Appling, GA 
IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Dewton25 Hole #18
5 / 726ft.   5 / 726ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Augusta Needs Too Learn How To Share.

1    7/22/2018   9/29/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 312  Reviewed: 301  Exp: 4.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.514 Rating) A monster course that will have Recreational players begging for mercy... and it was just made even more challenging late Summer 2018.
- DESIGN - When I think of a championship style layout, I image a course like this one. One fabulous fairway design after another. It requires a player's complete game. Power. Finesse. Hole Management and risk reward analysis. I don't think Houck got the primo section of the park, but he got the largest chunk and he used it magnificently. My favorite fairway designs were (1), (old 10, now new 14) and (18). I thought (18) was a dazzling way to punctuate a layout. An enormous valley bomb with fairway line options to choose from. Then the wide tunnel up-shot twists to the right and then back left. The top Pros will be gunning for 3s, but the chums like me will be thrilled with a 5.
- CHALLENGING - I played the Gold tees on Jackson as I wanted to see for myself what a top pro plays. From looking at the recent 2017 World Championship scores, it turns out that my modest +8 would have netted a 921 round rating. Even par at that event drew a rating of 976 and some guy named Wysocki shot -13 for a 1071. To me, this is championship caliber. All the lines at Jackson are hittable to score well. It just takes a lot of smart talented play to do so. On my July 2018 round, I got a bit lost in my transition between (7) and (8) and ended up playing one of the new holes across the path. Not sure what hole was it was, but it was long, a bit more open and had no basket. From comparing the data, the course I played was 9,681 feet and it's now 10,485 feet with the same par of 68. The shorty holes in the latter middle are gone. I can only imagine that this course got another two throws more difficult.
- UNIQUENESS - A par 68 layout with plenty of par 4s and a couple par 5s. Numerous doglegs and twisting fairways. Several multi-lane fairways and a plethora of tunnel fairways. Elevation is deceptively more than one would think. The final hole probably dives 40 feet down from the tee, only to rise back up 60 feet over the hole's 726 foot long fairway. Several other plays change by over 30 feet and I personally enjoyed all the undulations.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Stunning. The eye candy begins on hole (1) with a calendar worthy designed fairway with layered obstacles. Old hole (8), new (12), is a pleasing multi-fairway par 5. Unfortunately for some, the shorter par 3s, old holes (11), (12) and (13) are gone. Although I have not seen the new layout map, from knowing the old map and which holes remain, new (16) is likely a neat shot that crosses the creek. Nearly every fairway is sculpted threw heavy woods and the land's best features are used to the fullest. As of this review, with 310 courses in the bag, I'd put Jackson in my top 15 for beauty.
- CHARACTER - The basics on the course are well above average. The tees are great. 4 feet by 12 feet and tapering to 6 feet wide in back. Several newly poured front tees bringing that total to seven. Every back tee had seating, and most of them are shaded. The only layout of the three courses to rock DISCatchers and they were all in beautiful shape.
- SIGNAGE AND NAVIGATION - Great large course map posted at the entrance of the layout, although this is likely to be outdated as of the posting of this review. Even the IDGC home page doesn't have the new layout map posted yet. The tee signs looked great and were accurate. There are navigational posts between most baskets and next tees. My only grip is that I wish the navigational posts had hole #'s indicated on them. The course appears to be somewhat cart friendly.
- FACILITES - The extras away from the course are over the top. I guess that seems fitting for the PDGA headquarters. There's a huge pro shop. A comfortable air conditioned lounge area. A museum with one of Headrick's ash infused discs. There's vending and grills, a huge shelter, picnic tables and a 5 practice basket warm-up field. The combination of all of these features on and off the course very much added to my experience.
- MAINTENANCE - The whole IDGC is in wonderful shape. It appears crews rotate maintenance between the courses, so it's hard to imagine that one could show up here with horrible unkempt fairways unless continuous rains kept mowing from occurring weeks on end.
- LOCATION - 54 high quality holes in one location. This place is a whole day destination.

