Jefferson, NC 
Ashe County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 244ft.   5 / 471ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Outstanding Variety

1    4/4/2019   6/4/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 261  Reviewed: 235  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a multi-use county park, but for the most part plays through areas where you aren't likely to encounter other park users.

From the long tees you've got holes varying from 235' out to 818'. The average hole length is 388', but holes 9 and 18 really skew it and most of the holes play in the 250' - 400' range. Short tees/pins are available that knock over 2000 feet off of the total course length.

There are a few mostly open holes and a few more that are partly wooded. But you'll remember the holes up in the woods when you think back on your round.

Great elevation from rolling hills in the more open areas to quite steep up in the thick woods. Plenty of uphill and down hill throws. Hole 15 was one of the best gut-check holes I've ever played. A straight tunnel shot on a steep sidehill to a basket on a built-up bench. The roll away potential was off the chart.

Holes 9 and 18 play steeply downhill through tight tunnels from the tee. But both break out into open fields for the last half of the hole making a nice mix of wooded and open.

A large pond was in play on holes 3, 6, and 7 though only hole 3 throws over the pond. It is a good water hole with the choice of going directly at the basket or bailing out anywhere along the left bank. Hole 6 played up the back side of the dam to a basket placed near the crest. Blow past it and say goodbye to your disc.

There were also a few low-headroom shots and left-to-right shots giving plenty of opportunities for both BH and FH.

Good concrete teepads, with most holes having two positions. Decent DisCatchers with two positions on a few holes. They were yellow in the short positions and dark blue in the longs.
Cons: The first two holes are pretty basic, "throw it over the grass" type holes, and I found myself wondering it this was, in fact, the top rated course in NC. Things get much better later in the course, but the start is a bit underwhelming.

I found the triple-mando on Hole 10 to be gimmicky. Forcing a drive through a tight slot for no reason other than "the challenge" seems silly.

Also not a fan of Hole 11. You drive a tight dogleg left to near the short pin and are then faced with a solid wall of 10' tall shrubs. I walked the narrow path around the vegetation to find the long basket on the other side. No choice but to throw a disc 150' over the top to where you "think" the basket is and then go looking for it. I imagine that the regulars have this one dialed but, but for a travelling DG'er this is a bad hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was an excellent course, but I there were enough so-so open and partially open holes to drop the rating back for me. I'm at about 4.25 on this course, but ultimately decided to drop it back to 4.0 because there were just too many "ok" holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Disc Golf Smorgasbord!

1    4/22/2019   5/5/2019
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 297  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2019
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course in nice county park with plenty of other activities.

Variety: Phenomenal - Wonderfully balanced shot variety in pretty much every way. For the most part, the front 9 plays fairly open, with flat to moderate elevation. The back 9 is well to densely wooded with moderate to serious elevation. Has a few nice transitional holes (tee in the woods playing to a basket in the open, or a tee in the open playing to a basket nestled in the trees). A healthy mix of holes open enough to allow for many lines, holes that make you choose from a few lines, and some very well wooded holes that dare you to hit what is basically "the" line. Factor in dual tees plus dual full-time pin placements on many of holes, and Ashe offers all the shot variety a player could hope for. Nice blend of distances in that even the short to short layout offers a few holes with serious distance, and the long-long layout still has some ace runs. Even has a few well-conceived water holes.

Elevation: Phenominal - Ranging from modest to massive, featuring monster downhills, humbling uphills, plenty of rollaway potential, but nicely balanced in that there are quite a few holes where elevation is a modest factor, some where it's significant, and quite a few where it's major. A good portion of the back nine is decidedly cart-unfriendly.

Challenge: Excellent - The multi-tee/pin combinations allow you to bite off as much challenge as you can chew. I found short to short quite challenging for Rec-Int players (particularly the back 9), with long-long seeming to be an appropriate challenge to solid AM1's and aspiring pros. A bad kick on some of the hilly, wooded holes can have nasty consequences, but can reward those who play placement golf, and stay within their game. Very much a course that rewards/punishes your decision making and execution. Choosing where to play aggressively or play it safe can make a big difference.

Aesthetics: Very good - Course plays through some fairly scenic parts of the park, with a nice transition from a park style feel, to a bit more rugged metro/state park feel - but always feels like a park. The nicest scenery by far, is provided by the mountains off in the distance.

