Amarillo, TX 
Disc Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Lots of potential ..

1    8/30/2019   8/30/2019
Review By: Forehand Shiver
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course has a nice mix of wooded and open shots.
- Concrete tee pads
- Good use of terrain, including a creek that runs through the middle of the course
- Perfect length for intermediate and advance players
Cons: - Baskets are old and rusty. Disc eaters
- Creek is in play and it's filthy and disgusting
- There are tee boxes that go nowhere. I found an alternate box for 10 with no basket that I could find. Also, a box for 16 has a basket maybe 600 feet away.But then you have to walk 700 feet back to where you came from to cross the bridge to play the actual 16. Some signs would be nice.
- There's a septic tank smell on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Yes, this course has seen better days. The creek that runs through the heart of the course is filled with garbage, the baskets are old, the signage is barely readable, there are tee boxes that direct you to nowhere and, of course, there's this septic tank smell in the air-- especially in the summer. But, at one time, this course was new and it was probably great. And with a few fundraisers for baskets/signage and cleanups, it could be again. Make this happen, Amarillo!

It's too short for pros, but for everyone else, this course is a lot of fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Popular course

1    2/27/2018   3/1/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good map at hole 1
Cement Tee pads
2 sets of those cement tee pads
Many alternate basket locations on most holes. Some are not even listed on the signs that have not been destroyed.
The guys I played with even stated that two of the pin positions we played were brand new.
Course has decent flow, did not have much problems figuring the layout.
Cons: several of the tee signs have been destroyed. (if you design a tee sign, never angle it, always make it straight up and down)

Other Thoughts: Played 6 courses with this being the 6th one this day. This was the only one with other players and it was actually packed. Popular course for sure.

In all this is your typical old school disc golf course. Most holes are open enough with 1 or two tree's to navigate. There is a little elevation and the course does use it. There is a creek (that smells pretty bad) that you don't want to throw into, it does come into play on a few holes. And it is West Texas, it can be windy, however it was not too bad when I played it.

Would I play here again?

Yes, I enjoyed my round, I played the signs, next time I think I would play the longs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Public course

1    12/22/2017   12/22/2017
Review By: Disc Golf Pastor
Played: 101  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very typical public park course. The course is mostly open with guardian trees between the tee box and pin. There is a nice variation of elevation, considering this is Amarillo, TX, and a good use of a creek that runs through the park. The Tee pads are nice and more or less level. There are restrooms at the start of the course and a Jonny about halfway through. Overall this is a fun course and would be great for a local club and weekly events.
Cons: Like most public courses there are things that would make it better for people that don't regularly play it. For the most part it flows well, but between hole 5 and 6 it gets a bit wonkie, also there seems to be 2 hole 15. Nether are a big deal. As pointed out there is glass, but it is nowhere near as bad as some have said. Lastly some of the tee sign are unreadable. None of these take away from the fun of playing this course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area this is a course worth playing. If you have a 400' drive this will be a birdie run duce or die course. For average players you will enjoy playing a course with fair fairways and honest pars.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: REignsDchaiNS
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent layout.
Cons: This course was literally built on an old landfill so every inch of the ground is covered in broken glass. The tee signs are old and broken and don't even match the pen positions. They also don't tell you where the next tees are located. There is a creek running threw part of the course that smells like raw sewage.
Other Thoughts: because of all the broken glass this is deffenitley not a kid friendly course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly good

1    7/25/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Concrete tees. Some water. Good risk/reward on most holes. Some shot shaping holes. Tee signs at every hole. Extra optional hole for 16. Surprising elevation for the panhandle.
Cons: Broken glass. A little tough to follow around 11. Eleven was only about 50 60 feet and said it was 300+. Wind can create some issue.
Other Thoughts: Was surprised to find such an enjoyable course in the panhandle. Well maintained except for the broken glass, but it is not as big an issue as other reviews make out to be. Good variety between long/short, trees, obstacles, mandos, water and elevation. You will have to think risk reward on several holes. 4 is short but had creek on three sides. Do you go for the ace and maybe hit the water or do you play it safe and get par?

