Clearwater, FL 
North East Coachman Park Share
Uploaded By: Texas2Putts Hole #17 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Popular And Comfortable Course

1    10/18/2019   11/22/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 558  Reviewed: 183  Exp: 27.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North East Coachman Park sits in a tight urban spot maybe a mile northwest of Cliff Stephens . One of the older courses in Florida ( 1993 ) , it still has its pluses to it . The 2 tee pads per hole are cement and plenty long for a course with no hole over 370' . The baskets are Mach 5 and do a good job at catching . The signage is good and reminds you of Cliff Stephens , with the hole # , distance , and pictures of fairway and pin location . There are multiple pins at the holes . Amenities here are pretty good . There is a practice basket near the parking lot . A Port O Let near hole 14 ( which is close to hole 1 and 11 ) , decent Next Tee signs , bag poles , and benches at the tees . There are some really nice wood stained ones ( one of them is at #4 ) , some able to seat larger groups , at some of the tees . I am assuming that big groups come here in the evenings or on the weekends and relax during their rounds . There is also a large , tennis court style netting behind the tee pad for #17 to deflect any errant drives from 16 . A nice kiosk greets you at the parking lot . The course is easy on the legs , parking lot flat . The whole course is pretty much shaded . There are plenty of trees with their canopies to make sure that your drives are more technical and flat . The park is kept up very well , and on this course , you may be able to skip your shot off the hard ground and get an extra 20-30' off your drive , or shot shape the skip around a tree . The navigation is good , with its Next Tee signs and the compact nature of the park . I only looked at my map once . This is a typical park style course , but with a good amount of trees . The baskets are almost always either placed behind trees , trees are in or lining the fairway, or canopied trees are forcing low driving shots . Don't get me wrong . There are paths to the basket , just some are tighter than others . For water , there is a channel of it on your immediate right for holes 7 , 8 , 9 and maybe 12 that might cause your errant drive into a disc loss . Disc Risk : low . This is a clean park . The only way your will lose a disc with be in the channel or stick it way up in a tree . because of its total length ( 5321' from the longs , 4622' from shorts ) and short walks to the next tees , this course is a fast play . I was done in around 50 minutes .This is a deceptive gauge , because I was the only one on this course on a Friday morning at 10 . If it starts to fill up , think maybe an hour or so for a solo , and 2 for a foursome . Cliff Stephens is the place you go for a challenge . Coachman is the place you go to relax . I don't know if the course gets a lot of runoffs from Cliff ( Cliff plays slower and more deliberate ) , but I imagine Coachman fills up in the evenings and weekends . Much more suited for the 2 disc local and the newbie , even a family , it probably doesn't get the credit it deserves . No memorable holes , but still good play , and it is a fun relaxing course . A nice aspect of this course is that it comes back around to the parking lot so you can play 10 , 13 or 18 holes and be back to your car . Highlights : #1 , a good starter hole kicks in at 370' from the longs . #8 makes you throw a little over the channel in order to bend it into a blind basket hiding behind some shrubs on the left . #4 sets itself off to the right in a grove of trees . #14 makes you fade right with a ditch on your left . #18 is a narrow finishing hole back to the parking lot . Signature Hole : maybe #16 . The tee is actually a little higher that the course itself , passing right to left from the open to a tighter fairway .
Cons: #1 Safety . Some of these fairways play right up against each other . 16 , 17 , &18 as a group are good examples . Also 2 & 3 , and 11 & 13 . I am hoping that there is some good courtesy practiced and no one gets hit in the back with a drive , but this also going to be a place where the inexperienced are learning the game . #2 Variety . I felt that the course was forcing the same shot as the hole before it, and sometimes . The trees are the only thing that make another hole slightly different . #3 Even though it was bone dry when I was here , with the areas void of grass combined with the flatness of the course , I would think that this course would be a mess after a good rain . The parking lot could use some work . It is small and there are trees in and around it . This is perfect for you getting dinged while backing up . it also has some divots in it . Bring bug spray , this course will be bad for insects in the summer . Additionally , this may or may not be fair , but coming from a scenic park just a mile away , I didn't get near that same look from Coachman . If you don't like tree filled and flat , you won't like it here .
Other Thoughts: Rating a course can be hard after playing a highly rated one a couple of hours prior to it . This course doesn't disguise itself as a continuation of that course . It has it's own identity . With the benches and the feel here , you won't feel rushed . Not overly challenging here ( I even played this under par ) , but a good place to socialize with the friendly locals , work on your game , and maybe check out the large disc golf store near the park . If I lived locally , this would be my choice for my home course . With many courses within a 30 minute drive from here , this is a good intermediate course for newer inexperienced players to play and socialize with better players .Thank You , Tampa bay Disc Sports Club and Tampa Bay Parks and Rec for allowing me to play your course . You do great work . My Recommendation : Newbies , families and locals , Welcome . Great for the traveler , since it is right down the street from another course . Also adequate for the tournament tested local to work on their technical and approach game . For any of the explained reasons , Play it !!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shady

