Appling, GA 
IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 10/2011)
Course Entrance



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Picturesque, long, technical, elevated goodness

1    3/21/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 395  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage is great, providing the player with all the necessary info, hole layout, distance, OB, etc. Tee pads are ample and allow for a proper run up.
Highly visible Innova Discatcher baskets. Good directional arrows to keep you on the right path. Trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Solid mix of dog leg L an R playing holes. Great mix of short, moderate, and longer holes.
Good solid lines that need to be hit in order to score well but aren't so unforgiving that you can't redeem yourself to save par. Great elevation changes to keep things interesting.
This course has both up and down playing holes as well. Threat of roll a way putts are present giving a few holes that added pucker factor.
Holes 11-13 give you a bit of a break from the long holes and will offer you some chances to pick up some birdies.
This course has length to several holes and is the longest course on the complex.
This is a John Houck designed course so you know its going to be solid.

Cons: Some of the transitions between holes were a bit lengthy like 2's basket to 3's tee, 7's basket to 8's tee. This slows the flow of the round down a bit but its not a deal breaker.
Some of the gulleys, which are OB, are a bit steep so getting your disc back and then getting back up to flat land could be treacherous. Please use caution.
These cons are minor however.
Other Thoughts: This is one of 3 courses that can be found at the International Disc Golf Center. It is pay to play, $3, and is the bargain of the year and totally worth it. This course has the most length of the 3 courses on the complex. I have played several courses over the years and this course was one of the best challenges that I have faced to date. The variance in the elevation changes, and the technical shots that each hole presented, along with the length of many of the holes will test all aspects of your game. There are some holes where you have to have some good distance in order to set yourself up for the next shot but its not wide open. You will need to hit your lines in order to score well here.
I found myself being challenged both mentally and physically and I didn't mind one bit. I would drive back from Kansas in a heartbeat to play any one of these 3 courses.
Do yourself a favor and plan a trip to the IDGC and play all 3 of the courses in this complex. Make a day of it and tour the Disc Golf Hall of Fame and PDGA headquarters which are on site. If you love quality disc golf and the history of the game then this place will be heaven to you. I can't wait until I can return someday and relive this experience. So worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

What every course should be

2-4    11/26/2016   12/8/2016
Review By: hellbound
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great uses of land that challenges and rewards for successful landings scrambles.

Far ob with some challenging slopes baskets play on or near.

Benches, Score cards, pencils are all added bonuses.

90% of the holes are of beautiful quality and make you wish that you lived closer.

Feel like a pro when you hit your lines.

2 other courses on the property. With Jackson being the best followed by ed.
Cons: Few of the holes are lack luster but how can you really build a championship course that has all the holes 5.0 quality without a tweener here and there?

I only list this as a con for some people pay to play. I don't mind paying to play. Keeps the chucker from ruining the experience.

So much course its hard to enjoy everything in one day.
Other Thoughts: I always find it hard to review a course. Everyone is looking for top of the top, over inflating, and just unexperince to multiple types of courses. Jackson in its own right is up at the top with course like flip city, maple hill and others that come to mind. Granted I have only played one of the top 10 courses in the United States but cant underestimate the quality and attention Jackson gets.

Set on a County Park the IDGC hosts three top level courses with Jackson in my mind the center piece of the jewel. Par 4 and more await you as you attempt to master a course that a meer average golfer could get discouraged and left scratching your head. Hole one starts you out easy and leaves a feel good feeling until the fun begins. As you move on deep and deep holes start to punish you, hyzers, anhyzers, pitchouts and forehands await. Even at one point you head back up to the IDGC and leave yourself wondering if I will attempt the rest of the round.

Of all the holes at the property hole 10 stands out the most to me. You stand on the tee box just outside the proshop and look back into the woods. Its an overwhelming feeling in my book and makes me wonder what its like to play MPO at big events.

If your ever in the area I would make a stop and try to knock out two courses. Make sure to play Jackson first before the others. You will thank me later.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hard but fun! And what a bargain!