Equipment: Very good - Mixed tees, but all were more than good enough to be a non-issue. Concrete where easily accessible, with some sort of well-draining, plastic matrix on the less accessible hilly, wooded holes. Tees on/near slopes were level and nicely framed with timbers look look handsome and combat erosion. Don't bitch about wishing they were all concrete unless you're willing to do the work yourself. Signage is good (but I don't recall seeing them at both tees). Yellow DisCatches for shorts, Tar Heel powder blue DisCatchers for the longs were easy to see, in good condition, and flagged for visibility where elevation obscures the view.

Navigation/Flow: Fair - Far from the worst, but definitely not the greatest. Getting around was pretty easy most of the time, but there several spots where I had to use the map. Got a bit confused around the 8A/9A section, and there were a couple of times I wasn't sure I was headed to the short tee. Tee markers were easy to spot from a distance, which always helps. Despite a few long walks between holes, I didn't spend that much time looking for the next hole.

Memorable Holes: Very Good - Really like the way the pond was used on 3. Some will hate #13 because of the atypical line needed on a hole this short, but I liked the way the fairway goes uphill, over a crest and finishes on a downslope...playing L to R the entire way - threw a high anny with an Archer to get a long birdie look. That said, this hole would be horrible if that high line weren't free of branches and twigs. 9 is a top of the world shot that requires you to split the uprights. #18 plays that same tune with a nice twist
Cons: Not a lot to list here. Only one's worth a ratings ding. Most are just informational.

Safety: By no means is safety a major shortcoming of the course as a whole, but it was an obvious factor during my round. Not a fan of the Mando on #7. Usually mandos make safety sense. This mando actually makes safety an issue. Takes the RHBH hyzer line (over the pond) out of play, forcing some sort of straight shot (which seemed tough with the low hanging branch) or some sort of L - R (RHFH/LHBH) line. The playground is far enough away that kids actually playing on the equipment are realistically out of the line of fire. However, toddlers running around the hillside adjacent to the playground were just left of the line I wanted to take, and very much in play. I had to give their moms a heads-up about what I was about to do.

Had to wait for a dog walker on #2. A few of the other holes on the front 9 could have potential shared used issues with non-DG'ers, but #7 is the only one I actually had to say anything about. keep in mind I played during a weekday morning. I suspect non-DG traffic is heavier during peak hours.

That said, most of the course is pretty secluded from other park patrons.

Expect some long, steep walks to spot baskets. I don't care how great the signs are - on tight wooded fairways, I like to see where I want to land for my next shot (regardless how likely it is I'll actually get there). Doubly true on slopes where bad kicks off trees you can't see from the tee can send you way down a hill side.

Nearly every hole has two tees, but relatively few holes actually have long (blue) baskets. Not really a "con," ...I just don't want anyone thinking all the holes have two baskets.
Other Thoughts: Ashe is definitely an excellent course. It's merits are strong, weaknesses few, and you'd be hard pressed to find a course that packs this much variety into a single round... and still has more to offer for a 2nd round. If you have the time (and the stamina) you could easily play two rounds here and not be bored. If that appeals you, I suggest bringing a cooler with plenty of water and some energizing snacks (if not a decent lunch) to re-charge between rounds.

I wish there was a decent map that showed all the holes in relationship to each other (and the park), rather than just the front 9 and the back 9 isolated by themselves. Maybe it's just me, but when I needed the map, it wasn't quite as helpful as maps for most other courses.

I'd give it a 4.25 if I could, but I can't... and it doesn't quite have enough to elicit a 4.5 from me. I think it's just a bit closer to 4.0 than 4.5, and while I feel kinda bad my 4.0 actually hurts it's ratings, that's just how DGCR works.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good, scenic course

1    4/27/2019   5/4/2019
Review By: thumber_guy
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.1 Years
2 Helpful / 31 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, great use of elevation, and some well-placed decorative elements. Good mix of holes, i.e. left to right, right to left, up, down, etc. No gimmicky stuff like elevated baskets.
Cons: Loses one star for no red tees. Loses another for putting up netting to prevent overhands, which is a really weak move.

2 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 Visually Stunning, Physically Demanding!

