Quakertown, PA 
Nockamixon State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 6/2017)
4 / 527ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Home of 2005 Worlds and a must play.

2-4    9/5/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: PRC90
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative and Challenging
Multiple Tee/Pin options
Elevation change, Sweeping fairways, tunnel shots, if you can think of a shot I assure you will find it on this course.
Naturally Scenic beauty on every hole.
Great parking.
Good Facilities (large bathroom hut at course start).
Well maintained (all by locals, thank them when you are out there!).
Cons: Due to its high difficulty it is not quite as accessible to all players, a shorter Tee position might help with this but ultimately doesn't impact my rating.
Extremely rocky fairways lend to slippery surfaces in the rain making this course not only difficult but slightly dangerous if you aren't actively engaged.
Easy to lose plastic, these fairways get tight and if you kick off.... my heart goes out to ya.
Signage is there but in need of a good update as most of it appears to be sharpied onto a white board (although it does add a really neat aesthetic to it).
Other Thoughts: There is one reason you are going to play Nocki: you want to be challenged in a way no other course in the area comes close to. This course is long, wooded, and immensely challenging. For those reasons it was featured in the 2005 PDGA Worlds along with Little Lehigh Parkway and Jordan Creek, So when you walk these grounds you are walking the same path as Greats like Climo, Doss, Shultz, Dunipace, and many others which adds a harrowing/humbling effect to it more so than playing Parkway or Jordan because you know this is where the tournament was truly fought and won. The course snakes and weaves its way through the massive and beautiful Nocamixon State Park giving you a true nature walk feel and lends itself to an immense plethora of views ranging from wooded rocky glens to rolling grassy knolls overlooking the Marina. This course will take some time to play through especially the first time you play it so budget your time accordingly and this course will wear you down even if you are in good shape so bring snacks, water, and don't feel bad taking a break! It is hard to describe just how challenging this course truly is but to give a little perspective Hole 1 is a massive par 5.... and it plays pretty much all of 5 strokes unless your game is tip top. You will need to have all of the shots in your bag and your scramble game on point and that is just to shoot par if you play at an amateur level. This course is hard to criticize as it truly is a best of the best kind of course but to get that coveted 5 disc score it needs to have it all and to me the only thing on my trip that held this course back was its signage. The hole signage is very faded and appears to have been drawn over/on with Colored markers, well enough that you can figure out roughly what you need to do but could use some improvement and maybe a few markers out there pointing you in the right direction for the next tee as there are a few short walks from target to teebox that you might miss. In summary: the hype is real, Nocki is that true tournament level course. It will stun you with its looks, entertain you with its design, punish you for your bad shots, and break your will if you let it but it is a course that everyone needs to play once to say they have and is a course that proves just how difficult disc golf really can be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nocka-Magnificent

1    7/9/2017   7/10/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Planning a road trip along the East Coast of Pennsylvania is not easy. Definitely not easy. You have so many courses that are top of the line. However, there is only one Nockamixon. I played a tournament the day before, and I asked local players what course would be the absolute one to hit. Every answer was Nocki, and it wasn't a long pause, then decision. They went into autopilot, claiming that Nocki was the course to play.

The drive lone to the course was scenic enough. You are driving through the back country of PA. You should know what you are getting when you walk into a course in the city called Quakertown, but it is a really nice part of the country.

The first hole sets up what you know is going to be an epic course. You are throwing down into the woods, which at 8 o'clock in the morning, has the sun rising up over the trees, illuminating the dewy grass and the millions of rocks that are scattered through the woods. It is truly an enlightening experience, almost religious.

The holes themselves were brutally amazing. You are curving, twisting, winding through the woods of the beautiful park. These holes were just brutal. Up and over ravines, down and through tunnels, hyzer bombs through trees, anhyzers over bushes. Just wonderful shots, designed with a seasoned player in mind.

The scenic shots were easily some of my favorite. You would throw shots that would just glide over boulders, and this is not something you can dream about. You can't watch a video and think, "Close Enough." You have to do it. You have to hit tight gaps that open up to a cliff like drop off. Same exact idea. Shots over ravines, shots over creek beds. It was insanely different, and difficult. Something you only see at courses like this.

This course was not just a fantastic disc golf course, but it is also one of my favorite hikes that I have ever taken. Just the beautiful rock structures, and well aged trees are jaw dropping, and that was just the sights. I was also climbing over boulders, jumping off mini-cliffs, and just huffing and puffing up and down hills. It was just insane.
Cons: There were only a few cons, and I know that this course is just fine without the extra stuff, but there could be more things that would easily bump this up to a 5.