Cons: A big boy course, so it's not geared for the average Joe.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - I would not have enjoyed this course in my first year playing and possibly also my second year. Way too much power and precision is required. The fairway widths are more than fair to the higher skilled, but there are still a lot trees to weave around. Pinging a tree in the wrong direction will lead to 1 to 10 minute searches. I personally spent 20 to 25 minutes looking for errant shots. For Recreational level players throwing the backs, they will probable finish 15 to 25 over. Considering the updated layout distances, myself as an intermediate, might average 10 to 12 over from the backs. Although there are now front tees on 7 holes, even with this, I'd say the short layout reads as middle Advanced level. Please don't play this course unless you are ready or are ok with getting a beat-down. For those that don't like the long grueling courses, their best bet at the IDGC will be the Headrick short layout.
- PAY TO PLAY - I think I paid three dollars for the general park entrance fee and another three bucks for the daily greens fee as I'm a PDGA members. (Non-PDGA members have higher daily greens fees.) 100 percent worth it for this course by itself, but I could see this as a deterrent to some.
- TIME PLAY - I spent nearly two hours trying to tackle this one and it no doubt requires the most time to complete of the three courses. Figure 3 to 3 1/2 hours for a foursome.

Other Thoughts: I played Jackson second after Warner and it was the only layout here that I threw from the back tees. Wow, what an experience. One of my all-time favorite courses and now I have go back because there are 6 new holes to check out. Jackson is so good, it would be in my favorites among my favorites list. The test of my skills was exhilarating. The challenges presented were awe inspiring. The punishment was take-able with a smile, knowing that better result was achievable. It's really not fair for the residents of Augusta to have this many awesome courses in their area. Hey Augusta, I'll trade you Dublin Park, Drake springs and Greenbrier in Huntsville for the Jackson Course. No? Ok what about just hole (18) on the Jackson Layout? No? Ok, how about just the big tee surface area??? Seriously though, if you are a skilled played who's played more than a couple of years, you need to plan a trip to the IDGC. I'd give the conglomerate of the 3 courses a 5 rating if we scored multi-layout properties that way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

The IDGC Crown Jewel

5+    11/18/2017   11/21/2017
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 51  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Innova Discatchers

Onsite Pro Shop, restrooms, huge putting and upshot warm up area, and two other fantastic courses

Immaculately maintained, pretty much no litter, grass is cut regularly, woods are gorgeous

Benches on all long tees/single tees, all holes have informative and accurate tee signs

Next tee signs to aid in navigation, easy to find your way through the course.

Concrete tees

Good flow between holes, especially with the new layout (holes 2 and 7 used to be flipped)

Great balance of long and short holes, left and right doglegs, par 3, 4, and 5 holes. Requires a good, balanced game to do well

Overall great use of the creek throughout the course to create awesome risk-reward scenarios

OB is marked with ropes, makes it easy to tell if a disc is in or out

Discatchers have flags to show wind direction

Great use of elevation and mature trees

While most tees have trees defining the shot, there are few holes where trees are within 10-15 feet of the tee, so shots can be played without risk of striking the tree RIGHT THERE in front of you. Makes the course very playable, and when you do hit a tree, it's definitely your fault.
Cons: Let's talk about the elephant in the room first: Turkey Gulch, which is more like bogey gulch. Of the three holes (11-13), the only hole I'd say is a poor design is Hole 12. 11 and 13 are just technical holes, but there are ways to play those safely for par, and birdie chances are reasonable. Hole 12, on the other hand, is rather difficult to birdie, and while a par play is somewhat easy, it involves going OB. There is a very tight window off the tee which plays along a fairway that is basically just the side of a hill to a postage stamp green with a nearly vertical hillside beside it. Any shot which hits the side of the hill is pretty much going to pick up and roll, and so eh. It's just a really frustrating hole, and not in a super hard golf way, but in a "ohmygosh this is all luck" sort of way.

Rough is super rough; a "first cut" three to five feet in would be awesome to allow shots which are slightly off to still advance a bit, rather than the all or nothing look that the course currently has.

The short tees are still a beat down, so the course isn't really accessible to new players. This being the IDGC and the Steady Ed red tees being right there, it's not that big of a deal, but were this a stand-alone course, it'd be a big drawback.

Most holes are somewhat difficult to get to, so shotgun starts can be difficult to get to the course.

Some holes play close to each other or close to walkways, so in tournaments it can be a little distracting between holes. For casual play it's not a huge deal.