5+    7/8/2017   7/11/2017
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 101  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If playing golf in the mountains isn't enough to get your mouth watering, then your're a zombie! After climbing the mountains to Jefferson NC, you exit the car into cooler, crisp air of Ashe County Park with mountains ringing. Man, it really don't get no better than that. First tip...STRETCH. You are going to need to be seriously prepared. The non-mountain side holes are elevated enough to get your blood pumping. The mountain side holes will send you into cardiac arrest if you're not prepared!

I would suggest playing the 'short' white tees. Don't let all those 200-250' holes trick you. Once you leave the open area, the holes begin to grow. Before long you are seriously tired. Once you hit holes 13-18 you better have eaten your Wheaties as you climb higher and higher up the mountain. But when you reach #18 and see that 300' down hill tunnel shot, it's like, 'Man, I can die not a happy man (or girl!)". But don't! You haven't played the Blue tees. And those tees separate the weak from the strong.

But back to the short white tees...Navigation is simple, holes 1-9 wind around a nice pond, dancing perilously close to the water before pulling away. #3 is a gut check toss no matter which arm you throw with. Basket is on the corner of the pond, on a dam. Be off a bit, and bye-bye buzz. To much power and your're chasing it another 400'

Hole #6 plays from the bottom of the dam to a basket (not #3) in the center of the dam. And it's a STEEP climb! Over power your drive and it's history. Chain out and you're chasing plastic again!

#8 begins the climb. Playing to the blue-tee basket is recommended. It's a climbing, dogleg left that will wear you out.

Then comes the first dive bomb hole...#9. GRIP AND RIP!! just make sure you exit the tunnel. Errant shots can be hard if not impossible to find..

#10 from the Blues is better than the whites since it is a triple Mando! From the whites it's ho-hum. From the blues it's OMG! Great hole from the Blue tee

And then #11...TIGHT slight dogleg left to a wall of mountain laurel. Pitchover to a landing zone, pitch over again to the basket. Sounds easy...it's not! A 7 is not a bad score. A 5 is great and a 4 will get you a sponsorship! CRAZY HOLE!!

Once on the mountain the course winds up and down, going from tight shot down hill shots to mind blowing uphill climbs.

If you don't end up playing the blues, at least play #18 from the blue. You'll not see another hole like this very often...818 downhill shot...just dang!

If you play the blues, some notable holes...

#8 is insane...Tiiiight cap climbing high and right to an opening. And unless you really uncork your drive, you're going to be running up a steep heel to get enough velocity to power you drive (now turning left and climbing) toward the basket. And it's hard to generate power when you're barely able to get any serious forward momentum

#13 is a CRAZY RHBH anyhzer shot. I've never seen one like it before. Just aim for the clouds, keep it tight and let it rip.

#15 almost makes you want to cry. The basket is straight out, 300' but along a ridge with the mountain dropping off to your left. Throw a laser beam shot to the basket and you're safe. Hit ANYTHING and kick left, and you might was well leave a forwarding address for your disc. It can go a LONG WAY DOWN!! Extremely intense shot

#17 is another HIGH climbing RHBH shot. Tight gap up through the woods at about a 45-degree angle. Should you land in the fairway, it's like #8, can't generate enough forward momentum to throw at the basket. And like #15, you hit and kick left, its 'see ya later alligator'. You might be chasing that one for a while.

Then there's the previously mentioned #18...take a breath and enjoy that MASSIVE downhill chunk. Once at the bottom, look up the 'fairway'. Hope you don't suffer from vertigo 'cause it's overwhelming
Cons: Except for the stunning and distracting beauty, none. Great course. Actually not a fan of the plastic mesh tees pads on the mountain, but that's being picky.
Other Thoughts: Extremely strenuous course! Be very prepared for it. Also, bring a spotter or 3. Too many shots for discs to vanish. You could easily leave with half a bag on the mountain

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course!

1    9/7/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 159  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.3 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pro's of Ashe county park are numerous. Firstly, The course is an almost perfect mixture of left/right/straight, up/down, wooded/open and long/short shots. If my memory serves me correctly, there was at most a difference of 2 in any of those categories. Having a course this well-rounded means you'll test (almost) every shot in your game.

There are 2 tee pads for each hole, I chose to play the longer tees. The Pro tees are definitely championship level and have hosted some big name competition in the past. From the looks of the shorts, they appeared to be at least accessible for rec/intermediate and I even saw a few seemingly rec players enjoying themselves.