1    10/10/2018   11/29/2018
Review By: NAV009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Lots of Shade
Cons: Poorly Marked Tees
Poorly Marked Baskets
Poor Layout
Poor Location
Lots of Trees
Other Thoughts: This course has a bad location and a bad layout. Everything is poorly marked. If you manage to find your way to the first tee, you'll see right from the start you're chucking your disc towards traffic, which is obviously unsettling for beginners. Even the parking is poorly marked, but trying to spot dull gray baskets with no flags or colored rings is very frustrating.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Coachman DGC Is Popular And I Can See The Attraction!

1    1/27/2018   1/27/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1449  Reviewed: 1395  Exp: 42 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NE Coachman Disc Golf Course is a flat but nicely, shaded little recreational course across the street from a wonderful disc golf store, just blocks from the Philadelphia Phillies spring training home and a short one mile walk via path from the legendary Cliff Stephens DGC.

There is ample parking, a kiosk and a practice basket at the staging area. The course has plenty of benches including a few holes with double benches plus. I will go out on a limb here and say the locals often play in large groups of six or more. Baskets and bag holders are quite common, too. The baskets are some well used Mach II's. The old metal signs are fine with a simple map and giving you the needed information about one, two or in the case of # 16, three pads and three different basket positions. Most holes play in 200-300' range with just a couple over 350'.

A ditch which didn't have much water in it ran along the side of holes 7, 8, 9, 12 and then # 16 played either over it or alongside depending on which pad you threw from. Beside myself, I saw two other players fishing their discs out of it.

The course has a nice variety of palms, Laurels and Live Oaks. Beside providing shade they're also the main obstacles you're trying to avoid here.

It's obvious that this course has it's admirers with the all the different groups as well as guys just hanging around socializing, etc. It's like a small town barber shop. You can get all the disc golf news and gossip here at Coachman.

Sani cans by # 14. There is a large screen by the # 17 tee pad protecting players from drives from # 16. # 11 and # 14 both loop back to start.
Cons: Florida flat.

A steady diet of rec length holes await you here. Also a certain redunacy with some holes starting to blend together in my feeble mind.

The ditch, which was running low here in January, can become a raging torrent of water after the summer storms.

I would think this might get a little crazy during peak times. Might want to keep your head up as some holes are in pretty close vicinity.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It's recreational length and challenge fit well with my tired ass game. The shade would be a welcome relief from the Florida sun. It's well signed making it easy to navigate. It's popularity might be drawback especially if large playing groups are commonplace. That ditch and the prevailing wind might not always be my friend but the course is an extremely easy play overall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Players Course