A couple fairways have a few too many trees to really have a fair line. The lines are there, it's just a tad bit unreasonable to expect people to hit the landing zones just right in a controlled way (Hole 5's second shot, hole 12's tee, and hole 17's long tee come to mind)
Other Thoughts: W.R. Jackson is the crown jewel of the three IDGC courses. There's just something about the course, when you step onto the first tee, that sets it above Steady Ed and Warner. Jackson has long, sweeping fairways playing through a wooded forest which blend short, technical woods golf with a premium on accurate distance drives. Although the course is rather long, there are only a few opportunities to really rip on a disc and let it fly. For the most part, the long holes require an accurate drive off the tee and an accurate second drive or upshot to even think about putting for a birdie, and even then the putts are not guaranteed. Even the par threes are going to require an absolute crush or miraculous long putt to get the 2 (for the most part). However, hit those lines exactly, and watch as the work is basically done for you. A birdie on any hole here feels like a true accomplishment. There are now some longer tees and shorter tees on some of the more difficult holes, but even these require a complete golf game to score well. Some of my personal favorite holes:

Hole 1: what an opening hole. The tee shot requires dodging several mature trees down the fairway, with either a straight to fade shot or anny flex shot required from the RHBH thrower to be in position to attack the second shot. The second shot is more of the same, but the trees are positioned now to define the access points to the basket. The green is one of the more tame greens on the course, with only a slight roll to the hill to provide a subtle change in elevation depending on where your disc lands.

Hole 2: Honestly, this is just such a fun tee shot.

Hole 4: The tees play down to a landing zone, with a smaller sweet spot but room to work if you don't hit it exactly. There are then two fairways to a pin on a hillside. Hyzers will tend to stick.

Hole 8: The first chance to really open up and rip a drive, Hole 8 plays down two rather open fairways to a meeting point. Don't let the width of the fairway fool you though, drift too far left or right and you'll lose a butt-ton of distance and be out of position. Once at the meeting point, you can either play another large fairway around to the pin, or take the much tighter straight shot to the pin. A ditch in front of the green and trees behind the pin making landing your shot well a must.

Hole 14 is a huge dogleg right off the tee. Throw a safe RHFH to get in position, or go big or go home with a massive sky anny distance shot. Fairway then plays up, over, and down a hill to a guarded green.

Hole 15 is a major risk-reward play. Throw a RHFH to get into position for an easy par, or try to pipe the fairway to get a look at an upshot for the birdie. The stream on the right plays OB, so be careful to not fade out early (I birdied it this past weekend for the first time ever by going forehand-forehand, so that is a play as well).

Hole 18: A monstrous par 5 to finish the round off, hole 18 is a fantastic finishing hole. The tee plays off one side of a hill, with the fairway following that hill down and the next hill back up. Trees off the tee dictate either a tight straight to fade shot to skip up the hill, or an anny flex or forehand shot to get into position. From there, you need to get to the top of the hill and a hard dogleg right, which plays along a tight fairway to a green with a faint left to right slope which gives forehand shots a huge skip out.

Overall, WR Jackson is a fantastic course. While a couple of the holes may have incredibly tight gaps or play along almost impossible to hit fairways, by and large this well manicured course has a lot to offer. If you can have a plan and play somewhat conservative on those holes, the rest are a blast. Every tee offers a unique look, and the combination of shots can't be beat. Overall, WR Jackson is definitely a must play course at the IDGC and in the Augusta area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Pretty much perfect

2-4    7/7/2017   7/10/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2017
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What can I say... this is pretty much the perfect disc golf course. It's insanely technical, has abundant length, and will test your skills as much as any other. There is elevation, risk/reward shots, clearly defined OB, concrete teepads, and just tons of fun.

Expect to throw just about every shot in your bag. Long straight drives, fades, turns, backhands, forehands, overhands... all of it. If you're a rec-intermediate level player, this place will probably chew you up... but it's fun. It feels good to get whooped by this course because if you can actually do good, it feels so much better.

Everything you need is here:

- Dedicated staff at facility
- Pro shop on site
- Plentiful parking
- Maintained grounds
- Tee signs on each hole
- Next tee direction markers after each basket
- Benches and shade coverings if waiting at teepad
- Practice area for putting and approaches
- Scorecards, etc available in pro shop
Cons: There really aren't many cons to speak of... maybe just the toughness of the course. You may also come across some wildlife such as snakes and spiders out there. If nothing else I would like to see this course have a couple of open holes. Every hole is unique, but they are all in the woods. That said, being in the woods is what this course is all about, so it's a total "nice to have" request in my opinion.

