Brooksville, FL 
The Quarry Golf Course Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #9 (Taken 1/2017)
4 / 405ft.   4 / 540ft.   4 / 750ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
A wonderful finishing hole.

1    1/27/2017   3/22/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 105  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.533 Rating) A long 9 hole course with an amazing finishing hole.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Quarry seems to play well to all skill levels, even pros. There are 3 sets of tees, Red, White and Blue, and which the Blues average at a precise hole length of 450... and 8 of them are par 3's. The Red tees are probably a bit too long for your average recreational player, but the holes are open enough and hazard free enough to be fair and fun to play.
- RAW BEAUTY - Holes (1), (3) and (9) are just plain gorgeous. (3) and (9) especially stand out and could be the signature holes on many courses in the region. Hole (3) plays over an abandoned quarry (Hence the name of the course) and is now a very vibrant vegetative pit. Hole (9) plays over a valley that dips at least 30 feet and ends back on a ridge. In addition, they placed the basket between two massive quarry boulders.
- LENGTH - Florida is littered with short courses due to the cost of land and available park space. The Quarry breaks this trend in a big way. If you're the type of player that enjoys the notion of bombing one down the fairway, you'll have ample opportunity on this course. A par (28) 4,050 feet, the course will challenge even the upper advanced players to break par.
- HOLE 9 - WOW, a 750 foot par 4, over a valley that's both beautiful and intimidating at the same time. As of this review date, this hole is one of the most signature holes I've ever played in Florida. What a wonderful way to finish a course. Beware, closely monitor your drive. I threw it about 400 feet from the tee and spent 15 minutes looking for it, only to find it in the middle of the fairway.
- CHALLENGING - Above average due to the length. Most advanced players should be above course par and perhaps only pros can break it from the back routinely. Intermediate players should play from the whites and will likely finish a few over from those tees.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few exceptions. Throwing into the quarry on (3)... is not a good idea. There is path down into it... but it looks epic sketchy. Although the quarry pit appeared dry on my visit, I have a feeling that it fills up a bit during the rainy season. (personal note: throwing over this 300ft quarry hazard, is an awesome experience) Also be wary of throwing left on your throw on hole (9). Lots of downward elevation change and the overgrowth is heavy on that side. Other than that, most players should be safe. In addition, the wide fairways and lack of overgrowth under the trees, makes for round where most errant shots are not further punished.
Cons: There are a few issues with this course.
- UNIQUENESS - like most 9 hole layouts, Quarry lacks the uniqueness of your average 18 hole course. although there are 4 really good to epic holes, Holes (4 thru 8) all play the same. They all play straight, long, and threw or along an abandoned ball golf fairway and without defining features amongst the five holes.
- TIME PLAY - It took me almost an hour to play this one, and I jogged between shots. Figure, a group of 4, twice thru, would take over 3 hours. I played nearby 19 hole Floral Park a week later, and played Floral quicker than the 9 holes at Quarry. So don't plan on some 30 minute quickie 9 hole round here.
- CHARACTER - Quarry is lacking here on everything but the 3 sets of tees. No map, no hole signage, (paint strip and # for tee lines only), no seating, no practice basket, no extra pin sleeves, no just about everything. There is a picnic table near basket (9) and a handful of tees are shaded, but that's about it.
- NAVIGATION - Hole directions were non-existence on my visit and the map on DGCR was not accurate enough to help on every hole. I spent a good 10 minutes looking for hole (1) tee and just decided to start on (2). I eventually found hole (1) tee after finishing hole (9). Note, I made a new map and uploaded it to the files tab. Hopefully it will help more than the one I had to suffer through.
- DISCONTINUITY - Lots of walking between holes. A few holes the walk is around 400 feet.
- SPACING - Above average in general, but (4), (5) and (7) baskets are all in the same area. From (4) tee, basket is farthest right. from (5) tee, basket is center. from (7) tee, basket is farthest right.
- TEE 5 - Couldn't find it, even with the map, so I improvised from the abandoned ball golf tee. Apparently I was way off, as my improvised birdie run of 200 feet should have been played from over 400 feet away.
- TEES AREA - Sub-par compared to the region Quarry's in. The tees generally played from the original golf cart concrete paths. Unfortunately, sometimes the tees are shorter, as the direction of the cart path is not towards the basket. The cart part was not lengthened to compensate (except pro tee 6) So you'll tee on some holes with short angle to the basket and yet you'll need to sling it 600 feet, (7).
- MAINTENANCE - With the ball golf course now being abandoned, it appears not much is done to keep the fairways in check. The grass wasn't necessarily too long but it was over 10 inches in spots. In addition, there are fire ant mounds everywhere. Watch out where you set your bag.
- ACEABILITY - Not a chance from the blue tees unless you're a pro.
Other Thoughts: Probably not the best course for destination players but a wonderful 9 hole course that I'd love to have in my back yard. Challenging, fun and scenic, id definitely consider playing again if I were in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and quick 9, mix and match tee pads for a full round