The tee signs were old, cracked, and not the most descriptive. They were hand drawn, and it was sometimes faded, or unreadable. This caused a bit of a problem, because a lot of the holes, the basket was out of sight. These could easily be updated with newer, better signs.

I can tolerate Mach IIIs, but at a course that is one of the best, they should have the best. An update is definitely in need if they want to keep up with the many improvements that other courses are making.

The rubber tee pads were showing their age, as they were not super long, or particularly grippy. I wasn't slipping, but when you have to throw 350 foot tight lines, you want a better tee to throw off of.

You could add a tee, but what they have right now is a great disc golf course. No real reason to add, but it is not a beginner course. Bring your A-game.

Navigation was pretty tough on a couple holes. The paths were well beat, but there were a few holes with multiple paths. I don't understand why there were not any signs pointing to a next tee. This goes a long way. I feel even a painted tree, or a wooden arrow on leaned up against a rock. I felt there was a cheap solution to a pretty big problem.

Some holes had tall fairway grass, or really bad gnats. Put on bug spray, because there are definitely some bugs you do not want living in the hairs of your body.

Note- Sometimes, I feel these extra perks are not needed. This usually only applies on private courses, because they do not have the daily visitors, or the humongous club. I feel that a state park should have better amenities than some other courses. Amenities are not nearly as important as the golf, which Nocki had amazing golf.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the reasons that disc golf is the best sport in the world. When else can you go through some of the best looking properties on the United States, sometimes not even touched by a saw, or an excavator. Just raw, natural beauty.

Nocki is that course that you go home and say, you know, that course was awesome. You tell you buddies about it over a couple of drinks, or just dream about the day you get to go back.

I feel like with more time and club work, this course moves forward and becomes a 5 star. I will know too, because I am definitely coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/17/2016   6/5/2016
Review By: Discjunkie84
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Big course with scenic views. Tests all of your disc golf abilities. Both 9 hole loops bring you back close to parking lot. Love a course where par is a good score and this is one of the few
Cons: A bit rocky and in peak vegetation it can be rough in spots. It's a big course and is a lot of work to keep whole course perfectly manicured.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

this course will nock you around

5+    2/27/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: PhotoGuy98
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is one of the most challenging courses I've ever played. Great variety of fairways (uphill, downhill, dogleg left, dogleg right, tunnel, wooded, open, etc). Bring your "A" game! Very scenic.
Cons: Course can be brutal some some. Terrain can be treacherous.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. I wish I was closer.

If you want the ultimate challenge, you must play this course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but "Caveat Newbie"

1    6/24/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: Mobro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course. It would be nice just as a hike in the woods.
- Diverse holes with changes in fairway width, elevation, water hazards, and doglegs.
- Well maintained. The fairways were obvious.
- Intuitive layout. On some holes there were no signs to the next tee but just followed the paths and the next hole location was obvious. The only one that tricked me was the transition from hole 4 to 5 (old numbers 13 to 14).
Cons: - Not "cons" really but warnings for new players.
- Many reviewers stated this course is intended for more experienced players. THEY ARE NOT KIDDING! I have only been playing since last summer so I am a newbie, and I found this a very difficult course to play. I lost two discs. I only parred one hole. I hit almost as many trees as baskets. I landed in OB water twice. If you are easily frustrated, this course is not for you (yet).
Other Thoughts: - Wear supportive shoes! The fairways are very rocky at times. This course is a hike through the woods, not a walk in a field.
- Bring a bottle of water. If you can't carry one with you have one in your car that you can drink after hole 9 before hitting the back nine.
- Bring some extra discs, if you have them. I lost two and if I hadn't brought extras I would have finished the course with just my putter.
- This is a great course. I am glad I played it even though my game was poor. I am sure I will enjoy it even more as my skill level increases.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long Course

5+    5/22/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: KevinTuckerman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that truly utilizes the landscape and topography of upper Bucks County. Every hole is unique in design. Very challenging, very long. Easy to navigate. A super course.
Cons: Some of the "Pros" need to be restated: Very challenging, very long. It will take a while to play this course. Double the time it takes to play an average par 54 course. The rough is ROUGH. Don't expect to see basket until after your first (and sometimes second) shot on some holes. Signage is OK but faded and should be re-done or replaced.
Other Thoughts: Drive accuracy is rewarded here. Love this course but need to plan the time to play. Some very rocky fairways.
Since the course is two 9-hole loops, they can and have reversed the map layout. 1 is now 10 and 10 is now 1. The hole that overlooks the lake and marina 6 is now 15. Hope this helps.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hardcore disc golf!

