Jefferson, NC 
Ashe County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Ashe Co Park, NC - Worth the Drive!

2-4    10/13/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: lteppen
Played: 123  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With so many great courses in the North Carolina Mecca it's hard to pick a favorite but Ashe Co Park is definitely a course to add to your wishlist if you havent doneso already. I pencilled this into my top 10 after playing it for the first time; the scenery alone is worth the drive.

From a difficulty standpoint: there are duel sets of tee offs making this a fun one for all players, however the pro tees are a true challenge! Holes #1 and 2 give you a nice warmup for hole #3 where players must throw across a 150+ stretch of water to a pin situated 15ft behind the edge of the water and a hill directly behind that will easily add 50ft to your put if you over drive (this is assuming you throw from the pro tee).

Course continues to meander through the valley until you get to hole #7 at which point your assent upwards begins. Strokes add up quickly if you arent careful with your upward plan of attack; make sure to walk up to the holes beforehand as many of the uphill shots are blind at times.

Hole #9 and/or 18 are arguable the signature holes. This is where your hiking and hard work pay off and you can finally unload a bomb downhill. You shoot through a 30 or so foot gap lined with towering trees that stretch down the hillside. If you can make it through the couple hundred foot tunel, the rest of the hole opens wide up if your disc happens to cut right or fade left. Easy layup to the pin if you can make it through the gauntlet of trees.

The middle chunk of this course plays through the woods with a huge variety of turns and elevation changes. A variety of OS, stable and US discs are needed to effectively navigate the twists and turns. Be sure to watch your drives as the elevation and dense foliage can really skew your perception on where you thought you went. Very likely you are rolling downward if you didnt see it land!

Other things to mention: 4 holes have 2 baskets; this may confuse some as the course doesnt start with these options. Make sure to download or bring a course map with in case. Though I really love the deep holes where I can unload from the most challenging tees, the short tees are a blast too and give you a chance to clean up your score a bit. Most of the shorties are still pretty challenging and give you a completely different look. Definitely play both sets if you have time.








Cons: The signage is pretty decent. There are a couple places where we went astray in the woods looking for the next tee but for the most part not a problem. Several holes require walking up to basket to truly see where you are throwing to; not a con for most people.
Other Thoughts: Driving from St. Paul, MN to South Carolina; this was a course that we had to make a stop at looking at the reviews, pictures and percent favorited. The roads and environment in this area are so fun to drive meandering through the mountains, national forests, and some of the best campgrounds in the nation. Worth the drive for anyone!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good holes and folks

1    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: holyschnikes
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Many tee pads in the woods are those rubber type. Layout is awesome with some holes having 100 or more feet elavation change. Amatuer has a couple par 4s. In addition to nice signage, the trees have markings to help navigate. Some cool folks right behine me found my lost disc! I could go on and on...it rocks!
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I plan to play this many more times. I would drive a couple hours for it.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 You just have to come...

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: Moify
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Whether you're teeing off from 200+ feet above the pin, or you're facing a tough, low ceiling followed by a daunting lake, the Ashe County Park disc golf course will keep you guessing at every turn.

You spend the first ten holes in the open throwing through, around, and in between patches of trees. There is an alternate route for holes 8 and 9. The route leading to the base of the mountains preludes a tremendous 600+ ft hole 9, a hole which drastically transitions from the woods to openness.

Beginning with a unique mando at hole ten, the back nine of the course is heavily wooded and spotted with a few serious disc-fetching opportunities. Particularly on hole 14, a steep, rolling hill leads to a deep gulley just begging to eat your discs. I like to think of this as a "pro" because there is nothing like testing your concentration when you'd have to walk quite a ways for a badly-thrown disc...
Cons: If you can utilize both the backhand as well as the forehand throw in tight situations, there is not much to complain about with the Ashe County Park disc golf course. One over-the-water hole is a serious risk for forehanders who like to lift their discs, but the other two water holes don't involve water as menacingly.

