Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Tradewinds Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 453ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Come for the Disc Golf, Stay for the Butterflies

1    4/21/2017   4/24/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Poured-in tee pads on each hole, offering Rec/Am/Pro at each hole.
+Great signage indicating hole positioning, OBs, and distance to pin.
+Course takes the players through the south end of the park, which is very scenic and beautiful.
+Plenty of variety in holes (open, wooded, some elevated baskets, water, etc.).
+Benches at most of the holes to put your bag down when teeing off.
+Giant wooden sign that says "Disc Golf" with a course overview and some basic rules of the game behind it.
+Visitor center sells Innova discs and accessories.
Cons: -Recovering discs in the water on holes #4 and #5 can be tricky as there are a bunch of shoreline rocks and plant life to contend with.
-Most of the holes are placed by a busy walkway that a lot of park patrons use for running/walking. Players may need to wait a few minutes for these folks to clear out before teeing off.
-Some holes become unplayable (water-logged) for a bit after a storm passes through.
-Some holes have some trash in the playing area.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it is close by to where I live, it can be challenging, and is very inviting to newer players. Most of the people I've run into are very friendly. While this may not be a destination course like Snyder Park, it is definitely worth playing through regularly, especially during the week when it is less busy (park stays open until 7:30 PM EST).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring Sunscreen and Stable Discs.

5+    12/1/2016   2/12/2017
Review By: Santiago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained park and course. Easy to get up and down on most holes. Great pro shop in park office.
Cons: A few holes have bad drainage so they can get swampy but the SUN takes care of that quickly. One poke and hope hole. WINNNDDDDD! lol
Other Thoughts: If your a beginner the wind can get frustrating out here as its a constant of the course. that being said its a good course for all levels of play. I prefer the more technical courses, but this course has many opportunities to frustrate you into improvement!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Like It!

1    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 127  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 41.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2017
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course that caters to all skill levels. Nice use of available terrain and water features. Informative signage and decent tees. The course is pretty and has a couple of sweet signature holes. The course was very clean and is well maintained. Another solid Broward County course. Friendly local DGers.
Cons: Busy multi-use park with heavily used sidewalks and roads flirting with the course. It's worth dealing with for a course like this though and getting out there early helps minimize the conflicts.

Might want to bring some floaters if you like throwing your discs into water hazards.
Other Thoughts: I've played all of the listed Broward County courses now and agree with my friend Reposado about their eerie similarities to each other. Which is mostly a good thing. It's good to see this area upping their game and providing a wealth of good courses for locals and out of town visitors.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Big beautiful park, course is located towards the back past Butterfly World.
- Lots of distance, with a few technical holes mixed-in.
- Good course for all skill levels.
- MachX amazing baskets!
- Good course map, signage, and tee pads.
- Baskets are located in intelligent places, utilizing all the natural foliage available.
- Big beautiful lake with a signature peninsula hole at #6!
- Course has changed a number of times showing commitment by park and local scene.
- Clean, well-maintained with restrooms and water fountains.
Cons: - Safety issues with people crossing on bike/running path which winds through a majority of the course.
- Not much technical challenge.
- Minimal elevation change (pretty common in FL).
- Park employees will prevent you from going into the water to retrieve your disc.
- I understand the addition of hole 9 in the middle of the woods but it has problems. If it rains the hole is unplayable to the point where you can't even walk down the fairway without getting soaked. Also, the entire left side of the hole is an extremely dense thicket. It can be very difficult to recover a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom Line: It is a beautiful course that is very well maintained. The palm trees and big gorgeous lake capture what DG in SOFLO is all about.

Also, there are soccer fields and lots of open space to get some field work in before or after your round. It costs $1.50 to get in the park but it is well worth it. You can also play Easterlin Park (15 minutes away) for a technical challenge and use your receipt to get in without paying another admission if you go the same day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Much Needed Improvements

1    5/13/2016   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 95  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with mutliple tees (concrete or asphalt walkway) and rotating pin positions. Signage is accurate and in good shape. Mach X baskets are also in good shape. Course is mostly open with scattered trees, but a few holes are tight, some greens and approaches are tight, and there are a few water holes to contend with. Nice elevated basket on 10 to break up what is a typical, flat south Florida course. Not far from 95 or the Turnpike. Nominal fee to enter the county park on weekends or holidays (totally worth it). OB on almost every hole.
Cons: Off the fairways on a couple of holes can be really tough to find plastic (3, 8, and 9 come to mind). Please no swimming after your lost water throws. Course does get marshy in spots after downpours (especially 13). Please keep your eyes open for people walking on the paths or cars on the entrance road by 14-18.
Other Thoughts: The Broward Disc Golf Association has continually sought to improve the course, and have recently laid down a woodchip path from 8 to 9. It is very nice and dry. This course has improved a lot in the short time I have lived down here and is one of the better courses to play if you're visiting near Fort Lauderdale.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great park for disc

5+    8/30/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: tito970
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great coarse been playing here alot for the past 10 months.Good for begginers and for more adavnced players to work on different throws.
Cons: Watch out for ant hills. Pay to play on weekends only a buck fifty tho per person not to bad.
Other Thoughts: Park is really swampy right now still very playable had to skip holes 10 and 14.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun well balanced course

1    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: pa000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained and has a good variety of holes for beginners. Although friendly to beginners many holes are good distance and could tell that even advanced players were challenged on many holes. The main office at the entrance has a free map of the course to help orient players. Some walking/jogging trails overlap with course but not really a problem, just need to play responsibly.
Cons: Some holes get waterlogged after rain and mosquitoes are vicious at a few holes so might want to bring repellent.
Other Thoughts: Very happy I chose this as my first course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An Icon of South Florida

5+    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Metal signs mark Amateur tees. Concrete pads. Mix of open shots and some with woods and obstacles.
Cons: No marks for Pro pads. (Not all pins even have them). Easy to lose discs in lake or woods. Mostly open area gets overly hot, rain drains slowly leaving puddles.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging., Pins move every month to long and short positions. Bring discs you don't mind losing for first few times playing.Typical Florida weather- prepare accordingly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    1/21/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice easy to navigate course. Nice 18 hole set up. Through a nice park that i found to not be verry crowded.
Cons: Flat as most courses in florida are. Not bad always room for improvment but a fun place to play.
Other Thoughts: The watter makes me nervious on 7 as i am a starving college student and don't wan't to loose me discs. I had a good time though and will be going agian soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun for everyone...

5+    11/28/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of opportunity to air it out along with several holes that require more finesse. Well kept course with good tee visibility and labeling.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to find unless you've played the course before, with a couple tucked into wooded alcoves.
The water can get in the way of your discs at times...so throw wisely.
Course is pay to play, since you have to pay to get into the park, but it is pretty cheap.
Other Thoughts: I have a personal vendetta against the lake at Tradewinds park, as I'm certain I've managed to individually raise the water level with my disc contributions there.
Other than that, I don't have anything to complain about. The area is great, the park is nice, and the course allows me to spray and pray my drives without remorse on most holes. If you're at all familiar with South Florida, you'll know that it's bound to be hot and potentially buggy, but that's just what So Fla is...

I'd recommend this disc golf course to anyone in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.