Layout Extinct

Canton, OH 
Arboretum-Spiker Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #20
3 / 335ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Long Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Wow, what a great time!

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 82  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this to be a course that required a great deal of precision in the placement of your drives. With several water hazards and many of the baskets tucked up into the tree line being able to throw an accurate drive was paramount. It also had some great grip and rip places with maybe just a tree or 2 in the way.

There new signs were some of the best I've seen. They are accurate and easy to read. They were on the short tee. The sign post also gave you somewhere to hang a bag.

Some nice usages of the elevation here.

This park is in a beautiful neighborhood and is well maintained.

It actually plays on two parks that are across the street from each other. Many people only play the first park and skip the baskets in Spiker Park. Unless you are pressed for time don't do it. You will be misssing out on some great baskets. Especially if you want too air some out.

There are picnic and playground facilities here.

There is a bathroom that can be easily gotten too while playing, from some tees.

My favorite was 10. It begins in the trees and is long. The initial throw is through a tunnel of trees into the open and the tee is on a higher elevation than the rest of the basket. Your next drive better be a good one because there is a water hazard about 10 yards behind the basket.

The baskets are in good shape. Although a couple were beginning to rust.

The tee pads are old but in great shape. They are skinny but long.

I played with a local and found the others I came across to be courteous and helpful.

Parking was good.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course immensely there are a few draw backs.

The first one I encountered was getting to the correct parking area. If you use the GPS address on the course page it will get you to the park but the wrong parking lot. With the parking lot on your right continue to the next right turn then go about 2/10's of a mile and you will see the course sign.

Some of the tees and baskets are very close. The one that bothered me the most was 4. It is a blind left to right along some trees. About half way, and out of sight of the number 4 tee, is the tee for 5. If you hook it tight it could hit someone if they are not paying attention.

Six and 14 cross there fairways over a man-made pond that some people were fishing in.

The foliage along the edge of the park can be very thick. The local I played a round with lost a disc on 9 because of this.

There were no benches and very few trash cans.

Bring something to drink. To play the entire course take about 90 to 120 minutes with no water fountains. You are going to get real thristy.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course when you are in the area.

While it is not a technically challenging course from the perspective of lots of trees to throw around, the water hazards and other issues make drive placement a must ( I know. I short armed my Beast on 23 causing it to fade hard and it went in the pond never to be seen again). There is something here to challenge everyone.

One thing I will have to work harder on is a good anhyzer or turn over. It is essential on about 7 baskets for us right handed throwers. The distance will be to far to flick for most players.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hail Marys

2-4    5/16/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 46  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Course was in great shape
+ Challenge comes in distance and accuracy.
+ Best Tee Signs I've seen yet
+ The course layout is cohesive
+ Water hazards provide extra psychological challenge but are all avoidable.
Cons: - Old baskets on most holes, but its not like they don't work.
Other Thoughts: This course really challenged the stretch of my distance throws, and at the same time required me to be fairly accurate. Hole 10 felt a mile long to me.

The balance of obstacles from trees to ponds, and creeks along with some elevation changes kept the course from feeling as long as it was.

The tee-signs are really nice. Very detailed and easy to read maps.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be too long for me to fully enjoy

1    8/28/2005   4/30/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I review all courses (unless otherwise noted from the long tees). What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (or more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(The vast majority of holes are quite open and do not punish you an extra stroke for your errors. Almost no risk/reward decisions are required. The risk IMO is needing to bomb your shots and getting a little wild.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(18 of 27 holes are boring 3's with no chance of 2' for players with my D. In the shorts 14 are either too long or too short to be rewarding. Unfortunately for me, that lowers the addiction-factor a lot.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
(There are only a few holes that force you to throw an particular shot shape. There is indeed a variety of right and left ending holes, but usually plenty of room to navigate.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
(This is by far the strength of this course. It is beautifully manicured, is generally secluded from the hustle-bustle of life, and is a great place to just breathe in an relax.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    4/10/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What can I say a verity of shots. Great scenery. Many friendly people. Just the other day I just joined up with some other avid golfers. You must check out course if your in town.
Cons: Stink Stink and more stink. If you are near or around the water. Trust me you DO NOT want to go in the water. If you do not have a retriever then Consider buying a new disc before entering. Last year I got stuck in knee deep in the muck on hole 20. I never did get that disc back. If you find it or get it your more then welcome to keep it LoL. Anyway avoid the water.
Other Thoughts: Other then the water you should be able to really enjoy yourself on this course. I hope to see you out there.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big and Open

