Nashville, TN 
Cedar Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Love this Course

5+    5/2/2017   6/2/2018
Review By: Nigel_Tufnel
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
Pros: Awesome course that is easily accessible from I-65. 15 min from downtown. Well maintained. Good pads and chains. Great variety of holes. #10 and #18 are the highlights. Second best course in Nashville behind 7 Oaks. Never crowded
Cons: *Can be a bit confusing to find the parking lot/first hole.

*Multiple elevated baskets. Never been a fan

One of the best Iíve played

1    5/30/2018   5/30/2018
Review By: billtm
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grippy concrete tee pads
Helpful tee signs
Great shot variety
Great use of elevation
Fair fairway widths
Challenging tree placement, especially around the greens
Cons: A lot of the baskets seem like they would be prone to spit outs, especially hole 16's basket, though I didn't get any spit outs when I played.
I wish there were "next tee" signs below every basket, because some of the walks (9 to 10 for example) weren't super obvious and I totally missed the inner 3 holes when I played.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an excellent course. The only disappointment I had was that I missed out on the inner 3 holes. This is my second favorite course that I have ever played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyably Frustrating

1    4/6/2018   4/10/2018
Review By: danmcdnc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely beautiful, and is the type of course why one wants to spend time outside chasing a disc. The diversity in types of holes was enjoyable, as well as some of the throws necessary. It took a skilled player to play this course well and have a respectable score. All types of shots were used and it was both even for left-handed and right-handed throwers. You wouldn't know you were twenty minutes away from a big city.

Cons: It was confusing to find the next hole many times, even with the map at the previous hole kind of guiding you. There were random arrows pointing to the next hole, but even some of those were far away from the baskets.

Pin placement was very confusing on some, especially hole 6 I believe, and wasn't too aligned with the maps.

I was shocked at how few trash bags or cans were out there.

This was my biggest issue: the tee pads. Many had a good 6-8 inch drop after the pad, and really kind of deterred you from getting into and ripping your disc. It may not seem like a big deal, but it was subconsciously there in your mind as you threw.
Other Thoughts: There is no such thing as a bad day on a disc golf course in my opinion. I will admit that I am a bit spoiled, I live in Charlotte and play all over the city, so I am inundated with the riches of courses to choose from and play.

I liked this course, I truly did, but there could be a few smaller aspects improved that would go a long way. This is the type of course that would get better as you play it and become more acquainted with it. Also, it was a bit muddy and messy, but that comes with the territory of any course, you're outside and not inside, or playing traditional golf, for a reason. If I'm back in Nashville I'll visit it again, too nice and diverse not to play, and full of potential.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nashville's Northern Gem

1    1/20/2018   4/4/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.901 Rating) An aging gem that's stood the test of time
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I loved the natural allure of this course. The cedar trees reminded me of my disc golf early days in Austin Texas. Lots of fully wooded carved fairways and lots of elevation changes. Several holes are holes are worthy of pulling out the camera and snapping a photo. My personal favorites were (7), (17) and (18), but just about them all were aesthetically above average.
- CHALLENGING - A little difficult to rate as it could vary significantly depending on the wildly varying locations for all the basket placements. On my play I got a mix of front, middle and back placements and found the difficultly most closely aligned to the intermediate level. This stated, I believe there are placement combinations here that would have some advanced players struggling to stay pace with course par.
- CHARACTER - A well established course with all the bell and whistles. Walking up from the parking there's a practice basket and community board (No course map on my visit.) The tees are concrete and above average in size being 5 feet by 12 feet. All the tees have benches and the hole signage shows an adequate description of the fairway with obstacles and has pin placement indicators. The hole signage also indicates all the hole placements and some of the holes have as many as five sleeves. By far the biggest omission on this course is multiple tees. The feature is only present on two holes (9) and (10).
- UNIQUENESS - Mostly wooded but with fairways of varying widths. A couple holes even feel relatively open. As stated above, lots of elevation changes. Holes range from sub 200 feet to well over 700 feet depending on the basket placement. Several deep pocket shots in both directions and placement dogleg par 4s. Really the only missing items are the gut checking water plays and a par 5.
- NAVIGATION - I didn't have any issues, although not seeing a course map posted at the community board was a surprising omission. Just enough directional cues along the layout to keep an attentive player on track. Hole signage has next tee direction, but oddly no par info.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course manages to find the perfect middle ground between too easy and too hard. I could see recreational thru advanced level players loving this course. Probably not the best course for beginners, however on my play I saw families with kids throwing the course. Also not championship difficult for the pros, but then again how many course are?
- MAINTENANCE - Cedar Hill was in really good shape on my visit. Mowed fairways throughout and downed limbs were few and far between. There was some trash deep in the woods, but most city courses with the large wooded park set-up have the same issue.
- BONUS HOLES - There are three short bonus holes nestled between (2), (3), (16) and (17). I unfortunately didn't have time to play them, but I saw others playing them. It appear s that after finishing hole (2) is the appropriate time to play this three hole loop. The last bonus hole leads into tee (3).

