Irving, TX 
W.O. Harrington Share
Uploaded By: mitchdrums Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket at the bottom of the hill, OB past the fence, creek to the left.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Too open and too easy

2-4    1/2/2017   2/2/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners due to how few obstacles there are
Cons: -No tee boxes
-No tee signs
-Bad parking lot
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (1.5/5): This is a mostly open course with little in the way of obstacles. There is some elevation change on a few holes, but even that I don't think changes the challenge for me. If anyone has played UTD Alumni, I think the challenge level is fairly similar for different reasons. UTD is a significantly shorter course, but each basket has multiple trees around it to make you think about your approach. WO Harrington is longer and very few of the baskets have anything in the way of trees to make you shape lines. If you can throw 300-350ft off the tee, Harrington will be a birdie fest for you. If you can't, it'll be a par fest.

Maintenance (1/5): The grass is kept low, but I've never seen it in the spring so who know? The baskets were in good shape. Teeboxes are worn spots in the grass behind a spray painted line. There aren't tee signs at all. One thing of note, however, is the parking lot. It's small and gravel, not paved. Also, it's VERY bumpy getting in, to the point where my friend wouldn't go one day because he had a car without much clearance and was worried he'd damage it. If you have a car with low clearance, I'd be wary about going here.

Variability (1/5): There is very little variability in your shots here. On 7/9 tee shots you're just throwing it hard and landing it somewhere in the open field that is the fairway. If the basket is within your range from off the tee then it's the same shot just with some attention paid to accuracy. As for the other two tee shots, one of them you want to stay on the right side of the fairway to avoid the fallen tree/brush that's to the left of the basket. On the only other tee shot, there's a single tree directly in front of the basket, so you either hyzer/anhyzer around it or just throw right at it since the tree isn't even that big. I could honestly complete this entire course with just a driver and a putter and not see a noticeable dip in my score.

Flow/Experience (3/5): This course is surprisingly easy to navigate considering they don't have tee signs or tee boxes. They have spray paint lines indicating where you have to throw from behind of, and a spray paint arrow pointing at the basket. At most baskets, there's a spray paint arrow pointing to the next tee, and there's never a long walk from basket to tee box. All in all, whoever designed the course definitely made the most out of this little park space, it's just that the park didn't give the designer much to work with. If you live nearby or are trying to play every course in the area, then by all means stop by. But this course isn't worth going out of your way for otherwise.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

There's a course here....

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 175  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a course here with decent baskets.....
Used what elevation is there to make it somewhat interesting...
Couple of holes utilized some mature trees ....
Was easy to follow if you had the map from this site...
Tee boxes were little pieces of nylon sticking out of ground with spray painted line across.
Memorable holes:
#1 Downhill through two trees along a split rail fence
#2 Back up hill, slightly longer, protected by a couple of trees
#3 Back downhill through a couple of trees
#4 Along the side of the field under a tree's canopy
#7 Straight ahead, protected on the right by tree line
#8 Uphill, directly behind a tree...
#9 Uphill with a few trees as protection
Cons: Grass/ dirt tees..... weren't terrible, just weren't concrete.
No signage.... one or two little stakes with a number...
Other Thoughts: In Texas for work training, had a brief afternoon to check the Texas box off my state list and this was the closest course to where I was.... That said...
I am sure this is not the best Texas has to offer, but this was not the worst course I've ever played, not by a long shot.
Played it twice, chatted with one of the locals for a spell, survived a 90 degree Texas afternoon. All in all, was an enjoyable afternoon with adequate disc golf play...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Better than nothing

1    4/26/2016   4/26/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 345  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 29.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has baskets?
Cons: Dirt tee boxes
old baskets that are passable due to added chains
No tee signs, 2 or 3 have stakes in the ground and the redesigned holes do have spray paint where the tee is.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time in over 10 years. It has not changed, it still is not a good course.

Hole 1 throws down from the parking lot to the basket almost to the creek and near the OB park fence.

Hole 2 throws back up the hill. Probably the best hole on the course, you can leave now.

Hole 3 throws back down the hill.

Hole 4 is a short little hole along the creek ending under a willow tree.

Hole 5 has nothing between you and the basket

Hole 6 is another wide open hole with nothing between you and the basket

Hole 7 at least has a good green with the creek around 1/2 of the basket to the right and behind the hole.

Hole 8 is a shorter hole up the hill behind the only tree and an OB fence to the right.

Hole 9 is a little longer up the hill with a few trees you got to throw around and the OB fence to your right.

I can't recommend playing this course unless you just want to check it off your list of courses played.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2016   2/13/2016
Review By: Ezrath
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is course is what it is. A small patch of open land where the city put out a few baskets for entertainment. It is not going to attack a crowd. What is does provide is a nice place on my lunch hour to throw 9 or 18 ( we play it backwards for second nine) with some friends to eat up the nice weather we have been having.
Cons: Many to list but the porta-potty is now gone (not sure this is a con). Not much a challenge as many have noted your throwing in an open field and it helps to use thsi site to see the lay out.
Other Thoughts: The one thing that makes this course slightly difficult (as with most courses) is the wind. It tends to swirl. My only tip to anyone reading this is that on hole 6 no matter what the wind feels like on the tee throw a stable to over-stable disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Never knew this course was so close to the airport!

