Germantown, WI 
Spassland DGC Share
Uploaded By: ylfgd85 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Back To My Homeland

1    9/6/2017   11/9/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.247 Rating) A beginner friendly course in a well maintained city park.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - All the deliverables on this course scream "I'm for newer players". Short holes in the 150 to 250 foot range. Wide open fairways with a few sporadic trees. No hazards or overgrowth to contend with.
- ACEABILITY - 9 ace runs. An experienced player could probably ace them all in a year's time with enough rounds. 5 recorded aces over 171 rounds on DGCR. That's once every 35 rounds and this is likely composed of rounds mostly from recreational players.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. I don't recall seeing any trash on my visit.
- QUICK PLAY - I ran all 9 holes here in twenty minutes. All the tees are generally within 150 feet of the prior basket.
- NAVIGATION - I had no issues here even without a map on my first visit. Everything is so open that you'll figure it out real quick.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible. You'd have to forget to pick up to lose one here.
Cons: Spassland has a very limited appeal.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms of variety are far below average. To even intermediate players, they are all straight putter runs. Maybe (9) is the one partial exception were there are two trees with low branches on the path to the basket. Perhaps a thumber or tomahawk or spike hyzer may be the optimal play on this hole.
- ELEVATION - I think hole (4) drops by 8 feet or so.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - No shot shaping required. Baskets are generally not guarded. I threw 5 down as a 900 rated player and came away dissatisfied.
- CHARACTER - The course has the basics done adequately. Concrete tees, albeit short and nice baskets. The tee signs are also adequate for this type of course, distance, par and number only. Also a nice shelter with restrooms. But, this is where is ends. All the other items that you'd expect from an established course are missing. No on site course map, no practice basket, no alt tees or basket locations, no benches, etc. etc.
- RAW BEAUTY - Not awful by any stretch of the imagination but none of the holes will have you scrambling for your phone or camera either. I scored the course 1.375/5. The lack of trees, no water, no elevation and no inspiring backdrop views, lead to my below average score.
Other Thoughts: The first of six Wisconsin courses I hit on a weeklong trip. I'd give it a 1.25 if I were allowed to do so. But, despite the lower rating, Spassland does have some utility to it. The course is perfect for newer and rec players who have yet to reach 100 rounds. However, once a player has begun throwing over 250 feet this course will get real old, real quick. All stated, it's great to have such a wide variety of skill level courses in the Milwaukee area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Course for Beginners

5+    10/17/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: Kegelexercise
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short little 9 hole (free) course that is a great place to take kids and/or beginners to learn the basics.

1) Concrete tees - maybe a bit on the short side, but perfectly acceptable for someone learning the basics. Baskets & signage are also in good condition.

2) Amenities - this course is located in a nice, clean neighborhood park, with a well-cared for shelter in the center that has bathrooms. There is even a molded concrete "cornhole" setup present!

3) Being what it is, I will consider the relative ease of the course a plus - there are a few holes where you'll have to work around an obstacle or two, but this is mostly a "toss it right at the basket" course that won't discourage beginners.
Cons: The only real gripe I have with this course is the drainage - the open field that this course circles around can get really swampy and wet during the spring thaw and/or after rains (wet areas big enough to lose discs in, I've found a few!), so be prepared for this. Holes 4 through maybe 8 or so (going off memory from spring) come directly in contact with the wet field.
Other Thoughts: Spassland will certainly not be a challenge to skilled players (it's not tough to notch birdies here), but it's a good beginner course in a well cared for, clean environment. Course is also located fairly close to other, better courses, so if you're in the area and want to make a day of discing, you could do worse than coming to Spassland to warm up your arm/test your accuracy before hitting up the more challenging Dretzka or Brown Deer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner or Warm-Up Friendly

5+    7/6/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: knivile1
Played: 42  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate

Short, open holes perfect for beginners or a putter practice round

Well maintained park
Cons: After a rain, teepads and other low areas of the park can become flooded easily even days later

Sometimes unaware park-goers with dogs or children will stray into the fairways of some holes.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course to bring new people to try out the game and #growthesport

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The definition of pitch 'n putt

1    7/6/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 346  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pad on all holes. In good shape and grippy.

Decent signs, which help, considering it's basically a bunch of baskets out in a field. Distances all seemed to be spot on.

Decent DGA baskets that caught very well. No issues here.

Navigation was pretty simple, and intuitive.
Cons: This is a very short course (nothing over 250') that is pretty much devoid of obstacles, save for a few trees.

For playing in July (after a dry week), it was still pretty soggy. I'd have to imagine the water would get pretty deep here during a wet part of the year.

For being so open, there was a lot of bugs (see: soggy). Musk up if it's bug season.

Other Thoughts: Decent multi-purpose park with a baseball field and playground. The park bathrooms were very nice, and clean to boot. Decent parking lot, and street parking available.

This is what it is...a 9 holer in a city park, without much interference. Not much to be done in this respect, as there just isn't any more space, or terrain, to do anything with.

Great course for beginners, and ace runs. You could very easily go -9 here if your game was on that day.