Cons: An excellent course with only ticky tack issues.
- TERRAIN - Not the most physically demanding course out there, but it's still up there. This course will wear those out that aren't in the greatest of shape. Those with knee pain issues should probably say clear. I'd say bringing a cart out here is doable but not the easiest.
- FORGIVENESS - The cedar trees play quite different than the average pine tree. They are comprised of thick and scraggly foliage. Those that enjoy the well defined wider pine fairways probably won't enjoy this course as much as others but it will make them a better player.
- SIGNAGE - Probably better than half the of the courses out there, but they are showing their age. I think for a course of this stature, it deserves a fresh look.
- TIME PLAY - Probably not the best choice for players on a time crunch. I played my solo round in just over an hour and I skipped the short three hole bonus loop. Figure a group of four on a busy day could be here 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

Other Thoughts: I knew Cedar Hill was going to be a great course going in and it didn't disappoint. As of this review, the highest rating I've given to a course in Tennessee (20 courses) and also better than 93% percent of the courses I've played all together. It has just about everything that I enjoy in a disc golf course. Pleasing lines, big downhill plays, variety, aesthetics and amenities. This stated, I think its dominance in the Nashville area is going to be challenged by new comer Cane Ridge Advanced as that course continues to develop. Cedar Hill could do itself a big favor by adding multiple tees at more holes (some longer and some shorter) to bring even more to the skill friendliness factor.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Play It, Play It Again, and Play It Some More

5+    3/14/2018   3/14/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot Variety: Cedar Hill forces you to use every shot and disc in your bag. There are tight fairways that open up into a field. There are open holes that end just inside the woods. There are tunnel shots. There are slightly larger fairways where you need to follow the curve of the land. There are uphill shots, downhill shots, and tunnel shots. If you play here consistently and focus on your shots, this course will both reward you and make you a better player.

Pin Placements: One reason this course offers so many looks is the pin placement. Each hole has at least two pin placements, with most having three. Some have up to five. There are scenarios where a different pin placement can change the distance of a hole up to 300'. For example, #2 in the A position is a ~230' ace run with a couple small trees to avoid. However, in the furthest position (I think it's D), it becomes a 400+ foot hole where the last 100' enter the woods, with many more trees to dodge on the way in. This pin variety not only keeps the course interesting for regular players, but it also adds unique elements to the course depending on what positions the holes are in.

Teepad and Pin Areas: The teepad areas throughout this course are fantastic. The teepads are large and in great shape. There are benches and trash cans throughout. The hole signs are accurate for all pin placements, and the pin in play is clearly marked. The signs also mark where the next tee is, aiding in navigation. For the most parts, the pin supports are located in small wooden boxes filled with rounded gravel; this not only prevents the area from eroding away, but it also points out clearly where the unused pins are.

Navigation: For the most part (see cons), navigation on this course is a breeze. Even without the "next tee" markers, it is pretty intuitive where to go. The paths between holes are well-traveled, well-marked, and usually don't have any erosion issues. The course designers did a really good job laying out the course throughout the park, incorporating different looks while still giving it an easy flow.

Dramatic Shot Views: I'm not really sure how to title this, but anyone who has played this course knows what I am talking about. There are a lot of "wow" holes on this course, due to the excellent use of land and maintenance of the fairways. The drive for #17 is one of my favorite shots of all time, a true downhill bomber where the thrower can just let it rip. #18 also has a good driver view, and an even better finishing view when the pin is in the wooded tunnel (Pin E). The drive for #7 is probably the most risk-reward throw of the entire course, with a tight downhill fairway of around 400' opening up into a field where the pin locations are. #2, #5, and #10 are more examples. This course uses the elevation and flora of the park extremely well, and it is apparent while playing what exactly the course designers were thinking with each hole.
Cons: ***it should be noted that none of these cons are drastic, nor do they really detract much from the overall experience.

