Bowling Green, OH 
Carter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 i love this course

5+    7/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: mostly open and long holes. this course is great for learning to rip some long drives but has several shorter more technical holes that play threw short groves of trees to add variety.
Cons: this course is near a state university and is often packed with college kids. also, some of the trees here have massive thorns on them so dont get a disc stuck in the tree
Other Thoughts: due to some of the distances on this course i wouldnt recommend it to a brand new player. but for anyone looking for a course to learn to throw farther, this course will make you go for it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice to practice

5+    6/27/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
Pros: There aren't that many people here which makes for a nice easy walk. If you like easy this is the course to go to. There are a lot of wide open holes and then the course goes back into some small apple trees, but nothing to worry about if you slow your throw down and concentrate.
Cement pads and nice baskets.
Cons: Not to demanding. There are really no elevation changes..maybe one now that I think of it.
For a beginner it is hard to navigate. Wind is also a big issue. It is very windy in this part of town which can lead to some difficult throws. Atleast it has been windy everytime I have been there(10+)
There are a few holes by the road which can be bad, but if you just wait for the few cars that go by you should be ok
Would have loved a few more challenges, but no big deal

Other Thoughts: This course is clearly a park first, disc golf park second.
A few holes are by apartment buildings..just watch your throws
overall a good local park that wasn't far from my house.
If I lived in the area I would want more courses, because I would not want this one as my "home" course

 Not Visitor Friendly

1    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well manicured course in a scenic park setting. It is very family friendly with playgrounds and shelters nearby.

From a disc golf standpoint, the course is longer than it seems with few holes under 250 feet. Many of the shots are challenging and variously require hyzer shots, anhyzer shots, and overhand shots.

The course has quality, DGA baskets (although some are starting to show their age), adequate signs, and good-sized tee pads.

Perhaps the nicest thing about this course is that there is practically no schule to throw in. It would be hard to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: The course has a number of design issues as well as not being the easiest course to navigate if you have never played it and lack a map (there was no course map posted or available when we played).

First, hole number one, while being "near the water tower," is actually the 4th closest hole to the water tower. In fact, you have to walk past the practice basket and hole 18's basket to get to the first tee, and there is no sign letting you know where it is. The only reason we found it was that a local happened to arrive right before we did.

After hole 2, we walked over to the next tee pad which was hole 12?!? We finally found a very narrow path through a hedge row that took us across a road to another part of the park where we found hole 3. A similar situation occurs after hole 5 (this time without the hedge row) and after hole 11. In none of these cases was there any signage directing players where to go.

There is a flow issue with hole 17 as you have to backtrack across 18's tee pad and across a road to get to it. I actually saw a local just skip this hole altogether and go straight from 16 to 18.

More serious, however, especially for tournament play, is the fact that many of the fairways interfere with each other. Even mildly errant shots end up right in the line of fire of another hole. The most serious (and, frankly, dangerous) of these is on hole 9. When standing on the tee pad for 9, one is only about 30 feet away from hole 6's tee pad and directly in the flight path of a hyzer shot or grip lock. I for one would not stand on this pad while people were throwing off of 6, nor would I throw off of 6 with people on 9.

Similarly, if one has the arm, a couple of holes could result in discs dangerously overthrown into shelters.

Another potentially dangerous condition on the course is a 4-inch metal(?) bar that is flush with the ground at the end of each tee pad. This metal bar is very slippery, even when completely dry, and has twisted ankle (or worse) written all over it on any throw that carries the thrower beyond the end of the tee pad.

Another downside of the course is that many of the tee pads do not actually point at their baskets. Combined with the less-than-detailed signs and multiple baskets being in view, at times it was difficult to tell which basket was that hole's actual target. (I guessed completely wrong on hole 7.)

The course lacks any elevation change or water hazards, and some of the "fairways" would require either a very lucky shot between extremely tight trees (5 foot wide gaps) or a shot over the top. In other words, no obvious "fairway" could be seen (e.g., hole 6).
Other Thoughts: Many of the cons I listed are only cons the first time you play. After that, and for locals, I am sure it is a good course. There are some injury concerns, but for casual play, they don't really come into play.

The course is in a great location for travelers on I-75 as it is easy to find and only a couple minutes off the freeway. Plus, since it is relatively easy with few lost disc opportunities, it plays very fast.

I liked the course, but I also recognize that it has some serious design issues and poor directional signage. With that said, I would go back and play it again, and I would also recommend it to fellow travelers as worth the stop off of the freeway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course For Bombs

5+    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is extremely well maintained and easy to follow. A decent variety of long and short holes with several going through a tight apple orchard.
Cons: Can be very windy at times. If a disc get caught in an apple tree watch out for the thorns (using fallen apples is a good idea to get them down)! Most holes are open which doesn't offer much challenge. Can be busy at times.
Other Thoughts: A fun and easy course if you can throw 300 plus. Can easily rack up some great scores. A good variety of holes none the less. I recommend this course for beginning players because of its openness and high par.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/22/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean and fun. Open holes test distance, while the apple grove test accuracy as well as patience.
Cons: Some of the biggest thorns in history on most trees in the apple orchard.
Other Thoughts: Use apples to retreive treed discs when available. This is my home course, if I catch you littering... you too will have only one ball.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Time

2-4    9/16/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm a new player over 50, This is a nice flat course. Open enough for the beginners but enough trees for the experienced. Course gets alot of play but is well maintained. Loved playing this course with my grown kids. I'LL BE BACK

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: Jgolferboy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement pads with good hole diagrams. Great mix of short, long, open and tight holes.
Cons: Discs can easily get stuck in trees. Can get busy with players and other park goers at times.
Other Thoughts: Mostly flat, and windy at times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Soild Desgin, a little bit of everything

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: ptsawyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open holes and wooded holes in the apple orchard. Great place to play, park is well maintained and mowed. Virtually no chance of losing your discs here.
Cons: More open holes than some people would like (4), but newly planted trees will change that in a few years.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Im a little biased, as I lived in Bowling Green, OH for a few years and played here almost every day.

I really enjoy this course layout. The first 3 holes are wide open, then 4-7 gradually get more heavily obstructed. 7-10 are the most tight and technical holes. Great course for beginniers and experienced players alike.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.