Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #19
3 / 308ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Short Tee: Basket in B position on left. A position on right.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 72
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
 Decent course

1    4/8/2018   4/8/2018
Review By: Scottieg40
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love how this course is so spread out. I currently live in Fairfax VA which has limited area for holes. Great nature scene while hiking along the creek. Some good shots in there as well. It's very challenging.
Cons: With all the land available to create a course I personally feel that they've failed to create the course it could have been. Hear me out. Almost all of the holes are straight shots. Let's think about how discs naturally fly. Flight patterns of hyzer and anhyzer. I believe a disc golf course should compliment a discs flight and contain a verity of shots. Yes, there's a couple that do this but not enough. I may be biased because I come from the discgolf Mecca in Charlotte NC but the lack there of is simply a lack of imagination in the course design. To the designer, you have an opportunity to create something so much more. Better downhill, uphill, and tee pad locations that offer more options to the thrower. Sorry for the harsh criticism but it's coming from someone who cares about the sport and has high expectations.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/7/2017   3/7/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 27 holes.
permanent tee pad, multi-tee & basket positions
well marked
large variety
Cons: can only play when the State Park is open, so no earlier than 8am.
during high season there is an entry fee to the park
Other Thoughts: this is an excellent course, many holes border on the seneca creek, which serves as a boundary on several fairways. There are wooded fairways, grassy fairways, uphill, downhill, right, left, long, short.
It's well maintained, and the keeper actually calls you if he finds your disc! (assuming it's got your name and number in it)

The state park is nice, too, with paddling and hiking, picnic area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

one of the best in Maryland

5+    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes
- Beautiful park
- Well-defined fairways
- Minimal undergrowth
- Excellent flow and variety
Cons: - Gnats and mosquitos, especially on the front 9 down by the creek
- Everything is marked as par 3 regardless of length (a pet peeve of mine)
- Have to pay for parking on weekends (not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek is one of the best courses in Maryland.

Seneca Creek is a wooded course with a few more open holes as well. The fairways are fair, forcing you to shape a shot, but often leaving enough room to give you a couple of options as well. It has a variety of shots, including tunnel shots and more open holes, elevation change, etc. The one thing it lacks is an opportunity to really air out a distance drive, but there are a number of longer holes to reward the longer throwers. I will agree with a previous review that it doesn't really have a signature hole. That being said, it has 27 solid holes with excellent flow and variety.

For a wooded course, Seneca has very little undergrowth, tall grass, or anything like that unless you get way off the fairway. There is a little bit of OB playing alongside the creek. One thing I love about the course is that each loop has the feel of a hiking trail. There is very little backtracking, and while you end up where you started, you come head out in one direction and come back in from another. There is none of that "down and back" feel you get on some courses where one fairway plays right alongside the previous one.

With all that being said, there are a few stretches that can feel a bit repetitive - slight variations on "throw a straight shot through this gap". I think that is my biggest complaint about the course. I can't believe I'm saying this, but I actually might like the course better if they kept the best 18 holes on the course and dropped the other 9. But, it's also nice to have the extra holes given the lack of other courses in the area.

Overall, I think it is definitely worth making a trip to play Seneca Creek. It's a great course in a beautiful park. If I was traveling through the area, I would definitely make an effort to play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Showing its age

1    5/19/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 138  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Seneca Creek offers 27 holes made up of three nine-hole loops that return to the parking lot. More courses need to include this option to improve traffic.

There are some superb challenges at Seneca Creek. Hole #1 is a tunnel gauntlet and foreshadowing of the wooded holes. A variety of shots will be utilized and it's obvious how being skilled at throwing a roller would be a welcomed asset.

A fantastic workout. Elevation is often in play and is used well. Many of the holes are on hilly terrain and good shoes are a necessity to travel the course.

This is not a casual-round course. Accuracy and resiliency are vital as Seneca Creek will show its teeth and threaten to chew you up. Therefore, it's an excellent test of one's physical and mental game.
Cons: Three teepads per hole is a little much, especially since the distance between teepads for some of the holes is less than 40 feet. The multiple teepads aren't clearly marked and can lead to some confusion during first-time navigation. Also, many of the teepads are in mediocre condition.