1    1/3/2016   1/4/2016
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good practice course
Makes good use of the land given
Close to the airport
Mowed often
Fence has openings in case disc flies over it
9 holes play fast, good to ay twice for 18 hole scores
Cons: Not much to this course (Reasonable: 2.0)
Fence on other side of creek (west) limits future exansion of course.
9 holes is a con without 2 pins/tees.
Natural tees are rough.
Other Thoughts: South side of course has some space on other side of creek for additional holes in future. By cleaning out the brush over there and adding a small bridge to cross over, I see room for at least 3 more holes (for whatever it's worth). Not sure how much room is over there, but maybe enough for 9 more holes in the future. 18 hole courses attract more players than 9 hole courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Is a bad course better than no course?

1    9/1/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 68  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Near to the airport. Well maintained.
Cons: Not many pros to come up with. This course just isn't interesting. Barely any trees, just a lot of throwing across a field. The teepads also aren't marked very well, and the teepads themselves are just worn out spots in the dirt.
Other Thoughts: Somebody went to some trouble to get this course in, so we should be thankful it's there. It's a playable course, and if you want to practice your driving and are near DFW, I guess it can get the job done.But hit up Bear Creek or Fritz while you're here.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

1    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Some elevation change. It would be extremely hard to lose a disc here. The fact that I had to think for 15 minutes before coming up with ANY pros is telling.
Cons: Worst teepads ever. They are deeply-cracked dirt pits that are mud holes when wet. No signage except for a stick with a number on it on 4 of the 9 holes. Poor use of the land and the creek that surrounds it. Wide open with very few trees...which im sure could present a challenge if there were strong winds. This is the second worse DG course I have ever played (Springfield park holds the #1 spot). 9 hole courses always carry less interest than full 18 hole courses. No practice basket. Tough to find tees. You could easily twist an ankle (or even break an ankle) on the ridiculous mud pits they call tees. The holes are all crammed into a small space, so smashing your disc into another person is a serious possibility.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend skipping this course...even if it is very close to you. If you absolutely have to play this course, be aware of a few things. To start, the first "teepad" is right by the big wooden sign at the very front by the parking lot and the street. I mention this BC I hear that many people play the wrong tees/baskets, etc. I could understand with the horrible signage how this could be confusing. The tees then go back and forth before wrapping around the back end of the park and coming up by the fence back towards the parking lot. There are woods, a creek, and a lot of brush surrounding the park which would make for interesting challenges if designed properly...so its a shame they aren't used at all. Be careful to not grip lock your drive or throw too far to the right on #1 or it will be in traffic on the road.

Your best move is to just skip this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some trees planted

1    3/17/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 397  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses what is available as best it can. There are a few uphill shots and a couple of downhill shots too.
What few trees are present are incorporated well.
Rounds should play quickly here and there is a good mix of moderate length and longer holes too.
This is a course that a beginner might enjoy and the threat of losing a disc is minimal here.
Hole 9 was the best hole IMO.
Cons: 4's and 8's tee stake was missing, however just look for the dirt area that looks like a tee box.
The grass could be long at times.
No trash cans or benches, not that you would need to sit down but that option is still nice.
The course can get swampy after a heavy rain and many of the tees are showing signs of rutting, and might be slick after a hard rain.
Wind will be a factor here and in the summer months it could get hot here because of lack of shade.
My main con with this course is the lack of obstacles to shape lines and make for fun shots. Its mainly just a wide open field with baskets and this makes for boring discing in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: If you are in a hurry and want to play a quick round then this would be a good course to do it on. This course was getting some play upon my visit so some players seem to be enjoying it. For my tastes I think the planting of some trees to shape lines would help spice things up here. Also the addition of at least the distances on the tee stakes would be an improvement. If you are looking for a place to work on your open shots then hit this course up. If you like a more technical course or a course that makes you shape lines then you will want to hit up another course in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 W.O. Harrington

1    12/26/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: hotstang
Played: 185  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quite.
Decent for a quick round.
Good baskets considering the out of the way course.
Well maintained considering location.
Good for working on forehand and backhand.
Cons: Need signage.
Teepads should be added considering wear of the course.
Not much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Would be a good little course with a little work.
Needs 2 tee pads.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wind Tunnel

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -There is a port-a-potty.
Cons: -30+mph winds daily.

-9 holes.

-All totally straight shots.

-The "tee pads" resemble pre-dug graves.

-Random condoms hanging on the fence.
Other Thoughts: Who could ask for more? Seriously, not much to see here folks.


PS- If you think your spouse is cheating on you, check the parking lot of this place- it is full of middle aged folks making out/banging like 16 year olds when mom isn't home.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.