1    7/10/2013   4/20/2016
Review By: Discgolffiend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played all three courses for $3 entrance fee. Bargain.

Some of the par 4's and 5's through the woods here are epic, every line worked out to perfection. As with all houck designs the thought that has gone into every single detail is immense. He's a master of the par 4's and 5's

Tough tough course, you've got to work so hard to stay on the fairways and hit the lines to attack for birdies, and there is no shame from coming away without any. it's a true Gold standard course. great challenge, not one to bring a first timer!

Rough is tough but fair, you should find your discs even on the worst of ricochets
.
Great amenities in the park and two other gold standard courses on site.
Cons: I love most of the holes - I love par 4 and 5 golf and this isn't just lengthened par 3's but well thought out landing zones and multiple routes. It's Houck at his best.

Apart from hole 3 and 12/13.

3 - It's just frustrating. I like a par 4 where a driver off the tee isn;t an option but this hole I just can't see where the separation in scoring will come from.

I tried just about everything in the bag to get a good look at an Eagle, best I had was some weird backhand roller that I don't think I could ever replicate which gave me about a 90' upshot. The worst results were bad. Very bad. The only sensible option off the tee was a standstill putter hyzer have a 150' upshot take the three. Going for a 2 was a hiiiiigh chance of 4, 5, or worse. but taking the three was ridiculously easy with just a bail out off the tee. Couldn't see the reward for trying anything more, Disappointed with this one.

Now 12/13 (I'm calling it that as they are basically the same hole). Hmmm. I carry a lot of putters, both are a lovely length for a putter on a straight shot with a soft non skippy landing possibly if I could shape it with a slight anny to match the slope of the land.

But it's a total crap shoot when you land as to what's going to happen. I threw them all, I threw them all again, most stuck for easy 2's a fewkicked and rolled OB for 4's' 5's (I assumed the creek was OB) Couldn't tell you any difference between the good or bad. One hit the pole and went OB after tottering on its end for an eternity. Too much punishment totally down to the luck of the gods.

Two holes that could be hugely improved with a levelled landing zone around the basket or a retaining wall/logs 15' to the right of the basket, outside that fine, no issues with rolling in the water. It's the pretty much perfectly placed shots where luck is key.

It's also a shame that 3 short par 3's are squeezed together in the middle of the course.

Misses a standout feature in the land - creek is nice, and use of the terrain is superb, but you don't come away with a wow experience.

Honestly and it seems petty reading it but the tees sign graphics are boring and give no idea of the drama awaiting you. Would love to see a bit more detail on them and for more measurements - how far to that gap, that split etc. I'm pretty sure some of the measurements are wildly off anyway so maybe that wouldn't be much use!

Edit* it was over 2 years ago I played this so maybe the graphics have changed reading some of the reviews below. My memory of them was yes they would tell me it was a dog leg, but that was it, no indication of the tightness of anything else? I just like lots of info on tee signs!
Other Thoughts: Reading back my cons seems to outweigh the pros. So ignore my moaning. The course is excellent, the design is nearly all as good as it can be and you'll hugely enjoy your time playing here.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Most Challenging Course at the IDGC

5+    9/21/2014   7/4/2015
Review By: Discette
Played: 362  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had the honor of playing this course at the Tim Selinske US Masters in 2010 and again for the United States Women's Disc Golf Championships. This is the longest and most challenging course at the IDGC.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Pros

IDGC -Worth the Trip
IDGC is a disc golf destination with three excellent disc golf courses on site. The IDGC houses the PDGA headquarters, Pro Shop and Disc Golf museum. Players can pick up custom discs and shirts in the pro shop. There is a large warm up area and putting green of the back deck of the IDGC building. Fun and amazing place to warm up before the epic rounds begin. The WR Jackson course is the longest of the three courses.

Par 69
This is a beautiful and challenging Par 69 Championship course. The best part of the design is that it requires placement shots from players off the tee and on the fairway. If you are playing more than one course at the IDGC, plan to play this course when you are fresh as it is long and requires a lot of energy.

