Sussex, WI 
Village Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #9
3 / 261ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Open It Up And Let It Fly

1    8/26/2018   9/4/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After traveling around Wisconsin looking for courses to play , I stumbled upon Village Park . I had a little trouble finding it , but a couple of nice locals pointed it out . The long driveway into this park will show you several of the baskets you will be firing at before long . You drive up to the left of the driveway and park , and walk up the hill to the first tee next to the park building . There is no map on the side of this , nor is there a kiosk , so I would highly recommend printing a map out on this site beforehand , or long hidden walks will eat up your time . The tee pads are cement and a decent length . The baskets are in great shape and hold your putts well . The signage is informative and seems to be fairly accurate except #7 which it greatly understates . You better be using your drivers and rip into it . Your first drive , 400', will be a top of the world shot with a pond on the right that can swallow your disc if a wind picks up and you are careless . The basket sets behind several trees forming a canopy to protect high shots . #2 will be on your left and up a grade 440' to a basket you won't be able to see until your 2nd shot . You will walk through an opening to your left in a wall of trees and brush and #3 which is a 600'+ downhill drive to an open basket . #4 is a tricky find , walking down the hill past the tennis courts to a left to right shot in the open but the basket sits next to a really long row of for trees that sit to your right and will swallow a bad throw and cost you a stroke . #5 & 6 are the only holes in a woods setting . Straight away throws with trees protecting on the left and right ( wished they had gone back & forth for another couple of these ) . You pop out and walk up the hill to 7 , which the sign says short and your arm better say LONG . the next holes are all reachable and mostly unprotected baskets except the longer #9 which is over 400' . You will have to shape your shot a bit right to left on holes 13 & 14 , and easy left to right short hole of 15 , then a long descending drive on #16 that runs towards the pond from #1, 362' . #17 tee is tricky , northwest of where you are standing , hidden in the tree line on your left . Short slightly uphill basket from tee . #18 is an uphill 275 footer that will play more like 300-310 .The park is well taken care of and looks as if it gets at least occasional play . Lots of elevation . Nicely done within a wide open park .
Cons: 1. Although it didn't show while I was here , I read a couple of the prior reviews and better mention that this city park is multifunctional and you may be turned away if they are having festivals , shows , etc . Check the city websites , or better yet call them that week . 2. this park can be very windy . It is wide open in most spots , so your discs will blow around . Navigation ? If you don't have a map when you enter here , there is nothing up around #1 to help you and you can get lost in a hurry from 2-3 , 3-4 , 6-7 and 16-17 . BRING YOUR MAP . No real signature hole to speak of . Lots of different lengths , but nothing standing out .
Other Thoughts: They made great use of this park and this city needed a disc golf course . I hope that Sussex doesn't turn away the avid , or the out of towners like me , or the occasional families that play ( yes , I saw families out there that day , too ) together by holding too many activities here . Many Kudos to the city and parks department for their efforts and funds that went into making this course a reality . If you are in the area , PLAY IT

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you can get there, if it is open

1    5/8/2017   5/8/2017
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well cared for. I know everyone says this but these people really do this right. The course has some ultra long baskets (my age groups call every basket a three, makes it easier to keep score without having to write things down, but the practice on these beautiful long baskets is worth the effort). More variety than most reviewers are giving it credit for. The short baskets are well placed behind reasonable obstacles. A nice place to play.
Cons: UPDATE:
For the fourth time in the last year the course was suddenly and wihtout warning, closed for an even that had nothing to do with the course.
I have contacted the village and the park commission who, though they say they will do better, don't
DO NOT TRUST THE SUSSEX VILLGE SITE FOR INFORMATION!