My only true criticism is that some of the pro tees tend to be a bit ridiculous. For instance, on hole 11 there are several clearings separated by shrubbery which eventually leads to a hidden pin. All of which is not even remotely visible or intuitively accessible from the tee pad. From the pro pad on hole 16, the golfer must throw from a completely secluded pad, [I]over[/I] a walkway, and then to the pin. Without having played the course several times, a first time player might never find the pro pins, let alone the pro [B]pads[/B]. Most holes only feature signage at the AM tees, also, which presents an issue for those who might only play from the pro tees.
Other Thoughts: Play this course as much as you can. As you can tell by the ratings, it's worth the drive and won't disappoint. The course is well maintained and will truly test your ability to utilize all facets of your disc skills.

NOTE: Recently fallen leaves (and eventually snow) make finding discs particularly challenging. Make sure to pay special attention to where your discs are flying. Numerous blind-corners can make rollers very dangerous.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/16/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I don't think I can say anything that has not already been said about this course so this review is simply to confirm that this is a "Phenomenal" course.

Amazing elevation? YES

Breathtaking scenic beauty? YES

Epic holes out the ying yang? YES

Amazing variety of holes? UH HUH

Fun to play? YES SIR

Worth a long drive out of the way to play? CERTAINLY
Cons: The signs could use some updating. Many are broken, missing, or just faded to the point you can't read them. On a course like this that has multiple tees and an alternate loop you need good signs.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was 9. I threw a beat TeeBird which made it out the gap and into the open and then turned right and went out of sight. About 5 seconds later it came back into frame and landed perfectly centered past the sidewalk. May be the most memorable shot of my life. We then proceeded to empty our bags on the hole.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal!

2-4    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 22.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All that gushing praise in earlier reviews merely understated it.

This is one incredible disc golf course.

Beginning with the aesthetics, since that's the first thing you notice. The course is partly open, partly wooded The "open" segments aren't wide-open, but are manicured with magnificent views, scattered trees and low ceilings and a beautiful pond. The wooded segments are on steep slopes in a mountain forest, with huge hardwoods and thick groves of rhododendrons and mountain laurels. The views from #9 & #18---hilltop tees with long, straight-down alleys to the open area far below---are amazing.

And that's before you throw a disc. The open holes aren't terribly long, but have enough obstacles and rolling ground to really test you. The signature hole, from high above the pond to the basket on the far side, with a low-ceiling in between, is quite exciting. Meanwhile, the wooded holes include some very tight shots, some grueling par-4s, and some very unique holes. The wooded section is quite a workout but virtually every hole is amazing.

It includes Hole 11, the likes of which I've never seen. Drive down the fairway to a placement landing, then over an inpenatrable hedge of rhodos to an opening in the woods, then over another hedge to the opening where the basket is.

The course has two sets of tees, and 4 holes with 2 baskets. Though my praise is for the longest, most challenging tees, the short tees are quite fun, still pretty challenging, and, in many cases, aren't just shorter but present entirely different layouts, very refreshing. Which is also true for the holes with dual baskets.

The park is tucked back in the moutains, giving it a secluded and peaceful feel.

The course also displays a phenomenal amount of work by the local disc golfers, in the form of steps, tees, barriers near baskets, erosion controls, and mulching. Not to mention building the course in the first place.
Cons: Nitpicks, really. The signage is pretty good, but there are places in the woods where there is a lacework of trails, and it's not always easy to pick the right one to get to the next tee.

Some of the short tees are 10' long, with no room behind them. If you're like me with an established 12' footwork, they're tough, especially when a bad throw is severely punished.
Other Thoughts: I'd go on for pages and pages---I really really loved this course---but I'll just say that it would be a tough break if this was your home course, because anywhere else you went would be a letdown.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/20/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: joshuajames
Played: 115  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have ever played.
The holes are all unique and not in least bit monotonous. Great balance of open spaces to wooded areas, up hills to down hills, and hooking left or right holes.
The Pro tees offer a whole other perspective on the course (rarely is the Pro tee just further back). The course is kept up very well. Great signage and tee pads.
Cons: Honestly, there are not really any cons. If I stretch for one it would be there really is nothing around other than this awesome course. Be prepared to drive 45 minutes to the closest metropolitan community.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the kick-a work Ashe Co Parks and Rec.!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    1/30/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 203  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 29.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous

Very diverse

Top notch elevation

Balanced length

Multiple signature holes

Concrete pads, plenty of benches and amenities
Cons: Personally, I wish a few of the down hill shots had wider fairways. I missed seeing my disc really sail on a couple holes...and yes, I am reaching here

This course just didn't have any considerable cons
Other Thoughts: Truly breathtaking.

