Saukville, WI 
Tendick Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 182ft.   4 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good Place , Relax and Play

1    8/26/2018   8/31/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulling into the parking lot , I could tell that the people that run this park are serious about disc golf . I parked and talked to a park employee that gave me the ins and outs of the course . I will give this disclaimer , as I am an out of towner who, up until coming up to Wisconsin , have never done the put the money in the envelope- tear off the receipt- and present it upon request ( I mean demand ) and do not like it . I like a simple transaction where the course employee takes your money , familiarizes themselves with your face and knows you paid instead of someone riding up in a golf cart in the middle of your round and spoiling your train of thought with " do you have proof that you paid , suspect ? " . Anyway , I paid my money , which is $5 per day ( $45 yearly ) , reasonable , as long as you are impressed with course amenities and care . The grounds have a good bathroom , a nice kiosk with a course map and it even tells you what place the pins are in . NICE . The first hole is close by , a good warmup hole that is 275' uphill , that plays more like 300+ , and is protected by rough on the right and behind and sloes to the left some , so if your disc takes a hop , it is likely hopping away from the basket . The tee pads are the grippy trapezoids and lay even with the ground , which make them a crowd favorite . You can see when walking up to 2 ( a 300+ that starts in the open and goes into a large garage-like entrance to the basket about 60+ feet in the woods ) that all of the fairways are manicured , all of the baskets are great and the signage is fantastic . 2 tee pads per hole , several pin positions . benches and trash cans everywhere . I printed a map off the DGR website , which you might not need . The course flows well and you will likely not be lost in your round . This course moves from pretty open to the woods after 5 , and the next 5 holes go in well laid out fashion back and forth until popping back out into the open . I had caught up to a couple of young locals by this time and finished my round with them . By this time , I had played a lot of courses , so I was now mixing my pro tee throws with the AM tees . Most of the pro tees here don't necessarily give you a different look , just adds distance . The course designer here put in a lot of overtime in order to make this course both competitive , but mostly fun . Newbies might want to steer clear of here until they get a hundred rounds or so of easier places until coming here . Most mediocre hack players should be able to 3 most of the holes from the short tees , or at least be putting close . After giving you a bunch of different looks , even on the open holes , the course leads you back to hole 1 . My signature hole here would be either 4 , a wraparound dogleg left 360 footer , #8 a woods tunnel shot 355' that doglegs left , or #15 , which you drive from the open into the woods slightly left of the tee , towards the basket tucked behind random trees to the right . Well worth the money , check this course out .
Cons: I will get this out just to warn players that are used to the free courses : Pay To Play $5 , although this has the advantages of making the people running it accountable to an extent , and that amount of money has never deterred me before . Plus , it can keep newbies and occasional players that have no course etiquette off the course . As I mentioned before , the course fairway is well manicured . The rough is , well , rough . I lost my best Star Tern in the rough throwing straightaway on my approach on 2 in rough over my knees ( I'm 6'6" ) and it is a bright yellow color ! You might spend unneccesary time looking for a slightly wide-of-the-fairway throw . There is private property that borders the course in the back , so be careful rooting around looking for a griplock throw that runs to the right on 4 . To the typical tournament player , this course might not WOW them at all , but the might take advantage of it just so they can not be bothered by the crowds . The course designer missed it on the last couple of holes by not including that pond near 18, the only possible water on the course .
Other Thoughts: To sum it up . This course isn't the championship caliber course as Stony Creek , and it will never have that warm feel of belonging like Dawgwood Ditch , but it will give you a somewhat exclusive course that is not overused and is well taken care of . You get what you pay for , and your $5 is not only reasonable but it is well spent and you feel like a good portion on it goes right back into the course . You can use the multiple pin positions and the short-long tees to gauge improvement from time to time . Bottom line : PLAY IT

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice get away

5+    9/29/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: ericcoleen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course well maintained
Multiple tee and pin placement
Weekdays not crowded
Great Signage

Cons: Pay to play
Other Thoughts: Beautiful well maintained course
Has many wooded holes, as well as open field and hilly shots. You can get a score card at the kiosk which helps immensely if you were to get lost.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well-rounded Park Style

1    3/12/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: knivile1
Played: 55  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -2 Tees per Hole (Am & Pro)

-3 Basket locations per hole

-Benches and trash cans on a majority of the holes.

