East Liverpool, OH 
Thompson Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timbur3 Hole #21 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Under the Radar 27 Holes!

1    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 15.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautifully landscaped park for the first 9 holes followed by some truly adventurous woods holes. This course has recently been expanded to 27 holes. The front 9 basically are a smattering of ace/birdie chances played in the groomed area of the park. The shots are short and require a delicate touch as often there are trees, access roads, and some slight elevation that make the shots interesting for their small size. Any bigger and the holes in this area would be too dangerous any smaller and it would be very boring. Pleasant relaxing front nine. Take a walk past the parking lot and bathrooms and the entire theme changes and you feel as though you are in a big state park and no longer a city park. 10 gives you a 420 foot dive straight down to a basket perched in front of a stream. 11 follows with a fun shot over the stream. 13 is a memorable throw off a boulder across the stream to a boulder laden green. Woods and elevation are everywhere on holes 10-15....some of the best woods golf I have played. 16 plays back in the open, but this one is a 600 foot L to R bender with the mountainside sloping hard left and the basket is 2 drives away so get your anhyzer ready but don't mistakenly throw a roller or your gonna roll down down and OOB into the access road below. Great hole here. Every hole on the back 9 will be enjoyable for experienced golfers. I saw several of the basket locations and tee positions for the new 9 (total will be 27 holes) These follow the same theme as the middle nine so basically it's a fun beginner nine hole course followed by a challenging and exciting 18 holer. I apparently was in town the week before the new holes were completed. From what I saw I want to rate my score up to a 4 but I can't do that as I didn't play them.
Cons: The tees are natural and in this course's case...better tees are needed here. Navigation was an issue. Even the map can be confusing. The front nine play generally in a counter-clockwise loop around the groomed interior of the park and the following nine play in a clockwise direction around the rugged exterior of the park. (1 is not near the lot and 9 finishes far from where 10 begins and then 18 finishes far away from everything. I can only imagine where the other 27 will take you.....perhaps somehow it will tie everything together and it will make sense?) Also some long walk on the woods holes..such as 11 to 12 (across the picnic grove way opposite corner from where you come out of the woods) and then 14 to 15. Theres bound to be some confusion I advise first timers to definetely print out a map. Some may gripe the front 9 are too easy. As far as holes go..#10 did feel like a poke and a prayer...perhaps theres a local route but I never saw it. I do think if the tee was moved a bit perhaps a chute like lane would appear...I would never want those giant trees cut out for sake of a disc golf hole.
Other Thoughts: If the final 9 holes are as strong as the middle 9. If the tees improve and the navigation is improved with clear marked paths and signage. If they can maintain and groom the woods and keep it clear of fallen limbs and improve some of the steep banked areas with steps and ropes to aid in the walking. I would feel this is a destination course. It has a bunch of problems but it still has some great disc golf holes and shots you will remember. Worth a stop especially now that it is 27 holes. I think if the courses were split with the front 9 being a separate course and the following 18 was it's own course that the ratings would tell a different story. I'm thinking 2.5 for the simple niner and 4.25 for the back 18. The first nine holes would be a great warm-up, cool-down or glow course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 potential

5+    12/28/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 19.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Front and back 9 completely unique, not alike. Beginners can stay up top and if you got the guts try the back 9 but you need to be in shape. Challenging. Scenery.
Cons: No flow. Back 9 was added later, but neither 9 flows well or together, long, blind walks. Tee posts sometimes placed in the only spot flat/safe enough to tee off from making a good shot near impossible. Poison ivy is unavoidable in season.
Other Thoughts: I helped design the back 9, didn't plan to leave it 'unfinished' like it is, but I can't do anything about that. If they could clear more trees as was planned it would be epic.
With some tree work and some better tees and signs this would easily become a destination course. Time will tell if that can happen.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Thompson Park - It's Ok

1    11/8/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with great trees and neat surroundings. The Front 9 is short but makes good use of the trees, elevation changes and some difficult pin positions. The front 9 is good fro all skill levels. The Back 9 is a collection of very different holes, huge elevation changes, wide open and tightly wooded. I really enjoyed the wooded holes (except 10) they were very imaginative. The course plays very quickly and is very fun.
Cons: This course has zero flow at all. The holes do not really follow a good path at all. Hole 4 took a while to find since it is actually significantly behind hole 3's Tee. Hole 9 finishes in the middle of the park and there is no indication of where 10 might be. Also hole 10 should just be removed from the course. 10 is a steep downhill hole that has absolutely no path to the hole. You just throw into a wall of trees and hope that you don't land too badly. (I threw both a hammer and a backhand and neither of them came close to getting through the trees). Also its a fair hike from 18 back to the parking lot. The tee's on the back 9 are kinda scary and have no room at all for a run up.
Other Thoughts: You can tell that this course was designed by amateurs and with that in mind it came out pretty good. With the space they have, especially in the woods it would have been nice to see all 18 holes tie into each other a little better. The park was also somewhat busy when I played but everyone seemed very pleasant and helpful.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 We're gonna have a good time

5+    9/11/2008   9/11/2009
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 198  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very enjoyable to play. The front 9 is nice and easy with some decent holes. All of the holes on the front 9 are reachable yet have some challenge involved. The trees in the park are spectacular. Some very old trees and quite a large variety. Beautiful park. Cool little amphitheater that you play by is pretty neat. The front 9 will give you a nice walk through the park that anybody of any skill level will be able to enjoy.