2-4    5/26/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: smythransom
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro level in the distance. Well maintained and relatively clean
Cons: One long shot after another. A little confusing if you do not know the coures or have no scorecard/map for the course is spaced out.
Other Thoughts: Was bored playing it for it was throw it as far as you can and do it again at the next whole.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course of Just Disc Golf

5+    12/25/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: jay@just-disc-golf
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Originally designed by Steady Ed, here is some history, The original Canton disc golf course was a 9-hole recreational course located in WaterWorks Park, downtown around 1981. The course was built through the efforts of Robert Miller, then City of Canton Park Maintenance Foreman. He was introduced to disc golf at a Park Convention in California at a presentation by Ed Headricks, 'Father' of the Frisbee and disc golf. There were conflicts with other park users in WaterWorks Park which became apparent after the course gained more play.

In 1986, Ed Headricks designed a 9-hole course in Arboretum Park which is essentially the 'front' side of the current course. New 24 is old 1 except the tee was moved about 50' further northeast. Short holes 1(old 2), 5(old 5),15(old 6),16(old 7),and 17( old 8) are original. Hole 3 used to play from current tee 2 to a basket which was on the side of the hill 100' west to tee 4. Tee 4 is original but the basket was moved from just inside the 'path' to 15 up on the hill to commemorate the unexpected passing of Eric Hickman. The original hole 9 has a concrete tee 100' south of the new short 18's tee and played to where the practice basket is now located. Many trees have fallen and others have grown as the course continues to change. The original design was significantly harder.

In 1988, the early club (Chris Pelligrino, Dan Kilgore, John Franks, and Jim Tanley) designed the 'back'-9 in Spiker Park and physically relocated the baskets from the WaterWorks course. The club developed the layout with Chris Pelligrino as the lead designer.

In 1999, the City of Canton Park Department (Doug Perry, Director) added holes 19 through 24 complete with the short concrete tees. Hole 18 was modified at that time. The club developed the layout with Chris Pelligrino, again as the lead designer. It was at this time that the course was officially named the "Robert E. Miller Disc Golf Course".

The baskets are all DGA Mach II basket. The chains were replaced on the original baskets in Spiker Park in 1999.

The original tees were grass with treated 4x4 toe boards. In 1997, the club obtained permission from the park to construct the short concrete tees for holes 1 through 18. At that point, hole 1 was removed and new holes 2 and 3 were then created. In late 2002, the park department and the club partnered in the installation of 24 concrete, long tees. The concrete tees and the long layout was designed by the club with Bill Griffith as the lead developer. The front 10 loop is challenging if you dont have a big arm and can teach you placement. Many things to happen in 2009 by the reforming SCDGA club...
Cons: The baskets are old but usable and the SCDGA has created a basket fund to help replace the courses baskets...
Other Thoughts: This course is located close to two fine disc golf establishments Qhut on Cleveland ave. @ 3 miles away where you can get disc golf supplies and all your head shop needs and Just Disc Golf Ohio's premiere disc golf pro store,located at 1416 Whipple ave NW Canton, Ohio 44708 @ 2 miles from course.. We specializes in disc golf accessories as well as a full line of apparel. Just Disc Golf also has Ohio's only 80 foot indoor putting arena to aid our customers in that difficult putter purchase... a Driving Net to keep your arm in shape over the winter as well!!

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky to live close!