Plenty of difficult off-the-fairway areas. From unmaintained wooded areas to patches of thorny briars to areas filled with weeds, the "traversability" at this course isn't great.

So many trees. Accuracy is paramount at Seneca Creek as the narrow fairways will provide many challenges and some of the fairways are loosely defined. Some holes (like Hole #16) feature so many random trees that your disc may feel like a Plinko chip.

The lack of variety. While designing 27 unique holes is a challenge, there are too many holes with comparable designs and similar distances.
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek is a lovely park with plenty of options for fun, including hiking, biking, picnicking, canoeing, kayaking and more. Also, the park headquarters offers a nice selection of discs for sale.

A rating of 3.5 for Seneca Creek might seem a little harsh, but there are a couple of notable shortcomings regarding the course's condition. While some older courses offer a lovely nostalgic impression, Seneca Creek feels more worn out. The holes start to blend together and there isn't a signature hole on the course. Seneca Creek appears to be in need of a whitewash and fresh paint job in order to return to its glory days.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Must play

1    4/12/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: DuBose
Played: 106  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Three pads on every hole giving great options.
- Signs and maps on every hole.
- Well marked and laid out.
- Great variety of shots. Long, short, left and right.
- Decent amount of hazards and O.B.'s with minimum chance of loosing disc.
- Not crowded but it was a Wednesday so not sure about weekends.
- Set up like 3 nine hole courses so you end up by parking lot after 9 and 18. Gives great options to play 3 different 18 hole courses if you don't have time for 27. Also worked great for me when I caught a foursome on hole 9. I skipped to 19, and then went to 10 thru 18 after 27.
- Nice scenery including wildlife.
Cons: - Love the options with 3 pads on every hole, but some of the pads are in pretty bad shape.
- Some fairways are pretty close. Guessing it's a problem when crowded.
- With the space they have, it seems like they could spread out some of the holes a little.
Other Thoughts: I wish my home course was like this. Lots of options with the multiple pads. Also can handle more people with 27 holes. I will definitely play this course again if I get a chance. I live in California and have had the chance to play 2 courses in Virginia and 2 in Maryland. This is my favorite for the DC area. (So far)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a great course!

1    4/11/2017   4/11/2017
Review By: Chismo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady walk in the trees for nearly the entire course.
Variety of tees and pins.
Variety of terrain up and down.
Well marked with signs and info.
Mostly wooded course, but didn't feel super closed in, with at least a couple of drives to go long on (at least in early April).
Great work went into adding steps, benches, bridges. Rustic but good.
Cons: A lot of thorny bushes growing along fairways already in early spring. I can't imagine how nasty it would be to find a poorly thrown disc later in the summer.
Other Thoughts: As a visitor from MN, it was interesting to see how this course compared to courses I'm familiar with in the midwest. I like that the trees in the park are less dense than those in MN, and there is much less underbrush and tall grass to contend with (at least in early April.)

It was a great time, and our group enjoyed playing very much.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

still a classic

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 350  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 32.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seneca was my favorite course in the Mid Atlantic region back in the mid/late 90's, upon returning 17 years later (Dec '16) I found the 9 'new' holes to be just as great.

This course set in a scenic state park has tremendous variety to it: tight wooded shots but none are unfair, great elevation changes up down and across hills, a creek comes into play several times, marked OB rope, at least 2 tees and the majority of holes have 3 tee options, yellow flags on top of each basket, good tee signs, white poles near the disc grabbing cedar trees and multiple pin locations which I'm sure they rotate.

Seneca was known as a 'roller' course but I didn't throw any rollers (on purpose), I was able to backhand every tee shot.

The 3 loops of each 9 return to the start. 2 baskets on 3 holes. Mach 3's are my favorite basket type.

Not beginner friendly, this is a plus!
Cons: Nitpicking here since it's hard to dislike anything about this course...
The last 1 or 2 holes on each 9 are somewhat of a let down, simply not great holes and generally play left to right. I'm a RHBH player.