The back 9 is a very fun back 9 with many shots with elevation change and some water thrown in as well. There are some really neat shots out here. Cool pin placements on rock outcroppings, near the edge of a nice little creek. Kinda reminds me McConnells Mills in PA.
Cons: As much as I like the back 9 of this course, hole 10 is just plain silly. It's actually a really cool hole, except there are 2 trees that really ruin what could be a really great hole. It's basically a poke and hope through some trees downhill 300 feet or so.

The teepads on the back 9 are very rough, and are often muddy or on some sort of angle. Not much chance for a run up or follow through. Yet even with the pads it is still fun to play.
Other Thoughts: After playing 130+ courses over the last 15 years, I would have to say that this is a really fun course to play and most people will have a really good time. It has a few memorable holes on the back 9 which give help to give it a good rating. The front 9 is a great place to practice your midrange game, and the back 9 will have you wanting to throw lots of extras because of how fun some of the holes are.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/10/2011   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The front 9 is fairly short and simple. How ever the holes on the outer edge can be tricky , and drive placement is must. Holes 4 & 5 i believe, if your disc rolls , its gonna roll for a awhile. The back 9 is absolutely awsome.

Hole 10 Straight down hill about 400 or so ft. through very a heavily wooded area.

Hole 11 plays over a winding a stream through more thick trees.

Hole 16 will test your anhyzer for sure ,playing 600ft around the side of the mountain

As for all the back 9 Good shots will be rewarded , errant shots....will make for long day

Tee pads are now on the front 9
Cons: Some tee pads, but are very are small.
Course appears to be neglected, damaged tee signs overgrow in some areas.
Other Thoughts: ::::Update::::::
I ventured down to play the outback . Needless i was a little disappointed. Most of the outback needs more TLC, and broken in . Some of the Fairways are undefinable . The paths have arrows pointing you in the direction of the next hole, but even with that some of the holes don't flow together as 1-18 does .
21# however is a very neat hole. Much like 13 shoots from high above a rock 40 feet (est)down. 280 some feet. The only hole you will remember for 19-27. Hole 27 ends where 10 starts.

I had to drop my rating simply because the course hasn't changed much. The overall flow 3-4-5-6, is really awkward shoot forward , walk back..etc. from 21-22-23-24 are all holes in which you hike a min or 2 to the next tee.

This is still a fun course and is one the most physically demanding course's in the region.


. Still one of my personal favorites. Playgrounds , pavilions , swimming pool and stand alone grilles are among amenities.


4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, challenging

5+    10/15/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am a new player over 50 and have thrown frisbees all my life. I started on this course.
After playing other courses I.ve found this is one of the best. The front nine is short but challenging enough to make a nice warm up and work out if you play it a few times in a row.
THE BACK NINE - I had no idea that you could play in the woods. Now I know. Very beautiful and some of the best looking holes that I have yet seen. Throwing across a valley to a basket set in the boulders is intimidating but rewards a good throw.
There is alot of Family activities available here. Ballfields, Pavilions, Tennis courts, Picnic areas w/grills. Very nice to bring the whole family.
Cons: Bring water

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

So-So Front Nine, Spectacular Holes On Back Nine

1    10/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 69  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2016
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park. Friendly locals. Back nine has some of the best disc golf holes I have thrown to date.

Decent tee signs with maps. All equipment new or in great shape.

Wooded back nine holes have "next tee" wood signs near the baskets. Tee signs also have "next tee" info.

Very friendly locals. Course not very busy.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Front nine a bit too easy. Some holes can be slightly hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Starting out the front nine was honestly a bit of a letdown. Fairly open and short, I breezed through this pretty quickly. Some decent holes, but nothing really challenging at all.

The back nine was a whole different story. Completely different personality from the front nine. In fact, Thompson's back nine had some of the best holes I have ever thrown on a disc golf course. Holes 11, 12 & 13 in particular were spectacular downhill drives across the creek, weaving through the trees. Just technical enough to require skill but not so much that the sheer pleasure of throwing these holes was overshadowed. I wish I had more discs on me for hole 13 -- probably the course signature hole, with the giant cliff-hanging boulder as the tee pad.

After an uphill drive for hole 15, you were back out of the wooded areas for some decent holes with a bit of distance requirements. Hole 16 tee is around the bend, requires a bit of walking but easy to spot once you get close. I got a bit lost looking for that one.

Back nine holes weave through some pretty steep hilly areas, and cross a river/creek in places. Very shallow when I was there in early October. I walked right on/over the creek, no problem with getting shoes soaked or anything.

The park is multi-use, and was fairly busy with non-disc golfers when I was there. A very small bit of throwing over walkways on the front nine, but the back nine is all for the disc golfers.

Small-ish parking lot, but it's right between the back & front nine. Tee #1 was a bit hard to locate, but close to the parking lot (it's obscured by some bushes/trees from that angle). Back nine did not bring you back to the parking lot from hole 18, so there was a short walk to get back to the car.

I didn't have time to explore the amenities, but there seemed to be a main park building with bathrooms. Other activities for the non-disc golfers. Seemed mostly a "walking" park though.

Very beautiful and slightly hilly park.

This one's a bit of a drive for me, but I definitely plan on going back regularly just for the back nine, they were that good. I'll treat the front nine as a warm up for the "real" holes.

This is a tough review for me to score. Overall I am not sure the course is a solid 4.0, but some killer holes on the back nine make it difficult for m to give it a 3.5; for now I am going with the 4.0 score.

If you are in or near the area, it's a must-play course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.