Appling, GA 
IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 691ft.   5 / 573ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
"Steady" Ed Would Have Been Proud.

1    7/22/2018   10/3/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.463 Rating) A medium length technical course with lots of elevation and scenic lake views.
- RAW BEAUTY - The most beautiful portion of an amazing piece of property. Clarks Hill Lake makes four wonderful appearances on this layout. Hole (13) is a killer looking throw over an inlet with the basket sitting on a peninsula with slanted elevation. Several holes have incredible rock elements in play and around baskets. Several lines out here are worthy of snapping and then messaging to your friends to make them jealous. In totality I scored the course 4.75 out of 5, which is roughly on the fringe of my top ten as of this review (310 courses currently played).
- ACEABILITY - By far the easiest course to ace of the three layouts at the IDGC. There are two sets of tees on this layout and many of the short tees to short basket placements are under 200 feet.
- CHALLENGING - Although the short tees are by far the easiest layout out here, the long tees are going to change the dynamic enough to have Intermediate level players finishing around even par. There are several 300 foot plus holes with tight twisting lines and a few gut checking water clears.
- CHARACTER - On the course itself, there are a lot of extras. A wonderful large course map is located at the entrance path of the first tee. There are multiple basket placements on 16 holes that will intrigue re-plays. There are multiple tees on every hole. The back tees are large trapezoidal concrete pads and the front tees are rubber. There is excellent tee signage for the back tees while the front tee signage is adequate. I wish the baskets were nicer however. I wonder if Mach IIIs were chosen to pay homage to Headrick.
- NAVIGATION - Getting around on all three course is great compared to the typical wooded course. Like Jackson and Warner, there are lots of navigational markers between holes. As stated above, the tee signage was great too.
- UNIQUENESS - The variety is top notch. Lots of elevation change, lots of water and lots of twisting lines in every which way direction. There are a couple tight bomber lines and there's a good mix of very well guarded and dead aim basket placements. The biggest thing missing compared to the other layouts here is the overall length. There are also no openish holes on this layout, unless one decides to run a shot well over the water.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - A two tee set-up makes this course the most user friendly of the three courses at the IDGC. I ran into a player on Jackson and I could tell by the strain in his voice that he was overwhelmed. The Headrick course will appeal to Novice level players for the front tee configuration.
- QUICK PLAY - Probably about average or maybe a touch longer to play than the average course. However, the other two courses will take much longer, so any traveler looking for the quickest of the three should choose this layout.
- FACILITES - The extras away from the course are over the top. I guess that seems fitting for the PDGA headquarters. There's a huge pro shop. A comfortable air-conditioned lounge area. A museum with one of Headrick's ash infused discs. There's vending and grills, a huge shelter, picnic tables and 5 practice baskets in a warm-up field. The combination of all of these features on and off the course very much added to my experience.
- LOCATION - 54 high quality holes in one location. This place is a whole day destination.

Cons: I have to get epic picky to find complaints here.
- WATER HAZARDS - Of the three courses, The Headrick back tee layout has by far the greatest disc loss potential. On hole (12) I threw one far in, but thankfully my playing partner was all for diving into the water and he fished my disc out in 4 feet deep of water. I rewarded him a $5 finder's fee. Holes (6) and (13) are also a couple of pucker up plays from the back tees.
- TERRAIN - Players that have bad knees or ankles should probably avoid coming to the IDGC. There are lots of undulations in the fairways and I also personally smacked a couple smaller stumps and tree roots. The Headrick layout does appear to be somewhat cart friendly so a Zuca should work well out here.
- PAY TO PLAY - I want to say I paid three dollars for the general park entrance fee and another three bucks for my all day green's fee as I'm a PDGA member. (Non-PDGA members have higher green's fees.) 100 percent worth it for this course by itself.