1    11/15/2015   11/16/2015
Review By: t4nkd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some really fun shots on this now closed ball golf course. Letting everything get overgrown seems to have helped create some challenge on lines to the basket. Not sure how accurate the scorecard measurements are supposed to be but many of the pins seemed closer than advertised. Hole 3 is super intimidating with a hyzer line over the quarry but super rewarding if you land in the circle. Hole 9 really made me look back and enjoy the day, breezy Florida weather looking back from the top of the hill behind #9 basket toward hole 1 and the rest of the course was an amazing feeling. Some random golfers I met after my round gave me a free beer when I was asking if there was a water fountain. Those guys rock.
Cons: Worst problem is finding which pin belongs to your tee, especially around #4 (pins for 4, 5, and 7 are all very near to each other).

Another problem was that the red tee on #9 had dead palm frawns hanging down over your line. It's almost impossible to throw a pure RHBH line toward the pin with them hanging where they are. #3 is scary as shit if you need to fetch a disc down in the overgrown quarry. I wouldn't recommend getting down into it but even if your disc is only 10-15' inside the hole it's really squirrely. The pin for #4 is kind of hard to find and the pad+pin for #6 was also a hell of a find (keep walking past the pin for #5 until you see the tiny pond on the back left, follow the path down until you see the rubber tee extending blue pad for #6).
Other Thoughts: Everything else about my round was pretty great. Made some sick birdies, particularly on #8 that I parked with a slight hyzer. Ran a birdie from about 200' on #7 and made a sick putt from about 40' after I confused #5 pin from #4 pad (oops, but, great putt). Only thing that kinda sucks is that the property is all closed, so trash, grooming the landscape except the grass, basket condition and signage is all a bit rough. I've been in maintained parks that have looked worse though, and the lines+elevation is really rare for Florida so definitely worth throwing if you're near by. Again, you can easily make a full 18 hole round by mixing blue/white/red tees.

Also, if you use the scorecard instead of the "course map" I think you'll have an easier time. In general it's pretty tricky to navigate if you've never been before but if you stick to the concrete path you'll inevitably find every tee pad. Every single pad is on the concrete path.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Warning This Course is Closed

2-4    10/18/2014   10/18/2015
Review By: Rogheff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: Warning - This course is indefinitely closed. I tried to play twice this past month and the gates are locked on a beautiful Saturday morning. Upon returning home, I did some research to find that the course was recently sold with some problems arising from the sale. The village of Brooksville, old and new owners are in lawsuits according to the Tampa bay Times.
Other Thoughts: It is a shame really, because this is a nearby course for me in the winter and I actually rather enjoyed playing here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Peaceful Quarry

5+    3/22/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: JPgrotheer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free now!!! No more ball golf it's strictly Disc golf now. Beautiful terrain and really peaceful out there. On hole 3 you have to throw over the big quarry hole it's pretty awesome but BEWARE!!!! Great elevation.
Cons: There are a few place your disc will be eaten. Holes 4,5,6 can get confusing to follow. Wish it was 18 holes
Other Thoughts: Follow the side walk and you should find the tee pads pretty easy. Hole 5 tee pad comes before 4 so pass 5 and then back track. And 6 is all the way on the other side just follow path around the back and you will find it. It's pretty easy after you play it once.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    8/28/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: JCone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Facilities, in good shape, elevation shots, cart rental available, clean, staff at pro shop was cool. Friendly locals, Hole #9 may be one of my favorite shots of all time. Ball golfers were respectful.
Cons: 9 holes, I trouble finding the blue tees a couple of times, course navigation for hole 6 was awkward. Fee to play ($5),
Other Thoughts: Without a doubt my new favorite 9-holer!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You should see the Quarry once

1    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's definitely worth playing at least once, for both the novelty of playing on a functioning golf course and for the scenic value. I've played on courses on old ball golf courses in several locations but this is definitely different. The holes are maintained as golf course holes, and it can have a cool effect, like how the basket for nine is directly behind the cup. When a hole works, especially 7, it's a great feeling. 7 is the longest hole on the course, and while much wider than most disc golf fairways, it's still a sweet dogleg right that allows an awesome drive off the tee.