The thing that really sets Ashe County apart from a lot of other courses is how memorable/unique some of the holes are. Holes 9 and 18 are both HUGE downhill tunnel shots off the mountains. No pictures can do them justice, you just have to experience it to believe it. Hole 11 was another first for me, as it starts as a typical tunnel shot through the woods but then you run into two distinct rows of shrubbery BLOCKING the fairway. The only way to reach the basket is by going over them, either both at once with a big arm, or hopping the first with a placement shot, then hopping the second. Oh, did I forget about the lake shot? At any other course, Hole 3 would be the signature hole (at least from the longs) as it's a BOMB 400ft+ shot with over the lake with the basket only 10ft off the water on the other side. If you watch some of the videos of this shot, many of the MPO players even fall short of land on this shot. An absolute beauty. There are even a few more delightful shots including a screen over the top of the fairway of 16 to prevent overhands, a triple mando on 10 (which some say is contrived but I kinda liked it) and much more!

There were tee signs on the short tees only, but they also had plenty of scorecards in the mailbox which had the course map on them. You'll need this, not so much for navigation, but for determining which lane to take as some of the pro tees play to a separate permanent basket while others play to a single one. The course also had ample seating at most if not all holes and trust me, you'll need to rest. This course is a beast of a hike!

Lastly, the setting of Ashe County is one of the more scenic in disc golf. You'll appreciate your surroundings and you'll feel like you're off the beaten path (you kinda are) but there is still civilization with opportunities for food/gas not far down the road.
Cons: I'm going to be stretching for some cons of Ashe County as it is simply one of the best courses I've played thus far. But no course is perfect and my review style will only award a 5 if the course has virtually nothing missing. I've seen all of the pieces of a 5, but no course has yet to put it all together so far.

First, Ashe is missing an open bomb hole from a teepad. Sure you'll likely get to air out an approach on holes 9 and 18, and even hole 12 feels like an open bomb, but there isn't anywhere to absolutely open up and crush a drive for pure distance, something i think every course should have at least 1 of to test that aspect of your game.

Secondly (here's where I'm reaching a little further), there aren't tee signs on all of the pro tees. This is why the map and scorecard come in handy for the pro tees. Navigation wasn't too hard but I would've appreciated some additional signage on the course. The signs that were there also appeared to be a little older. If course maintenance were to spend a few hundred bucks on some new (and more) signage, this place could go to the next level. Just down the road in Wilkesboro, Rolling Pines has EXCELLENT course amenities and signs, which should be an example for us all.

Lastly, and this is of no fault to the designers or anyone else, Ashe county isn't convenient to nearly anywhere. If this were the only "flaw" it had, I would've given it a 5, so don't think I'm completely heartless. Heck, it's sometimes refreshing to get off the beaten path, but if you're planning a road trip this is a tough place to hit.
Other Thoughts: Ashe County is in the upper echelon on disc golf courses with only a few minor details that gave me pause. I haven't played many of the world renowned "elite" courses yet but if the masses think they're better than Ashe county, they're probably doing something right.

Don't hesitate to drive out of your way for this one. Just pack a lot of fluids and get ready for a hike. Playing 2 rounds of this in one day may be too much for most people. I'd recommend driving down the road and playing Wilkesboro courses as well.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 From the Ashe Rises the Phoenix

1    7/5/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 13 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees on most holes and a couple holes had two baskets providing excellent variety of challenge and length. Good mix of open and wooded holes and use of the elevation and terrain. Good navigation and flow with 2 loops of 9 holes back to the parking lot. Beautiful views and wildlife. Shelters and bathrooms near parking lot.
Cons: Not much. Long tees have no tee sign. Underbrush although not bad was a little thick in a couple places and had some poison ivy. Chance to lose a disc in the pond and conflict with other park users fishing. Some steep elevation causing random roll-a-ways and maybe hard for some to hike.
Other Thoughts: Ashe County has one of the most stunning views with Mount Jefferson towering up 1600' in the backdrop of the pond. I can understand why many people have this course rated so high. It's hard to nitpick on a couple things that were more just personal preference than things that are cons. I liked the variety of lines the open holes presented, providing challenges via the elevation changes and few trees and the pond. They are fairly simple par 3 holes. Everything is fairly straight forward throughout the whole course and I think that is where it feels like something more is missing. Maybe if the open holes were interlaced between the wooded holes it would feel more whole, but that's nobody's fault. The fact that the open holes are all around the pond and easier holes makes it great for getting beginners to play here, and there's not much else around the way here, so that's also good thing here.