Other Thoughts: A course that Headrick would have been proud to know bears his name. I've only played one Steady Ed course myself, Brahan Springs, and I swear that Brahan and this course have the same technical line feel to it. So, if Kennedy and Monroe were going for a design that Headrick would have done himself, this was a complete design success. As for the course itself, I absolutely loved it and I favorited it right away. So many jaw dropping lines with risk reward options. I ran the numbers from scratch several times and had this course each time ranked similar to Jackson, but for complete different reasons. From looking at all the reviews between Jackson and Headrick, I can tell there's a big disagreement on which is the favorite among of the two. The reason for favoritism differences is that Jackson offers different elements over Headrick. Jackson is championship style course requiring advanced skills, course management and length. Whereas Headrick is a more of a quirky shot shaping course with killer beauty. Picking a favorite between the two clearly comes down to player preferences. I personally enjoy both styles equally and both courses are executed extremely well for the style the designers were going for, thus my similar ranking. Anyone coming to the IDGC really needs to plan for all three courses. You are doing yourself a disservice by just choosing one of them.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Yup. I think I found a winner

1    7/12/2018   7/14/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 101  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 8.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Look, here's what it is: This is the most fun course I have ever played. I waited till I played some other top courses on my road trip (Hobbs Farm before this, Harmon Hills afterwards, a few other highly rated ones in between and still after), and still believe this just far surpasses all of them for me.

Hedrick (the course, not the man), is the lakeside course at the IDGC, so naturally the most beautiful (if you're into large bodies of water, like I am). The rolling hills were gentle, and never daunting, never too steep. The fairways were open, inviting. The pars were exactly what you'd like them to be (disclaimer, the pins were in the short position when I played so I thought they were actually pretty generous a lot of the time).

There are so many iconic holes on this course. The downhill hyzer over the lake. The tree behind the basket. The split fairway par 4. The other one over the lake without as much elevation change. I loved so many of these holes. They are so lovingly designed.

There are two full size pads on each hole. Each pad has a detailed sign with hole diagram. Navigation is straightforward, and when it isn't- there's a sign to help you!

Also the course is in a beautiful park with an exTENSIVE pro shop on site. So if you do lose a disc, you can replace it right there. And get a shirt.

I hate to end the pro's section so soon, but I just can't think of any more ways I can boast this course.
Cons: There is, sadly one thing I would change if I had all the money in the world and could do whatever I wanted: the baskets. They're bright blue which is nice, but having Mach III's on a course this stellar just seems unfair.

But I will say, it does add a bit of endearing charm and character. Like it's just humble, and self-deprecating.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts? Yeah I liked this course better than Lake Claiborne (my personal second right now), Parc des Familles (one of the best Houck courses I've ever played, but is completely flat), Hobbs Farm, Harmon Hills- and I think those are all the Top 50 courses I've played (PdF isn't there yet, but I'll bet all the money I've lost in the crevices of my car and house and clothes pockets that it will be).

IDGC is a great destination. This and the proshop, and meeting some of the staff were worth the trip by far. I didn't care for the Warner course as much, and Jackson was closed the day I was there.

But I would go again just to play this one. I finished that course just so excited and happy and that's really what this sport is all about.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Rock Steady

1    4/17/2018   4/18/2018
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2018
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic course (bring your camera). The lake comes into play on several holes. It will take you up and down some nice elevation and features a nice variety of tree types. The course has concrete blue tees and carpet red tees. Adequate tee signs and plenty of next tee signs make navigation very easy. Two sets of pin placements that get switched around once in a while. And of course, it is very fun to play.

A nice pro shop, disc golf hall of fame and museum, and two more 18 hole courses on site. $5.00 per car park entrance fee and $5.00 per person to play (all three courses for all day. $3.00 for current PDGA members and locals) which is a bargain for this facility.
Cons: So what keeps my rating down a little? Well, for a pay-to-play it is almost completely lacking in amenities. There was one trash can on the whole course. The am tees are carpet and can be very slippery. Bring your own broom though as there are none on the course. There are only simple benches and they are all on the pro tees. The course kind of lacks the polish that the other courses here have. It just felt a little rough around the edges.
Other Thoughts: Still, this is a wonderful course, a blast to play and is probably the best course here for new/rec level players. This is a five-star facility and every disc golfer should strive to play here at least once in there lifetime. Also, the guy working at the pro shop said that there are plans to renovate this course in the future.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great way to enjoy the IDGC

2-4    7/8/2017   7/10/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the three courses here at IDGC, Steady Ed is probably the easiest and most scenic. Make no mistake, this course has its mix of elevation, length, tunnel shots, and all the rest... but when you compare the difficulty to the other two... it's just not as punishing (at least when the lake is down). The back half of the course along the lake is just beautiful. Really memorable and fun.