The tee pads are a mixture in size and material, some old ones have long narrow cement slabs, some have cement pavers and some have gravel around them helping with erosion.
Other Thoughts: Some of the original basket locations have been extended and depending on which tee you are using I thought some are now "tweener holes", a tough par 3 or easy 4.

Seneca is now listed in my "favorites".

Located near several major highways it is close to the exits but the Wash DC traffic is a pain even in non rush hour times.

Don't drive 12 mph over the speed limit on Clopper Rd with out of state plates or you might get a $40 ticket in the mail 2 weeks later.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my all time favorites

5+    4/5/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course. I got out and played with a group of 4 and had an absolute blast all day. The course is challenging with lots of tight shots in the woods mixed with plenty of open fairways for big arm players. It will require every shot and disc in the bag to score well.
Cons: The course is tough, but fair. If you shoot well and leave yourself good approaches, you can shoot a decent score. If you make a mistake, you will find yourself hunting to get back into a playable area.
Other Thoughts: BRING BUG SPRAY

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky to be my home course!

5+    5/11/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough and spoiled to have this as my home course. 27 holes with three loops that all circle back to the lot, there are great options to play as much or as little as you'd like. There are two or three tees every hole and two to four pin locations on every hole that get changed pretty regularly. Mr. Bill and the regulars out there keep this course in amazing condition. From week to week more and more areas get cleared for optimum playability. It is challenging, it is fun, it is mostly wooded and there is a creek that provides nice ambience. Makes me feel like a kid out there. There aren't long walks from pins to tees mostly and it was designed very well when they redesigned it to 27 holes. I am biased and the course from most pros POV would be a 4.5, but to me, I haven't been anywhere better. I love this place and consider it a must play to anyone that hasn't been fortunate enough to play it
Cons: The only con is this course has spoiled me and ruined a lot of other courses for me

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the area

1    4/29/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seneca Creek State Park is a huge, beautiful park, with the course being tucked away in one corner on its own away from other park activities. I'm sure the locals love playing in a setting like this being so close to D.C. This is a really nice area to play in and the course has that established feel that makes it special. It's apparent that the locals have put in a ton of effort to get the course to where it is today. A lot of attention to detail with ample signage pointing you in the right direction, indicators for the current pin position, and paths and steps to guide you to the next tee.

The course weaves its way throughout a few areas that offer different levels of woodenness. You have some tighter shots at the bottom of the hill and near the stream (mostly on the front 9) and then plays through more moderately wooded sections with a few more open holes near the parking lot. Conveniently, each set of 9 holes begins right next to the lot.

This course is a beast when the baskets are in the C position, often taking me two long throws to reach the circle (if not more). It offers a real nice balance of challenge while still playing very fair. In the long position, the baskets were often located in precarious positions, whether being tucked away among trees, near a stream, or located on a fast green. The multiple pin positions do a fantastic job of changing up the hole, with the A and B locations still being challenging but more friendly to beginners.

The streams add a nice effect by offering a possible chance to land O.B. on your drives or approaches.

The tee signs are great and are very helpful. The tees are a little mixed, but I had no problems with any of them. The designers did a nice job of changing the look of the hole between the three tees.
Cons: When taking the holes for what they are in and of themselves, this is a great course. There are two problems when having 27 holes like this though. For one, they started to blend together by the last 9 holes. I agree with another reviewer that I at one point throughout the round may have rated the course higher. Other people may feel differently about this, but I like to rate the course as the sum of its parts. I noticed some people playing only one or two of the 9 hole loops, and I would probably do the same thing if this was my home course.

Also, the course is congested and fairways often run close together. Sometimes there were multiple baskets in view and it could cause confusion for some players. I personally didn't have any problems with the course layout for my round, just something to keep in mind on a busy day.

Nothing that takes away from the course, but keep in mind that there is a small fee to enter the park on the weekends and the gate closes at sunset.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth going out of your way for, I really enjoyed my round here. State park courses are hit and miss, but this one definitely has seen a lot of care and attention. This is a beautiful area worth taking your time and spending the day at. Definitely one of the best in an area with a lot of solid courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.