Navigation from #7 through #10: This is the only confusing section of the course (especially if you make note of the "next tee" signs at the teepad). Once you crush that downhill drive at #7, you see a yellow elevated basket right in the middle of the field you are playing to. However, this is not always the basket. #7 and #10 share basket placements, and while this yellow elevated basket is always in the same location, the other basket moves and it is not always clear which basket belongs to which hole. #8 is beyond #7, and not hard to find. #9 has both a regular teepad and an alternate teepad, and the alternate teepad is the one that is easiest to find from #8; however, only the regular teepad has the sign that says what hole is in play. #10 also has an alternate teepad, roughly 150' closer to the pin than the actual teepad. Again, only the actual teepad has a hole sign. These are the only two holes with alternate teepads, and personally I think it disrupts the flow a bit. However, if you've played it before and can manage the navigation, this is no longer an issue.

Baskets: The baskets are in good condition. However, all of them are grey (except the elevated basket for #7/#10 and for #18, they have a yellow band at the top). This makes them blend into the forest pretty well. This is not a huge problem because the signage at the teepad does a really good job of showing where the pin is, but it can be an issue if you've never played that pin location before.

Mud: When the ground is wet, this course becomes a bit harder to play. Because a lot of the fairways are either grass or dirt, mud is prevalent and slipping (both on throws and on walks) can be an issue. #7 is almost always wet at the bottom of the hill, even in hotter weather.

Lack of Par: Personally, this is not a con, but it should be noted... There is no listed pars on the holes of this course. Using a Par 3 works well for most of the pin locations, but for some holes (#7, #15 in the longer positions) it is not realistic. I think the pars were left off because the pin placements can drastically change how difficult a hole is, but as long as you agree on a par with your playing mates, it is not an issue.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I think Cedar Hill is Nashville's most well-rounded course. It attacks you with both distance and technicality, and it has all the amenities you would expect a top-notch public course to have. An added bonus is that this course is rarely crowded, unlike its oft-compared cousin on the south side of the city (Seven Oaks). If you are visiting, you should try everything you can to play this course; if you are local, you need to have this course in your rotation. It is unquestionably in the upper-echelon of Middle Tennessee courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Nashville Must

1    3/20/2017   3/22/2017
Review By: ChadNewman
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee had a nice tee pad with seating around and a trash can. Course was clean with a few cans laying around here and there (yes we picked those up).

Signage made navigating the course very easy. Easy tee had multiple tee placements, but a red ring is place below the sign next to the current placement allowed throws to be taken without running up and down fairways. Along with the pin locations each sign showed where the next tee box was located.

Not many open holes to have a huge open bombs other than 17. The majority of the holes will require some kind of tunnel shot or straight accurate shot with a late turn one way or the other.

A couple of my favorite holes were #3, #16, #18
- 3: Threw two different shots because of the two different lines. The first was a LHBH with a nice late hyzer and the second was a LHFH (the more open shot) that ended with a nice skip towards the basket.
- 16: Huge shot with a late turn right down into a grove of trees. Main reason I probably enjoyed the hole was because of the birdie, but really neat tunnel shot down.
- 18: Just a great way to end the course. A nice shot out of the trees to an open field back into the trees.

The staple hole was #10
- 10: "Ben's Basket" is an elevated basket requiring an upwards putt. I wish there would have been a little more information about Ben. #7 and #10 explained the placement of the basket because both can potentially play to it.
Cons: We played the course after some rain and the course doesn't hold water very well in a few spots, but this won't be an issue every day.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course that requires every shot in the book. I really enjoyed getting out to this public park and playing this course. No real major cons and its an absolute must if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth playing. Again

1    1/20/2017   1/20/2017
Review By: Gropester
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Fantastic variety of shots. You will use every shot you have
- Great use of elevation. I had to re-throw a couple of holes to really do them justice.
- There are several downhill ceiling shots that are pretty unique and challenging!
Cons: - The course could use some love, it's a little worn down
- Navigating some holes was a little difficult, I did get lost once or twice (make sure you study the tee sign for the next hole)
Other Thoughts: Technically this course was amazing. Maybe I caught it on a bad day, but the course came off a little bleak. I hope to give it another shot soon!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Probably Gets Better The More You Play It

