Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: Gh0stNappa Hole #1 (Taken 6/2018)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Best in Dayton

5+    6/26/2018   6/26/2018
Review By: CharlesRuh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Elevation Changes, long and short throws, technical, well kept, always improving, grass is cut weekly!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Favorite course in the Dayton Area. I don't recommend this course for your first disc golf course but once you can throw a disc straight, it's amazing!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Hater's Guide to Sycamore

5+    5/14/2018   5/15/2018
Review By: mrclc
Played: 349  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sycamore Trails DGC overcomes some puzzling design to ultimately succeed on the twin merits of excellent maintenance and some of the Dayton metro's most memorable shots. Hole 9 features a long, gentle hyzer that provides challenge for all skill levels. Most will try to hit the landing zone, located at the lip of a shallow ravine, and play for a long putt/short approach to the pin on the other side. However, the option is available for bombers to try and clear the ravine and water below with a heroic rip. Hole 18 is a pretty significant open downhill with dual tees to suit all skill & confidence levels. The green is deceptively tricky, as the basket is placed on the lip of a larger-than-you-thought dropoff, and going long on your approach always results in a frustrating comeback putt. Other design highlights include Holes 1, 13, and 15.

For a course with a lot of nooks and crannies, the maintenance here is top-notch. Grass is cut and trimmed on all holes throughout the season, and the honeysuckle that lines so many fairways rarely gets out of control. This is some of the best and most consistent volunteer maintenance in the area.

When the late spring/early summer leaves come in this is a pretty attractive course. You'll enjoy the walk, especially around the creek and the woods.

New tee signs show hole diagrams and current pin placements, and the track benefits from concrete pads and DISCatchers in largely good repair.

Sycamore drains better than most courses, with Hole 8 being the lone soggy fairway. The wooded holes can be occasionally muddy, but never anything too sloppy.
Cons: According to the course page, Sycamore was "designed by committee over [a] 3 year period to ensure challenge". I have issues with both parts of this quote. For starters, great courses combine individual hole diversity with an overall sense of flow, continuity, and harmony. Sycamore feels like a scattershot collection of 18 golf holes rather than a fully realized course. Eighteen ideas - some good, some bad - whose only continuity is that they appear on the same patch of land. Design by committee might seem like a good idea initially, but it robs this course of any sense of cohesiveness.

Ensuring challenge at Sycamore often comes at the expense of good design. Holes 4, 11, and 16 are silly holes that punish good shots and bad shots alike, requiring very specific throws with no room for latitude or creativity. Hole 11 in particular forces a very particular RHBH/LHFH low ceiling skip shot to have any look at the pin, and thick rough awaits anything that isn't 100% on line. RHFH/LHBH players of all skill levels are effectively out of luck. Many players enjoy this one, but as a nearly exclusive forehander I do not.

Miscellaneous design quibbles include the crowded fairway on Hole 2 (just a couple trees need to be cleared for real lanes to the basket) and the long pin placement on Hole 3 (just shift the pin a few feet to allow for a cleaner approach).

The routing can be a little confusing the first time, so make sure you bring a map.

Parking by Hole 1 can be limited on nice days, but there's enough parking elsewhere in the park.
Other Thoughts: When I first started playing disc golf, I hated this course. Despite Sycamore being the closest course to my home, I purposefully held off on reviewing it. Of the 300+ courses I've played, this was the routing where I felt my personal rating fell nowhere in line with the DGCR consensus. Other players assured me that I hated it because I didn't understand it - Sycamore was too challenging for my feeble arm and middling ability, but with WR Jackson and Idlewild already well-entrenched among my favorites I was pretty sure that wasn't the problem. Ultimately, I decided that I didn't like the design, which was made worse by the overall lack of maintenance. No player wants to throw a course that they dislike or are on the fence about when it's rough around the edges. In my mind, this makes the turnaround in the past couple of years all the more noteworthy. Big thanks to the volunteers who have made Sycamore one of metro Dayton's better places to play. Your hard work made this hater come around.

PROTIP: The rat snakes that hang out around Holes 12 & 13 are large but nonvenomous, so don't be alarmed if you see one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sycamore Trails DGC

2-4    4/29/2017   5/2/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love those Discatcher baskets, they seem to grab everything.

