Milwaukee, WI 
Dineen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Milwaukee's Forgotten Course

5+    7/13/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: Kegelexercise
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basics: New, updated signage, concrete teepads on every hole, and decent baskets that do their job. Multiple pin locations on most holes. Rolling hills throughout the course give you some decent elevation changes.

Couple of memorable holes - #12 is a long fairway with danger on both sides (a creek on one side and a lot of trees on the other), and two fun pin locations - one is right next to the creek bank, and one is tucked behind a small grove of pines. #17 is a picturesque run under a mature tree canopy.

Suitably beginner friendly - the average length of a hole here isn't particularly short, but most holes are pretty forgiving on off-target tee shots. Disc golf traffic is also pretty low here on average, so if you want to empty your bag and treat some of these longer holes as a driving range, this is a good place to do it.

Bonus: Only Milwaukee County Parks course that stays open year round. Early spring rolls around, and you can still shoot here!
Cons: Not much variety: There are some cool holes here that take advantage of terrain features such as #4, #12, #17 and are interesting, but much of the rest of the course is WIDE open. Multiple holes here are located in wide open fields with zero obstacles.

Make sure to memorize the map or have it on your phone, because there are a handful of really wonky transitions. #7 -> #8 is a lengthy backtrack that can put you in the line of fire from an errant shot from #2's tee, #12 -> #13 is a hike across the creek and past a bunch of other park uses, and #17 -> #18 forces you either to jump across the creek, or wander over to a road so you can cross said creek.

Though often pretty light on the disc golf traffic, this park hosts MANY other uses - for example: baseball, walking trails, playgrounds, and is a popular picnic spot, so be cognizant of other park users.

Neighborhood - this has been talked about, but Dineen Park is simply not in the best of neighborhoods. Speaking as a former resident of this part of town, it's not so bad that you should be fearful of your safety, but an earlier reviewer's "not necessarily gunshot ghetto, but car theft ghetto" is pretty apt. I wouldn't leave anything valuable in your car, leave it unlocked, or be around after dark here.
Other Thoughts: Dineen, like other Milwaukee County Parks courses, is pay to play. By itself, this course probably isn't worth the $5 entry fee, but the fee does give you the right to play any other county parks course that day, so if you combine it with a spin at one or more of the other courses, or if you have the annual county parks pass ($40), the P2P thing shouldn't be a dealbreaker.

Overall, this is a perfectly cromulent disc golf course, and it's really nice that Dineen offers a place to shoot in early spring when most other area course baskets have been pulled from the ground, but it's nothing to go out of your way for. Other nearby courses are simply better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not great...But not as bad as you think

2-4    7/15/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: primedisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Newer concrete teepads on all holes and new signage at each teepad

- Multiple pin locations

- Long. Plenty of opportunities to air it out here. Lots of 300'+ and even one 500'+ on hole 12 (Udisc says 470' but the sign at the teepad says >500'). In fact, the are no holes shorter than 200' and only a few shorter than 250'.

- Rarely crowded. Quite possibly the biggest pro for this course. I played on a sunny summer Saturday afternoon and didn't see a single other disc golfer on the course. Great place to throw a couple discs and get great practice in. Can really take your time here.

- Good course for beginners/intermediate or testing out new discs, as most holes are pretty forgiving despite the length.

- Great place for safari golf
Cons: - Open. Most of this course is wide open and can get kind of boring. Can be done almost exclusively RHBH. Very few holes require you to shape a line. No holes that could be described as technical. There is some attempt to make use of structure (hole 6 and 12 play alongside a creek to the left and hole 12 even has a mini-deathputt setup where the basket is a few feet from a steep bank leading into the creek), but there are a lot of holes that are just wide open shots.

- Signage still inadequate. The tee signs are new and nice, but are too basic sometimes to offer much help. Don't show trees or obstacles. Really needs signs to next teepad. I had to consult Udisc for the course map several times or I would've been lost. There are a few places (hole 7 to 8 for example) where you need to double back or walk aways to the next teepad and it is not apparent at all how to get there.

- Some areas prone to flooding. Fairways kind of long in some areas.