2-4    9/13/2017   8/15/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 428  Reviewed: 418  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.767 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) Filled with Spanish moss covered live oaks. Coachman is a good course in general but not amongst the area's best courses.
- NAVIGATION - I had no trouble on my first time thru without a map. You can typically see the next tee from each prior basket and yet the tees are still separated enough to protect from errant discs. I'll also mention that this course is excellent for the disc golf bag cart.
- CHARACTER - Perhaps the best thing about coachman is the way the course pampers its players. Not quite to the extent of that at nearby courses Cliff Stevens or Taylor Park but still well above average compared to other courses. Among the course pampering items you'll see; Great hole signage, Shaded Tees, Benches on every hole and some with errant disc protection. A few multiple tees and a few alternate basket locations. Also, brooms at a few holes, bag holders at a bunch of holes, picnic tables at multiple locations including hole (1), a practice basket, and lastly, a porta-potty.
- TEE PADS - They are all concrete and are of various lengths and widths. only a couple are in the 8 foot useless length range. But in all, better than average and they are relatively all in good repair.
- ACEABILITY - Almost all the holes are aceable, You will have great opportunities on holes (3,4, 6, 11, 13 and 17). Every hole is under 400 feet.
- MAINTENANCE - Course seems to be well kept and clean. There is really no overgrowth or rough areas. Errant shots are not punished further by a dense palmetto bush foliage like many Florida courses. So there should be little to no searching and the odds of losing a disc is really low as long as the channel water is low.
Cons: Coachman has a repetitive feel to it.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes variety is a bit below average compared to your average 18 hole course. Most holes play thru a live oak tree and pine tree canopy with moderately tight lines and are positioned within 5 degrees of straight ahead. There is only one good dogleg hole, on (8), which is also the only blind basket. There are some good water elements in play which will force a line on holes (7,9 and 12). There are no overhead plays. None of the holes are true gimmes and none are that exceedingly hard, except (8) long. There are no par 4s or 5s. The longer holes will however challenge intermediate players and some advanced players, being at close to 400 feet. The course is lacking a signature hole as they really all blend together.
- SHOT SELECTION - I found the shot selection to be average to perhaps be slightly below average. Most shots need to stay low, straight and on a precise line. The shot shaping aspect for the lines is there in some respects. As a righty, I play probably a few more backhands than flicks. A lot of shots will be best served to be low skippers.
- SPACING - Well below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs constantly end up in other fairways. Black aces have happened. In addition, considering that the course is typically full of players, you will always be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
- CHAINS - Although the chains are indeed solid, they are rusting out a bit on a bunch of holes.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and often has league or mob golfing going on. Typically the larger groups will let a faster group or single through (or try to get you to join in), but you'll still have to wait on that initial hole.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. One of the flattest courses I've ever played. No more than 5 feet of elevation change throughout the entire course layout.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Average, definitely not the most scenic course in Pinellas County. The trees are mostly live oak and pine and just don't have the same pop found at other nearby courses, I'm not entirely sure why. The creek or channel has more of a ditch feel than a graceful winding creek. I'll also add that the course takes a lot of wear and tear and is mostly void of grass.
- PARKING - The parking lot could use a bunch of work. Its pitted in a bunch of spots and has trees within the footprint. I nearly backed my car into a tree on my first round here.
- DRAINAGE - During the rainy season (typically May-September), Coachman will flood. Be sure and check daily rainfall totals. Three inches of rain over a two day perior will flood this course.
Other Thoughts: I'd play Coachman a lot if I within 5 to10 miles. Good for beginners thru advanced. Not a destination course like nearby courses Cliff, Taylor, Cypress, Oldsmar and Picnic. However this course fits in well among next tier of area courses like Maximo, Youth, 22nd, Limona, and USF. If you live in the Tampa Bay region, you need to play this course at least once.
- DIFFICULTY - Average. Probably not too great of a challenge to advanced players but the everyone else should be thoroughly challenged. The fairways are moderately tight but fair. Intermediate players should finish even to a couple down on a typical day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's ok

5+    7/5/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: Modelle
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great signage and very easy to follow
-Many trees and some water offer a challenge
-Pro and Am tee pad's that provide at least a little distance on some holes
-Not too crowded
Cons: -Very short course, i have tried to find out what the hoopla is just not overly impressed
-Too tight, some holes cross and people just walk in fornt drives.
-Did I say short, only hole one has any distance but no trees
-Heavily local which is fine but with that comes attitude
Other Thoughts: It takes about 35 mins to play a round solo, not challenging enough though there's heavy trees but zero elevation and it gets boring quickly. Spoiled by mountain courses I guess.. Feel liberal giving a 2.5 rating. Cliff and Cypress are better

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Old Fashioned Fun!

2-4    6/13/2015   6/14/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 195  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 45 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as the Greater Tampa area courses go, this one falls in the middle. It's not the most scenic or challenging, but it does offer its own charms and is quite fun to play.

Nice signage and tee pads, very easy to navigate, and plenty of trees to shot shape around. Disc loss is at a minimum here, unless you put one into the water-filled ditch that runs alongside a couple of holes.

The course is well maintained, and litter free.
Cons: The course feels a little cramped, with tight holes running back and forth through the light woods. Keep an eye out for stray discs coming in from nearby fairways.

There are a few holes that play near a heavily used sidewalk.

It can be muddy during the rainy season, with areas of standing water on some fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course wouldn't be my 1st choice if I could only play one of the greater Tampa area courses, but I certainly would recommend it not as a must play, but as a should play. It is very popular with the locals and would make for a fine home course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and Streams

1    3/1/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signs are great as well as the flow and this course will make you bring your shotmaking skills set around a plethora of trees and creeks. It is well kept and offers something for everyone
Cons: Maybe it's just me but I enjoy disc golf with all of the elements of distance, finesse, and hazards. Having said this no holes really stick out to me as signature. I can't remember one hole that when I got back to my car I kept reflecting back on. It's a good course period, nothing more nothing less
Other Thoughts: you have to dig the fact that a killer disc golf store is right down the street

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NE Coachman is Great!!!