Quite often the course is closed on weekends due to events at the park. The City of Sussex does not do a good job of posting these. We were told it would be closed "only" on a Saturday but it was shut down on Friday and the baskets weren't uncovered until sunday at 11:00 a.m. In their defense they said they posted this . . . . .on Friday . . . . I looked, and that had not been the case.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE:
The city of Sussex is STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION>


the city of Sussex itself is perpetually under road construction, like they never actually plan on making it easy to get anywhere.
Also, Siri takes you to the wrong park . . . . . it is WEST of the Police department, and then south on Weaver Rd . . . a little hard to find.
I would definitely play this one again

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, if Unspectacular Course

5+    10/13/2016   10/28/2016
Review By: Kegelexercise
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 25.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Within the past year or so, new signs have been put out detailing hole # and distance - many reviews have criticized this, and this has been addressed.

2) Nice, long, grippy teepads and well-maintained baskets.

3) Lot of holes with good distance and elevation use, so if you want to air it out, this is a good course for it.

4) Layout is good - the flow from hole to hole is pretty intuitive, and the course, though taking up a large area, does a pretty good job of staying away from other park uses. Only a few walking paths really get anywhere close. Park is clean and well-cared for.
Cons: 1) Not a whole ton of variety - only two holes early in the course could in any way be described as "technical", and the rest of the course is very wide open. If you're looking for a course that will test your accuracy and ability to make precise throws, this probably isn't it

2) Sussex Village park hosts a plethora of church group/Lions Club style festivals throughout the summer, and the course will close for up to a week at a time for these. The village posts these closures on their website, but it can still get annoying.

3) For the most part, the hole distances seem pretty accurate, but the sign for #7 seems way off. I can easily overdrive 230' or so #10, and get it most of the way to the basket on 400'+ #9, but it takes me throwing it about as hard as I can to get to the listed sub-200' #7 basket, even though it's kind of uphill? I think that particular hole could use a re-measure.
Other Thoughts: Sussex Village Park is a perfectly decent course, that I maybe like more than most, because it fits my particular skill level well. The course is in good condition, is well cared for, is BEAUTIFUL in the fall, and has the distance to be fun if you're looking to air it out and/or like courses that feature prominent elevation changes.

It falls short of some of the other courses in the area due to the relative lack of variety, and omnipresent wide open-ness, so it's probably not a course I'd recommend straight up going out of your way to play, but it's a solid enough disc golf run if you're around the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/15/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Goldsmoke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Continuing to put gravel around tees and pouring pads for trash cans. Not finished yet. No new signage yet. Awesome course layout. Free!
Cons: Not finished upgrades but does not affect play.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in southeast wi.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rather lame.

5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.1 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Some super long holes.
Hole 1 is a cool downhill.
That's about it.
It's possible to score well there as it's very easy.
Cons: Boring course.
Nothing special.
Holes are repetitive and straight.
Other Thoughts: Some enjoy the course, I Really hate it.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  solid, fun course

5+    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: cooliomcfly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very wide range of length, elevation, and hole setup
excessively clean
long concrete teepads in good condition and allow for many different run-ups and styles
Cons: can be a little crowded on weekends during the rush, however most groups will let you play through
grass worn down to dirt in high traffic areas (around holes and tees)
Other Thoughts: GET A MAP the first time you go, it is not hard to navigate, but there are a couple short walks between holes.
Hole 1 - pretty simple, longer than perceived, difficulty increased with presence of pond.
Hole 2 - long uphill hole, good for uphill approach practice!!
Hole 3 - long, drive hard
Hole 4 - line of thick pinetrees to the right, field to the left, very funny to see the weird places discs end up
Hole 5 - in the trees, fun as a few trees are in the way of a perfect drive
Hole 6 - also in the trees, watch out for overdriving!!
Hole 7 - starts uphill and than plateaus off, hole buried in trees, very fun
Hole 8 - simple and short, but fun
Hole 9 - straight throw, easy
hole 10 - simple if you can throw accurately between two trees
Hole 11 - short and straight, small drop 30 feet infront of hole
Hole 12 - trees to the right, fun to maneuver around
Hole 13 - very fun, trees are in deceptive spots takes a few tries to figure out
Hole 14 - uphill huge tree halfway to the hole go over or around!!
Hole 15 - more trees to the right, short, fun
Hole 16 - long open chuck downhill
Hole 17 - my personal favorite, the trees are scattered and random, starts downhill and than goes uphill for an overall elevation gain by the end of the hole, many different and interesting lines to take
hole 18 - straight open chuck slightly uphill