1    5/2/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 29.1 Years
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW! This course was fantastic!

You looking for challenge? Nocky has it.

How 'bout natural beauty? You found it.

This monster demands respect yet treats its guests with fair play and beautiful, rugged terrain.

The reputation of Nockamixon's long, narrow fairways had me skeptical upon arrival. There is not much that irks me more on a course than ridiculously convoluted fairways. This course is fair. Whew. My biggest concern behind me.

Now the bonuses kept rolling in.

The diversity was through the roof. There was nice elevation, including a shot out toward the boat docks to a pin precariously perched on a relatively steep hillside. Hole 7 is a nice 400+ ft, par 3, sail shot and hole 14 offered a gorgeous right hook shot through some early trees, over the creek, down to a reachable pin. Hole 10 was a sick, hard left hook that continued hooking for about 800ft. I wont bore with a hole by hole breakdown but I can assure you, the diversity kicked ass.

The rough was exactly as it should be. It makes your next shot tougher but you should leave with your entire bag of discs.

The mental aspect of this course is not to be underestimated. You will be presented with options on some holes but typically you will need to choose, and more importantly HOLD, long lines to achieve par. Pick your landing zones well. Don't expect pitch and putts or ace runs here.

I felt navigation was a breeze. Really, it was about the only simple thing on this course. The handcrafted signage and next tee signs were spot on.
Cons: The rocky ground can make footing a bitch. If you have weak ankles, wear shoes/boots with good ankle support. It's wise to take your time while choosing your paces in some spots.

This isn't really a con but this is not a course for everyone. Trust me, Nocky will beat down anyone lacking a solid, well rounded game.
Other Thoughts: This course really left an impression. It has so much to offer. I very much look forward to a chance to get back to play this one.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

1    2/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 53  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've ever played.

The course is long, and really well layed out. Lots of wooded holes, some nice water holes, and a few wide open holes keep things interesting. You need a perfect combination of power and precision to play well here.

It's a wooded monster with a lot of great views, and more variety than most.
Cons: I think it could use a few more water hazards to make things even more interesting.
Other Thoughts: This and sankanac are my favorite eastern PA courses by far.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven

1    9/8/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 62  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 15.4 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow...
-Extemely diverse: Each hole has a very unique personality...tight wood, open wood, tunnel shots, open field, major elevation changes, major demand for perfect execution amd accuracy...this is a course that will absolutely not bore you with repetition.
-Very difficult: The course without hesitation became my new benchmark when evaluating my level of playing. So long as you can direct your disc well and are willing to play smarter and not always go for a shot Chuck Norris would, you can survive here, though I recommend beginners to develop your game elsewhere. For intermediates, advanced, and open players...many throws/lines, every disc.
-Stunning vistas: hole 6 basket>lake view is breath taking and really steals the thunder from an otherwise beautiful look from tee #7 down a large hill with a tight fairway, lake on the right. The whole course is filled with grade A scenery..where to begin..see it for yourself, I can't do that for you.
-Good rubber tee pads and signs: most tee pads were in good shape and signs were effective in visually describing the hole (especially since on most holes, the basket is not viewable from tee pad). It was easy to find next tee as well.
-Narrow fairways that usually have one or two reasonable gaps.
-Wasn't busy on a fair weathered mid afternoon Saturday in early September.
-indoor bathrooms and a water fountain near tee pads #1/10
-very natural feel to the course: not too many times where there was much need for maintenance. Most fairways are mixture of rocks and grass, so there was only a few holes with a need to mow and maintain (they were maintained well).
-Almost everything I could ask for out of a DG course, except a low score ;)
Cons: -Don't mess up: hard to recover here...score can take a beating if you tree out early due to big distance and high expectations of par here.
-Though super cool when visible enough to add to the landscape, many of the fairways are covered in small rocks that make walking tricky at times. Be careful not to twist an ankle.
-No scorecards available to my knowledge.
-No trash cans on course: littering was not bad, but a trash can halfway through front and back nine couldn't hurt.
I can barely criticize this course....demands a great performance but otherwise unbelievable all around.
Other Thoughts: It's like this course tells a story. It's rare that a course has enough of a natural landscape and environment to provide the variety Nockamixon does. What a great experience.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: UT Discgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Love this course and try to play it every time i am on the east coast. Very challangeing mentaly and physchialy (humidty can be rough).
Cons: Holds water after rain, some review say soggy but i found it downright wet. I was prepaired and it wasnt an issue.
Other Thoughts: Definatly not recomended for beginners, and can make the best of us breakdown, but its the challange that will keep you coming back. Great place to grab a beer and food about 2 miles down the road.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center