1    11/26/2016   11/27/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well kept course. Signage at each tee is very detailed & better than most at other courses. Concrete tee pads at every hole with benches and trash cans at most. The course offers a variety of holes. Both downhill & uphill, hyzer & anhyzer, wooded & open. The property this course is located on is very nice. Lots of walking trails & pavilions - but none of them really interfere with the course.
Cons: If this is your first time at this course - finding hole #1 is going to be a problem. As you enter the park, there is a sign that reads "Disc Golf Course" that points to the left. We turned left & could see a bunch of cages, but couldn't find the first hole. We circled the entire park twice and actually stopped to ask a park patron where the course was before we got to the right place. The pins are not in the greatest shape and don't even match! Some are the yellow Innova Disc Catchers and some are the standard metal ones. This makes it pretty difficult when you don't even know what to look for when trying to locate the pin from the tee pad. Almost all of the holes have multiple locations, which many would consider a Pro, but I wouldn't say so here unless the par for the hole was changed based on where the pin is. Pin A, for example, could be a Par3 - but Pin 5 might be an additional 200 feet further and still the same par. I also feel that moving pin locations makes it more difficult to compare your play to a previous time.
Other Thoughts: Overall - I enjoyed playing this course & might play it again if I'm in the area. But there are so many other courses in the Nashville area - I'd like to see what other parks have to offer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hill Yeah!

1    8/16/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hill Park is a wonderful disc golf course. The layout is fairly easy to follow, concrete tees, signs and baskets are adequate. There are numerous basket placements on each hole. The fairways are clearly discernible, with plenty of trees and a good elevation change. If you like a challenge you will find it here. Plenty of chances to mark a 2 on the scorecard, and several where a 4 or 5 may be much more likely. Holes 7 and 10 were my favorites, similar holes that are long and downhill with tree lines lanes running to the bottom. 12 and 18 were also some monsters with the pins in the longer layouts. I banged out birdies on holes 4, 11, and 16. Also had four 5's on the card, and hole 16 got me with a 6. Would love to come back and try for better.
Cons: Par 3 on every hole is not realistic with the pin locations I played. Six of the holes were 450' and longer. It is tough sometimes to guess where you are throwing if you're unfamiliar with the course. Saw a bit of litter, but the course was fairly well kept overall.
Other Thoughts: I played 45 holes in Illinois and Kentucky before rolling into Nashville, and wasn't playing my best. Wound up with a 66 (+12), and still felt pretty good about it. I am sure I could shave a few strokes off of that with a few reps. Great mix of difficulty and fun. Give it a shot if you can, definitely a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/19/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 130  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 8.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most readers of this review probably won't have the same course overlap, but the most similar course I've played to Nashville's Cedar Hill is Austin's Circle C. They're both long, extremely challenging, forcing you to make all kinds of different throws. The short, scrubby trees reminded me of Circle C too. The other similarly on the con side is that both are older, beat in courses that have seen better days in terms of upkeep. They both are fighting a battle with erosion. There are logs and gravel paths to try to stem fairway erosion, and it seems to be working, to some extent.

1. Very challenging. Distance required, but also finesse and accuracy. Several death puts, including an elevated basket and some on hills and ridges with bad roll-aways. There are tunnels, steep uphills, downhills, long par 3's and 4's. This course has it all, including multiple pin placements (2 to 6 per hole). I imagine the locals never get tired of this course. It's a monster -- and super fun to play.

2. Awesome shot variety.

3. Big elevation element.

4. Multiple pin placements.

5. Good tee pads.

6. Navigation is easy.

7. Benches at many holes, good signage at all holes.
Cons: 1. Upkeep isn't great. There's trash in several areas. It's also not the most picturesque course.

2. The multiple pins are nice, but it's a little overwhelming. Six pin locations on s hole seems a little much.

3. I wish the baskets were newer and more visible from the tee. There's no yellow/orange/pink band on the basket and they blend in to the trees and terrain. I had to walk up several fairways to see what I was throwing to.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. If you get a chance to play this one in Nashville and Circle C in Austin, see if my comparison is accurate. Both are great courses that I highly recommend.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.