Not worth going out of your way for, but a decent way to warm up your arm if you're heading to Dretzka or Brown Deer...or bagging courses. You can knock this bad boy out in 20 minutes solo.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Boring 9

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to for beginners.
All holes are less than 300.
Accurate signs.
Concrete pads.
Never busy.
Nice baskets.
Even has some elevation!
Cons: Not many obstacles in the way.
Very short.
Can get super swampy, usually drys out around July, but can be difficult to play without getting wet until that point.
Other Thoughts: I really like the course even though it's boring and kinda lame. Not much to it, but I like it as it's never busy, has nice baskets and pads.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tune up for Dretzka

1    10/5/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on all holes. Tee signs on all holes with hole #, basic layout, par and distance. (hole 6's i believe was broken and laying next to the tee) Slight elevation on the first couple holes. Very few trees to contend with so wind is your only real challenge here. Nice Mach 5 baskets which are one of my favorites on all holes. They catch well. Easy to find in a nice quiet subdivision. I'd imagine its never busy. Very easy to follow from hole to hole. Permanent course, so this would be an easy course to play in winter too.
Cons: Short, bland and just not really all that exciting. It is located right by a middle school so a course this length is a good idea in this location, but for players with any skill level look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: Play it as a warm up to Dretzka as its only minutes away. Other than that theres not much for redeeming qualities here. Just OK. This would be a good course to work on different shots or just go for aces as they are attainable on every hole here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/8/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: Wes_n_Michelle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: My girlfriend and I are new to the sport and we loved this course. Short holes that made us feel better about our LIMITED abilities and it was a great warm-up for Dretzka. This would be a great course to test out new discs and boost a fragile ego. ;-)
Cons: When we were there, there was mother and her kid playing on the first fairway (not golfing). They saw us but didn't seem to care that we wanted to play the hole. We had to wait for a few minutes until they decided it was time to go.
Other Thoughts: We will be back again and again!

  Perfect for any skill level

5+    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: skeletor
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everyone can use some practice and this course is perfect for that. It's short and is great for perfecting your aim. Basically a perfect warm up course before heading to dretzka being that it is only minutes away.

If you are new to the game and want to try it out this course is just what you are looking for. It is short and there are not many obstacles to get in your way. You can play at your own pace being that it is rarely if ever crowded. The tee signs are really nice and it is nearly impossible to get lost.

For the more advanced players this course will help you with your aim and control of the disc. All of the holes are open and there is not really any place that you can lose a disc. You can shoot the shot you need to work on and if you shank it you will be able to find it right away. The holes are all short and a full 9 can be played in around 20 minutes making it a perfect warm up course for dretzka. Like I said before it is never crowded. So if you want to work on your long drives you can get creative and make up your own holes.
Cons: This course is short and some people will find it boring.
When it rains some of the holes can get soupy.
Other Thoughts: They basically did the best they could with the land they were given. This course is not worth a long drive to only play once and then go straight home. It's better as a warm up for dretzka or to play a few times through trying different shots each time. I play this course a lot and it has really helped me with my game.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  perfect warmup course

5+    6/15/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: bschu1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: PERFECT warm up course. just a few exits past dredzka park on highway 45 when coming from milwaukee. holes are extremely short but it is the perfect opportunity to throw 9 very quick holes before playing 18 or 27 at dredska. hardly anyone is ever there and i have never waited to play on any hole. not challenging but it is a great place to warm up and move on over to dredska and be able to throw a good round right off the bat.
Cons: holes are very short and not challenging. every whole is a virtual straight-away with no trees or anything in the way. baskets are very easy to overthrow by a long shot with a driver by any decent player.
Other Thoughts: although many good players skip this course because it is not challenging, i personally recommend trying this course out as a warm up or to work on your short range game. it is located in the back of a quiet neighborhood and while is does not challenge me at all i still play here often.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner/Kid Course

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice descriptive tee signs. These help to identify which basket you're throwing to, since on a few tee pads you can see more than 1 basket.
2. Nice level concrete tees. They're a bit shorter than standard tees, but not an issue since zero run-up/follow-through is required on any of the holes.
3. Holes #1-3 and #8-9 use the minimal elevation available as best as possible.
4. Hole #5 has the only real significant rough to deal with off to the left, and going in deep could cost you a shot.
5. Some amenities on site; specifically, port-a-potties and vending.
6. Only significant challenge was the wind when I played. There are sparse trees, but hitting one--and actually having it affect your next shot--is only a slight possibility.
Cons: 1. Boring, bland, pretty much wide open.
2. All the holes are really short; you can play the entire course with a putter and/or midrange.
3. The flat areas obviously do not drain too well, making for a soggy round after a decent rain.
Other Thoughts: This course plays through a nicely kept multi-use park with a playground and other athletic activities on site. It's nice to see little beginner courses like this in subdivisions, as they potentially introduce a lot of new players (especially children). Due to the wide open design and short holes, I would only recommend this course for kids or beginners learning the basics and disc golfers who happen to live in/around Germantown and can't travel to the much better courses nearby. I hate giving courses such a low rating, since obviously some thought went into the design here and the course was really clean when I played. It was nice to see all the tees and signs were sponsored by local businesses/families, so make sure to thank them for introducing the sport to this town if you happen across any of their establishments. Overall, it's not worth the drive unless you're looking to add to your "Courses Played" stats (precisely why I made the journey).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center