Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #W11 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole W11 Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Best in Central WI

2-4    7/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome use of elevation changes. The tee shot might be downhill and then you have to shoot uphill to the basket. Huge boulders throughout the course. Every hole is a little different, none of the holes seem the same.
Cons: Currently underconstruction and can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if your in the area and is definetly worth driving longer distances to play here. The work and thought that has gone into this course has payed off. When the construction is done and the extra 18 is finished this course will be phenomenal. My favorite course I've played so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Standing On Some Rocks In My Mountain Of Dreams...

5+    5/15/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unprecedented variety of holes. Beautiful views of lake and well-aged, sculpted forest leave a lasting impression. Large boulders and mature trees dominate the landscape, adding an artistic quality to the park. Tee pads and hole areas are frequently surrounded by deliberately placed rocks that serve to create flat, side-hill areas. Semi-soft, black rectangular pads make for mostly-flat tee areas. Most holes have two sets of tees. Roughly half of the holes have one obvious flight path while other half have a couple distinct possibilities. For example, hole 2 has a nice path for backhand hyzer, mirrored by a sidearm hyzer route. Even mix of flat, downhill, and uphill shots. Signs with distances and maps are present on all holes. The $3 daily pass and $20 season pass fees, as well as distance from major cities, seem to discourage casual groups of golfers who may mistreat course with slow play or vandalism. Majority of course is carpeted by leaves, wood chips, or well-maintained grass.
Cons: Big arms will be left unsatisfied by lack of 400+ foot holes and open holes. This course requires some finesse throws, so those who cannot command hyzer, anhyzer, and sweeping S-curve shots may become frustrated. Deep woods course can get buggy during wet summers.
Other Thoughts: Course is now up to 33 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly and forested area dedicated to disc golf. It feels very secluded and peaceful when you're on the course, with no interference from non-players. The elevation is used well to make some great holes, including a couple fun downhill ace runs. Nearly all the holes are wooded with well-defined fairways and moderate brushy rough that didn't seem to eat discs too badly. The holes force a great mix of different shots to be successful here, and will often punish an errant drive with at least an extra stroke. The alternate tees on one of the loops add even more variety; several change up the shot quite a bit.

The boulders throughout the course add a really nice touch, especially where extensive work has been done to build retaining walls and other course features out of the rocks. A ton of work has gone into this course, and it seems to be an ongoing effort with lots of improvements made in the couple years between my visits here.

The hole signage is decent, with basic maps and distance. The rubber tees are nicely leveled, and the ground is compacted well underneath them to prevent settling. The baskets are all in good shape and catch well. The flow within each loop of holes is easy to follow, with obvious trails between holes, and a great staircase to take you up one particularly steep path.
Cons: Navigation can be a little funky with 3 loops and some decisions on how many holes to play. Make sure to check out the map by the parking lot, and perhaps snap a picture of it for later reference. The loops have different characters, which is cool but can lead to each set of holes feeling just a little repetitive. The signage is a little weak, the lines shown are pretty generic and don't really give you a great idea of where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun wooded course, with lots of tight lines and great elevation shots. You will need to hit a variety of lines to be successful. Beginners might find the woods and brush a little daunting. More experienced players will find some great challenges despite the lack of length on two of the loops. I would definitely recommend a stop here; it's a fun round and a beautiful place for a walk in the woods.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: therealbigtrav
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The tee boxes are all have a natural look to them with gravel/rubber pad boxes lined with smaller rocks on the outer edges. the designers did a great job of making the holes seem natural with the terrain. Most of the fairways don't look like they had to be clear cut or bulldozed, and some of the baskets placements look as natural as the trees that surround them. It's heavily wooded, and the trees provide great protection against the elements. Most of the holes have at least some elevation change.
Cons: No length. There is only one hole here with the current layout over 300ft. Hole #12 is an extremly short (maybe 150ft) left dogleg down a 25ft incline. Behind the basket there is a steep ledge that slopes all the way (another 300 ft or so) down to a small lake. To protect against discs rolling down that hazard, there is a small rock ledge built up behind the basket (with the amount of trees, the disc would typically only roll away another 25ft or so). I know some people would see that as an pro, but it was the only thing remotely challenging about a 150ft hole. This holes illustrates my feelings that there is a lack of challenging holes with the current layout. Also there are a few navigational issues. After hole 4, you have to walk up a slight incline and cross the driveway to the shelter. I'm not certain how someone who hasn't played would even guess how to find #5's teebox (there are signs for the cross country ski trails pointing to a path in the wrong direction). Also, after hole #7 you cross directly in front of the box for #15. The tee signs will not help you here either. Most of the hole numbers are out of place. After #16 you have to walk back across the driveway to the shelter to #17. The two sets of tees are too close together, and the amateur boxes are far to short even for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As a season pass holder, I am excited to hear that there are plans for additional holes at Standing Rocks that will add some length to the course. This should help in clearing up some of the previously mentioned navigational issues as well. Overall, Standing Rocks creates a nice identity with a minimalistic and natural feel in a beautifully wooded county park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 central wisconsin strong

