Gaithersburg, MD 
Seneca Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: John Merhi Hole #14
3 / 373ft.   3 / 487ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach: OB entire left side of hole.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 73
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 Now twenty seven... disc golf heaven!

1    12/30/2008   1/12/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As soon as you enter this large state park you start to feel serene as you pass woods, a lake, and large meadows. This peaceful ambiance engulfs the disc golf course at the back of the park too. Wildlife abounds; there's nothing like having a 4 point buck stand close by... until he outdrives you!

The course abounds with variety. With three 9 hole loops that begin and end at the parking lot there's plenty of variety, so that you can play 3 different 18 hole combinations. With two sets of teepads the course caters to many playing levels. In addition, every hole has at least two basket positions while many have 3 placements, so this creates up to six layouts per hole! Shorter throwers can enjoy the short tees (Red), but from the long tees (White) to the long basket positions even the world's top pros are challenged. The course has a great mixture of terrain with some woods holes mixed with more open well manicured grass and trees. But also beware of the many disc eating cedar trees throughout the fairways! If you do get stuck one of the thoughtful extras are many long poles scattered throughout the course to help get your discs out. The fairways are well shaped, varied, and wide. There are many nice elevation changes on the rolling hills and I especially enjoyed the holes along Seneca Creek. My favorite is hole 13, a long challenging dogleg right, with the OB creek all down the left side. It has abundant beauty mixed with the ever present risk of straying too far left.

There are many great Amenities too. There's a first class message board with a box for maps, and a better, color version of the course map is also available online. Make sure to get one. They also have a practice basket with a large warm up area and it even has an "Around the World" game marked out with bricks. The hard working club is constantly improving the course, so I know they've made some upgrades even since I played there.
Cons: -Make sure to get a map because navigating the course can be difficult since there are so many holes. There are a few spots where you need to sort out which way to go among multiple options. There are even a few forlorn old concrete teepads that are no longer in use from the original design.
-It would be really helpful if they could mark what basket position each hole is in. It's available on the course discussion board, but one has to plan ahead to get on the internet and find the right forum post to get this information.
-(A tiny quibble) The map needs to be updated slightly. 17 holes have 3 basket positions, but only 8 holes show all 3 positions on the map.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of the 3rd nine hole loop a great course has been made even greater, and it's currently one of my Top 5 favorite courses (of ~220 played). I think this is World Class course, so make every effort to play it! It's well worth even making a long road trip to get to!

You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Left-Hander Batman!

9/22/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 390  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.5 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful wooded course with nice elevation changes and very clear OB ropes in sensible locations. A few holes were great for rollers.
Cons: Some of the tees still use the old brick/cement pads and some of the new tees have weird cement blocks with no mortar in between. I almost caught my foot one time. I'm sure these will be corrected to uniformity soon enough. The cedar trees are disc grabbing magnets but on the plus side there are LOTS of poles one those holes to pop your disc out. Better decide on 2 meter rule before you start your round. I'd like to see some more signage but I'm sure it's on its way.
Other Thoughts: I swear there must have been 18 holes favoring LHBH throwers. My group whined about it but I say this is justified equity for you lefties out there. We even saw two deer grazing off the fairway and really weren't afraid of our foursome. That was pretty cool.

More consitent tee pads, signs, and a water throw or two would get this course a perfet score.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Another Elite Maryland Course

2-4    6/4/2007   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and landscape, full range of challenges except true water hole.
Other Thoughts: Seneca Creek has long been considered one of the elite disc golf courses in the Mid-Atlantic region, and rightfully so. The landscape is just about perfect, with the course playing over a set of gradual hills rising from Seneca Creek. The course is well maintained, can play not too long from am tees to close pin placements to exceptionally long from pro tees to far pin placements (though not as long as Patapsco or Rockburn, I think). Within its 27 holes are many of the best pure woods holes I've ever played, but also a fair number of more open holes. And finally, you need the whole range of skills here - length, right and left hooks, a precise approach game, putting to tough placements, rollers, the whole bit.

While Seneca Creek now has more natural tee pads than concrete tee pads, I suspect that situation will be greatly improved the next time I play. And I suppose a nice lake or a towering view of the surrounding countryside would improve Seneca, but not much.

Like Patapsco, the other elite course in Maryland, the worst hole at Seneca Creek is still better than most of the disc golf holes I've played. Really, there are no bad holes here. The true woods holes are challenging but reasonable, with appropriate fairways. Outside of the woods, the holes still feature tree hazards, including a large number of disc-eating cedar trees. While the current configuration is lacking one hole that is a pure downhill chuck, the course does make good use of the elevation available. With pro and am teepads and two or three placement options for the basket on each hole, this course is as flexible as any I've played, going from somewhat long to really long depending on where you tee off and how the course is laid out.

Based on landscape, playability, and amenities, Seneca is definitely among the elite courses I've played; residents of the DC/Baltimore megaopolis sure have some truly distinctive disc golf course to choose from.

Favorite Hole - #14 - Hole runs parallel to Seneca Creek, with creek on left side, and steep, thickly wooded incline on right side. Just about the perfect forest hole.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.