Two Nines
I love that the front and back nine both start from next to the IDGC building. This means you can stop by your car or the Pro shop on your way from 9 to 10. Or you can start the round on Hole 10 and play the back nine first. It is great to be able to take a small break between nines.

Multiple Routes
This really is a thinking man's course. Many of the holes have divided fairways. Players can choose if they would like to traverse the hole to the left, right, or the middle. Multiple fairways adds to the challenge as the more times you play the course, the more you are tempted to try the alternate routes.

Exclusive to Disc Golf
As with all courses at the IDGC, the course is reserved just for disc golf. You never have to worry about some random jogger, dog walker or picnicker in your fairway. If you see anyone but a disc golfer on the course, one of you is lost.

Wooded and hilly
This course is the most wooded of the three. However, it does have nice open wide grassy fairways on most of the holes. The rolling terrain means there are elevation changes on many of the holes. This course is really a great use of the land and highlights the beauty. You feel miles away from the world while playing here.

Water Holes
There are no lake holes on WR Jackson, but water can come into play from the small stream winding through the course. Players should have no problem retrieving discs that go into the creek, unless it just rained and the water is high.

DISCatchers, Signs and Benches
There are signs on all tees with basic graphics and hole information. Many of the holes also have benches. Hole 8 has a really nice shelter area. This course uses DISCatcher Targets. The yellow band on the targets makes them easy to spot in the woods.

Restrooms
IDGC has restrooms while open. The course is heavily wooded, so there are plenty of opportunities for privacy during the round.

Parking - First Tee
The IDGC has a large parking area. Follow the signs for disc golf when you enter. You should be able to spot a target or two on your way in. . Park on the left side of the lot so you can stop by the car from 9 to 10. The first tee for WRJackson is behind the IDGC on the left side of the practice area.

Worth the entry fee
The courses are free to play, but the park has a daily entry fee per vehicle. A small price to pay to enjoy such an epic disc golf experience.
Cons: Championship Course
As mentioned by others, the stretch of holes from 11 to 13 seem quite out of place. This is a premier Championship Level course and IMHO, this stretch is not to that level. These holes are also randomly punitive in tournament play. Casual players do not have to play the creek and across as OB for more enjoyment.

Routing
There are a couple of long and potentially confusing walks during the round.

Guardian Trees
I am not of fan of guardian trees. Many holes on WRJ have a group of tree surrounding or among the 10 meter putting circle. This means you finally get down a 600 or 700 foot hole, only to find a couple of trees guarding the route to the target.

Other Thoughts: Pay to Play
While the courses are actually free to play, you do have to pay a fee to enter the park. The entry fee is well worth it.

Worth the trip
Some things are worth repeating. The IDGC is worth the trip. You get to experience three top notch courses in a top notch facility. Everything you would expect in a disc golf destination.

Lake with Camping
The park has a lake with day use areas, beaches, boat ramps and overnight camping. There are several campground areas available with many spots right on the lake. You can go swimming off Hole Holes 4 and 5 on the Steady Ed course in search of your lost discs.

IDGC is a 5 disc destination and the challenge and setting of WR Jackson is 5. The amenities and experience are all 5 discs. This course earns a 4.5 as it just misses the highest mark.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Put on your Big Boy Pants...

1    4/2/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 174  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is considered the most difficult of the three at the IDGC, and I agree. It is crazy long, with an average hole length of over 500' and a course par of 69. I didn't time my round, but wouldn't be surprised if I was out there for three hours.


What sets this course apart from most others is the excellent design of the par 4 and par 5 holes. These are not just stretched out par 3's, but rather holes that require a drive to a specific landing area to properly set you up for your next shot. Cranking out 400' drives isn't going to get you anything if you cannot hit your line. Better a modest, but accurate drive than a long one out into the trees.

Many of the holes offer two or even three different lines to play. Having a choice of BH or FH adds interest to many of the shots.

Like the other courses, good level concrete tee pads with perfect texture. The usual excellent John Houck signs with accurate hole diagrams, routes to the basket, etc. Baskets are all in good shape and catch well. And plenty of "next tee" signs to aid navigation.