5+    9/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 886  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 29.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Reading through the reviews will give you the overall impression....more than anything else.....that just about everyone that plays here; enjoys their time spent. I believe this will sum up your overall experience. (you can now go to the cons section; if you want to see what will be lacking in the big picture; then, come back here for good point summation.)
2. You will use all of your shots. These holes are designed to allow even opportunity for rhbh and lhbh (or forehand opposites). I throw a few overhand here as well. There are some shots that will forces all but 980+ players to have a long straight glide; with a finish, left or right, on the end. This is even more present on the "newer" set of holes.
3. There are often more than 18 holes in the ground here. Soon; two 12 hole and one nine hole loop will be present full time. (go to cons...4)
4. Rock formations built around baskets and tees in a beautiful fashion. This feature is one of those "this is about as good as it gets" for this style of design. (It's not quite all that; compared to the very best; these days; but not far from the best that anyone is doing in this area.) The formations, fit with the landscape in a remarkable manner; and you may barely notice that they've been constructed; and were not always there. The "crew" has done an extraordinary job in this department. This feature also makes quite a few tees very nice, when they would otherwise, more than likely, have serious issues.
5. A number of fall-a-way greens. Some of the shortest shots require a solid landing....disc landing angle is an important aspect of scoring here...or you're rolling places you don't want to be!!!
6. Which leads to the simple fact that this course has very nice elevation; and yet, somehow, does not kill you. You are led around; up and down; rarely saying "that hill was brutal".... As has already been noted; all factors of design were well thought out here. (The biggest exception I can think of...and I get to give a shout out to a fellow FREAK here, though the sign was gone last time I was there; is that he came up with the name for; "stairway to eleven." This is a bit of a harsh breather hill and staircase.)
7. The "original" course does not have a major "lose your disc" aspect. Undergrowth not bad. There are holes on other layouts, that are quite a bit scarier. Some tourney holes; and these may be in the newer layouts, offer great risk/reward opportunities as to whether you're in the middle of the blackberry patch; or over it to the bucket; or, do you play it safe and require and upshot?... Berries are very nice tasting in season!
8. Knowing many course designers in this state; and others; and having participated in both design and especially maintenance, of many courses as well; I can tell you that Randy is among the "most hard working men is disc golf." The fool was out there hand planting schroom spores on tree stumps two years ago. No....not the "real special kind".....but a very unique feature all the same. This is the type of attention to detail you will find in all aspects of Standing Rocks.... (he he he....except for tee signs with correct information and arrows pointing you to the next tee!!!)
Cons: 1. Course is short.
At this point, I wanted to say something to the effect; "in a competitive situation, there will be low scores." In other words....you will need to be making birdies; because they are there. (Now, go back to pros...2)
2. This course is difficult to navigate. It always has been. Randy (course designer) Schukar, was one of the earliest proponents of course alteration. I am speaking of full 18 hole course alteration. Nine hole groupings have been altered and/or moved fairly often.
3. Course movement has made tee signs nearly useless. First of all, many current tees have no sign. Of those that do, many are numbered incorrectly. Correct yardage?....ya gotta be kidding me! (now go to other thoughts....1)
4. Until signs are updated (announced for 2010 or early 2011); you may need all your navigational skills to play here. Don't worry, if you wander in any direction from lot, you will shortly find a pin. Play that one....and the next....and so on. What is supposed to be #1 in the current layout, is labeled as #15 and is found off the right edge, as you park, of the lot, and in; @150 ft. You may find another pin first; depending which of the many path options you choose. This is all part of the fun here....he he he he....