And the other stuff to make a great facility:

- Dedicated staff at facility
- Pro shop on site
- Plentiful parking
- Maintained grounds
- Tee signs on each hole
- Next tee direction markers after each basket
- Benches and shade coverings if waiting at teepad
- Practice area for putting and approaches
- Scorecards, etc available in pro shop
Cons: There's not much to say bad about this course. Just be prepared to walk up and down hills A LOT. You may also come across some wildlife such as snakes and spiders out there.
Other Thoughts: This is one course of three at the IDGC... and like I said above... probably the easiest in terms of difficulty. The entire facility is great. It's definitely worth a visit if you're in the Augusta area. To make it a real adventure, camp in Wildwood Park (where the course is located). Reservations can be made online.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The father of Disc Golf's namesake course

1    3/21/2017   4/11/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great blend of wooded holes that offer nice lines and a nice sloping terrain. Good mix of up and down playing holes as well as dog leg L and R holes. The signage is great providing you with all the proper information and the tees are ample allowing for the proper run up. Multiple pin placements and multiple tees keep things from getting stale.
Directional arrows to keep you on the correct path and benches and bridges in the appropriate spots.
This course also has a nice mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are a few holes where you can get a birdie or two as well.
Cons: The transition from 12's basket to get to 13's red tee was a bit lengthy and slowed the flow of the round down a bit.
The terrain is a bit rockier on this course so footing might be an issue for some.
The tee mats on the red tees could be slick at times.
These are minor cons.
Other Thoughts: This is one of 3 courses that can be found at the International Disc Golf Center. It is pay to play, $3, and is the bargain of the year and totally worth it. This course doesn't have the overall length of W. R. Jackson or the elevation of Jim Warner but it does have a solid balance of great lines and moderate length. There is elevation present here and the views from the lake serve as a nice background for your round. This course offers a solid mix of great golf and will test you both your mental approach and your shot selection.
I throughly enjoyed my rounds here and I would drive back from Kansas in a heartbeat to play any one of these 3 courses.
Do yourself a favor and plan a trip to the IDGC and play all 3 of the courses in this complex. Make a day of it and tour the Disc Golf Hall of Fame and PDGA headquarters which are on site. If you love quality disc golf and the history of the game then this place will be heaven to you. I can't wait until I can return someday and relive this experience. So worth it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

1    4/2/2017   4/5/2017
Review By: ROTFLandmines
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Benches at almost every hole.
very scenic
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: The whole IDGC is a wonderful experience, and I would highly recommend taking the trip at some point. This course was the shortest of the three, but offered some very interesting water hazards and a very scenic walk. Definitely a lot of fun.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial

1    11/16/2016   11/26/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for the long tees with notches carved across and rubber tee pads for the short tees

Has benches throughout the course

Has tee signs

Most holes have alternate basket placements

Some holes have multiple lines to the basket

Custom baskets are painted light blue and easier to locate than the typical Mach III baskets

Has next tee signs posted throughout

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Nice scenery

Water comes into play on almost half of the holes where there are opportunities to lose discs but the current drought has significantly reduced the water levels of the lake and creeks for that not to be a concern

Had whole course to myself on a Wednesday afternoon

Has a storm shelter

Well-maintained

Has practice baskets from different manufacturers
Cons:
Distances on tee signs are not accurate and need updating

