Red Feather Lakes, CO 
Sundance Trail Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #4
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Best Course in Colorado

2-4    9/4/2017   9/13/2017
Review By: Mushin No Shin
Played: 682  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Baskets ARE there!
Red Feather Lakes area is Gorgeous

Perfect mix of hole types:
Tunnel shot thru rows of Pines
Shots thru Pines from Boulder Pads to Baskets on Boulder Croppings, using elevation
Huge uphill Huk to Basket on top of Boulders
Top of the World Shot
500ft hole with Basket guarded by Pines and Boulders
Technical shot shaping thru tight Pines
Shaping bigger shots onto Greens with guarded Baskets
Water hazard behind Green
True Par 4 Hole #16
More crazy elevation thru Pine and Boulders, up and then down
Air out shot with drop off ledge along fairway and beside basket
Last 2 holes are huge shots that could be birdie opportunities or could also become 4s

The first time I came thru here, 1 and 16 were the two weakest holes, IMO.
1 seemed like a filler hole, to get from the lot to the "good stuff". It's a pretty long tunnel shot, 400ft, with big ole pines on the left and younger 15-25ft Pines on the right. I underestimated how easily a bogey can happen here. It's a solid challenge and a good tough first hole :)
16 has been redesigned and is now the toughest 3 to get. The only true par 4.

Cons: Beehive in the Root Stump in the middle of 3s fairway. Make sure your Towel doesn't catch some Bees, and make them wanna get all stingy (I should have told myself)

In my perfect World...
18 disappoints me. I want the Tee to be after 17s Basket, and up on the next shelf! Then have the basket up on the Boulders in front of where it is now. This hole could be a Beast! It plays as a Mid-Thumber for an easy bird, the way it's setup now.
Other Thoughts: I'm indifferent to Natural Pads. These were all good the two times I've been here, in Sept and Oct.

Also indifferent to Manure. Didn't effect my fun.

14s basket is to the Right, inside the group of Pines... not the one straight out unguarded (that was 12s)

Bark Beetle has impacted this part of the Country. So there's that going on with the Pines and course maintenance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So good, yet..

1    6/19/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 72  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My perspective is one of a disc golfer coming up from Denver for a day in the mountains with some great disc golf. This trip delivered! This course forced me to pull out every shot and every disc in my bag. If your game has any hole in it, its going to show. Plenty of tight technical shots, long bombers of every type, tunnel shots, placement shots, and even a water hazard. The elevation and sheer length will challenge you physically. There were a lot of memorable holes, including 5, 8, 17, 18, You will not be short of challenges, views, and memories on this course.
Cons: This course is frustrating for a few reasons. With a picture of the map, I was able to find one's tee area. Once there... where do I throw? The lack of signage is one thing, but the baskets were often times painted dark blue. Some baskets had the benefit of flags, but the majority did not. A lot of extra hiking to find the basket could have been avoided; something as simple as streamers could drastically help visibility. In mid to late June, there were some marshy areas that were tricky, but not impassable. Some holes had absolutely no discernible line through the trees, making them "throw and pray" affairs. Cell service was spotty here, which could be a plus too. Not beginner friendly, leave the casuals at the lodge, there's plenty for them to do too! Natural tees were ok when I played, but could be slogfests during spring melt off. No practice basket
Other Thoughts: Though this was a very tough course, I had a great time playing it, and since it was sparsely populated, I often times threw multiple tee shots just for fun. Even the drive up from Denver was scenic. I thought it presented a great value for the money. I ended up starting on hole 16, and I recommend it. You get the heavy climbing out of the way early while your legs are still fresh, working up to the technical shots 2-6, peaking on the cliff bomber 8, from there working mostly downhill from there to a fine finishing hole in 15, right by the water. Anyway, this is a excellent course that, with a few improvements, could be right up there with the best of them!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

21 unique holes in the rocky mountains

1    6/4/2017   6/4/2017
Review By: PaddyBudz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every type of shot you could ever hope for. Long bombers through open fields, top of the world shots (long and short), uphill shorty, uphill long. You get the idea. It has everything and it doesn't repeat itself. The first few holes play around trees and rocks, and are quite technical with varying in elevation and tight (but forgiving) lines. Then the course opens up for you to break out the wide rim drivers and rip some long shots (good long par 3 maybe 4) before getting a little technical in the trees. Before going back up into the hills for the last few holes you play a very long uphill hole so you get a chance to grip it and rip it before putting the drivers away until the last hole. The last holes in the hills are a long tight uphill hole and a shot top of the world bomber. Not a bad way to finish playing in the trees. The last two holes before the end are a dog leg right and left making you think "should I try and go over the trees for two or take the safe three". Lastly the last hole is an across the valley shot that you are going to want to throw a couple shots on.