- Park is multi use. For the first 12 this doesn't come into play at all, as the disc golf course starts out in an area away from the rest of the park. However, for the last 6 there is some overlap with other park users. They have put up signs that say No picknicking on disc golf course, but I still had an issue with people in the fairway on one hole (15).

- Pay to play, and when I went to pay there were no envelopes (which are supposed to serve as your receipt).

- Wind can be a factor
Other Thoughts: This course get a bad rap. The neighborhood is probably not a place I would go without a reason to, but the idea that you have a 'good chance to get shot or stabbed' is ignorance bordering on racism, and ridiculous. No one cares that much about disc golfers. The bigger issue is that on nice days, there are generally a lot of FAMILIES that use this park and since this course isn't played much, they can spill over onto the fairways of a few holes. It's also a shame that this is P2P, as it doesn't measure up to other courses in the area, though at least they've put money back into the course in the past few years in the form of new signs and concrete teepads.

That all being said, this course does have some positives. I like going here when I want to avoid crowds, take my time, try new discs and throw a couple. Seriously, you'll likely have the whole 18 to yourself. It's a great place to practice drives as the holes are long but forgiving. It's the closest park to where I live and I like the convenience. Would I go out of the way to play here? No. But I will be back when I want to play a casual round without fighting the crowds at the more popular courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Open and wonky.

1    10/22/2015   11/22/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in the heart of not-so-nice Milwaukee.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. Many holes have multiple pin positions.

Concrete tee pads, all in good repair. Grippy, and plenty of size. One tee per hole.

There's some nice variety in distances here, and plenty of opportunities to air it out. Some rolling hills help to keep things a bit interesting.

Nice signage, with the same sign layout as other Milwaukee P2P courses.

Some nice mature trees in some spots, that help to at least make things kind of interesting. The course is well manicured, as well.
Cons: Boring. Open. These are two words most people might use to describe this course. Most holes are just open shots, where wind will probably be your worst enemy if it's blowing. There's just not much to work with here, unfortunately.

Navigation here is bad, but you'll have that when you've basically got tees and baskets in a large field. There's no real flow here, so you can spend just as much time trying to figure out where to go as you will throwing.

P2P. $5/day. Seriously, this is a bad place to have to throw cash at. The ONLY saving grace is that the daily pass is also good at other Milwaukee courses, namely Brown Deer and Dretzka.

This course is in a very sketchy part of town. I pulled into the parking lot around 7am, and there was already a sketchy car just sitting and idling in the parking lot (full of guys that were NOT disc golfers). I knew the neighborhood, and it caused me to not play this course for a long time.
Other Thoughts: This is a very average course, with below average navigation, and a solid chance of getting you shot or stabbed. On top of all that, the golf is quite boring, save for a few holes.

I don't say this about many courses, but this is honestly a place I'd advise people NOT go to. There's too many good options in the Milwaukee area to deal with this place. Save yourself $5 and a possible trip to the emergency room and play somewhere else.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gets a bad rap

5+    10/14/2015   10/30/2015
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 77  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Long distance shots
-Rolling hills
-Beautiful park
-Challenging
-Metro area
-Safari golf heaven
-Tee pads, baskets and sings in good shape
-Low traffic course so there's never a rush
-Well maintained, trimmed grass cut branches
-open all year
Cons: -GOOSE CRAP!!! and lots of it by the pond
-sketchy neighborhood compared to other DG parks
-sometimes other park users are oblivious to DG
-the WIND. not totally a con but it can be a completely windless day and you get to Dineen and its windy. its a giant wind tunnel.
-watch out for golf balls!
-garbage but since P2P it has gotten a lot better and there are DG groups that come out and clean up sometimes too.
-NOT A NIGHT GOLF COURSE!!!. in fact i suggest you finish your round before dark, not trying to scare anyone but lets be real.
Other Thoughts: this course has been upgraded slightly by the new P2P this year just in that it seems like its cleaner and generally better maintained than previously. This course is 5 mins from my house and i play it a lot but i got fed up with all the nasty garbage last year and vowed that i was done playing dineen cause it was just gross but i've since been back this year and it is way cleaner.
i thought someone needed to do a new review of this park because all the reviews are negative and things have changed for the better at dineen. It has it's advantages, you can really work on your craft there because its always deserted and you can shoot lots of discs. of course it doesnt compare to dretzka or brown deer but it has it's positives. This course needs to be redesigned like what they did to Root river this last year. that course was almost as bland as Dineen and now i find root river to be a blast to play.