Has no tee signs for the short tees

Pay to play but worth it
Other Thoughts:
This is the first of the three challenging scenic courses at IDGC that I enjoyed playing. This course is the one that I enjoyed most as it is most scenic and will require many shots to shoot a low score. The course takes advantage of its hilly terrain and lake to make a fun and enjoyable layout. The pay to play can dissuade some from playing but I have paid more to play a less enjoyable course before. $3 to enter the park and $3 for a PDGA member to play all day is a bargain! In the clubhouse, the pro shop sells discs from many manufacturers as well as issue out course maps and scorecards with the highlighted current pin positions. Along with the pro shop, there is a snack machine, breakroom, restrooms, and the Hall of Fame all inside the clubhouse operating from 9am-5pm. A soda machine is located outside the clubhouse underneath the pavilion nearby. Playing this course and one of the other two on the same day makes a nice day trip.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoy

1    4/26/2016   5/4/2016
Review By: Reb3times
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees: Dont throw the long ones unless you have the skill. Some long tees need a long shot over water and you dont want to lose a disc if you dont have the skills for the consistent throw.

Terrain: From rolling hills, lakes, creeks, and even large boulders, you will see it all on this course.

Shots: Mostly wooded but cleared out in most areas so your not totally punished for an errant shot.

Baskets: All of the baskets are in great shape and some are well guarded. I highly suggest you scout them out if you dont know whats beyond them. Some baskets bump right up to within a few feet of the water. Go long and its gone.

Signage: You'll never wonder where the next hole is. At each basket there is a sign on a nearby tree telling you where to go.
Cons: Short tees: The hole map and par value are on the long tees only. There could be something for the shorter tees because not all holes require you to go to the long tees to get to the short ones.

Other Thoughts: Beautiful course that is well maintained. No issues and this should be on your hit list if you're in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing mix

1    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: Moose33
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I loved this course.

Great pads: the longs are grippy concrete and the short red pads are inset rubber mats.

Great signage and directions.

Nice elevation usage, maybe the best of the IDGC. Awesome use of water as well you have to throw over the creek or edge of the lake on several holes.

Some naturally elevated and guarded baskets as well.

Baskets are awesome blue DGA baskets they look smallish but catch well and the blue is super easy to see.

Amazing course overall.
Cons: A lot of water shots could be scary to low power throwers.

One of the bridges is a little sketchy.

Can't complain though this course is fun.
Other Thoughts: Great mix that is fun to the point that it perfectly honors the man who said "whoever has the most fun wins".

Really had a great time.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Steady Ed done proud

2-4    8/7/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 89  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- SPECTACULAR ELEVATION & GREAT LAYOUT. Coming from coastal North Carolina, this was something I enjoyed immensely. (They elevation changes, I mean...we have some great layouts in NC too!) Allow me to elaborate:

* You start #1 with a dead-straight shot (which is relatively straightforward), but it's downhill with trees on either side which, optically, makes it incredibly deceiving. Because of the downhill shot it looks further than it is, so a straight fairway driver like a Seer or a beat-in Teebird seems in order but those will fade too hard. For those with power a putter is your best bet, but those (like me) who are erratic or have less power you might want a mid-range.

* #2 is a blind, pseudo-uphill shot from the tee to the right. Do yourself a favor and check out the distance before you throw. You can see the pin on your trek from the #1 pin, but the elevation may make you reconsider your choice of plastic after you see the line from the tee. I found an easy little turnover shot worked pretty well, but your mileage may vary.

* #3 is another downhill shot through a tight gap in the trees that is a natural throw for RHBH. You'll have to make up your own mind as to your disc selection when viewing the pin from the teebox. There are too many options to name.

* #4 is a sharp, uphill hyzer-flip shot next to the lake around a group of protestor trees with limbs that can smack your tee-shot down like Dikembe Mutombo in those commercials ("No, no, no!") if you're not accurate. There is also an anhyzer line to the right through the trees if you're brave that could lead to a legitimate birdie look, but if you miss your line you'll be in jail. Definitely a risk-reward hole, but if you birdie this one you deserve a raise.

