Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #10
3 / 347ft.   3 / 516ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket: A position left, B position back middle, C position way back right.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Will be back

1    4/14/2019   6/25/2019
Review By: where'sfinn
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2019
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tees
Multiple baskets on every hole
Flags on top of each basket.
27 holes
Great variety of elevation change between each hole.
The holes do not cross or run parallel
Great variety of course design - had to break out almost every disc and every type of throw.
Good mix of tight wooded tunnel shots and open fairway shots.
Cons: You have to pay the general park fee to even enter the greater park.
Maybe the restrooms and water are not close to the course.
Other Thoughts: Gorgeous park by itself. The course is beautiful and relaxing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So far, the best course I have played

1    3/23/2019   3/23/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2019
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Okay. I have only been playing disc golf for 6 months and only in the Mid-Atlantic. Still, this is the best-maintained, most imaginative course I have played so far. The 27 holes provide many options and help players spread out and not crowd each other. I still had to let one guy play through, but was otherwise left alone. I played holes 1-9 and then 19-27. To me, there was not a bad hole in the bunch. I expect that holes 10-18 will be also varied and imaginative. Yes, varied. Even if routing was fairly straight, I thought basket locations today were mostly challenging. The tree situation for each hole is different: sometimes playing into trees, sometimes playing out of trees, sometimes in trees the whole time, up, down, flat, down and then up, up and then down. No complaints here about variety. It's a very beautiful park and a very beautiful course. Nos. 3 and 25 are big drops down to the basket; gravity will help you if you are not a strong driver. I like getting that break sometimes.
Cons: Everything is par 3. Some of those holes should be 4s. There are a lot of trees to deal with. The doglegs 20 and 22 maybe? The longer holes, especially those that are uphill and long? For some of the B and C basket placements? The trail along the creek will include people walking (sometimes with dogs and children) and not playing disc golf. Wait for them to get out of your range. There is an entry fee to the park (April-October?). I think if you are not also a kayaker or mountain biker or fisher(wo)man, you might not feel like you are getting your total money's worth nor getting enough variety in activity. By comparison, Bull Run Regional has a waterpark, camping, hiking, fishing, big fields for soccer and baseball. Pohick Bay has (now) an extensive paved bike path that connects that park to two others on Mason Neck, camping, fishing, hiking, kayaking. Yes, it is true that some of those additional things have additional fees. Or that the disc golf course itself charges an additional fee to the park entry fee. Not a fan of pay-for-play, but I understand the states need revenue and also have a crush of people during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: It appears the geography is a large hill with holes atop, some ringing the sides, and some in the creek valley. There are openings (meadows) atop the hill for some of the holes. So you are not completely in the woods. Just mostly so. The long hiking trail around Clopper Lake is lovely, if you want to continue walking in the woods. I didn't walk it today (cannot presently), but I have in the past. Picnic stations look very good if you want to try to make a full day-trip of it in the park. Park seems mostly geared for picnicking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    4/8/2018   4/8/2018
Review By: Scottieg40
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I love how this course is so spread out. I currently live in Fairfax VA which has limited area for holes. Great nature scene while hiking along the creek. Some good shots in there as well. It's very challenging.
Cons: With all the land available to create a course I personally feel that they've failed to create the course it could have been. Hear me out. Almost all of the holes are straight shots. Let's think about how discs naturally fly. Flight patterns of hyzer and anhyzer. I believe a disc golf course should compliment a discs flight and contain a verity of shots. Yes, there's a couple that do this but not enough. I may be biased because I come from the discgolf Mecca in Charlotte NC but the lack there of is simply a lack of imagination in the course design. To the designer, you have an opportunity to create something so much more. Better downhill, uphill, and tee pad locations that offer more options to the thrower. Sorry for the harsh criticism but it's coming from someone who cares about the sport and has high expectations.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/7/2017   3/7/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 27 holes.
permanent tee pad, multi-tee & basket positions
well marked
large variety
Cons: can only play when the State Park is open, so no earlier than 8am.
during high season there is an entry fee to the park
Other Thoughts: this is an excellent course, many holes border on the seneca creek, which serves as a boundary on several fairways. There are wooded fairways, grassy fairways, uphill, downhill, right, left, long, short.
It's well maintained, and the keeper actually calls you if he finds your disc! (assuming it's got your name and number in it)

The state park is nice, too, with paddling and hiking, picnic area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Seneca Creek State Park

5+    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2019
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Multiple concrete tees on each hole. Multiple basket positions. Challenging but fair layout with nice variety.
Cons: Mosquitoes and gnats can be bad at times.
Other Thoughts: MD state park, so you have to pay for parking on weekends. One of the better courses in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Showing its age

1    5/19/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 190  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Seneca Creek offers 27 holes made up of three nine-hole loops that return to the parking lot. More courses need to include this option to improve traffic.

There are some superb challenges at Seneca Creek. Hole #1 is a tunnel gauntlet and foreshadowing of the wooded holes. A variety of shots will be utilized and it's obvious how being skilled at throwing a roller would be a welcomed asset.

A fantastic workout. Elevation is often in play and is used well. Many of the holes are on hilly terrain and good shoes are a necessity to travel the course.

