Urbana, IA 
Wildcat Bluff Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #14 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 479ft.   3 / 479ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Best Course in the Area

5+    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: BriMar
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: -More than 18 holes
-Beautiful, really well thought out
-VERY challenging
-Easy to navigate
-Can camp just a few feet away from the course and camp ground has water access for boats/kayaks
Cons: -VERY challenging
-No water challenge hole, through there are a few small creeks that run through the course when it's not too dry
-Can get busy on weekends
Other Thoughts: I'm new to the sport but I love this course and I try to challenge myself to it every weekend (I live only a mile north). It's not east and I fail more than I succeed, but it's such a beautiful, well design course that I always chalk it up to experience and a good hike. A lot of experienced players love this course and I see them there every time I go. Not too bad to find, take the southern Urbana exit off I-380, drive into Urbana, turn south onto Union Dr. and keep going south until you see the sign for Wild Bluff Recreational Facility on your right. It's the first road (gravel ) before you cross the river. Have fun!

incredible

1    9/26/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -extremely well thought out holes.
-great signage
-amazing detail and care taken
-great pads
-great baskets (nice touch being orange for visibility)
-wonderful elevation, creek, ravine, meadow, forest use.
-very challenging, but fair for slightly better than intermediate to advanced players.
-requires multiple discs and knowing how to use them.
-birdies and double bogies available. probably more double bogies, but fair.
Cons: seriously? this course is too great, that is its only flaw. sorry, sounds dumb, but its true.
Other Thoughts: every hole is as a dream hole, and the signature hole at most courses. hole for hole, this is the best disc golf course i have ever played. this is the course i vision in my head when i dream up a perfect disc golf property. so well thought out and so perfectly done it is unfair to overword. if you are ANYWHERE near this and i mean 200 miles or less, do not miss wildcat bluff.
tough, fair, BEAUTIFUL!!!
just down the road is 45 min. is shaver park in cedar rapids making it an incredible 1-2 punch.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

iowas best course

2-4    7/20/2014   4/28/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great land ,with a awsome design , epic downhill fairway with staircase . hole 17 is one that stands out in my mind too
Cons: hard place to find ,down some backroads
Other Thoughts: onlything missing here was a water hole really pretty place

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite course

5+    11/3/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I bot love and hate this course. It's a beautiful quiet secluded course that can and will test your abilities. It is well maintained and has a variety of shots needed for the course. Tee pads are excellent, tee signs are informative, and it is rather easy to navigate. If you like a heavily wooded course with some hills thrown in you would love this course..
Cons: Some holes are easy to lose a disc. There is no cell service except for a few holes like 7, 8, and 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall best course around. Play it if you ever get the chance

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The best course in Iowa!

5+    6/7/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: mdeeter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a ton of great holes and a beautiful layout.
+ It is well cared for and maintains its stature throughout the year.
+ The baskets are moved regularly and there are multiple pads on many of the holes.
+ The hole signage is gorgeous.
+ Well shaped fairways - even though you're in the woods a ton, every hole has multiple options.

I love playing this course, definitely one of my all-time favorites!
Cons: - Stay close to the fairways... some of the holes have some thick rough if you get too far off.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/23/2016   6/4/2016
Review By: MarkDSM
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 45.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One astonishingly beautiful hole after another.
Active and thoughtful course maintenance
Seasonal camping directly onsite
Constant rotation of pin positions with indication on teesigns
Art on the course, spot the mushrooms
Navigation signage
Great welcome kiosk with info, scorecards, and donation box
Front and back loops from hole one
Cons: Mild walk to main campground for water and toilets
Spotty cellular and radio signal on course


Other Thoughts: Walk in 10$ primitive camping with fire rings to the north of hole one is very awesome. (i love it !)
Nearest full disc shop is Titan Disc Golf in Cedar Rapids located at Shaver Park. (search Titan Disc Golf - Facebook)
A few other good courses within 45 minutes to include onsite camping at Sugar Bottom in Solon, Iowa
Check Wildcat Facebook page for tourney days
Limited services in Urbana a mile north on the course. One large convenience store (Casey's) and one bar with simple food (The O-Zone at 309 W Wood St)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Superb

2-4    4/7/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Log242
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging
Fun
Additional Holes
Additional pads to throw from
Nature
Cons: Muddy
Wet (Depending upon last rain)
Other Thoughts: This year I'm making it an objective to play some different courses and this is the second new course that I've discovered and I'm glad I did. It's the most fun and challenging course I've ever played. Granted, I've played a handful of courses, but it has the credentials of being one of the best I'll ever play.

I ended up playing 4 rounds of 21 and I still feel like I haven't had enough if that says anything.

Personal Best (out of 18 and all par 3):
0 2 1 2 0 1 0 1 1 0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 0 (+20)

Definitely a must practice course. If you want to have a tough practice, I would recommend this if you want to improve your game.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Iowa

5+    3/29/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 128  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: There is camping right next to the course.
Many Varieties of shots.
Well manicured.
Great elevation change with some holes you would never expect to see in Iowa!
Cons: The only con is that this course is really hard in the long position, but that isn't really a con.
Other Thoughts: This is the course by which I judge all other courses. I have not played a better course in Iowa and I have played 50+ Iowa courses.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Iowa Course

5+    11/28/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: caleb1989
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easily the best course I've ever played, it is primarily wooded only open hole is hole 1. The course is well laid out and marked, every hole have signs and a lot of holes have two tee pads. There are multiple basket locations and are moved pretty regularly sign is marked to let the thrower know which location the basket is in. Is extremely technical but a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Hard to come up with anything, is on public hunting land so they recommend your wear orange during hunting season.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic Course, fun to play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, challenging course

1    8/23/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tees are in real good state of repair, benches and signs are really good also.
Great opportunities for a variety of shots (forehand, backhand, rollers, tomahawks). Definitely a course that demands a player think and execute well. Didn't encounter a single hole that didn't reflect good thought (none are boring, simple, straightforward bomb it, putt it kind of holes). You will get a good walking workout and a challenging round.
Cons: Parking is a bit limited, but no big deal. Best bet when really busy is to park in the RV area and make the short walk in (which is really only about 100 feet - probably not a problem if you are playing disc golf, right?).
Other Thoughts: Sure, some drives are very tight and that's expected when playing a tough course.
There are some very cool stump carvings around the course (some appear to still be in progress). Coolest one (to me) is a gigantic morel mushroom.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.