The course is set up so that you loop back to the parking lot/pro shop after Hole 9. This is handy if you need to pick up additional discs, water or a snack.

The forest in which the course is built is a beautiful plot of land. The various courses are separated from the rest of the park, and you feel like you're alone in the woods while playing.
Cons: The only thing that keeps this course from being a 5 for me is the lack of "something else", like water or significant elevation. The Steady Ed course has some great water holes, and the Warner course offers plenty of elevation. This course lacks either of those elements.

The other potential "con" for some folks is that this is a tough course, plain and simple. If you don't enjoy a challenge I'd suggest skipping it and playing the other two.
Other Thoughts: Great pro shop on site, along with the PDGA museum and hall of fame. The location itself (Wildwood Park) is a great place to camp. We spent four nights here and enjoyed ourselves.

The modest fee to play ($3 a day for PDGA members) is more than fair, considering how nice these courses are.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 9325ft

1    1/19/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 144  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jackson is LONG and wooded. Coming in at 9325 this course is probably the longest of the 100+ courses I have played. It really challenges your physical game as well as your mental game. Most courses that set out to be "Long" end up with poor hole design which equates to less fun DG. This is not the case for Jackson. Houck's design is fantastic and a lot of thought appears to be put into every tree.

While Warner had the thick rough where you essentially add a stroke every time you get off the fairway, Jackson was a little more forgiving. While the rough here is definitely a tough out you still have the opportunity to save a stroke in most cases.

I loved the gulleys and creeks winding through the back 9 that add to both the challenge and the beauty on many holes.

There are so many fantastic holes on this course that it really is impossible to pick just one. My personal favorites would be holes 1,5, and 12.
Cons: I believe that the length of this course is both a pro and a con. It does not tailor to newer players, that's for sure and will even leave experienced players wondering why they still play this sport. It gets a little daunting when every other hole is 500+. Hole 10 is a beast.

Navigation gets a little tricky after hole 9. It leads you to two paths, one leading to the club house and the other back to hole 1 and it isn't immediately obvious where to go. A little sign is needed pointing you past hole 1's tee pad.

While the clubhouse is fantastic complete with museum and pro shop, I really wish there was more in the realm of food options. There is nothing out here and you are really in trouble if you brought no snacks. I think a food truck here would make bank.
Other Thoughts: This was the best $3 I have ever spent. $3 to play 3 incredible courses it really doesn't get any better than that. If you're serious about disc golf, you need to make a trip out to the IDGC!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Enter the Beast

2-4    6/26/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.9 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge teepads that are all equal and wonderful. Something that you'll find on each course out here.

DiscCatchers are on this course and they are all in excellent shape, it only seems fitting that the toughest of the three courses also provides you with a ringing sound of failure if you're a bit high on your putts.

An amazing amount of shot variety, close to what I would consider a perfect balance of up, down, left and right.

It's beautiful. Although I'd say Steady is the prettiest due to the water, all three of these are really lovely. Some of that Appalachian Beauty a la Dave242.

After you wrap up 9, you're right back at the clubhouse for a possible break,snack,drink, what have you, and you may want it if you're playing all three in one day.

Due to the length of this course it is extremely nice and appreciated to have excellent signage to help with your shot selection and also benches on every hole, huge plus.
Cons: To me, it's just not the most fun I've had on a course, it's probably not even in the top half in that regard. I'm a blue level player and this is a gold level course. I could still shoot even or maybe one or two better on a really, really good day but it won't ever be easy, which is where the "Other Thoughts" come into play.

Other Thoughts: This is an extremely rewarding course. If you're playing well you will probably be smiling a lot and having a great time. It is also very tough, but extremely fair.

Playing Steady Ed from the longs is more fitting for my skill level, which is probably why I enjoyed that course so much more. I'm an intermediate to advanced type player and Jackson is a beast. You will need to have distance, you will need to be accurate, but it is completely do-able to score well here.