I know the course sounds easy but it is more difficult than i let on as the wind is often gusting in the open holes, causing great drives to drop and awful drives to pick up serious distance.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big Fan

5+    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the length of this course. There is good elevation change right off the bat. Solid of holes for long throwers. Not too many "wooded" holes, but that isn't a bad thing. There are two tight holes on the front that will challenge anyone to throw long and flat.
Cons: Back nine is a bit easy. This doesn't detract from the course. You still need to throw controlled drives off the tees.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and it is almost never busy. Gotta get out there Sussex!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/7/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: illyB420
Played: 160  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee's in good condition, most will allow for a good run up on the long holes.
-Great use of the elevation in the park.
-There are a few fun shots for all skill levels.
-Garbage cans all over and very little garbage on course.
-Use's all areas of a beautiful park, lots of heathly grass stands of trees to play around
-park is well maintained and offers a variety of activities.
Cons: -Some holes are alil bland, wide open rips with just the wind to contend with.
-Navigation can be alittle tricky at a few holes on the first run thru, but most are easy to find.
-what signs remain are basic and don't provide much info you cant already see.
-Pond and crowds can be an issue.
-Course closes often for other activities
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, just nothing here to really "wow" you into wanting to play more and more. I enjoyed the long opening holes, but for the most part you dont have to think, just grip and rip. After a few of these types of holes you move into the forest for 2 very nice technical shots, but then you cross back into the "no thought throws". This course could really use some new signs and alil love from the locals to make it shine. With all the other courses in the Milwaukee area its hard to recommend to a traveler but if your in the area, and the course isnt closed, stop in for a round and enjoy!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long holes
Every hole is different
Takes up most of the park
Easy to find
Nice area
Cons: Easy to loose disc on the first hole into the pond
Crowded, so sometimes long waits
Other Thoughts: Its a nice park, its usually windy, and its a park to have a good couple hours to play

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/16/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 190  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 17.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Level Consistent Teepads
- Classic Mach III's
- Very easy to navigate first time through
- Very good use of the land
- Where there are trees they are used
- Nice little hills.
- Wind can make it interesting
- Only a few holes have descent risk/reward (namely hole 1)
- Fun to play
- The pond seems to be seasonal, its very shallow and easy to retrieve your disc.
Cons: - Holes are straight forward and require little planning
- Not much shot variety
- The town of Sussex isn't very much and your limited on food choices, bring food. **I don't hold this against the course**
- I have no urge to play other than at tournaments
- Low scores are the norm (mid to high 40s)
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 of Village Park is deceiving. There you are standing atop a hill with the basket 50+ ft below and on the edge of a pond (not always there). You're pumped cause its a great opening hole.
then you get to hole 2 thru 4 and its just throw for the hole open shots.
Holes 5 thru 8 get you a little excited again as they are fun short holes. If you got a solid 200-250' straight throw they'll be quick birdies.
Holes 9 thru 14 are mostly open and require good shot placement for the easy birdies.
Hole 15 is a little interesting. the tee is slightly elevated over the basket and the hole right side is shut down by a row of trees. There is no line underneath shot either. For RH it requires a BH anhyzer or FH.
Hole 16 is a good chuck down hill towards the pine trees. Can be reached in 1 throw.
Hole 17 is my personal favorite on the course. It plays through several trees slightly uphill. There are multiple lines to take and the birdie feels very rewarding. If you hit a tree early it can make a simple par rough.
Hole 18 is a mostly open chuck uphill.

With all the courses in the Greater Milwaukee area this isn't very high on my list of stellar courses. If you're looking for a different course to play or want to add another notch to your belt then come play you wont be disappointed. Its a fun course but not one I get the urge to play...ever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.