other holes and are a nice addition to the course. Its a very fun course and family friendly.
Cons: The tee pads are extremely small and have number plates on the back end that can make for some slick approaches especially if its a little muddy. The basket for holes 3 and 10 as well as the tee pad for hole 4 are all within about a 60 ft radius of each other. The walk from hole 13 to 14 is very long (but thats mainly due to the size of the park itself; not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a few times and have always enjoyed it. Its a great course to play if you're crunched for time but want to play a quick course or you're with family. Also a great beginners course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.