Perfectly shaped and sized teepads. Some of the best I've ever seen. Very grippy

Great scorecards, map and information available at the kiosk. The kiosk even had an indicator for which placement the baskets were in, they were all on the red location for our round.

Well laid out and fairly easy to navigate. Wish there were more holes like 6-11 but they used what was available really well.
Cons: A lot of people would say the $5 per day/$45 annual pass is a con but I don't personally see that as a con here. Just putting this in this category for the majority of players out there.

Graffiti located on hole 8, unnecessary carving and excessive damage to trees next to the teepads. Was very disappointed to see this, not much you can do to fix it now though. Don't know if this course was always pay to play or not so this may have happened before that was instituted.

Graffiti in the form of beer bottle caps pressed into stumps. I don't care what anyone else thinks, this is not art when placed in a public park. Private pay-to-play course, where there is an actual design laid out in the wood, fine, but not appropriate here.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyable round on a well maintained course. You can really get a feel for the amount of work and dedication that the local club has put into this course in recent years and I am excited to see how everything grows up and ages as time goes on. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. Good place to warm up your arm on the open holes before you make your way over to Stoney Creek in Fredonia.

Don't agree with the pars listed on the scorecard, I'll just leave it at that. Feel like there are far too many par 4s from the pro tees where the obstacles and distance don't warrant the extra stroke.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 over-rated

2-4    6/1/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 90  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2016
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 5 cool wooded holes
clean
ample parking
bathroom
nice tee pads and baskets
dual tees
Cons: 5 cool wooded holes
Lack of design imagination
so much lost potential
Other Thoughts: let's be real here, there's five cool wooded holes and then some wide open shots thrown together to fill out the rest of the 18 holes. so it's a dollar a hole basically. it should've just been a really sweet 9 hole free course that would grow the sport better. why would you play here with the fredonia course up the road? if every hole was as cool as 6-10 this would be a 5 disc course

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Solid 18 holes

5+    5/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 481  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2018
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set out in the country, which gives that "away from it all" feeling.

Solid DGA baskets that catch well.

Solid signs, at each set of tees, with all the information you could ask for.

Concrete tee pads at both shorts and longs. Nice trapezoid design, and very grippy. As good as they get.

Nice mix of open and wooded holes. 1-5 are mostly open, 6-11 are in a pocket of woods in the middle of the park, and 12-18 are mostly open again.

Fair lines in the wooded holes. There's a couple that are a bit tight and require a bit of luck, but overall there are open lines on all holes.
Cons: There's a pond here, but it doesn't play into any of the holes, which is too bad. There could have been a nice water carry here.

Wind is almost always a big factor, especially on the open holes. I prefer to not play here if it's overly windy.

Pay to play. $5 ($45 season) for the day...which isn't terrible, and helps to keep the course in good shape, but outside of tournaments, probably keeps a lot of players away with so many other good options not too far off.

Nice bathrooms on site (during peak season), but other than the pavilion they rest in, there's not a ton else to do here.
Other Thoughts: Tendick is really a nice course, with a lot of love put into it. While $5 seems excessive, I guess it keeps the chucker population down.

Ample parking, even for tournaments, which is nice.

While I wouldn't call this a destination course, it's certainly worth the trip to run a couple times.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

My home (course) away from home

5+    11/1/2013   2/16/2014
Review By: roggenb3
Played: 128  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2018
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Perfect mix of woods vs fields, long vs short, hyzer vs straight vs anny.
Pro tees makes it a whole new course.
Great teepads.
Good amount of benches.
Hole 8.
Bathrooms and water.
Great signage.
Very low traffic.
Very clean and well kept.
Open year-round.
Cons: Lack of dramatic elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Tendick was my home course for about 5 years, prior to me moving to Madison (so I may be slightly biased). It has been awesome to watch the park grow and change over that time.

The addition of the final baskets will be complete soon if it isn't already, so every hole will have 3 placements. This, in combination with the pro tees gives you a ridiculous amount of variation in this course. From a midrange course from am tees to shorts, to a pro calibur course from pro tees to longs.

