Victor, MT 
Spiritwood - Main Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #5 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 120ft.   3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
backwoods fun

1    5/18/2018   5/31/2018
Review By: chevis
Played: 100  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +baskets
+concrete pads (mostly, a few not done yet)
+variety (left,right,up,down,short,long,par 4s)
+no crowds, isolated
+old objects still exist (nostalgia)
+challenging
+no real chance of losing discs
+some garbage cans
Cons: -navigation (finding 6 after 5 requires going backwards, a current map might alleviate)
-some fairways not fair (scramble challenge)
-no tee signs
-21s mando forcing the throw towards an ob fence
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my time on this course; early morning, so I had it all to myself. Couldn't find anywhere to donate, but I met Nick on his way to work and gave him moneys and found out the map I was using is out of date and there are 4 holes added up the hill after hole 4; now a total of 22 holes. A few times I had problems locating the next tee. I appreciate having the old objects that used to make up the course still there & available to be hit (nothing like a good ring of a bell/tone/tailgate). a couple of the baskets are older ones, but the majority are new. the ditches provide a good water hazard w/o the risk of losing a disc. warm-up/cool-down with the onsite 10 tone pole putter course. the course is missing a few things that would make it perfect: no vistas (all trees), no par 5s, no wide open shots (just to complete diversity).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and Fun Course!

1    6/10/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: ThrowBot
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Makes good use out of the available elevation changes
+Tests a variety of shots and lines with moderate to heavy trees on every hole
+Good use of mandos to improve safety and flow of course. Mandos and water carries have clearly marked drop zones.
+Good mix of hole distance, from short ace runs to legit par 4's
+Beautiful scenery all around, and lots of nice mature pines on the course
+Lots of benches, garbage cans, and other amenities at many tee locations make it easy to get around all 22 holes.
Cons:
-Some holes are just too tightly treed with no discernible fairway.
-Difficult to navigate for a first time player. Tee signs are helpful but it's still tough to see the targets on a few of the longer holes.
-Teepads are a work in progress; some sketchy footing off the boxes
Other Thoughts:
This course is a blast to play! It's well worth the drive & nominal donation. Aside from the challenging and diverse course layout, there is also a unique flavor to the property and course that is tough to describe.

The targets are a mixed bag. Some old hand-made wooden baskets, some bushel baskets, some commercial baskets hanging from trees...a little bit of everything. I didn't mind this aspect since everyone plays the same targets, and it definitely adds to the character of the course.

A lot of the old targets are still hanging around the course. A variety of tones are scattered near the 1st tee and they are perfect for putting practice. There are also some non-traditional targets (a cherry bucket, a tailgate) scattered throughout.

I played during the spring melt-off so there were a variety of water hazards in play. This adds another dimension to a course that's already dynamic in many ways! Some of the creeks are small (only a few feet across) which doesn't really create a "fair" hazard, but this can be mitigated in many cases by playing across the water as OB.
Some of the smaller creeks run pretty fast, so if your disc goes in you might have to run to catch up with it.

The tee pads are listed as a "con" in my review, although two have already been replaced with concrete. Aside from those, most of the tees were loose gravel that was quite soft. I think they're working towards more concrete pads which would definitely have improved my experience. I'm fine with dirt tees, but the uncompacted gravel was too soft and caused problems on the longer drives.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Drive

1    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: Dadio
Played: 142  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 34.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up on 15 to 20 acres just outside Victor, MT, about 45 minutes south of Missoula. It is a nicely quirky mature course that is set up by Nick, the owner/designer, with the help of other seasoned local disc golfers. This course is a labor of love and it shows. Set in woods of varying density with regular natural and manmade creeks it is a nice place to get out and play.

The pins are a VERY eclectic mix. There are 3 tones, 2 objects, and 17 baskets varying from good portables to repaired/refurbished Mach 3s to some of the most interesting, innovative, and functional homemade designs I have ever seen.

While mostly flat it makes good use of a hillside for elevation changes, especially with the 4 added holes on the 22 hole layout. There are obvious fairways on most holes but a couple require more threading or unusual lines.
Cons: While well worn in, there have been some changes made and the lack of signs can make it hard to follow on occasion. Holes are currently not numbered for the most part but that is supposed to change shortly.

Tees are natural and well maintained for the most part but pads of some sort would be nice and I imagine will happen eventually. that said, there were only two holes I threw from the side of the tee.

No drinking water or bathrooms on site but probably addressed for tournaments.
Other Thoughts: This is a really cool course and I am very glad I made the drive down to play it. You can see how it has been improved over the years and I expect that will continue. Nick was very personable and welcoming, please pay the very minimal requested donation and be respectful so that will continue to be the case.

This is a great course to play early in the year, was in good shape despite recent rains and with Pattee closed and Blue Mtn busy this is a nice alternative. I look forward to playing this one again and taking my friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice break from the busy Missoula courses!

5+    9/5/2018   5/30/2010
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 76  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice variety of holes, with most being in fairly heavily wooded areas. The maze of irrigation ditches and creeks add to the fun (use a brightly colored disc in case it gets taken downstream) and make this a great course to bring your dog(s) to. The old object targets have all been replaced with baskets, but some of them are still on the course as optional targets. New concrete tee pads on many of the holes. The woods make sure Spiritwood stays reasonably cool on sunny summer days. Spiritwood also usually gets much less snow than the Missoula courses and is generally playable year round. Much less busy than the Missoula courses.
Cons: Navigating the course can be confusing. A couple holes do not appear to have a clear line to the basket. A few of the old tee areas are pretty sketchy..
Other Thoughts: We've played a few times in the spring and the course was mostly pretty dry outside of the ditches. While there are some hills, the course does not involve nearly as much climbing as Blue Mountain in Missoula. This course is on private property, and the owners asks for $1.00 per round donation which is extremely reasonable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Down Home Fun

5+    10/11/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: brianb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A technical course that also has a few relatively open holes. Unique targets add to the flavor of the course. Receives less snow than other courses in the winter which makes it a destination course when other courses in the area are snowed in, but a lost disc in the snow probably won't be found until spring. Lots of water during the spring and early summer add to the challenge.
Cons: Some holes could use some trimming/grooming. First timers might not recognize the targets as targets w/o a guide.
Other Thoughts: Call ahead and let Nick know your coming. Well worth the beautiful drive up the Bitterroot valley to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Mountain high experience

5+    10/11/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: zippy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very tight technical course for the most part yet with some long holes as well. Loved by the Montana disc golf community as a challenging course that never fails to bite your ass when you least expect it.

Cons: Winter. If the snow is deep disc may be lost until spring thaw.
Other Thoughts: This course has been here for 25 + years in a number of different configurations. The owner/designer is an avid disc golfer and hosts three tournaments a year. Beautiful land with some great views of the valley and the Bitterroot Mountains. Water features during irrigation season. Call or email ahead and ask Nick if he wants to throw a round. Check out the homepage for info

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.