It is a very enjoyable course with one extra hole. Play this course. It is good and will require a variety of discs and shots.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little disappointing.

1    6/14/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Gardengrower
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees. There were lots of trees and hills, a fairly challenging course. You will get your exercise playing this one, but you won't end up winded.
Cons: There were, as often happens at disc golf courses, no maps, so it was difficult to find the first tee.

There are some pretty astringent rules at this course, which is great; but there were two which we didn't know about which caused us to have to leave. Where we are from in NE, the rules are fairly relaxed. Basically:
* If you play slower than those behind you, let them play through.
*It's ok to throw while others are playing at a long tee, as long as they are well out of range.

At this course, we didn't know it, but here are the two rules which ended up getting us impolitely booted from the course for the day.
*No more than 3 people playing together at a given hole. (we have 7 people, so someone would always have to throw alone)
*Absolutely no throwing until the people ahead of you are finished throwing, no exceptions.

Being from a more relaxed environment and not knowing the rules of the course, this was disappointing.

Aside from that, there was glass on the ground at virtually every tee we did get to play. It was generally not a good experience.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a lot of fun, but needs some clean up, and some more trash cans.

Amarillo has plenty of places for disc golf courses. We lived in an area that had 7 courses within an hours drive, 2 of which were very challenging, one was a PDGA course. There needs to be more courses put in this very large city for variety.

There are 3 other courses within 1.5 hrs. drive, but nothing close.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My new home course

5+    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: try122583
Played: 126  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's always nice when they take time to put in concrete tees, and not just for the main tee box. Even the alternate has concrete. The last thing you should have to worry about is footing when getting ready to drive.
- Not only the multiple tees, but multiple pin placements. This adds great variety to this course. Plus, they actually do move the baskets frequently, so playing the course doesn't get stale.
- Decent signage too, showing you were the multiple pin placements are at.
- A nice variety of short and long holes, regardless of how the baskets are placed. I find myself using multiple discs in each round.
- While this park offers a bunch of different activities to residents, they were able to keep the disc golf course away from the busier parts of the park. You don't have to worry about hitting innocent people with drives. All you have to worry about is your game.
- Good usage of what trees and water the park has to offer.
- If you're looking for friendly competition, it looks like there are plenty of local leagues on different nights. I've yet to try one out, but plan on doing so soon.
Cons: - If you like to wear sandals or play barefoot, stay away! Broken glass all over the place.
- The creek that runs through the park can sometimes pack a pungent odor. However, that smell isn't through the whole park, just on a hole or two.
- There are some nights where playing solo might take a long time. I've seen some large crowds out there. While there's nothing wrong with people playing disc golf, it could lead to a lot of waiting and standing around, keeping you from getting into a rhythm.
- If you're not a fan of playing in wind, some of these holes might not be as enjoyable. However, it is good practice!
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course and I'm glad to have it close to me for practice. I just wish there were more courses around it. That's kinda the problem here in the Panhandle; not a lot of places or towns to put courses in. Coming from a place where I was within a short days drive from a ton of courses, I would like to see some more go up somewhere. Over time, I'm sure new courses will come about. In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Thompson Park. Also, if you're passing through the area, it is definitely worth a visit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent park course

1    12/26/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 831  Reviewed: 777  Exp: 19.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with scattered mature trees. There are some minor rolling elevation changes that are used fairly well in the design. The trees are enough to make you place your shots well, and there are a handful of shots where you have to contend with a low ceiling or a smaller gap off the tee.

