Kansas City, MO 
Swope Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe_mahan Hole #13 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 485ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great

5+    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 133  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with great elevation and use of space, varied holes. Look amazing in the summer/spring, but I'm not sure it would be as appealing in the fall
Cons: some fairways have trees that are just random, which can be annoying. Some interesting people tend to crowd the fairways. Was afraid of getting robbed past 6 at night.
Other Thoughts: great course and one of my favorites, would play again, especially before three in the afternoon. Would never play this or any course on the missouri side at night, or even the kansas side except shawnee and prarie center.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Did you hear an echo? Elevation, elevation, elevation,

1    3/25/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hill top to hill top is how much of this course is played. You are either throwing up and down a valley or over one. This course obviously has a ton of elevation, simple greens, and uses the hills to make it unique in that way. There are only 2 holes where I could say there's just slight elevation to them. The rest of the holes are for the hill hikers. This course has some interesting rough areas, OB and mandos. It has a pro shop in the center of the course and at least 6 tee pads are close to the pro shop. There is off street parking and a restroom here. This course has some nice tee pads and tee signs.
Cons: The layout seems a bit repetitive going back and forth, up and down the same huge slopes. There are enough pads and baskets in close proximity, you will need to be careful if someone is one hole ahead or behind you. You do throw over a road on 13, so be careful of cars or people there.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor did not really get me too excited here. I loved the elevation, but it just seemed to get a bit redundant after while. It is a great workout playing here. It is absolutely worth playing once. I enjoyed the last half of the course even more than the first half.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Swope Park

1    7/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 41  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course when in KC for the 2009 Worlds competition after the competitors had finished for the day; and found it to be both a fun and pretty challenging course. Although Swope Park itself is mammoth sized in scope, this particular course is set on a 'square tract' of land that is completely enclosed by either roads or parking lot. As such, getting lost is NOT an issue. It is also pretty much impossible to lose a disc here. Another plus is that all holes are played over varying elevations; so you have the vantage of watching your tee shots remain airborne for good lengths of time!
Cons: Due to the scarcity of available space, a couple of the holes are parallel to each other; so they share common fairways. Although Swope Park itself has one of the best zoo's in the country; and many other amenities worth visiting, even the locals will tell you to stay away from this particular course after dark as it's not 'safe'.
Other Thoughts: I haven't been able to play the many other KC metro area courses; however if this course is the least ranked round, then the others must be really excellent as this was a good play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my longtime fav's

1    8/6/2006   12/31/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, nice variety of holes, can play real long, is easy to get around and usually not so bust you can't play at whatever pace you want. It's so under rated.
Cons: It gets overshadowed since Water Works has come on board.
Other Thoughts: It is really close to the ballpark so when we go down to see the Twins play it's cool to play a round before the game. Really is still one of my favorites.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 first time at swope

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the course has a nice change of elevation on alot of holes, and a decent amount of tall trees to make it a fairly decent course.
Cons: there is alot of congestion among some of the holes (5-7) and (15-16) share alot of the same fairway space. We commonly found ourselves waiting for the fairway to clear for other players. It also plays very short.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Impressions

1    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Moufwash
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, not crowded, its nicely maintained in a nice park. Back 9 offers a variety of holes. Good use of the smaller space.
Cons: Switches back a lot so it was hard to find the next tee sometimes (look for trash cans, tops have numbers painted on em). A bit "open" as a whole for my taste.
Other Thoughts: Good beginner course, if you have a decent apporach game you have no buisness not finishing under par on this course. I am nothing special (decent putt and appoarch with accurate drives to about 325 ft.) and didnt feel challenged at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of land available to keep the course challenging. Lots of trees and elevation change make it tough. The wind gets swirly with all the hills adding in some more "fun" to your round.
Cons: The switchback style can get monotonous, though it's not an easy course. Lots of holes throwing from one hill across the valley back up another hill.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course that will challenge you to make birdies and probably the best course for the space that's there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Swope Memorial

2-4    7/3/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a decent variety of terrain on a standard switchback layout. The winter months are obviously very forgiving without foliage to hamper an errant drive. The summer playing conditions require much more accuracy due to low branch foliage. Approach shots are fairly open from most locations even with a poor drive.

All holes are easily achievable in 3 on a straight drive. There are plenty of opportunities to air it out. The mandatories are a must as they will challenge the rhbh player to adjust their game on the 3 holes they are in effect.

It was surpsiring to see that the course was not too crowded on a gorgeous 70 degree afternoon. a bonus for a great course - must be because there are so many to chose from in Kansas City.

A great course to practice up and downhill approach and putting. There were probably only 3 or 4 holes where the approach was flat.
Cons: Holes felt a bit straight away and just a little repetitive. Could use a little more variety on first 4 holes.
Other Thoughts: There is a "grand stand" at tee 1 with a disc return. I founf this a tremendous bonus because we found a disc in mid fairway that was lost with a name and number, so we trust that it is attended on a somewhat regular basis to check for these. We hope!

Concrete tees are awesome!

Has restroom.

Great 18 hole course given the are it is squeezed into. Brilliant use of the property overall!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.