Coconut Creek, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 413ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Tradewinds Course Was A Bit Too Open For My Tastes!

1    3/30/2019   4/15/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through this large park and the parts that border the lake are really spectacularly beautiful, especially on this sunny March day. There is a triple sided kiosk at the start complete with course map. The concrete pads are extra long and the tee signs are nice and heavy duty. Each hole has three pads labeled Pro (the Blues) Am (white) and the rec (Red) but the signs are only on the middle Whites. Some holes have both an "A" and a "B" position while others only have one position. It took me awhile to catch on but I can be pretty slow figuring these complex courses out. Nearby Markham Park DGC has the same system.

The baskets are the DGA models with the always hard for me to read red numbers. # 1 has an alternate basket that is a green Prodigy model. Pretty basket, but in this case, it kind of threw me for a loop. From the middle White tees the course played at decently difficult recreational course. There is some water to deal with but it's a very pretty blue water with condos on the far shore. On the Whites, the holes range from about 240' on up to the high 300's with only # 16 playing over 400'. IMO, the signature hole here is # 6. It's 316' and the basket sits on a peninsula sort of piece of land that juts out. It's beautiful and fairly nerve-rackingly, difficult, as well. No matter how many dictionaries you use, I doubt if you'll find Nerve-Rackingly. I think I must have invented it.
Cons: This was another one of these pancake flat, pretty as a picture, more open than not, having some or a lot of water, Florida courses I have played the last few days. Those fellows or gals with big arms will enjoy them more than I do. I tend to find too many open, flat holes a bit tedious.

The navigation here was a little confusing. I missed, I think, # 17.
Other Thoughts: Other than it's beauty, the course didn't wow me. However, I would probably be more than satisfied It this were my home course. The three tees and multiple basket positions would really help keep the interest level high and it would always be a treat to enjoy the pretty water with these views.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Local Course

2-4    9/22/2018   10/1/2018
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 38  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 11.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well constructed 18 hole course. Baskets in great shape. On most holes multiple tees and/or baskets. Very scenic. Located in a beautiful large park. Great signage! Easy to follow, even for first timers. Challenging thanks to a bit of water and some OB especially if windy! Concrete Tee Pads for all! The basket placement on some are great to make it more difficult and one has a man made elevation which was fun!
Cons: Pay to play. It costs 1.50 a person to get into the park. The park is popular and used by many non disc golfers, be patient with bikes and families. Open, not much shade or places to sit while playing. I did say it was first time friendly as a Pro, but it can get confusing at times and you can get lost around hole 8/9. Mostly wide open shots, could use a few more wooded shots for variety.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course when moving down to Florida from Virginia. I enjoyed the course from the first round. Fun and scenic. The park users are very nice to Disc Golfers and share the park with a smile.

Bathrooms readily available. Great park with many places for your family to stay and enjoy while you play a round.

The fun factor of this course made me rate it from a 3 to a 4 disc course. It can seem a bit monotonous as the majority of the shots are wide open, but after playing a few times the challenge really comes in with fine tuning the course. Two rounds here can really make for an enjoyable day out of disc golf. I prefer it to the two courses I've played in the West Palm Beach area. All have been fun, but Trade Winds has climbed to the top of my playlist. Only one really wooded corridor shot for this old Virginia DGer to enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Classic

5+    2/15/2017   2/19/2018
Review By: Mbaldwin601
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tradewinds is one of the oldest courses in Broward county. It hosts majors south Florida tournaments every year. Located in a very large multi use park, it has a variety of hole types and good lengths for pros and beginners. Concrete tee pads and Good signage. Makes for a fun day for all types of players, lost disc only really occur if thrown in water.
Cons: Multi use with lots of activity, wind can really pick up do to lots of lakes and open land.
Other Thoughts: A must play if visiting South Florida

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Come for the Disc Golf, Stay for the Butterflies

1    4/21/2017   4/24/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Poured-in tee pads on each hole, offering Rec/Am/Pro at each hole.
+Great signage indicating hole positioning, OBs, and distance to pin.
+Course takes the players through the south end of the park, which is very scenic and beautiful.
+Plenty of variety in holes (open, wooded, some elevated baskets, water, etc.).
+Benches at most of the holes to put your bag down when teeing off.
+Giant wooden sign that says "Disc Golf" with a course overview and some basic rules of the game behind it.
+Visitor center sells Innova discs and accessories.
Cons: -Recovering discs in the water on holes #4 and #5 can be tricky as there are a bunch of shoreline rocks and plant life to contend with.
-Most of the holes are placed by a busy walkway that a lot of park patrons use for running/walking. Players may need to wait a few minutes for these folks to clear out before teeing off.
-Some holes become unplayable (water-logged) for a bit after a storm passes through.
-Some holes have some trash in the playing area.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it is close by to where I live, it can be challenging, and is very inviting to newer players. Most of the people I've run into are very friendly. While this may not be a destination course like Snyder Park, it is definitely worth playing through regularly, especially during the week when it is less busy (park stays open until 7:30 PM EST).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Sunscreen and Stable Discs.