Tee pads are in good shape. They really take advantage of the concrete tee pads. Some of the woods holes if you had anything other than concrete they would get destroyed.

Really like the maps on this course. After hole #1 we noticed that the pins were at A. Course played different than the last time when they were at B.

Great course design. Open holes have well designed fairways. Course loops back to the front at the end. #18 puts you right back at your car.

Foliage is very well maintained at this course. This course has a lot of woods and they always seem to keep it in great shape. It was a little soggy on some holes when I played there but a torrential downpour came in 4-5 hours before so I give it a pass. I have seen much worse with much less rain.

Love that they added trash bags to a lot of the tee maps. Some man made benches throughout.

Major elevation changes at this course. #2 I can remember being one of the major elevated holes. #3 I found to be really tough for a righty unless you can throw a good anhyzer.

Great variety of hole distances. Some really short tough wood holes. Some open holes that will benefit those long throwers.

I had to use a lot of shots in my arsenal at this course. I actually think this course tested my mid-range more than any other.

Very challenging course but tons of fun.
Cons: This course can become crowded as it is a favorite of the Dayton area discgolfers.

Fix the water fountains around the beginning of the course.
Other Thoughts: I think #9, #11, #18 have to be some of the most fun holes I have played anywhere.

Restrooms at start of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First time playing course

1    12/3/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Adownard
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing this course and I really enjoyed it, I am a decent disc golfer and I found this course to be one of the more (if not the most) challenging courses in the area. It has a bit of everything. By that i mean it has holes that are heavily wooded with tight corridors to throw down. Open fields to wing it. Uphill and downhill shots/baskets. Even some water hazards. Since I am playing the course in early December almost all leaves were off the trees, probably making it slightly easier. I recommend any intermediate golfer to give this course a try.
Cons: The course is not easy. Most holes seem fairly long and have challenging obstacles. Beginners should not be discouraged by playing this course poorly, because even experienced golfers should have some difficulty playing this course. Only thing I was a little confused about was that the signs on each of the tees had an A and a B basket location. Reading some reviews would have helped me realize there is only one basket per hole, but they are sometimes in different positions? I am not quite sure still.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sycamore has TEE SIGNS NOW!

5+    9/23/2016   9/23/2016
Review By: Gh0stNappa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in Dayton!
- New Tee Signs installed
- Next Tee Signs installed (with some hanging from the baskets)
- Short technical shots and Long bomb throws, this course has it all!
- very clean course, grass cut weekly!
- Each hole feels like a separate hole.
- Baskets moved frequently to prevent repetitiveness
Cons: This is definitely a higher level course. But beginners should not stray away from it! It's a great course to play and learn new shots!
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Dayton area!

Beginners should not stray away from this course at all. This was the first course i ever played and I am much better off because of it. Learning on shorter courses will just make this one seem impossible. But starting out on a longer and tougher course will make all others seem EASY! It's a much better feeling!

Its all about how you present your data, longer holes means more practice!! :D

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course with a little bit of everything.

5+    9/19/2016   9/22/2016
Review By: Gliming5000
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Nice variety of holes
New tee signs!
Tough but not impossible
Bathrooms
Practice tee
Cons: Some teepads are short
Very narrow wooded holes
No bridge across the creek (Hole 6-7&8-9)
Difficult to find
Other Thoughts: This course is Tough. There is a wide variety of holes starting off very narrow and wooded and then opening up in the middle just to narrow back down at the end. The wooded holes are very tight. Hole 16 for instance is only about 150 ft downhill, but the fairway is only 10 feet wide and there is a tree in the middle.The flip side of this is that the tight wooded holes are all pretty short. with the exception of 1 in the long positon and 11.

Long story being short, this is a great course to play if you want to get better at throwing through the woods. Just expect every disc you own to be slightly less stable when you leave.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get some signs!

