Auburn, WA 
White River Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #12
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee (Summer Layout)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Fun Course

5+    10/10/2018   10/11/2018
Review By: antsofthesky
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes in the densely wooded park. Has a death hole right by the river, after the turn. I love that i could ruin my entire game or catch up a stroke here. Has some decent distance holes to air it out. Park is beautiful. Many garbage cans and benches.
Cons: Can get really busy with a bit of non golf park goes in the area.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses. I always make sure to hit it up during my week days off. Weekends are a bit of a bummer with how busy it gets, however i do not dock a course points just because its popular.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Summer Day

1    8/6/2018   8/6/2018
Review By: mwildi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice location, clear paths. Most holes were marked well. Brushy but not so thick that you can't find your disc. Near the White River which is really nice. Theres a campground here too so it would be fun to camp and play.
Cons: Strict on the no alcohol rule. During the summer they cut two baskets off of the main course because it's close to the campground area which was confusing but once we figured it out, it was fine.
Other Thoughts: This isn't at the main Game Farm Park, you have to go down the road a little further and cross the river to the Game Farm Wilderness park. Some guy at the regular game farm park noticed our discs and led us in the right direction.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2017   6/28/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42
This review was updated on 10/15/2018
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some really cool signature holes.Specifically the one down by the river. I understand why it's called white river! Nice benches and Very nice baskets, good mixture of holes and lengths. Backhand/forehand will have you throw multiple different shots. Has a summer and winter layout also pro and am pads
Cons: With having a summer and winter layout, and am/pro pads the course can get a little confusing. Can get crowded quite a bit of players and player traffic when I was there. Helps following locals if you don't know layout however could be slow rounds. It's got signs...but if you haven't played it before you might get a little confused or turned around
Other Thoughts: It's got a carved out duck on the course and is picture worthy for sure. One of the better Washington courses

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course if you’re in the area

1    2/24/2018   2/26/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 47  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee pads
-Good Baskets
-Very beautiful surroundings
-Challenging shots, but not too difficult where it isn't fun anymore
-Nice Paths
-ample parking
-Good tee signs
Cons: -Red Tees have no signs
-Red Tees are covered in mud and/or water which makes them slippery
-Hole 1 is tricky to locate if you haven't been there before
-Baskets are not very visible (even if they aren't blind shots)
Other Thoughts: This course, unfortunately, like most popular courses, has lots of recreational marijuana users. As someone who despises the smell and the 'vibe' pot smoking gives off, I find it incredibly disappointing. I don't count this against the course itself, but it is something to think about.
This is a very nice course, but it is crowded and in the middle of no where, if you are nearby you should definitely go, but if not, don't drive more than an hour for this one.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A River Runs Near it

1    4/27/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 194  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 15.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free course
- clean, well maintained fairways
- ample parking
- bathrooms on location
- benches
- multiple pin positions
- multiple tees. longs were concrete and the shorts were rubber matted.
- informative tee signs with distances
- great mix of technical, but fair - ways
- fairway rough helps create scoring separation, but aren't overly punitive on missed shots
- great directional signs attached to the bottom of the baskets
- only one hole presents the hazard of actually losing a disc
- RHBH / LHBH fairways design equally represented
Cons:

- paved trails through the course creates a hazard to pedestrians
- mostly flat
- nothing indicating pin positions
- no practice baskets
- tight fairways are not necessarily geared toward beginners
Other Thoughts:

It's my understanding this place can get pretty busy and the rough can be quite a pain. I came here on an overcast Thursday at 11:45 am in April and experienced no such annoyances. A majority of the pins were set in the longer configuration and I played from the longer concrete tees as well. There wasn't much wind either.

Most of White River's fairways reward smooth control over raw distance ability. There were a few longer open holes that appeal to bigger arms, a couple shorter holes for ace running, but a majority were somewhere in the 300-350 ft range and required a little finesse. The shorter holes allowed me to try some ace runs, but still enabled a reasonable save for par. I usually found my drives just at circle's edge on longer holes with a chance at bird. This is the kind of course that doesn't appear overly difficult; however, players will have their flaws exploited here if their fundamentals aren't sound.

Visually, the woods of Western Washington are truly unique and awe inspiring. There's also something about the muffled sounds of the woods mixed with the river that just feels relaxing. I'd love for it to be my local home course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/8/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: PNWTurnandFade
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disclaimer there are two courses here, winter and summer. Summer is a 3.0, but winter is a 3.5, but it's in the winter set up most of the year. It's in the summer set up as I write this, hence the 3.0.
An easily navigable course, good signs and trails.
Two tee-pads (red and blue) for most holes adds nice variation.
Well maintained course by a local disc golf shop owner, I play here often and I see him often out working on the course.
Good tee-pads.
Only one hole that's a to high risk for losing a disc, next to a river. All other holes are quite nice.
Challenging holes without being too frustrating.
Wooded but not too wooded, only 2 or 3 holes that are a throw and pray because of too many trees.
Cons: The summer course has three holes that are different than the winter course and they are not as good, it does change the whole feel of the course.
One hole too close to the river (for me).
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot, I play it at least 3 times a month, year round. Would recommend.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always a good time playing White River!