The long tee on hole 8 was not my favorite as you have a tight gap to hit through a low ceiling of pines with a massive uphill slope. Hole 9's underbrush seemed to be the worst, but is one of the most fun if you don't hit a tree and have to search for a disc.

Two holes left me scratching my head. The first was the long tee on hole 10 with it's triple mando over the line, I didn't like it because it's unnecessary and a bit contrived. The other was hole 11 and the hidden long basket. I still don't know what to think of that position. Part of me loves the idea of the giant hedge wall, it's one of the most unique features of the course. The other part of me didn't like it because after I teed off I just played to the short basket because I didn't believe there was another basket. Even when I got the long tee on hole 12 and I saw the basket over there, I still didn't believe that could possibly be for hole 11.

Holes 12 through 18 were all phenomenal wooded holes carved through the woods and awesome elevation although very straight forward and fair shots off the tee(minus some roll-a-ways). Hole 18 ends the course as one of the best finishing holes in disc golf even though you basically played a shorter version 9 holes earlier. Humungous downhill tunnel through about 400' of woods into the open another 400'.

Overall Ashe County DGC is a stellar course that anybody will enjoy, even if you don't play disc golf, the scenery can be enjoyed alone. The 2 extra alternate holes make an even more beginner friendly loop of 9 holes. I arrived at hole 1 the same time as a father with his 3 boys ranging from 10-17 in age. They let me tee off on hole 1 before them, I was playing the longs, and they played the shorts. I took a couple extra drives on some holes and a very short break after hole 9, and they caught up to me after I teed on 18 long and were teeing off on the short pad as I hiked down toward the short tee. I was surprised they were able to catch up. They were sending out spotters on some of the holes, very smart of them and everybody looked to be having an awesome time playing!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 First Time but not Last

1    4/17/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging, Well labeled, Multiple bathrooms, both open and wooded holes
Cons: Random dead limbs in fairways (I moved now)
Other Thoughts: Bring your big boy pants and a bunch of water if you play the pro tees. This is probably the most demanding course physically I have played. Lots of terrain changes. I loved the course and when I am in town I will definitely play again. I watched the 2014 Tourney on the homepage before playing and it helped greatly.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Father and Son

1    11/13/2014   11/13/2014
Review By: Jonandlisa2001
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, signage, landscaping. Course can play different every time you play based on the wind.
Big elevation changes with trees and ponds to play around. The front nine is open and allows all skill levels to play while the back adds some more challenge
Cons: Pro pad 11 has a hidden basket and can be misleading if your playing it for the first time. Weather changes quickly and where you started playing in the sun you can easily be finishing in the rain
Other Thoughts: Me and my son play this course a few times a year and really enjoy it. He's 7 and has been playing here over the last 2 years. The elevation changes make it fun place to throw but can wear him out pretty quick.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 We are up there...

1    8/16/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ashe County has a signature hole all right and it's so fun they found a way to do it twice. 9 and 18 close out their respective nines with the sickest downhill tunnel you have ever imagined. Even from the am tees, it is a tough challenge to keep a disc straight through for the amount of distance it is going to travel as it rips downward along a slope you need to use switchbacks to walk down. If you can clear it, there is an open approach to the pin. (a long approach on 18 though.) That is a big if, though. Word are not sufficient how steep the decline is. You need to stand on the top to imagine how far down it is.
It's 8 that sets the stage, at least from the pro tees. Am 8 is at least uphill and is a nice improvement over what came before, but pro 8 takes that uphill, gives it a tunnel start and keeps climbing uphill past the am basket through a narrow channel on a double curve. From that point on till the end, the elevation changes are thunderous. Up down, all around. With the exception of one filler hole(10) it's non-stop great holes. I'm not going to describe any of the individually, because that has been done before but the design is impeccable throughout.
The pro tees provide significantly more challenge, especially when the pro baskets are also used. They provide a little variety for second playthroughs as well as just adding to the epic flavor of the holes. It's awe-inspiring to reach the yellow basket and see the blue basket higher still, and additional climb left to make.
While there are some long walks between holes, there is rarely doubt that one is on the right path. Navigation is intuitive, even with multiple tees and baskets. In keeping with the quality of the course, tees, baskets and signs are all that could be wished for.
Lastly, it's one of the most picturesque parks that you will ever play in. Wonderfully scenic. Wonderfully atmospheric and just really makes you feel like you're in the mountains. It's a hike to get there. It's a hike and a half to play it. But completely worth it. And the back nine might just contain the best 8-hole stretch I've ever played.
Cons: As much as I like variety, and appreciate when a course has a few open holes, the first seven here are a little on the bland side. A couple of them could be considered rolling hills but there is not much hill in that roll. There really isn't even much distance to them so they aren't the air it out sort of open holes. Even the water carry doesn't do much for me here, though I can't put my finger on why. 5 across the depression and stream and towards a tucked away basket is probably the best of the bunch, but it's not especially memorable. The hole are gets points for extreme aesthetics with the pond framed by a solitary peak in the distance, but ultimately, that view is more interesting than the throws. Don't get me wrong. This course gets great, with epic holes that you won't see any place else. But it takes until hole 8 to get good.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hills Batman!!