This is not a casual-round course. Accuracy and resiliency are vital as Seneca Creek will show its teeth and threaten to chew you up. Therefore, it's an excellent test of one's physical and mental game.
Cons: Three teepads per hole is a little much, especially since the distance between teepads for some of the holes is less than 40 feet. The multiple teepads aren't clearly marked and can lead to some confusion during first-time navigation. Also, many of the teepads are in mediocre condition.

Plenty of difficult off-the-fairway areas. From unmaintained wooded areas to patches of thorny briars to areas filled with weeds, the "traversability" at this course isn't great.

So many trees. Accuracy is paramount at Seneca Creek as the narrow fairways will provide many challenges and some of the fairways are loosely defined. Some holes (like Hole #16) feature so many random trees that your disc may feel like a Plinko chip.

The lack of variety. While designing 27 unique holes is a challenge, there are too many holes with comparable designs and similar distances.
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek is a lovely park with plenty of options for fun, including hiking, biking, picnicking, canoeing, kayaking and more. Also, the park headquarters offers a nice selection of discs for sale.

A rating of 3.5 for Seneca Creek might seem a little harsh, but there are a couple of notable shortcomings regarding the course's condition. While some older courses offer a lovely nostalgic impression, Seneca Creek feels more worn out. The holes start to blend together and there isn't a signature hole on the course. Seneca Creek appears to be in need of a whitewash and fresh paint job in order to return to its glory days.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Must play

1    4/12/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: DuBose
Played: 109  Reviewed: 12
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Three pads on every hole giving great options.
- Signs and maps on every hole.
- Well marked and laid out.
- Great variety of shots. Long, short, left and right.
- Decent amount of hazards and O.B.'s with minimum chance of loosing disc.
- Not crowded but it was a Wednesday so not sure about weekends.
- Set up like 3 nine hole courses so you end up by parking lot after 9 and 18. Gives great options to play 3 different 18 hole courses if you don't have time for 27. Also worked great for me when I caught a foursome on hole 9. I skipped to 19, and then went to 10 thru 18 after 27.
- Nice scenery including wildlife.
Cons: - Love the options with 3 pads on every hole, but some of the pads are in pretty bad shape.
- Some fairways are pretty close. Guessing it's a problem when crowded.
- With the space they have, it seems like they could spread out some of the holes a little.
Other Thoughts: I wish my home course was like this. Lots of options with the multiple pads. Also can handle more people with 27 holes. I will definitely play this course again if I get a chance. I live in California and have had the chance to play 2 courses in Virginia and 2 in Maryland. This is my favorite for the DC area. (So far)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course!

1    4/11/2017   4/11/2017
Review By: Chismo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shady walk in the trees for nearly the entire course.
Variety of tees and pins.
Variety of terrain up and down.
Well marked with signs and info.
Mostly wooded course, but didn't feel super closed in, with at least a couple of drives to go long on (at least in early April).
Great work went into adding steps, benches, bridges. Rustic but good.
Cons: A lot of thorny bushes growing along fairways already in early spring. I can't imagine how nasty it would be to find a poorly thrown disc later in the summer.
Other Thoughts: As a visitor from MN, it was interesting to see how this course compared to courses I'm familiar with in the midwest. I like that the trees in the park are less dense than those in MN, and there is much less underbrush and tall grass to contend with (at least in early April.)

It was a great time, and our group enjoyed playing very much.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 still a classic

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 354  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 33.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seneca was my favorite course in the Mid Atlantic region back in the mid/late 90's, upon returning 17 years later (Dec '16) I found the 9 'new' holes to be just as great.

This course set in a scenic state park has tremendous variety to it: tight wooded shots but none are unfair, great elevation changes up down and across hills, a creek comes into play several times, marked OB rope, at least 2 tees and the majority of holes have 3 tee options, yellow flags on top of each basket, good tee signs, white poles near the disc grabbing cedar trees and multiple pin locations which I'm sure they rotate.

Seneca was known as a 'roller' course but I didn't throw any rollers (on purpose), I was able to backhand every tee shot.

The 3 loops of each 9 return to the start. 2 baskets on 3 holes. Mach 3's are my favorite basket type.

Not beginner friendly, this is a plus!
Cons: Nitpicking here since it's hard to dislike anything about this course...
The last 1 or 2 holes on each 9 are somewhat of a let down, simply not great holes and generally play left to right. I'm a RHBH player.

The tee pads are a mixture in size and material, some old ones have long narrow cement slabs, some have cement pavers and some have gravel around them helping with erosion.
Other Thoughts: Some of the original basket locations have been extended and depending on which tee you are using I thought some are now "tweener holes", a tough par 3 or easy 4.

Seneca is now listed in my "favorites".

Located near several major highways it is close to the exits but the Wash DC traffic is a pain even in non rush hour times.

Don't drive 12 mph over the speed limit on Clopper Rd with out of state plates or you might get a $40 ticket in the mail 2 weeks later.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my all time favorites

5+    4/5/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course. I got out and played with a group of 4 and had an absolute blast all day. The course is challenging with lots of tight shots in the woods mixed with plenty of open fairways for big arm players. It will require every shot and disc in the bag to score well.
Cons: The course is tough, but fair. If you shoot well and leave yourself good approaches, you can shoot a decent score. If you make a mistake, you will find yourself hunting to get back into a playable area.
Other Thoughts: BRING BUG SPRAY

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.