I've played this course many times, over many years, and I can say, as a "local" (1.25 hours away); that I'm often searching for that first pin. But.... just for a few moments. Once you find one; the course flows for the most part. If you run into a little lost time; just settle down and concentrate on how much you're loving the atmosphere of the course and the hole design, etc. Beauty is all around at S. Rocks...don't let a little tough navigation get you down. I do want to make a point of this in the cons section, because it's been a tough course to navigate almost since it's inception. Even for semi-locals; due to the amount of change that occurs here for tournaments as well as, "regular play" course(s); it's tough to ever zero in on exactly what is in the ground at any given time. If you can get in touch with a local or grab one at the parking lot; do so. I will also keep on Randy to get a map or a contact, or something up on here for info. This is one of those courses, that they are so busy upgrading an already good experience; that they can't keep up with a lot of the stuff that first timers would like to see in place. These kinds of courses are really some of the best around IMHO. As I've already noted; the atmosphere here is to be enjoyed. Don't let any navigational issues stress you. Find a pin, play it. Find the next tee; play it....once you get going, the flow is pretty intuitive.
Other Thoughts: 1. Distances from all tees, to all pins, for at least 33 holes have been measured and noted; for tee signs in 2010/2011 (hopefully 2010). It is very likely that this part of Standing Rocks legacy will finally be ended in an awesome fashion.
2. I need to point out, as a number of other reviewers have; that tournament layouts are in the 4 to 4+ range at Standing Rocks. Pros attend the Standings Rocks Open, from fairly large distances; due to strength of course, payout, long standing, excellent tourney atmosphere, and the fact that it usually is one of the first two "big" tournies of each year, on the state tour. (In Wisconsin, the spring is always a time for happiness!! Especially getting to a wonderful course to throw plastic again.) This event long ago split into separate days for pros and ams; and ams enjoy themselves just as much as the pros. Also, somewhat in relation to this; and relating to the mentioned shortness of the "original" course, versus some other possible layouts you may find here; Troy Campbell held the record for a number of years, for the longest tourney ace, @570 ft.....at Standing Rocks. There are some nice, big, down hill shots in certain configurations....
The annual chilli cook off and tourney in the late fall, is also a full event; and well loved.
3. Excellent beverages at the Central Waters Brewery nearby.
4. You can see, with all I have written; that it is difficult to give you a general overview of Standing Rocks. Conditions change here... For the time being, you are never really sure what you will encounter. However,every layout here is worth play. The "original", which is the mainly discussed version, in reviews so far, is perhaps the weakest overall design; and the average rating for this course; as I write, is 4.5. Due to the navigation issues primarily, and course yardage secondarily, I have not rated as high as most. Non-tourney design does not have a 5 "Wow" factor. However, I agree with everyone here, that this is a second tier, destination spot. Plan to take extra time to play. Plan to play it twice; once you know we're you're going; second round will move right along.
As mentioned in other reviews; another Schuhkar designed course, Yulga, is fairly nearby; make a day of it. That course is a very fine example of 3 sets of tees usage. No elevation at Yulga, but straight driving is at a premium.
After all the cheers I've given to S. Rocks, and Yulga; I will none-the-less, point out, that; IMHO, Big Eau Pleine County Park is the best in the area.
This trio, in Central Wisconsin, won't leave you disappointed; unless you're looking for 4.5 to 5 courses. These are all 3.5's, up to possible 4 for Big Eau Pleine. Also, keep in mind, that 33 full time holes are very possible for 2010 and beyond.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: erichyde
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation!!! This course has elevation on every single hole. Uphill, downhill, valley shots you name it. Every hole is wooded as well but its in an older growth forest which is excellent because there is not to much undergrowth to eat your discs. The course is in excellent shape, little to no liter. Some really nice risk and reward holes too. Bad shots can get you in very big trouble on most holes, not the longest course but some distance and lots of accuracy needed to get a good scores.
Cons: No cons at all!!!! In my mind, a signature Wisconsin course, wooded and hilly!!!
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing and soon will have two 18 hole couses! Yulga near by is a very nice course as well.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A must play destination