There is a new liquor store on site so you can get beverages to take with you.

I saw maybe 2 other groups out there all day, so you can take your time and enjoy your round.

The course is $3/rd or $5/day which is also a great deal for such an amazing course.
Cons: -Slash piles: When I played a few of the slash piles got in the way causing me to hunt for a disc, (#5, and #18) so you might want to put a spotter down range if you have one

-Lack of signage: There really isn't any signage to the next hole, and while the map at the front is accurate and the course flows pretty well there were a few times I got lost. Also some of the baskets are blind shots so it might be helpful to have an arrow pointing to it. There is an abundance of slash piles use some of the wood to make some signage.

-No marked distances: The holes aren't marked for distance so you don't really know what to throw on some of the in between holes.

-Some Baskets play close to each other: 3 times I found myself throwing into the wrong basket because of some of the proximity of the baskets to each other, this more than likely would've been rectified with looking at the map or just playing the course more
Other Thoughts: I've played a lot of public, private, and seasonal courses in this state and this is by far and away one of the best. I don't think I stopped smiling the whole time.


This is a course on an active ranch, along with a disc golf bed and breakfast, so there are options for trail rides (with horses) where you can play a round and someone else in your family can go on a trail ride. The trail rides also came with vouchers for a round at a later date. There are also on site cabins that you can stay in so you can play this course, go on a trail ride, then come back later and play some more.

I'm sure someone is going to compain about dirt teepads, however this is the Rockies not a flat park where you can bring in a cement truck. It is costly, not environmentally friendly, and a overall pain to pour pads in the mountains, so while some may see this as a con I just see it as it is part of playing in the mountains.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

High Altitude Attitude

2-4    5/30/2015   4/5/2016
Review By: SpearfishDGA
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots, scenery, site of the grateful disc tournament.
Cons: Few places to sit, can be very muddy/wet in certain seasons.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, very nice people that run the dude ranch. I had a very good time although I certainly was feeling the altitude. There were small streams running all through the course this was due to the fact that I was there when the snow melt was at it height. I definitely recommend this course over beaver meadows for shot variety ease of navigation and overall maintenance of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but not great

1    8/7/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 31  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has good tunnel shots. The level change is phenomenal... rarely does the elevation stay the same. Good mix of long and short shots. And when you have a short shot, you have a tiny alley to nail for a good run. The guy running it couldn't be nicer. Good people up there.
Cons: Terrain is pretty rough, and the hike between holes doesn't help much. The map isn't very accurate, and signage is pointless now. The temp baskets are solid, but not as nice as the pictures here. The measurements are super inaccurate. I calculated that each hole is at least 50-100 feet off of it's listed length.
Other Thoughts: I try to find the positive about every course, and this one had some... but when I drive that far and pay to play, I expect a lot more than what I got.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better of Two RFL Courses

2-4    3/29/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Like Beaver Meadows, this course is based in the foothills/mountains of the Northern Front Range of the Rocky Mountains. The land is absolutely gorgeous and there are plenty of views.
-Much better signage and navigation than BM. I would still recommend printing the map at home because they might be out when you get there. Most holes had signs with numbers and the baskets were numbered. The scorecard/map has more info. There are also a lot less blind tee shots than BM so that helps navigation as well as a better basket to next tee flow.
-There are a few ace runs here, nothing super easy but many holes within striking distance for most players.
-Great use of the abundant elevation. Hills just make courses more fun.
-A solid mix of hole distance and shot variety. There are some holes in the mid-100s and a few in the 500s and even 600 I think. There were some sweet bomber holes with cool views and some fairly tight lines through the conifers. The course didn't seem to favor a certain throwing style over another and was overall very fair. There was one water hole but I didn't feel like the carry was as precarious as a few of the throws at BM. You can also work your way around the edge of the water.
-Some cool and unique pin positions among rocks and on slopes. Can make for some fun and interesting putts.
Cons: -Natural tees. They were kind of muddy at this time of the year (late March) and look like they could be uneven and rutted when they dry out later in the season.
-Not a beginner course. There are some short holes but the few that are 400+ and feature elevation are pretty difficult. There is one water hazard to be wary of that could eat a disc.
-Pay to play. This is a course that isn't going to see a lot of traffic regardless of its fees due to its remote location. I think the pay to play just makes the ranch a few more bucks but isn't put back into the course often. A few more dollars spent on this course could definitely up the quality.
-This is a ranch so you have to be aware of other users and be ok with possibly landing in horse poo a time or two. Most of it is pretty dry and it isn't a big deal but it is there.
-Be careful with the weather up in the mountains.
Other Thoughts: -This is a course that I would return to. I think it would be even more fun if I had waited to play it in warmer weather when all of the snow was gone. I am moving a lot farther away from this course soon and had to play it at this time.
-There is a lot to do here including just relaxing at this awesome, peaceful and serene ranch. If you bring others here and they just want to relax or explore the property, that would give you time to get in a round.
-There is food on site as well as lodging if you want to make a vacation out of this destination. The disc golf is pretty good but I wouldn't make it the only reason to come out here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One Hard Course