1    7/7/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: cplatt
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sycamore features varied and interesting hole design on the vast majority of its holes. The woods holes (1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 13, 16) all feature clear, purposeful design, even when the distance is short. Holes 5-10, 15, and 18 are all open, grassy holes. 8, 9 and 15 even feature honest-to-God fairways, demanding both relative power and accuracy. Only a few holes demand (and reward) a powerful drive, chiefly 3, 14, and 18 and, to a lesser extent, 6 and 7. I also appreciated the concrete tee pads and trash receptacles.
Cons: As nearly every review mentions, navigating from hole to hole is difficult. A copy of the course map (which is actually a solid map!) is a must. And yep, about half the holes lack tee box signs. A complete set of signs and clear navigation between holes would raise my rating from a 3.0 to a 3.5, maybe even a 4.0. On a lesser note, Hole 17 seems like an afterthought; it's a short hole with a moderate elevation gain on the edge of the woods near a picnic shelter. It's a bit of a letdown amid so many stronger holes.
Other Thoughts: The technical demands of this course put it alongside Handyman Ace Hardware in Fairborn in my book. But it's so disappointing to see the same negatives aired time and time again reading the years of reviews of this course. I'm not from Miamisburg nor plugged into its discing community, so I don't know where and when the navigation of this course will improve. Work is clearly done on the course, as grass is mowed and the underbrush is bearable, even now in the height of summer foliage. I live in Dayton, and, until improvements are made, I am going to have a hard time justifying a trip here versus Handyman, Belmont, or Englewood.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Building character.. one basket at a time

5+    6/26/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you to use every shot in your book, and maybe a few you don't have yet. When there hasn't been rain, and the creek is low, this is an incredible course.
-Open space to air it out for long drives
-Tight tunnels with plenty of places for error, BUT, there is a clear path to the basket.
-Some really unique tunnel shots, especially hole 11
-Every hole feels unique, there's no repetition at all
-Good tee pads
-Big park, with a good amount of parking
Cons: -The entrance is in a Terrible spot. You need to approach the entrance heading south. If you take 725 and then try to turn left into the park, you'll need to continue straight a few hundred feet and turn around in a parking lot
-You can loose a disc on every hole. Deep woods, thick tree lines, creek water, this course has it all.
-Bring/Download a map for this one. If you've never been it's hard to find your way to and from a few holes, especially 1 to 2, 7 to 9, and somewhat 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for beginners. But, it's a lot of fun.

TIP: I've found a roller to be the best option on 18, especially from the far tee pad. You've gotta throw about 100 ft., then it drops about 300 feet down a hill. Rollers have gotten me the closest every time. BUT you might have trouble tracking it down since you won't be able to watch it roll.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Course is fun, Navigating it is not

1    7/30/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: treee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some of the tunnel shots are really fun.

-Plenty of open holes for those who like to air it out

-A pretty looking park in general

-Good variance between flat holes and holes with elevation change.

Cons: -Course signage is minimal and flow from hole to hole is not always intuitive. (Going from hole 7 to 8 specifically)

-A lot of the tee signs are missing.

Other Thoughts: If you are playing this course for the first time I highly suggest you go with someone who is already familiar with it. Otherwise a fun design that could maybe use a little TLC.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Most of the course is gorgeous

1    7/31/2015   7/31/2015
Review By: jupiterthunder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of this course looks great. Holes are rather unique compared to other area courses. The holes with open fairways are nice because it allows beginners to sling freely. 18 is a fun open, but blind throw that makes the short player feel superhuman. I almost did this one in two seeing the course for the first time.
Cons: But a lot of the course is the last thing I expected. I've been playing for a month and a half. So when I took to the first four holes, I was caught off guard. 1-4 seem to be designed first for hiking and secondly for disc golf. I don't think anyone wandering onto these holes would expect to find that they are in the middle of a disc golf course. Especially with the stream running through hole one and the uphill climb.

Hole one has some rebar sticking up. It looks to have once held planks in place to create steps up to the basket but those planks seem to be gone. The rebar isn't obvious and could lead to a bad surprise if you don't know it's there. It's risky even when you do because of the ascent.
Other Thoughts: My child slipped and fell walking along four because the grade is rather steep and it is graded perpendicular to the direction of travel so it's not a case where you can shuffle sideways just to be safe.

I will go back when I have more time to spend. I will not be playing the first four holes due to the safety risks, first and the high potential for lost of damaged disk for this beginner.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.