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Had a blast! The locals are great. Squirrels are black, which is something I have never seen before. Gorgeous fairways laid out with nature appreciation in mind. Elevation changes like crazy. Super cozy atmosphere.
Cons: Not many long holes.
Other Thoughts: Good warm up before, or cool down after, playing Nordic hill ski area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must stop for beauty lovers

5+    6/22/2010   7/9/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 238  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the amazing beauty and scenic tranquility of SR. The rolling elevation and terrain under a wooded canopy of trees is PRIME for disc golf in my opinion. I love this type of course. You get an good mix of left, right, short and long holes.

The landscaping is really great with elevated tees and terraced greens surrounded by hundreds of local boulders that weigh a ton.

I actually like the crushed stone tees with rubber pads. I don't worry about stepping off the edge like erosion around concrete, and the rubber is not too slippery. It also provides that definite front edge for foot faults (something the crushed stone tees at Winter Park lack cuz Scotty G ALWAYS steps 2' past the obvious front edge of the tee when he drives!)

One of the highlights is a bent and distroted tree on Hole #2 (6 when playing from the new parking lot) that perfectly frames out your shot from the tee. I love this and when/if that tree ever falls it will be sorely missed for what it provides to that hole.
Cons: Despite the good variety of play, the wide open bombers are missing and so are water hazards and OB on this course.

Being a fairly popular course will certainly attract the worthless and useless idiots who come out to be disrespectful, break things, leave gargbage behind, and grafiiti. It is a shame for such a beautiful course to see cigarette butts and glass all over, but the locals have HUGE pride in this course and do a great job maintaining it to best their abilities.

For a begginer the signage is definitely lacking, but I've played TONS of times. Tee signs are not available on all holes, and vary in their locations. Signs between holes are non-existent and there are some long walks here.

My biggest con is with the shear vastness of poison ivy all over the course. If you go off the fairly, you WILL be in ivy. BUT, there is also patches all over in heavy traffic areas right next to tees, paths, and greens. This should be killed off when it is right next to a tee or green. THERE IS A TON OF POISON IVY EVERYWHERE! It really detracts from a good round here! Playing here in the fall and spring is more advisable anyway because with less foliage on the trees, you can score a bit better under that canopy.
Other Thoughts: The club is working on another set of holes which will be rotated into play on some type of annual basis to help limit erosion on some of the other holes. You can be guaranteed that these new holes will be just as awesome and at any given time you will be able to play 18 of 27 holes their which are second to none.

During the spring Standing Rocks Open tournament, you must make it a point to attend as an entirely additional 18 hole course is created using the cross country ski trails, and 6 more holes added to the classic course which travel up and down the ski hills. During the SRO, disc golf gets NO BETTER and this tournament setup is a 5-disc experience! You get all the variety, challenge and beauty you could ever crave during one weekend.

This course would be a 5 in my book based on how many times I have come back to play, how often I want to play, and how many times I make a special trip 2hrs to the course just to play. But the standard layout just does not offer the required variety to make it a 5. The standard layout lacks water hazard, OB, large elevation change, and open rippers. The secluded park setting is top notch in allowing yourself to get lost in a round. This probably works out to be a 4-disc course in my mathematical review of courses. Despite being SO FUN to play, the main course is a just below a 4-disc rating due to lack of total variety. The setting, tournament layouts, and fun factor offer up a 5. The expanded layout (12 new holes??) will make it a SOLID 4.5! If the new holes on the ski hill were made permanent, bringing in huge elevation, water, and open rippers, I'd rate a 5 without hesitation!

The mountain bike trails at SR are amazing as well. They are another reason I plan special trips to the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

5+    5/19/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Ckrogs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging shots. Makes you try shots that you wouldnt do on an open course. There are multiple tees so that beginners can play as well as the vets that like more of a challange. Rocks has a really nice upkeep.
Cons: Rubber Pads have uneven grounds under them. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Make sure that you bring somthing to drink. And watch your step on old hole 12. If you live nearby buy a season pass, it is well worth it...after 7 times it pays for it self. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks is Unique

5+    10/31/1999   3/7/2009
Review By: Herbert
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I have a bias and a hernia for this course.

Such a property is a gift to the disc golf community. And the disc colf community has gifted this course with their enthusiasim and generousity, thank you.

Every property has only so much to work with and the layout at Standing Rocks uses it to our advantage. The course, albeit not so long requires control and a variety of shots.
besides that it is a georgous park. Rocks are everywhere, creative use of the elevation and rock retaining walls. Veiws of the lake are great
There is a user fee that keeps some of the riff raff off of the course
The rubber tee mats are great for traction and easy on the knees, while they were lumpy at first, have been leveled as of late
Cons: The new loop of 12 holes is not quite open yet!
Other Thoughts: I prefer this course in spring or late summer/fall when the bugs are not as bad.
This park has room for many more holes. at least 30 additional holes are used for the various tournaments at the park.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.