This course is a prime example of why I play disc golf. Its not just a sport. Its an opportunity to get out and experience nature. Natural beauty abounds here.

This course has excellent diversity. I used pretty much every disc in my bag. The distances vary nicely from ace runs to challenging par 4's. There are multiple huge down hill shots. There is alot to like here for novices and pros alike. This course wont beat down newbies but there is still plenty of challenge for the advanced golfer.

The front nine is relatively open. Open, but each hole has style. You shoot directly over a pond on 3. Nice. Pin 6 is perched on the pond bank making for a nice risk/reward shot off the tee. Then you climb into the woods for the back nine. These holes are very technical. A few of them are quite long for the tightness of the fairways. Hole 12 was very memorable. Its a huge downhill shot to a guarded pin. There is no early trouble so you could really let it fly. Alot of up and down. It is a hike as much as it is disc golf. There are planty of placed logs to help keep you upright while hiking the often steep slopes.

I played this course on my way down to the Charlotte disc golf meca. It was a last minute decision. So very glad I did. This course doesn't get the hype of many other less intriguing courses. This course deserves to be at the top of your wish list. I guarantee, you will not be dissapointed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Golf Experience

5+    12/13/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: jrod17320
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: First of all this course offers a wide variety of holes with the two sets of teepads, and a good variety of open and wooded holes. This is my adopted home course during college and I cant get enough of it. While I enjoy all the holes a few stick out to me as ones that really make this course stand out. Alot of the previous reviews identify 9 and 18 as the best which i agree with but I think holes 3 and 12 are really great challenging holes. The white pads are easier but they arent par guarantees. The blues are hard for anyone but they are not impossible for good golfers. One of my favorite things about this course is the abundance of multiple lines. On alot of the holes there are multiple lines to get to the basket, one of my peeves is holes that have no defined line to go through. All around this course is phenomenal and everyone who loves disc golf in the Carolinas should at least play this course to understand why us mountain golfers love it so much.
Cons: Some of the locals are a bit ignorant of disc golf and tend to fish directly where I am throwing but usually they will move when asked. Jefferson is far out there and there are a few restaurants I would rather not eat at again after experiencing them :)
Other Thoughts: I started playing disc golf in High Point on Johnson Street with one disc. A little over a year later I moved to the mountains with no clue I would ever play this sport again. I met a few friends who played where I worked and they showed me this course and I have been a disc golf fiend ever since. This course is rated high for a reason because it is well kept up thanks to the Parks and Rec there for an amazing.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 awesome, tough course

2-4    9/15/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: porchmike
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: long drives/long, scenic drive to get there

scenic views of the appalachians

low crowds

tech shots/great variety

#9 and #18 are the funnest holes i've ever played. if you like to see 'em fly, there are no two better holes i've played. the pro tee on 18 is ridiculous! you better throw it straight!

great exercise- lots of elevation changes and a HUGE layout make for a great workout to go with the amazing golf.

Cons: 11 is really weird with the walls of rhodies, but it is unique... the short pin is not quite as wierd.

remoteness is a con for some, but a huge pro for me- i don't like crowds.
Other Thoughts: my second favorite course, after idlewild. this place is worth a road trip, just come prepared with food, water, long pants for poison ivy, and lots of discs for 9 and 18, and you won't be disappointed! by no means have i played them all, but this course must be right up there w/ the best in the country!

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: one of my favorite courses. the epitome of appalachian disc golf. extreme elevation change. pro tees are very challenging. holes 9 and 18 are the signature holes. i can't wait to go back. good mix.
Cons: i'm not very fond of rubber pad tees which are found on the hills. killer walk.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.