1    2/15/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Two concrete long tee pads per hole (White/Blue) that are perfect for long run-ups
- Brand new tee signs. Very nice tee signs with detail pictures marking the basket locations and the distance.
- Very nice benches at every tee, Bag Hooks (some holes) Trash Cans, and a port o potty in the parking area, just like Cliff Stevens
- The New Tee Signs have a pictures looking down the fairway with arrows pointing to both basket locations and distances for both tees
- Multiple starting points from the parking lot. You can start on any of the following tees 1, 4, 11, & 14. It is a popular course, and it can get busy. So if you see a big group out, you can jump over to another tee boxes
- Plays under a canopy of trees, which offers some relief when it is hot out
- There are plenty of trees to work your lines around, but not overly dense
- Good pin locations, no shots that are unfair
- This park is entirely a Disc Golf course.
- Some Water hazards. Didn't appear to be very deep, but it is wide.
- Beginner friendly, and not as easy from the back tees
- Average Distances range from 250-350ft.
- Holes 3, 10, 14, 18 put you back at the parking lot
- Located right next to Cliff Stephens and 5 minutes away from the Clearwater Disc Golf Store
- If you follow the walking path, you will end up at Cliff Stephens DGC
Cons: - This course is probably the most heavily played in Tampa Bay, other than Cliff Stevens, so it is not unlikely that you will be waiting for a group on a hole
- It can be a little bit short if you are playing from the short tees
- The parking lot might be a little bit small
Other Thoughts: I loved North East Coachman. It was one of my favorites in Florida. Hopefully I can come back there sometime because it was great!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner's Paradise

5+    1/29/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: buzzkilla
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners and the course is kept up with very well. Night golf on Thursday nights is a blast when it is dark by 6:30 PM and the handicap on Sundays at 10 AM draws a great turnout. If you play 1-18 you make your way towards the parking lot three times should you need to stock up on drinks or discs and a produce stand that sells gatorade, soda, etc. is just across the street and just a rock throw away from hole 2 teepad.
Cons: If you're like me and just like to play a round or 2 efficiently, it is best to go at sunrise as this course from noon on can get packed with high volume of players that play in big groups. During the summer time it can get pretty flooded for days.
Other Thoughts: - Favorite holes are 3, 9, 11, and 17

- Least favorite are 10 and 16

- After finishing hole 9, be sure and go to the left for 10 as hole 12 is dead straight ahead

- Hole 13 can be a bit tricky to find, but just look for the sign about halfway up the fairway and drop off your bag and then 14 is by the port a jon

- Hole 16 is tucked back jest behind the arc bridge or if you've got great tailwind or a feed for speed you may throw from the super pad across the bridge by the benches

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A worthwhile play!

1    11/19/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to get to and well signed. The signs have photos showing where the baskets are, which is a great touch and something I had not seen anywhere back in my native Kansas City. It really does help with navigating and finding your way. Good job!

Scenery here isn't the best of the Tampa Bay area, but it's definitely still nice and has its own merits.

The park itself seems to be in a decent part of Clearwater as well, I felt safe playing here which is always good.

The round was definitely fun. Not the greatest, but never frustrating and held my interest the whole way through.

Great beginner course to introduce new players. There's not a ton of lost disc opportunities or frustrations here and navigation is generally pretty easy.

The course design isn't enthralling, but it's definitely serviceable and there's a decent amount of different looks to keep it fairly interesting for the most part.

Concrete tee pads are always good and they're in decent shape for the most part. Baskets are also in good working order. Trash cans and other amenities are scattered throughout the course.
Cons: This course is packed into a fairly small area - definitely not the worst I've seen but several holes play close to either each other or the parking lot, so you do have to be cautious.

A lot of holes generally feel fairly similar, and nothing really stands out to me as "great". Some courses have several holes that I remember as amazing or can't wait to play again -- here, there really wasn't anything like that. Just a nice place to play a round but that's about it.

There is a bike and walking trail through this course as well, which seems to be pretty common for Florida courses I've noticed. No big deal but it does see some use so be careful.

I noticed a fair amount of trash on the course and it plays next to a couple fairly busy roads. While the roads are great for easy access, it does break up the feel of the round a bit in my opinion.

I played several courses in the Tampa Bay area during midweek, and this was the only one that was packed even at 11 on Wednesday. Everyone was very friendly but I can only imagine it's a total zoo on the weekends.

Sandy soil everywhere, which I can imagine gets pretty muddy in the rainy season. I was here in November so it wasn't a big issue but I could see where it could be.

Not a lot of long opportunities, due to the compactness of the course.
Other Thoughts: I really feel like this course is a great one to take someone to that's new to the game. It doesn't really have any major frustrations and should make for a fun round.

I think this is a solid 3.0 course. Has all the amenities it needs, some nice touches to bring it over "average", but if you only have time for one or two courses in the Tampa Bay area I would probably skip this one. Nonetheless, I was thrilled to finally get a chance to play it and see what it's all about.

Be prepared to meet lots of friendly fellow DGers out here! It does seem to get pretty busy. Happy discing!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.