Bowling Green, OH 
Carter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Tragic example of what NOT to do to a course

5+    9/30/2005   9/30/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated after playing for the first time in 8 years 11/22/12
I'm leaving my original review as a tribute to a course that used to be very good and is now very average.


(No longer true)Mix of open and wooded holes.

(No longer true)Forces you to try different shots.

Perfect course for beginners,(<--True, now false-->) but challenging enough to keep long time players interested.

Well maintained park and short rough make it virtually impossible to lose a disc, which is a good thing, since...
Cons: ...Nearby college ensures the course is almost always packed. Fortunately, pace of play is good, and people are considerate about letting faster groups by.

Adding a few selectively placed trees would make the opening few holes more interesting.

(Update:) Massive removal of trees makes this course too easy and has highlighted how close some tees are to other baskets.
Other Thoughts: (update:) Carter Park has been scalped! The signature, formerly extremely difficult holes 6 and 7 have lost over 20 large trees and are now virtually wide open holes. Other holes in this area have been thinned out significantly as well meaning that it's no longer safe to have certain tees in their current positions, as the open conditions encourage shots OVER those tees! Some moron didn't think before they busted out their chainsaw! In addition to the massive overthinning of the orchard area they have also removed a humongous oak tree that used to guard the basket on hole 12 leaving this as an overly easy straight shot, and they've also removed a huge patch of scrub bushes and trees that guarded the 16th pin. Overall this is now a boring course that will only interest beginners. Don't waste your time.


This is where I learned to play, and I used to shoot par or better using nothing but a Champion Eagle, so it's more than accessible for beginners. Given the proximity of BGSU, this is perfect, as it brings lots of people to our sport. However, as you add discs to your bag, this course becomes much more playable. Its a course that allows new players to enjoy the game, and then teaches them to evolve their game.

Some people want to nitpick the fact that the course is mostly open. They are obviously NOT locals, as when the infamous Blowing Green winds kick up, this course plays entirely differently than it does on a calm day, and par becomes an accomplishment instead of an expectation.

Now that I'm back to playing after an 8 year layoff, I can't wait to play Carter next time I visit BG.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of BG

5+    8/4/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: jasonorzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads with exceptional tee signs numbering each hole and providing the hole par, distance, and a somewhat detailed map of the hole (some maps better than others)
Cons: BG is known for its windy weather and that can be a burden while playing sometimes, but hey weather adds an obstacle to the game and gives it a fun twist which can be different every time you play
Other Thoughts: the last time i played the basket from hole 16 was missing, not sure if it was stolen or removed for maintenance, anyways, after a few times playing towards where the basket should be we changed to playing it as if the practice basket was the target and treating it as a par 5

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/2/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: thewishman
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean
Tee pads are easy to find with raised hole maps
Well mowed
Long and short holes
Cons: Completely flat
Minimal use of trees as obstacles
Basket on 16 is missing
Other Thoughts: Was hoping for more of a challenge with an almost 3.5 rating. First thought to rate course at 3 for the clean, well maintained park, but decided on 2.5 for the easiness of the course. The middle holes make use of trees, but the other holes, not so much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/18/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: -Since it is in a city park it is well maintained.
-Decent mix of holes; long, short, open, and some lightly wooded.
-Good use of space.
Cons: -Baskets are not clearly marked and some holes can get confusing the first time playing.
-Can easily get crowded with the nearby university.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but is far from being a great course. It's a fun park course to throw around in, but it lacks overall challenge and I found myself easily scoring birdies and eagles. However, for being a park course in a very flat part of Ohio, it is a well designed and maintained course. Definitely worth playing if you're passing through Bowling Green, but probably not worth going out of your way to play.

 Carter Park

1    6/23/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not a challenging course
-Nice baskets
-Concrete tee pads
-Maintained very well
-Nice signs at the tee off spot
-Mostly medium to short holes, but some distance throws
-Fast pased course
Cons: -I think it was difficult to navigate for the first time playing there
-Holes run up and down near each other so fairways are close
-LOTS of traffic on the road that runs through the course
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a nice course, but being my first time there, i had trouble throwing at the wrong basket. The first hole has basket 14 just to the right of the fairway so i started off throwing at the wrong hole. I would say that the course is not that challenging and if there wasn't any wind i would have had a lot better score than throwing even. There are a lot of technical holes where the trees play a big factor in your throw. I used my tomahawk throw more than anything. This is a nice course, but I won't go out of my way to play this course again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Round

1    7/16/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A mix between wide open shots and some lightly wooded holes.
- Good for beginners, not extremely challenging, yet has a few holes that will challenge any players.
- Good signs and easy to navigate
- Fun, quick round if your looking to squeez in a few rounds.
Cons: - Some of the holes are pretty boring and including the first 3-4.
- Until you get in the trees not much to challenge besides distance and maybe wind.
- Trees can be dangerous with thorns.
- Can get busy, but most of the people were friendly.
Other Thoughts: I had a fun time playing a different course in NW Ohio. Glad I played it, but most likely will not go out of my way to play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 College Course

5+    8/20/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: Petercules
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open course that is well kept.
Balance of long and short holes.
Long cement tee pads.
Cons: This late in the year the apples are on the ground rotting. Another tree related note is many of the trees have thorns
The back nine baskets are extremely guarded by trees. Not that I am one to ace allot of holes but these trees make it impossible regardless.
Other Thoughts: Gets allot of traffic during the school year.
Best to play this course in the morning both to avoid the crowd and to avoid the winds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If you like it wide open

2-4    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide concrete pads
Well maintained,Very well mapped
pin placement really saved this course in my opinion.
Cons: most flyways are wide open without many tight shots.
holes are piled on top of other tee pads causing for even more delays. As the course is mostly in the wide open, hot days can make the course uncomfortable to play more than one round. The low growing apple trees and thorns can make retrieving a stray throw somewhat painful and annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to get out and let it RIP!! Scores can be kept low with a good drive. I found this course to be good for trying out a new driver or specialty disc, as in loosing one out here on a bad throw is literally impossible!!!! Enjoyed the course and is worth returning to if I happen to be in the area.!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not to shabby

2-4    8/9/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: SuperG7
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.1 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Good signs
Open shots
Maintained very well
Good variety of shots to left and right
Cons: No pro tee pads
No really tight shots
No real long bomber holes

Other Thoughts: Play this course when going to visit friends at Bowling Green and was surprised to find a nice course close by. This course is a beginner course for sure with some really short shots but fun to play regardless.

Cops do patrol every once in a while but not that often

 

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice, and clean park. This course had some real unique hole markers, with really nice signs on them. Each sign had hole#, par, distance, and hole layout on them. Nice concrete pads with plenty of room, footing was never a question. For the most part this course wasn't very difficult to find your way through.
Cons: I didn't see any trash cans or benches on the course, although there were plenty of picnic tables and trash cans throughout other areas of the park. This course could have benefited from having a few "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is mostly wide open. There were some holes with bunches of trees in the fairway, holes 6 & 7 were probably the most difficult of these with pretty much no lane to throw in unless you break out the tomahawk or extreme hyzers. A lot of the holes were tucked behind trees or by trees making the wide open holes a little more difficult. Hole 16 is tucked in between two big bushes, making it a blind shot until you get in the fairway a little closer to the basket. All in all was a really fun course and definitely worth playing if you have the chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.