1    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: fantomhockey
Played: 69  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really does have it all. Technical short shots, technical long shots, open raw power shots...and hole 10. Hole 10 is absolutely in my top 3 favorite holes of all time. 10 is a shorter hole played up the side of a rocky hill. The basket leaves no margin for error, play too long or too far left and you're down a 20' vertical drop. The views from the basket, looking over the entire ranch, make the whole trip worth it.

As for scheduling the round; they're pretty relaxed and don't seem to require scheduling a tee time. Your 3 dollars for the round (or 5 for the day) also include juice and some cookies! The ranch seems like a great place for a mini stay-cation as well, tons of other activities available.
Cons: The drive is long, even from north FoCo. It is a very pretty drive though, counts for something.

Being a ranch, the many horses seem to either be ridden or wander over the entire grounds. Poo is everywhere but that's not really the problem. Sure, there is some smell, but the real problem is the horse and deer flies it attracts. They can get very annoying and don't seem to mind DEET at all.

My biggest grievance was the walk back to the lodge (and car) from 18. Next time I may try to leave the car near the end of the course and make the walk at the beginning when I'm fresh.
Other Thoughts: This is a long, fairly difficult course. If you're playing with beginners or someone who doesn't have a long arm offer plenty of moral support, they'll most likely need it. They had also run out of score cards (which have the course map on the back) when we played and although we played without it, a map would have been very useful and appreciated. Worth the time to print one off before heading to the course just to ensure you have one in hand.

Visit the Cache La Poudre course in Laporte if your headed south after finishing the course. CLP is a great confidence booster after a difficult 18 at Sundance Trail Ranch.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 9/6/12

2-4    9/5/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the epitome of what a course should be. Superb layout (although on 9 you can confuse that with basket 13, just go UP the hill), baskets are covered in obstacles (trapped by rocks on hole 3). A few long shots (it could use a few more more), some fun short shots, lots of woods, some open spaces, up and down the hill and fun! Primitive tees, baskets have flags on them, This course is too much fun. Easy? No, Very difficult? No. Playable and fun for all levels: absolutely.
Cons: I shot very, very badly. Both games.
Other Thoughts: more course reviews posted in the Active Players social group.


0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Fun

1    8/6/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Course offers a lot of variety. The first 7 holes are tight and wooded with a more technical approach. 8 plays over the lake (its the only water hole). 10 through 14 are up and down mountain holes. 10 has a fantastic view on its summit. One of the most visually fantastic holes I've ever played. The final few holes are back to the more wooded variety. There are a few shorter holes and a few epic throws.

I am also a fan of the local hole sponsors. The signs were great (a few were damaged by the elements). It made the course more clear to play. The people at the lodge were also very nice and offered a nice map with a scorecard on it. They were also dog friendly for well mannered dogs.

The WOW factor for the course is definitely hole 10. Great view.
Cons: Hole 9. Its a big massive hole that is designed to get the players across the valley to the hill where the second section of the course is. It is so far away that It feels like its the next holes pin. My feeling on the hole is that getting a 19th hole in that space would be preferable. It has a few obstacles to use for 2 holes and easily enough space. Holes 16 through 18 are a bit redundant. They are a collection of more technical shots that largely use the same space.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely going to be playing this course again. It was a great time and a good play. The 3 dollars to play was well worth it. Red Feather is a fun area in general and if nothing else was a fun day trip. It is by no means a quick drive up here even from Fort Collins but it was a good very pretty drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pay to be frustrated.

1    8/7/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Beautiful area for disc golf. You can tell it's a work in progress, and they seem to be improving things with tee signs that give you a picture of the hole, and a yellow line demonstrating where you should throw. Unfortunately, many signs were missing.
Cons: Tee signs aside, you had to walk many fairways to get a look at the basket. Many holes seemed "dumb". Next tees were sometimes hard to find. For a "pay to play" course it isn't worth the money for someone that doesn't already know the course. I prefer to play a course as intended, but that involves accurate maps and signage. Courses where you wander around to find tees and baskets are very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A course that takes money in should spend some on making the course playable for first-timers, not just depend on the locals to be the only players. I won't be back.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center