5+    8/3/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: DGNJO87
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Benches on nearly every hole.
- Blue (farther tees) and red (closer tees) on every hole.
- Tom is constantly maintaining the course making sure it meets/exceeds people's standards. The baskets are moved fairly consistently through the year it seems. There are a few holes that stay the same but at least half of them get switched around from time to time.
- Restroom at front of park.
- A good amount of shots that go up, down, right, left. It's a course that makes you think but it's nothing too extreme.
Cons: - Some holes are pretty vulnerable to lose your discs but as long as you know what you are doing (or at least have an idea and are playing with someone else) you should be fine. There are lots of holes with pretty bushy/brushy areas but most courses seem to be fairly heavily wooded and can have the same problem so it's probably not too much of a constantly trying to take care of that problem.
- Be careful throwing on hole 12 (river hole). Don't throw your favorite driver or anything you care about in case it rolls down the hill into the water. It's very easy to try to ace the hole and have your disc float downstream before you can see it.
- Lots of ants on most of the holes but I know Tom has been out there consis
Other Thoughts: A very nice, manicured, well thought out/designed course. Mark and Tom make sure everything around there is well maintained and up to par with their standards and making sure people want to come back there. If you are in the area, definitely recommended you check this course out! I constantly play there multiple times a week and love it every time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT course!

5+    1/10/2015   1/11/2015
Review By: Billy
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course! Set along the White River, it meanders through some nice old growth woods. Red tees are quite challenging. And then you can take it up a notch and play blues to really test your skills. .... The 1st couple of holes are reasonably tight shots through the trees. Then #'s 3-5 are out in a field (the 'winter' course that is). RHBH works well until #5, at which point you'll need a good sidearm. #6 gets really tight. Serious trees test your skills, but there are nice windows available. (stay right on #6 to make it a lot easier for your approach shot). ...#7 (the 'duck' hole) is pretty straight forward. Watch out for the serious deadfall tree hanging over the red tee (left over from a major storm in Nov.'14). .... #8 will also test your tree avoidance skills! ...Water doesn't get involved until #13. Some people are really afraid of 13, but it is an aceable hole. (just watch out for pedestrians on the path - the only real problem spot on the course, along with #18). ... #14 !!?? In the long position it is a serious par 5!! ..... At #16 the river can come back into play, but usually only for the real long throwers with a very errant 1st shot.
Cons: It could use more signage. MOST of the paths make this course pretty self explanatory. But #s 14 &16 could use some markers showing the way to the next tee. .... Some of the baskets can be hard to find if you don't know where to look (#3, #6 in particular, #14, and #16 when it's in the long position). ..... The course could use a few more trash cans scattered around. 'Locals' will try and pick up after others, but what is it with IDIOTS that can't fathom the idea that if you pack it in -- you also pack it out? ..... This is definitely a 'partying' course! If you're easily offended by the smell of marijuana then you might not like this course. But then again, if you're offended by it then you're probably playing the wrong sport!
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course and you should make it a point to play it. ......... This course DOES GET CROWDED. Play early and not only will you enjoy a terrific course, but you'll also meet some really nice local regulars. ..... FYI - the 1st tee is behind the picnic pavilion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Base

5+    10/29/2014   11/9/2014
Review By: DiscTribe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the best courses around. The more I play it, the more I love it. Every hole has its own personality. It is as if each is a signature hole.
Cons: It can get busy, real busy. In the summer you can wait in line forever. Luckily in the winter the course has a stark beauty to it and the lack of foliage makes it much easier to throw and find your discs. Of course, the lack of foliage also makes it so you are going to get soaked, but this is the northwest, deal with it.
Other Thoughts: I have a few other courses I love around here too, but White River is my home base and the course that made a serious player out of me. It and Mando's will always make me tip my proverbial hat. This is what I love about dolfin'.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First round

1    10/19/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: pnwooki
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wonderful layout.
-challenging lines from the blue tees through the trees, really putting your abilities to the test.
-great to walk though, the course it cut through a old forest with some of the holes running next to the river.
-good mix of long and short holes even with it being in winter layout, can't wait to play summer!
-benches by most of the tees.
Cons: -this course needs marking up in a super bad way, in fact that is why i didn't give this course a 4.5 or 5.
- there are little wooden pegs by the launch pads but those are hidden or obscured by the underbrush and are maybe 10 in high. these need to be bigger!
-the baskets also need some marking in the way of a flag or some sort of eye catching marker in a massive way! also a little marker or something pointing to the next hole would be nice.
-my buddy and i had to walk a couple of holes to even see the basket visible high contrast basket markers would fix this. (spray paint the baskets orange)
-some tees are rubber mats which were slippery after walking through the grass.

Other Thoughts: my buddy and i caught up to a local who plays the course on a regular, after chatting for a couple of mins he offered to "guide" us around. turns out this guy has played the course 3x a wk for the last 2 years. it was great playing with this guy and getting to play with someone who knows the really good lines and how to avoid the tricky spots. he also knew where all the baskets are!
all in all this is a 4.5 course but since it since its poorly marked i'm only giving it a 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.