5+    10/26/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: spenlee3
Played: 78  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course layout, plenty of challenging holes, park maintained nicely. New tee signs are great! Water comes into play on several holes. Seen these ponds eat a lot of discs, but avoiding the water is half the fun! Always seems to be other players here. Very popular destination. Some technical holes, some open, long shots to test your arm out.
Cons: New signs help with navigation. Park is usally clean. Just wish the Bud Light drinkers would carry their trash out with them. Not sure what's so difficult about that.
Other Thoughts: Park is right in the middle of a large residential neighborhood. Non players are always friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful and challenging course

5+    10/30/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: azdavis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with great scenery. The course ranges from wide open shots, to some tougher shots through trees, bushes, etc. The new style tee signs are wonderful for quick an easy hole description. Also the free pencils and scorecards at the start of the course make it much easier to keep track of things. Of all the times I have been to this course, there has yet to be a large amount of people. Great for all levels of disc golf players.
Cons: The water I know from experience can cause some trouble, interrupting the flow of play if you sink one. The water is not only deep in some spots, it is also dirty from the ducks leaving their marks. Apart from the water I have found no problems on this course.
Other Thoughts: The course is simple to travel to being located close to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great, challenging course with variety.

2-4    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new tee signs -- new style of map and they are great.

Well-maintained course. Not too busy when I have been there, but active. Nice variety of holes, will require multiple skill shots at times.

Water hazards, but nothing too risky. Long concrete tee pads.

Beautiful park, easy to find. 24 holes! And the added 6 holes do not feel tacked on. Not sure if they were added or it was built like that all at once.
Cons: Baskets are old, but still in working shape.

Some of the holes on the main 18 are a bit of back and forth.

Course has a weird split after hole 5(?); just a short walk, but disrupts the flow a bit.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course. Maintained and not much traffic except for other disc golfers.

It's an active course, but nothing unreasonable. Good to see people out there playing. Locals are friendly and seem quite into disc golf.

As I mentioned there are brand new tee signs this year and they are excellent. A new style I haven't seen before, but really let you know where all the baskets and obstacles are. Pro, Am and a Novice tee, which are really short.

Nice variety of holes, but primarily this is an open course with lots of opportunities for long bombs if that's your thing. That said, there are a decent number of holes for those like me that drool over technical shots.

The course is one of the few in the NE Ohio area that I have played (and I have played most of them) that have actual water hazards. Nothing serious, but adds a nice challenge.

The course/park is expansive and nestled in a quiet neighborhood, resulting in a relaxing game.

Not much in the way of activities for the non-disc golfer (or I missed them). Bathrooms right by the start of the course, and I believe a water fountain as well. No concession stand or anything like that.

Not much trash on the course, but there are garbage cans and they seem to get emptied regularly.

Not really sure there is anything in the way of a "signature" hole on this course, rather an overall solid course that is not only enjoyable, but challenging. If you are in/near the area, definitely check this one out.

And if you do play Arboretum-Spiker, be sure to hit the Lincoln Park course in Massillon, which is only 15-20 minutes from here and another great course. A bit more technical and hilly, but one of my faves.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Bad, (not so) Ugly.

5+    10/6/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great deal of avenues for the disc to travel on most drives, lends greatly to imagination. Scenic, well taken care of. Brand spankin new tee signs at ALL HOLES. Friendly atmosphere. Water hazards aren't very menacing, which leads to ballsier shots.
The front is nice to warm up, whereas the back is indeed a place to let some of those discs you don't normally throw, fly fly fly.
Cons: Some pro pads (for me) are too difficult to create a 3-shot hole. The extra driving distances are a small factor, but the bigger aspect of the pro tees is the landscape. Stepping back to the Pro tees creates a different aspect (in most cases) that also will require a different type of shot than the front tees. This isn't all bad howerver, as some Pro tees create an easier path for a long drive, whereas the shorter tee requires a short drive and less room for a disc to fly it's desired path.
Some of the posted distances are whacked, as someone said previously.
Other Thoughts: Very fun, but not nearly the challenge that the Massilon course is. Unless you play the Pro tees. It's great for beginners and seasoned vets alike.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.