Regardless of this course being challenging, it is still excellent. The layout is damn near perfect and you can't ask for much more in that sense, especially with two other great courses on the property.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A sweet piece of the pie

1    9/12/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A finely maintained 18 hole championship caliber course at the IDGC complex in Appling, GA. One of 3 courses on the property along with a great pro shop, practice baskets, picnic tables and gazebo. Everything you need for a phenomenal disc golf destination. Maps and scorecards are available in the pro shop and a large map is by the 1st tee.

Large concrete tee pads and well done signs at each tee pad. This course is fairly open and grassy in spots, and everything was trimmed and cut nicely. Undergrowth isn't bad and there really isn't a huge risk of losing discs until you reach the holes along the creek.

Great hole length variety. There is a 916' beast as well as a few holes under 300'. There is also a great mix of shapes and turns to the fairways. As far as FH, BH or even OH shots I never felt there was anything repetitive. I needed ever shot I had and then some just to hold my own.

If you like fair, technical golf this is the course for you. Many of the holes present you with a tee shot that offers up a landing zone to set up a second shot, and multiple fairways to the basket. Fairways are ample, but when you are throwing on holes from 600-900' there are many chances for errors. I also noticed that even if you hit some landing zones you soon realize you would have been better off on the other side of the fairway for the next shot. Or possibly even a little shorter to change an angle. There are some subtleties to this course that probably take a few rounds to understand. That makes it a lot of fun IMO.

While most of the course is long and somewhat open, or partially wooded, the back 9 does offer some nice, technical holes along the creek bed. This is also the area where elevation most comes into play.

Cons: Basket 13 is visible from 11's tee pad. Somewhat confusing as you step up to the tee pad. I had to walk down the fairway a bit to spot 11 and make sure I knew where I was throwing.

I wouldn't say there is an awe inspiring hole at this course. I couldn't easily choose what the 'signature' hole would be.

Navigation is somewhat long and wandering in spots. Be sure to bring the map.
Other Thoughts: While I didn't feel there was a truly great hole at this course, I also didn't notice any bad holes. The long partially wooded holes with multiple routes and landing zones are fun and offer players several ways to tackle a hole. It also makes the course more fun to play multiple times as there are different shots and tactics that could be used to improve your score.

The creek along the back 9 was very low when I played so I only had to fish my disc out of a few inches of water when I shanked a drive. But at certain times of the year the creek could be a real hazard. On holes 11-13 and 15 the baskets are also positioned on slopes to make the risk even higher. Fun holes to play, with tight lines and risky greens, but be prepared for some ricochets, rolls and wet discs.

This is definitely a great course, and offers something for every player. Open bombs, tight woods and even a little elevation to mix things up. I highly recommend a trip to IDGC, and a round at WR Jackson.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Kicked my butt

1    11/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 65  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Probably the hardest course my wife and I played on our recent trip to the southeast from Indiana. Also, it was probably the first course I've played which you could really tell was purpose built to challenge a professional level player of which I am certainly not.....(yet!). Though challenging, it's still fair. I literally used my whole bag and just about every type of throw throughout the round. I only wish we had time to play the other courses in the park.

-Concrete tees in excellent shape
-Professional signage throughout making navigating the course easy
-Excellent facilities. The practice facility was quite cool and had what looked to be every type of basket out there. (the indoor facility was closed when we visited the week of Thanksgiving so I can't comment on those)
-Pro-caliber layout
Cons: There were only 1 tee pad on each hole, though my wife and I saw evidence of flags marking what we presume to be a 2nd set of tees to be added later for ams and ladies.

Other Thoughts: We'll definitely be back someday.

It was $5/person, but well worth the money.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Challenge

1    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: cox3
Played: 445  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Distance, accuracy, and versatility were all very much required, yet virtually the entire course was completely fair.

Signage was great.
Cons: The only thing keeping me from giving the course a perfect rating was the lack of wowing features aesthetically.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads were okay.

The course was am extreme yet fair challenge and a pleasure to play.

The entire IDGC experience is first class.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.