The other quality holes here feature some serious elevation. (for Florida) 1 is uphill with a steep drop off to the right, and an even longer climb back up if are errant in that direction. 9 is the best hole here though. Like 7, it closely follows that actual golf hole. This one is downhill though, with a lot of room to air out and the pin right behind the, well, pin.

The quarry is also a cool feature. It may not be filled with water but it is definitely a carry as you aren't going down there so it provides serious risk. It's also very interesting in terms of vistas as it is a ways down. Very much adds to the course, and if it weren't for 9, would be the signature feature.
Cons:
However, a lot of the holes aren't very well structured. Out of nine holes, I'd say four are pretty much duds. They just aren't shaped in interesting ways. They are fitted in around the ball gold course and it shows. Some of them are too short, others are not-a-golf-shots. Mostly, they just don't feel like proper holes. Here's a basket. There's a tee. Throw.

The biggest problem is the basket locations. When you play closer to the fairways, you don't play to the basket. You play, and then basket is stuck to the side. I wish they were all placed like 9. Behind the green. Even 7 has a disappointing finish, to the point that I didn't believe it was the correct basket at first. For the quarry hole, the tee is cool and the initial drive is fun, but after that the approach is meh.

It also flows terribly. There is a map and clear directions to find everything, but it just isn't laid out well for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Still, I'd recommend playing it once, if mostly for the novelty. And I would recommend against the cart. At a place like Pine Oaks, it adds to the experience. I feel like the holes are so short here, And there are so many places you wouldn't be able to get the cart to, that having it would be more nuisance than anything else.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Chasm

5+    4/8/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is embedded into a ball golf par 3 course. Each of the 9 holes has one basket and three areas to throw from. Several of the holes play right next to or over the old quarry and the wind can be difficult to navigate but in a fun way.
Cons: I could next find on of the teeing areas for hole 1.
If disc goes in the quarry it is gone.
Other Thoughts: I have payer the minimal fee to play this course several times and it has great elevation changes that makes me keep coming back.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting course

5+    2/25/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: Dana87
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was good for the interesting types of shots with some real hazards. For a beginner like myself throwing over the various quarries was exciting.

7 and 9 are real long holes. Hole 9 is a big downhill from the pro pads
Cons: Lost discs - You can lose discs in the quarry if you are not careful.

Tee Pads are lines on the cart path rather than real tee pads. Can be difficult to navigate since the pad for 8 is right near the basket for 5. On the cart path from 3 to 4 is the tee pad for 5, so you have to back track a little after 4.
Other Thoughts: The weekend of 1/17/15 the course was closed as a ball golf course. The county took over the property and it is now free to play. There are no more golf carts though. This could become part of Tom Varn park, right next door. Take care of the property and maybe it will.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/21/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Disc Jedi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An amazingly fun challenging course. I recomend bringing a full bag of disc becuase unless you throw with laser accurace you will lose at least 1 disc, but on the upside you get a free nature walk out of it lol. A beautiful course that I will be returning to. I highly recomend this one to anyone who lives in Hernando county, or who is visiting the area.
Cons: It costs money, whic sucks,. however you can see that the money it put right back into the course.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor and check this one out at least once, and you wont be sorry!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/21/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: Bstewart11684
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very different experience. We get so used to "being in the rough" playing disc golf, that playing on manicured fairways with cart paths was a neat change. This course is beautiful. Reminded me of being in the mountains with the elevation changes and rough land in the quarry.

This course requires skill and thinking. The wind was very unpredictible the day that I played so I opted to play it safe and drive around the quarries instead of over.

Being able to rent a golf cart was not only a great plus, but almost a necessity due to the grade of some of the hills. Unless you enjoy a hardcore hike!
Cons: No tee pads, only lines spray painted on the cart path with approximations of where to tee from.

Some holes were hard to find, we ended up playing a little out of order because there was not a logical flow.

Don't try to rent a cart in late afternoon here in cetntral florida. They had to be back in by 415PM. Played all 9 holes in right at an hour with cart. A little pricy, but had I had more time, I would've played around again and gotten my money's worth. No way to get tired of this course.

One thing that was very challenging is that most of the holes ran along the sides of the traditional fairways. This means that you crossed in and out of the cart paths and had LOTS of pine trees and low canopies to deal with.
Other Thoughts: It was neat to play alongside golfers---and they were way more open to the "frisbee guys" than I thought they would be.

Definitely will play here again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.