The one thing Tendick had against has been eliminated with the onset of pay to play (to me, pay to play is a total PRO if the course is worth paying for). 2 years ago, this parking lot was packed to the brim every day. Now you go on a bright sunny Saturday in the middle of Summer and there's 2 cars in the lot, and 1 is a person walking dogs. It's great - I can't stress enough how much more enjoyable the course is without 60 people who don't really care about discing there. Also, pay to play has pretty much done away with garbage on the course as well, now it's clean as a whistle. $45 bucks for a pass that's good for 12 months? That's under $4 a month to play wonderful course.

Bottom line is that a once great course is now nearly perfect.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 67  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Alright: I'm a little salty about this course right now since they've begun charging to play it (and I'm moving away soon and won't get enough value out of a season pass). I played this course plenty back when it was free, though, and I have to concede that, personal animosity aside, it's a nice course.

Pins, tees, benches, trails, signs, diagrams , all the pieces of "hardware" at this place are high quality. The course is very "technical" , in the sense of having to have accurate drives--not just long hucks (though there are a couple holes like that, too).

If you live in Ozaukee County and are looking for a regular (pay) course to play, I would really recommend this place to call home. Look at it like a "country club"; you pay the membership fee and frolf it all you want without all the congestion from non-members.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Huge difference between long and short pads - love how much the long pad changes the shot.
Two pins on every hole, very different placements.
Good mix of open bombs and technical holes.
P2P keeps most of the riff-raff away.
Very well maintained
Cons: P2P.
Some of the long tee-pads are too unfair.
Distances aren't super well marked/signs are confusing

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden Gem

5+    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: Recob25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Want to get away?... Play Tendick. Once you leave the first tee you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, it's incredible.
-Scenery is spectacular
- The front 9 does a nice job of warming up the arm in the woods... Good variety of hyzers and anhyzers will make you keep reaching into your bag for different discs.
- The back 9 presents a nice challenge with elevation and rolling hills.
-The course is easy to navigate... you will never get lost.
Cons: - I love to air the disc out and unfortunately there are only a few holes that allow you to really grip it and rip it... Some hole are way too short.
-Huge distance difference between Pro tee and Regular tee.
-Hole signage needs to improve (most likely will with funds from passes coming in)
- Holes 1-17 are so amazing but then you get to 18, such a boring finisher.
Other Thoughts: Many people have complained about the recent "Pay for Play" that the course adopted... For these people I must respond with "Get a job!"
Regular golf cost $50 a round and your complaining about paying $5 for all you can play in a day. I purchased a Season Pass for $45 and boy is it worth it. For $45 I get a wide open course all the time! It is now free from trash and teenagers who don't disc but just want a place to burn out after school.
It is so awesome when Dave, the course marshal comes out and removes people from the course for not paying. I now belong to a exclusive club of people who want to see the course grow into one of the state's best courses. If you love to play disc, enjoy some barley pops, and have a good time, then visit Tendick.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice pay to play

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 352  Reviewed: 219  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two sets of huge, flared level concrete tees on every hole. Many of these add distance and a different angle to the pin making for good variation between the two. The signs are excellent and they're at both the pro and am tees which isn't the case at a number of other places i've played. They show pin locations, distances, par and arrow to the next tee. They have multiple pin locations on every hole which once again gives it even more variation. Nice mix of left and right turning shots throughout. Also a good mix of open prairie holes and tight, technical wooded holes. All the fairways were extremely well mowed and maintained. Navigation is a breeze here and the course was designed well so no holes really overlap. Course was very clean. There are a few nice bridges over small streams which is always nice. Nice large parking lot and the area appears to be exclusively used for disc golf.
Cons: It's a pay to play course. Five dollars a person, however you can see where your money goes to. Just a con if you live nearby but i do believe they have annual passes that can be purchased.Some of the prairie holes are pretty bland, but they did the best they could with the land given. Other than these I got nothing.
Other Thoughts: This is for sure worth the $5 fee you got to pay to play it. There also are a number of other courses nearby to make for a great day of discing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.