Gresham, OR 
Vance Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #5
3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Quick and convenient

1    6/29/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: JKeyser
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right in town, I was able to hit it on a lunch break.
Grass is mowed often.
Little chance of loosing a disc. "Except from bums, See below"
Cons: Homeless people camping near/in the park hang around and ask for anything they think you may have. I had to yell at a guy who picked up my disc and started to wonder off. "I did get it back"
Other Thoughts: If I was unfortunate enough to live near this park, I would be very happy that there was course near me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Took a friend for his first time out

2-4    7/5/2019   7/9/2019
Review By: Liv2xplore
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed park. Great place for beginners to go or to get a quick round in on the way home from work. I took my friend here for his first time out ever and it was a fun experience. We brought his 5 year old daughter and it was short enough she didn't burn out. Nice concrete tee pads and good baskets. Well laid out and easy to navigate.
Cons: There are no distance markers here but it's a short par 3 course so it isn't much of an issue. If I only had this park to play I'd get bored and probably quit. Even the holes with lots of trees is pretty open. But I cut my teeth on very technical courses comparatively with Gaffney's Grove and White River. Being Portland you will see homeless people wandering the park or camping out behind hole 8's tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I'll probably go there again when I'm visiting down there but I know Portland has many better courses to challenge beginners. I wouldn't travel anything over 30 minutes to play there. One nice thing was that the park is so well groomed it was easy for my wife to get around with her power wheelchair.

Parking is on the street, we drove around looking for a parking lot for a bit. Another option is parking in the church parking lot by the park. There's a sign that says Church Parking only but nobody bothered us about it. I wouldn't use it on Sunday for obvious reasons.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/29/2019   5/29/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 141  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets
Navigation is fairly simple.
The park itself looked nice and upkept.
There's a couple fun throws that test your accuracy
Chance at an ace
Cons: You have to walk around the fence to get to hole 1 from parking lot, or to the right side the fence is cut out and you can actually get to the tee pad thank you to that local for showing me
The people kind of looked a little sketchy that we're using the park
All the holes our short except for hole 6 and hole 9.
The park gets very busy with disc golfers and non disc golfers
Hole 4 and hole ones fairways play close together
No distances on the tee pads or tee signs
Other Thoughts: This is a little park with a decent short 9 hole put in. When paired with Rockwood it makes for a good 18 ace race day. Not worth driving out of way but good place to bring a begginer and build confidence

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix of short, wooded and slightly longer open shots

2-4    12/11/2016   12/12/2016
Review By: handwasher
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of trees to challenge approaches and putts.
Solid, readable numbers on each tee pad.
Good for a quick nine, and close to another course. (Rockwood Central)
Cons: You're going to smell some weed here in all likelihood.
It's mostly quite short, so not much opportunity to bust out a long drive.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great little course throughout a small park, good for practicing mid-ranges, plays throughout massive Douglas Firs
-Wonderful beginner course
-A walking path runs through the course, but doesn't appear too heavily used
-Makes great use of the small park without seeming too crowded
-Plenty of trash cans, and a restroom is by the first tee
-Hole 6 provided a nice change of pace being nice and open
-Demanded both hyzer and an-hyzer shots. Many holes had multiple lines
Cons: -A few holes (1, 5, 9) present the opportunity to through out-of-bounds. Very tall barbed-wire fences mark the boundaries, so if you throw one over, say goodbye to your disc
-No real driver opportunities, but in a park this size, that's ok
-You have to park in what looks like a church parking lot. It's easy to miss if you're going too fast along 182nd
-Only one tee and one pin location. It would get old after a while
Other Thoughts: -Overall a fun little course
-If you're in the area play this course twice and skip Rockwood Park, which is just a few blocks away. Rockwood is even shorter and in a multi-use crowded park.
-I came to play here and Rockwood. I was pleasantly surprised here, but Rockwood was a piece of sh*t and I don't think it's really worth my time to come all the way out here just for 9 holes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/22/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: Paragon29er
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great short course
At times, great for kids to play without getting frustrated by long difficult courses
Best times are early morning see below for explanation
Cons: Potheads, for the love of Pete smoke at home. Took my son there after school and there were three huge bongs on the picnic bench, about twenty people surrounding them, all baked. A few guys on the course so high they could barely function.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Neighborhood 9 hole

2-4    3/23/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 77  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's not at all a bad little 9. The park isn't pristine but reasonably well maintained.

The pads are pretty good and longish though a big narrow.

For a course that plays this short there are some interesting shots. It's pretty heavily wooded and you need to think about your line.

It doesn't take much to par these holes but you have to hit your line to rack up the birdies.

Great place to bring beginners and kids, pretty good playground too. My daughter likes to swing and slide after a round, she would have liked this one.

Basketa are okay, older DGA baskets mostly pretty even with no big flaws.

The layout is so well worn you can't get lost.
Cons: Super short, and doesn't always make the absolute best of the available space.

Some of the pads need some fill dirt around them the puddles were really bad.

It looks like it gets played hard too, and cut it out the the bottle caps guys, it doesn't look that cool.
Other Thoughts: I breezed through this one twice in the rain in 40 mins so if your close and feel the need for a round, jump on it and you can get a pretty satisfactory round in here.

Don't bother bringing your warp speed arsenal though 6-7 of the holes you would be fine with a good neautral midrange.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

5+    10/31/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: LaserShot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Good location
-good mix of holes
-not too busy most of the time
Cons: -9 holes
-holes are fairly short
-Uninspired design
-watch the locals
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for beginners or long time players who want to see if they can birdie every hole. I have never bogied a hole here and Im a slightly above average golfer. its usually one shot and then your birdie attempt. if you are average to below average this course is perfect for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good enough to play again and again

1    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes. I loved these.

As a beginner this course offers a good challenge. It has just enough trees to present a challenge while also offering a few holes with open shots. If you hit a tree you are more than likely still able to have a good shot at par.

This course is a good one for your child as well. The holes are short. My son and I played 12 holes in 45 min. This includes throwing several discs on a few of them.

Risk of losing a disc is low. The few holes that run along the fence next to the rock quarry offer plenty of safe area to throw into if you are worried about losing a disc.
Cons: I had no clue where #1 was. I couldn't find any signs or maps. We were fortunate that nobody was there so we just played random holes but on a busy day you would have to ask someone or risk jumping in between groups.

It looks over played.
Other Thoughts: Conditions: 8AM on a Sun. We were the only ones there.

If you approach from 182nd, #1 is going to be the tee box by the corner of the church parking lot. The rest is pretty easy to navigate.

Since it seems common that courses don't have maps or tee box markers, why don't they etch the hole # or even a map onto the tee box when they pour the concrete? Frame the tee box and when you pour the concrete just grab a stick and scratch in #1 or whatever, in one corner. Maybe an arrow to the basket? Seems like this would be a discreet way to be informative.

Going forward I am going to check the photo section of this site prior to playing new courses. In the photos for this one I think #9 is inaccurate. The tee box has been moved.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Park

2-4    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice 9 especially for being in the middle of the city.

The tee pads and baskets are great

Good use of the park and trees.

It's a great place to practice your short game or bring a new player.

Not really any rough or tall grass. No time looking for discs = more time throwing.
Cons: Busy. Lots of players on a nice day and 9 holes can feel crowded pretty quickly. There can also be a lot of other park users, but there's really just one tee that crosses a path.

No signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if you're close by or if you want to bang out a bunch of holes quickly on weekday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.