5+    12/1/2016   2/12/2017
Review By: Santiago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained park and course. Easy to get up and down on most holes. Great pro shop in park office.
Cons: A few holes have bad drainage so they can get swampy but the SUN takes care of that quickly. One poke and hope hole. WINNNDDDDD! lol
Other Thoughts: If your a beginner the wind can get frustrating out here as its a constant of the course. that being said its a good course for all levels of play. I prefer the more technical courses, but this course has many opportunities to frustrate you into improvement!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    1/2/2017   1/2/2017
Review By: LeftysLivesMatter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome course with red, white and blue teepads for all skill levels . Multiple pin positions. The park has really gotten behind the sport of disc golf and is constantly improving the course by adding trees and making larger tee pads. Mostly wide open but fun and challenging.
Cons: Water hazards , wind can really alter shots and get false reading from tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Lowell maintained beautiful park

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I Like It!

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 193  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 44.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course that caters to all skill levels. Nice use of available terrain and water features. Informative signage and decent tees. The course is pretty and has a couple of sweet signature holes. The course was very clean and is well maintained. Another solid Broward County course. Friendly local DGers.
Cons: Busy multi-use park with heavily used sidewalks and roads flirting with the course. It's worth dealing with for a course like this though and getting out there early helps minimize the conflicts.

Might want to bring some floaters if you like throwing your discs into water hazards.
Other Thoughts: I've played all of the listed public Broward County courses now and agree with my friend Reposado about their eerie similarities to each other. Which is mostly a good thing. It's good to see this area upping their game and providing a wealth of good courses for locals and out of town visitors.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Big beautiful park, course is located towards the back past Butterfly World.
- Lots of distance, with a few technical holes mixed-in.
- Good course for all skill levels.
- MachX amazing baskets!
- Good course map, signage, and tee pads.
- Baskets are located in intelligent places, utilizing all the natural foliage available.
- Big beautiful lake with a signature peninsula hole at #6!
- Course has changed a number of times showing commitment by park and local scene.
- Clean, well-maintained with restrooms and water fountains.
Cons: - Safety issues with people crossing on bike/running path which winds through a majority of the course.
- Not much technical challenge.
- Minimal elevation change (pretty common in FL).
- Park employees will prevent you from going into the water to retrieve your disc.
- I understand the addition of hole 9 in the middle of the woods but it has problems. If it rains the hole is unplayable to the point where you can't even walk down the fairway without getting soaked. Also, the entire left side of the hole is an extremely dense thicket. It can be very difficult to recover a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom Line: It is a beautiful course that is very well maintained. The palm trees and big gorgeous lake capture what DG in SOFLO is all about.

Also, there are soccer fields and lots of open space to get some field work in before or after your round. It costs $1.50 to get in the park but it is well worth it. You can also play Easterlin Park (15 minutes away) for a technical challenge and use your receipt to get in without paying another admission if you go the same day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid for All Levels

5+    7/7/2018   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 114  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 3 tees to almost every hole (some share a pad) and two baskets (Mach X on every hole, Prodigy T1 on many holes) allow for different play. Course meanders through the south end of a large, scenic county park with mostly open holes, a really tight hole, and some water challenges plus an OB road on a few other holes. Easy to navigate. The signage (on the course) is adequate, but you can see most of the baskets from the tee save hole 11. Easy to get to. Nominal county park fee charged on weekends and holidays, but no additional disc golf fee, and the park office sells plastic too, always a plus.
Cons: Off the fairways on a couple of holes can be really tough to find plastic (3, 8, and 9 come to mind). Please no swimming after your lost water throws. Course does get marshy in spots after downpours (especially 13). Please keep your eyes open for people walking on the paths or cars on the entrance road by 14-18.
Other Thoughts: The Broward Disc Golf Association has continually sought to improve the course, and have recently laid down a woodchip path from 8 to 9. It is very nice and dry. This course has improved a lot in the short time I have lived down here and is one of the better courses to play if you're visiting near Fort Lauderdale.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Open, and Sunny

5+    5/20/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with a great layout.

Easy to find the next tee/Accurate signage

Concrete Pads, both for Pro and Am tees. Jr. tees either on asphalt walking paths or concrete pads as well.

Water hazards on a few holes

Trash cans and benches at nearly all tee boxes.

Clean grounds, well maintained.

Bathrooms and water fountains well spaced out

Basket positions are moved periodically, (i.e A, B, C position)

New Mach 4 baskets.

Broward Disc Golf Association is very active and does great work maintaining and improving this and surrounding parks.

Friendly yet competitive players. Many league sanctioned events here throughout the week and just good, friendly folks who will be happy to give advice. Wait by the tables in the parking lot and introduce yourself and jump in.

Nice variety of par ranges, distances, and types of shots needed.

Cons: No elevation change. Still enough obstacles to make things interesting.

The lake gets very deep very quickly. No swimming allowed.

Its Florida... Its hot and sticky most of the time. You either love it or hate it.

Foot traffic/picnickers can cause an issue on a few holes. You may see people unaware of what a basket is for sitting in the shade right by one or parking bikes on a tee pad. Call four or cuatro

$1.50 to get in the park on a weekend or holiday. Save the receipt for that day and use it to get in to nearby Easterlin, Heritage, or Markham Park the same day.
Other Thoughts: Love this place, but its in Pompano Beach, not Ft. Liquordale. It was my home course for awhile. Miss it dearly. Nothing very special terrain wise here, but just an overall solid, challenging, but not over the top hard course. The layout and the people helped my game out so much. Shout out to the BDGA for doing great work!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.