McMinnville, OR 
Wortman Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #7
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun, challenging technical course

5+    8/16/2016   8/16/2017
Review By: handwasher
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of trouble to play around, with trees pretty much affecting every hole.

Nice to have a 12 hole course instead of just another 9 holer
Cons: You will hit trees. All the time.

Pedestrians are oblivious, and the park is popular.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keep it low and enjoy your time in the woods.

1    7/8/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: Gooddude
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: tee boxes, easy to read online map. Plenty of tees for shade. shorter holes. Flush toilet restrooms on site! nice city park, with picnic tables, playground, and walking trails.
Cons: Trees, Trees, Trees. on #10 it becomes tree city, good luck. other park goers can be oblivious to flying discs. alt 12 holes overlap and can slow play.
Other Thoughts: Really nice set up, a little more effort to mark the tee boxes would help. Keep your shots low,

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical player's paradise

1    7/15/2016   7/17/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 42  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a nice 12-hole course in a well maintained city park in McMinnville, OR. Mature trees and a small creek frequent this property.
-Both forehand and backhand shots are nice to have here. You have to be precise to avoid the trees.
-There are enough trees to make it challenging, but the holes are short enough for beginners.
-The holes vary nicely in length. They range from 200 to 350 feet.
-My favorite holes were #4, a long straight shot with the basket perched on the other side of the creek, and #12, a nice downhill finishing hole, also with the basket on the other side of the creek.
-A map is posted on the path to #1. Take a picture of it, as the course isn't well marked.
Cons: -This course could really use some signage. There were numbers on the baskets, and some of the teepads, but many times the numbers were worn off.
-Basket #6 was ruined. The cage was not horizontal, and the entire basket could be spun around.
-The teepads were very tiny and some of them cracked.
-There were a couple of stupid, "throw and hope you somehow miss all the trees" type holes. Holes 1 and 10 in particular were like this.
-Many pedestrian paths wind through this course. Expect to wait.
-There's quite a lot of dirt. I would expect this course to get very muddy in the winter.
Other Thoughts: -To play well here you need a good Val Jenkins-type low shot. Some tree trimming would open up more shot options on many of the holes.
-This is a fun little course. If you were the only person there you could make up many fun safari holes.
-If you're in the area, I'd recommend it. Sure, there are too many people walking through on the paths, but the course is a lot of fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice local 12 hole course in park

2-4    12/15/2015   1/13/2016
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A nice variety of holes, obstacles, gaps to hit
- not overly technical, not overly challenging either
- Decent length on some holes to bring out a driver (not just a short course)
- some wooded shots
Cons: - No tee signs
- Can be difficult to navigate the first time (have to look for next tee pad, no signage)
- Some winter slop/water, but not horrible compared to other courses around here
Other Thoughts: Usually very easy to get 12-24 holes in here. Not overly used on any of the times I have played. Fun course, great for practice and growing a beginner-intermediate game, and worth stopping by if you are doing a few courses in a day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cram Brle

1    11/10/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Wortman provides technical shots, short and long holes and a fun variety of shot types.
-The course is fairly balanced with short/long, tech/open, and RHBH/LHBH.
-Wortman park is a well manicured park.
-The course has a set of alternate tees
-Nice bathrooms near the parking lot
Cons:
-Poor, short and unlevel teepads often uneven with the ground and make run-ups awkward.
-This course has no signage which if you don't know where you're going is a bit confusing.
-Also confusing is the layout, without a map or any signage, knowing where to go is not easy.
-Some of the baskets are near property lines and errant shots run the risk of going into backyards of park neighbors.
-The holes feel pretty crammed together, especially when factoring in the alternate tees and all the crossing fairways they create.
Other Thoughts:
-This is fun little course one that, if you live in the area, could be played regularly. However if traveling for more than 30 minuets it's probably not worth the trip. Maybe just for the occasional 'change it up' type round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wortman Park

5+    8/18/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
Pros: -12 holes
-Set in a really nice and lush city park
-Pretty challenging for the beginner
-Has plenty of shade for those middle of the afternoon summer rounds
-2 bathrooms on the park grounds
-Good park to bring the family along with, stroller friendly.
-Box with map and scorecard behind 1st tee box
-"Back 12" adds a few different looks at the holes
Cons: -Tee pads are maybe 2.5 feet wide and 6 feet long
-A few of the baskets need some work
-Only signage is on back of tee box spray painted
-Some fairways cross walking paths
-Lots of opps to chop down some trees with your discs
-Can get very soggy during wet months
Other Thoughts: Living in Newberg, this course is still too close not to play on a routine basis. Make sure that if your playing for the first time you take someone that knows the course. The course is mostly flat with a creek that runs right through the middle of it.
And also, there is a local tourney every Tuesday night during the spring and summer.

 

1    7/20/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 60  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open park setting. Course is cared for. Nothing too long so it's good for families. Good tte boxes.
Cons: Some holes near creek/ditch could be wet/muddy after raining. Needs better signage. Watch out for picnic'ers.
Other Thoughts: Overall good smaller course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick round

1    8/18/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course (12 holes) in a little over an hour after meeting a local on the first tee to show me around. I was really surprised at how well the course was set up for such a multi-use park. Good use of the little elevation there is out there and the variety of shots is awesome - never thought that I would be forehanding, backhanding, and tossing thumbers when I walked up to the first tee.
Cons: There were kids playing around on one of the baskets, but thye got the idea and moved out of the way for us to play through.
Other Thoughts: I was driving to a job site in McMinnville and saw a basket in the park. Not knowing anything else, I stopped on the way back to Portland and had a great time. The local were friendly and helped me navigate the course. All in all, glad I stopped to play the course and will be hitting it up again!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/29/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: JonnyQuest
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -open course with some tricky shots.
-great variation of open to tight wooded holes.
-well maintained
Cons: the locals extra 12 holes can really be dangerous or just annoying because they use the same baskets as the 1st 12 holes. but of course we let the locals play through.
Other Thoughts: great course for a quick game, i really enjoyed the layout and hole design. next time we go were gonna play 2 rounds.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasently Surprised

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a highly underrated park, being from Seattle I had heard nothing of this course so I had low expectations as I have heard a lot about most Oregon courses and I was very happy to see a decent little park. There are plenty of thought provoking and challenging holes out here to make this a really fun place to play. There was even a sign on the course that told you about the local league and where to buy discs. A little water creek ran through parts of the course that put the thought of going out of bounds in your head and the basket locations here are well done. Some reviews before me have spoke of navigation issues and though there is no sign telling you of the course or where to start I found it fairly easy with most concrete tees being in site of the previous basket.
Cons: It's a little hard to find the course and where to park and then hole one is a little far away at least from where we parked at. Though concrete tees are nice it would be nice to have them be longer than three feet. This place is just dying for a course bulletin board, and all types of signage.
Other Thoughts: It looks as if the locals have made other tee pads to round this out to 18+ holes but with no signage it is hard to know how it's supposed to be played but safari golf is a fun way to go here anyway. I can't see much more they could of done to utilize the area or make better holes which is nice; so many small local parks are so horribly designed but whom ever was working on this did a great job to maximize potential.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.