it's WAY better than before.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just needs work

2-4    6/14/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: tkatzer52
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the course and its holes are well designed. nice wide open holes with some distance to them!
Cons: lets just say carry a knife on you. its pretty ghetto but to be real what part of milwaukee isnt! there is alot of trash that needs picking up and there are no tee signs so fidnig where to go can be a pain!
Other Thoughts: never not play a course because of its rating because truth be told my home courses rating is 1 and i love it always try before you buy

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Worst ive been to

2-4    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: A Spartan Ghost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide fairways with a few tree obstacles. Distances are around 300 ft on average.
Cons: First off, the course is in a slightly ghetto area. Not "gun shots ghetto" but possible "car theft ghetto" so lock your doors.
Then after walking away from your car head east because I think hole 1 is that way.
-Most concrete slabs are not labeled so good luck figuring out where to go or what hole you are on.

The first time my dad and I played we did 9-18 (we think) and today we played 1-8 (out of order).

-Trash everywhere (including glass bottles, other trash, and poop)
Other Thoughts: Course needs maintenance.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 28.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open Shots for mid-range distance practice.
Some low hanging trees offer low accuracy control shots. Very clean hope it continues to stay that way.
Cons: Not enough course guidance as far as Maps,either online or on site. For mid range and putt practice shots for med to long arms.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner to mid level course it can be a lot of fun. I can see were the PDGA can hold events here with manipulating the field of play. I recommend previewing holes 8-12 for more accuracy, they are mislabeled on the online map. My Opinion,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dineen Disc golf course

5+    4/22/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: Sendelbach17
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Few Trees for beginners
-Water shouldn't really come in to play
-Most holes are aceable if you're in the 300-350' range
-Open year round
-Very Rarely Crowded
Cons: -Walking paths through the course
-Almost no signs
-Somewhat challenging to follow for the first time
-Few obstacles to make it challenging for more advanced players

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long

5+    3/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of distance.
You'll need to bring a ton of drivers as the course demands that you shape your shots. No two drives are the same, each drive requires a different amount of hyzer/anny to set yourself up for a good 2nd shot. For this reason I really like the course.
Cons: Multi-use park, and often times the disc golf portion doesn't get respected. However, this issue is getting better as they posted a sign that reads "no picnicking on the disc golf course"
Sketch neighborhood.
Mostly open with few obstacles, but they use what they have well.
Strange and confusing layout at some points.
Other Thoughts: To the person that complained about not using the ponds or other features - The park is a multi-use park and people fish in that pond. Throwing over the pond would be unsafe for people fishing, as well as people on the walking path and playing baseball.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course but, not the total package

5+    6/4/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Trogladisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: The course is a fun course to play and can definitely be challenging. First Two holes offer a nice mix of good distance and accuracy. It offers several cool hole/pin placements with some long shots and some a bit of elevation change. Usually pretty empty, your group/yourself can take your time and play a good doubles round or really work on getting some distance/accuracy on some long shots.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. The holes that offer length are pretty wide open. With the exception of a few that have some well placed trees to offer a some creativity to some shots. The area the course is located in is not necessarily the best part of town but, if you go during the day while the sun is still up I don't see any issues what so ever. The course can pretty difficult to navigate if you have never been there before. There aren't any signs directing you where to go for the next tee locations and there is a bit of back tracking.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a course that is a lot of fun to play and I personally feel is a great course to play a doubles round with a group off friends where you don't have to worry about slowing other groups up or rushing your shots. This course deserves better than a 2.5 discs, a very underrated course. Could definitely be brought up to date and bring in some more people with some new pin placements and some signage to direct the flow of players to the appropriate tee pads. If you are in the area and don't want to worry about a crowd I would definitely recommend this course.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.