2-4    5/3/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2014
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course in small County park. Multiple tee pads and basket positions.

Ok, you all know about the mountains. You've heard of this course before. But after playing it a few times I am also impressed with the variety. The course warms you up nicely with a simple little 325' open shot over a small hill. But with the wind that seems to always be here it can be some fun. Hole 2 plays along a nice slope with some pines near the basket to add some risk. Then the fun starts. #3 is 400' over a pond from the longs. IMO the trees in front of the pad could use a little trimming because even if I had the arm for that shot I don't think the room is there. There is a short pad for your disc's safety.

Holes 4-7 all play mostly in the open with a few trees mixed in and the pond adding some excitement to the basket positions. A really nice set of fun, basic open holes to start the round. Very underrated. You could play a nice little 9 hole loop without ever venturing up the big bad mountains.

But why the heck would you come here if not for the mountains? Starting on #8 up you go. 8 plays to the tune of 443' of uphill fun. Challenging, but fair. From there you get a sweet 660' downhill bomb. Simply awesome. Out of the hills and into the field. The rest of this course takes you up and down and around the hills. It is a great workout, and offers a tremendous mix of shots. And yes, the chance to hike right back down after a bad roll or bounce. Mixed in there are some nice tunnel shots and some truly unique features. The rhododendrons on #11 have caused me to shake my head every time I play here. From the tee you are forced to throw a shot straight somewhere around 250' or so and lay up in front of a wall of rhodo's. Then you have an open zone followed by another wall of rhodo's, followed by the basket. It's a strange hole that seems to beg for a thumber or tomahawk. But even that can be tough. I wouldn't want to face a bunch of holes like that, but once is OK. It is truly unique.

The other nice aspect of Ashe County's variety is the hole length and shape. It never gets repetitive. There are lefts, rights and straight tunnel shots. There are shots totally in the woods, and shots that start in the woods and come out to open grass. There are shots that go from woods to open to woods again. There are baskets by water and basket on hillsides. There are baskets you can reach from the tee, and holes most of us won't ever dream of even hitting in 2 shots. Just well done.
Cons: I am not a big fan of the net on 16. I completely understand nets or mandos for safety, but to cover a perceived course design flaw is kind of weak. It doesn't spoil the hole, but just reeks of a know it all trying to dictate the shots at that location.

Quick Update - Rumor has it the net might be to contain errant discs. Seems there might be a problem with errant throws going into a neighboring property. I didn't see it, but that may be the case.

Other Thoughts: It seems to me this course gets forgotten a little when people talk about NC mountain golf. There are a lot of great options and Jefferson can be a little out the way. Sure there's more to do in Asheville when playing nearby Richmond Hill. But if you are simply looking for a great mountain disc golf course in a public park this is it.

When you are up in this area be sure to check out the Ashe County Cheese Factory in West Jefferson. It not only has tons of cool unique cheese, it has salsa, sauces, jerky, and snacks galore. Plus a candy shop for the kids. If you are looking to clog some arteries it is your spot! Plus right down the road is Boondocks. It is a cool little brewery/bar and grill. They usually have several good local brews plus a handfull of other craft beers. And rumor has it the burgers are tasty too.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.