* #5 was my favorite hole on the course. This just-shy-of 400 foot, extremely downhill par 4 offers one of the most exciting disc golf holes I've ever played. Two distinct lines are present. If you hit the left anhyzer/flick line, you could probably birdie this hole. However, if you hit the more obvious line - through the gap in the trees to the right, carry straight over the water for a hot minute and fade hard - you may end up with a drop-in eagle...and you will likely find it one of the prettiest shots you've ever thrown. If the IDGC is a destination for you and not your local course, you owe it to yourself to bomb it out and put "skyrockets in flight," going big over the water. If you hit your line you'll go home with "afternoon delight" and dreaming of that beautiful shot over the lake for weeks to come. (Sorry...couldn't resist.) If you don't hit your line you may end up swimming, but the water's not too deep and actually quite refreshing.

* I won't go through the whole course, but suffice it to say that each hole is very different. I can honestly say that not once did I feel like I played the same hole twice.

- OUTSTANDING TEE-PADS & SIGNS. Navigation is relatively easy even for a first-timer to the course because of the great signage and the teepads are level concrete that makes them grippy even in wet conditions.

- SHORTER (e.g. A NICE BREAK.) After playing Jim Warner and W. R. Jackson, sometimes you just want the fun without the crazy mileage on your Merrell's. This isn't to imply there aren't long holes...there are. It's just that on Steady Ed you get just as much (if not more) enjoyable disc golf without wearing yourself out.

- WATER SHOTS. That's probably enough said and maybe not such a big deal to you, but I couldn't help but get all pumped full of adrenaline every time I had to throw one. I love that.

- GREAT AMENITIES. This will apply to all three courses at the IDGC. At the head of each course lies the International Disc Golf Center, which not only offers shade in its cold-drink-stocked pavilion surrounded by perfectly manicured grass covered with numerous baskets by several manufacturers, it also provides you an outstanding disc golf shop that houses more disc golf history and memorabilia than you could absorb in a day. This is truly a Mecca for any die-hard disc golfer.
Cons:
There aren't many...

- Few trash cans on the course. There are literally two: One at the beginning and one between #7 and #15. If you're planning on snacking or drinking during your round make sure to bring a trash bag or keep the top of your DD Ranger bag empty. This course deserves to be kept immaculate.

- Mach 3 baskets. I know some love these and there's definitely some logic behind putting old school baskets on the course named for the man who invented the game, but these things just don't catch as well as the DisCatchers on W. R. Jackson or the ChainStars on Jim Warner. I definitely need to work on my putting (no question there!) but I can't help but be thankful for the advances in basket technology after playing this course with the Mach 3s.

- Straight through 18. The other two courses start and end the front and back at the IDGC near the parking lot, but because of its shorter length Steady Ed plays straight through with 10 starting about of mile from the IDGC. Not too awful terrible, but if you go in not knowing this after having had W. R. Jackson chew you up and spit you out earlier during a hot Georgia day, you might find the walk up the hills back to your car a little tedious if you only planned on playing the front.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
This is the first course I've rated 5.0 and if you haven't played the IDGC, you need this in your life. Not because *I* say so, but because fundamentally it's a phenomenal course. It has everything you could ever want in a disc golf course, to say nothing of the profound justice it does to the legacy of "Steady" Ed Headrick and his impact on the game. Any hard-core disc golfer with the means and motivation owes it to him or herself to make the trek to Wildwood Park to take on these three outstanding courses. They are SO worth it. Add to that the fact that the campground is within walking distance to the IDGC and the courses (though I wouldn't recommend it), offers a great atmosphere on the lake, and is pretty darn nice in its own right makes the trip a no-brainer.

Of the three courses, Steady Ed DGC is the most forgiving and, in my opinion, the most fun - with Jim Warner DGC a close second on the fun scale. (W. R. Jackson, for all its perks and challenges, is the course that made me realize just how bad my game is and how awesome the pros who shoot under par on this course really are.) Steady Ed was far and away my favorite of the three and definitely pays great homage to the eponymous founder's "Most fun wins!" adage by offering just that.

I can't say it strongly enough: If you have the opportunity to make the trip to Appling, do yourself a favor and visit Wildwood Park. And if (God forbid) you only have time to play one course at the IDGC, it should be Steady Ed. You won't regret it.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.