Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #18
3 / 307ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee: Basket is in B position (center). A position short and left. C position back another 100 feet and right.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 

5+    11/7/2017   3/7/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 24.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 27 holes.
permanent tee pad, multi-tee & basket positions
well marked
large variety
Cons: can only play when the State Park is open, so no earlier than 8am.
during high season there is an entry fee to the park
Other Thoughts: this is an excellent course, many holes border on the seneca creek, which serves as a boundary on several fairways. There are wooded fairways, grassy fairways, uphill, downhill, right, left, long, short.
It's well maintained, and the keeper actually calls you if he finds your disc! (assuming it's got your name and number in it)

The state park is nice, too, with paddling and hiking, picnic area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my all time favorites

5+    4/5/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course. I got out and played with a group of 4 and had an absolute blast all day. The course is challenging with lots of tight shots in the woods mixed with plenty of open fairways for big arm players. It will require every shot and disc in the bag to score well.
Cons: The course is tough, but fair. If you shoot well and leave yourself good approaches, you can shoot a decent score. If you make a mistake, you will find yourself hunting to get back into a playable area.
Other Thoughts: BRING BUG SPRAY

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky to be my home course!

5+    5/11/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2016
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I am lucky enough and spoiled to have this as my home course. 27 holes with three loops that all circle back to the lot, there are great options to play as much or as little as you'd like. There are two or three tees every hole and two to four pin locations on every hole that get changed pretty regularly. Mr. Bill and the regulars out there keep this course in amazing condition. From week to week more and more areas get cleared for optimum playability. It is challenging, it is fun, it is mostly wooded and there is a creek that provides nice ambience. Makes me feel like a kid out there. There aren't long walks from pins to tees mostly and it was designed very well when they redesigned it to 27 holes. I am biased and the course from most pros POV would be a 4.5, but to me, I haven't been anywhere better. I love this place and consider it a must play to anyone that hasn't been fortunate enough to play it
Cons: The only con is this course has spoiled me and ruined a lot of other courses for me

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 everything you could want in a dg course!

1    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 33  Reviewed: 32
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: of the hundreds of courses i have played, this is definitely one of my favorite. just a beautiful layout with 9 holes all looping back to the parking lot. the long holes are incredibly challenging, the short holes are a birdie fest, and the mediums are pleasantly in between.
great OB line markers.
the creek never hurts for ambiance!
Cons: lack of trash cans is a minor annoyance, but hardly a big deal.
there was a tremendous amount of creepy crawly wildlife (i saw 2 snakes, a large toad, a gillion caterpillar things that fell from the sky and a giant millipede dealie). so it goes.
Other Thoughts: granted i was here in the midst of spring on an 82 degree day with low humidity. am not sure i would have been AS enchanted here in january or july.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Maryland's Finest

5+    4/5/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with a varitey of holes, a few lunch eaters and few aceable holes and everything in between. Each 9 starts and ends right by the parking lot. There's two practice baskets right by the parking lot as well. There's plently of signage and new tee pads have been installed on 8 holes. Multiple pin placements. Cost you $3 to get into the park on the weekends from Easter till October, but it's worth it. There's a crew of guys that maintain and improve the course regularly, if you see them, please thank them, without them it wouldn't be the course it is.
Cons: No trash cans, so please whatever you bring in, please take it out with you, that includes your cigarette butts too!
The only real cons that I see is for players new to the course, it can get a bit confusing going from #5 to #6, you have to go up the hill to #6 tee pad. And from #12 to #13. You have to walk down towards #6 tee pad and walk down to #13 tee pad towards the creek. And from #7 to #8, because it intersects with #24 to #25, but if you open your eyes and use your head, you should be just fine. The only other con would be #13 & #14 can get really muddy and slick after a solid rain and make throwing a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: The pin placements get changed pretty regularly to keep things interesting. In the warmer months you will have bugs and other critters but you're playing disc golf outside, in the woods, in Maryland, you're bound to incounter a few, be prepared.
Out of Bounds on #3, #4, #5, #13, & #14, and will put a hurtin' on your score.
All & all, it's a great course and if you haven't played it yet, you need to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome wooded course

1    9/28/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Efan08
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good wooded course. Has a nice variety of shots. I threw most of the discs in my bag which is uncommon among most wooded courses.

Good looking tee signs with a successful way of representing which location the basket is in.

Nice concrete/paver tee pads at every hole

Fairways were mowed

Great course
Cons: Only con is that there is no bathroom or water nearby.
Other Thoughts: One of the best wooded courses I've played. When I played I went with some beginners and even they loved the challenge of the course. Hopefully when I go back the baskets will be moved to the longs so I can see what this course is really made of.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

5+    6/20/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cschu8
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, accurate signs, beautiful freshly mowed meadows with cedar trees. Highly challenging, especially when in C pins. Disc golf heaven.
Cons: Milton wrote "The fault-finder will find fault even in paradise." I am not a fault-finder and this course is so much better than 95% of all courses I have ever played that it is not worth noting any negatives.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I have ever played. Comparable to Tyler State Park in PA but nothing else comes close in the mid-Atlantic area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out and well marked. Lots of trees make it challenging but its forgiving enough so its a really fun course. Each set of 9 holes comes back to the start, so you can play the front 9, middle 9, or back 9, or any combination of the 3
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Personally my favorite course I've played so far

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

5+    7/23/2009   11/22/2010
Review By: Crackers
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.7 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Easily one of the most beautiful courses out there.
Short, long, open and tunnel holes.
Good pro shop.
27 holes that will keep you busy for a long time.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I love this place and wish I still lived in the area to play it more.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Must play course of MD

5+    10/4/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 27.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in MD, play it when you get the chance.

Three loops of 9 holes with two tees for each hole, and multiple pin positions.

Before the Fall 2008 Soiree they finished enough tees so that the tournament was played completely on concrete tee pads!

Lots of variety, from tight fairways to more open, elevation changes, tight OB lines, etc.
Cons: A few tee pads remain to be completed before it will all be 100% concrete tees.

MD residents pay $2 entry fee on weekends ... still worth it or get the $75 / year State Park permit and play Patapsco too!
Other Thoughts: 2007 Soiree White tees to long SSA: 88.22
2007 Soiree Red tees to long SSA: 80.30


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.