The creek comes into play on some holes, offering some nice risk/reward decisions with pins close to the water or flight paths where you have to go over or near the water to have a chance at birdie. There is nice distance variety, with some reachable holes and some longer shots where you can stretch out your arm. The tees are nice concrete pads, and the signs show both pin placements with distance and hole layout.
Cons: I would like to see an indication of the current pin placements on the tee signs or on the course map at the beginning of the course. On the longer holes or the spots where multiple baskets are in view it would be helpful to know where to shoot. The park is very open, so the course doesn't play very technical. It's more about shot placement without a ton of real line shaping required. The design does a nice job of using many of the more heavily treed areas, but it still offers lots of open tee shots and wide open approaches and greens.

There are a few spots where navigation is difficult, the course map at the beginning is decent, but a little hard to read. Something minor like painting a basket spoke to indicate direction to the next tee would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find the course a little long, but it doesn't eat discs and there's not a whole lot of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will enjoy some chances to throw longer drives, and there are a few nice shots but it's a little too open to really challenge better players. There aren't a whole lot of courses in this area, so this is a good spot to stop and stretch your legs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Yellow Gold in Texas DG Country

1    7/31/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Kiosk, bathrooms, excellent signage, and nice grippy tees. All of the amenities seem to be in good condition.
- Dual tees on every hole
- Creek comes into pay on several holes (#3, 16, 17). Bonus points for water hazards!
- Lots of shady spots for those hot TX days
- Nice mix of anny's and hyzers with variation in lengths (200-700 feet) and a nice balance been open and technical throws.
- Use of mandos, such as in hole #9
- Course flow and navigation is almost stupidly simple and very easy to get around. No real need for a map here!
- An acceptable course for first-timers or seasoned veterans--especially with the various tees.
- Evidence of alternative pin placements, which is nice for the locals
- Nice park altogether. You have the rolling hills, a creek, a section with a long line of big trees to navigate, some uphill vs. downhill shots, benches, and an overall nice DG experience!
- Course ends off on a really nice last hole which puts you right by the beginning.
Cons: - Very crowded. I played here at about 8:00am and there were already about 20 people here! I didn't have to really wait to throw any shots, but I did have to look out for people on my drives. I can only imagine this getting worse as the day goes on.
- no particularly difficult or demanding holes (no super big challenges) but all 18 holes are solid and fun to play
- Lacks any real elevation, although there are some rolling hills. It'd be ideal to have a nice steep drop for an uphill or downhill drive, but this is Amarillo. Perhaps I'm being too wishful as a Pennsylvania resident!
- Shards of broken glass are everywhere!
- Very dusty, but that's probably due to the drought affecting the state.
Other Thoughts: This was one the stops on my cross-country road trip, and I was really looking forward to playing in Texas; I wasn't disappointed. Seems like there's a really devoted disc golf scene here, and I'll gladly brave the crowds for that. All in all, I thought this course effectively used the park space well and made for an incredibly enjoyable round of 18. Not a world caliber-level course, but it's definitely NOT a pitch-and-putt either. Think of it as your average course with a few features that makes it above-average.

Signature holes:

#3: Creek is in play and basket is close to the water. Do you wanna hit chains or is the water going to mess with your head?
#14: Long bomb drive down the fairway. Watch out, though, because the basket is very close to the road and thus OB. Definitely a risk/reward hole.
#16: Anhyzer 277 feet to the basket, which is basically hugging the creek's bank.
#18: Fairway is just peppered with trees. Good use for a roller shot here. About 500 feet to the basket and a memorable end to the round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amarillo...I'll be there!

1    6/9/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 444  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Various Tees to suit those seeking a change of scenery from the same old course.This course has some very decent medium to long holes that were fun and challenging,beautiful red dirt grass mix in a mildly wooded park,I enjoyed the course actually.
Cons: Multiple pin placements would do the course some good,you have the tees' now get the sleeves.The holes that were short werent that boring due to elevation variance.
Other Thoughts: Coming into this course I had thoughts that it would be less then exciting and fairly boring for some reason and that is not the case its more fun but very similar to widefield dgc in Colo Springs,and way harder then Lucy park in Wichita Falls,

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.