Also some of the holes run through a pretty tough section where discs can easily roll away into a small ravine. You can throw a great shot but just get unlucky with the lie. Watch the 2017 Worlds coverage and you'll see what I mean.
Other Thoughts: This is one course of three at the IDGC... and probably the toughest of the three. WR Jackson is one of my favorite courses out there. Many of the holes were lengthened for the recent Worlds tournament. It's definitely worth a visit if you're in the Augusta area. To make it a real adventure, camp in Wildwood Park (where the course is located). Reservations can be made online.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Picturesque, long, technical, elevated goodness

1    3/21/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage is great, providing the player with all the necessary info, hole layout, distance, OB, etc. Tee pads are ample and allow for a proper run up.
Highly visible Innova Discatcher baskets. Good directional arrows to keep you on the right path. Trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Solid mix of dog leg L an R playing holes. Great mix of short, moderate, and longer holes.
Good solid lines that need to be hit in order to score well but aren't so unforgiving that you can't redeem yourself to save par. Great elevation changes to keep things interesting.
This course has both up and down playing holes as well. Threat of roll a way putts are present giving a few holes that added pucker factor.
Holes 11-13 give you a bit of a break from the long holes and will offer you some chances to pick up some birdies.
This course has length to several holes and is the longest course on the complex.
This is a John Houck designed course so you know its going to be solid.

Cons: Some of the transitions between holes were a bit lengthy like 2's basket to 3's tee, 7's basket to 8's tee. This slows the flow of the round down a bit but its not a deal breaker.
Some of the gulleys, which are OB, are a bit steep so getting your disc back and then getting back up to flat land could be treacherous. Please use caution.
These cons are minor however.
Other Thoughts: This is one of 3 courses that can be found at the International Disc Golf Center. It is pay to play, $3, and is the bargain of the year and totally worth it. This course has the most length of the 3 courses on the complex. I have played several courses over the years and this course was one of the best challenges that I have faced to date. The variance in the elevation changes, and the technical shots that each hole presented, along with the length of many of the holes will test all aspects of your game. There are some holes where you have to have some good distance in order to set yourself up for the next shot but its not wide open. You will need to hit your lines in order to score well here.
I found myself being challenged both mentally and physically and I didn't mind one bit. I would drive back from Kansas in a heartbeat to play any one of these 3 courses.
Do yourself a favor and plan a trip to the IDGC and play all 3 of the courses in this complex. Make a day of it and tour the Disc Golf Hall of Fame and PDGA headquarters which are on site. If you love quality disc golf and the history of the game then this place will be heaven to you. I can't wait until I can return someday and relive this experience. So worth it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

1    4/2/2017   4/5/2017
Review By: ROTFLandmines
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great design
very well maintained
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: The whole IDGC experience is extremely unique, and the course design is fantastic. Id definitely recommend taking the trip just for the experience.

That being said, this was my favorite course out of the three. It was extremely challenging, but never felt repetitive or too punishing.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

What every course should be

2-4    11/26/2016   12/8/2016
Review By: hellbound
Played: 90  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great uses of land that challenges and rewards for successful landings scrambles.

Far ob with some challenging slopes baskets play on or near.

Benches, Score cards, pencils are all added bonuses.

90% of the holes are of beautiful quality and make you wish that you lived closer.

Feel like a pro when you hit your lines.

2 other courses on the property. With Jackson being the best followed by ed.
Cons: Few of the holes are lack luster but how can you really build a championship course that has all the holes 5.0 quality without a tweener here and there?

I only list this as a con for some people pay to play. I don't mind paying to play. Keeps the chucker from ruining the experience.

So much course its hard to enjoy everything in one day.
Other Thoughts: I always find it hard to review a course. Everyone is looking for top of the top, over inflating, and just unexperince to multiple types of courses. Jackson in its own right is up at the top with course like flip city, maple hill and others that come to mind. Granted I have only played one of the top 10 courses in the United States but cant underestimate the quality and attention Jackson gets.

Set on a County Park the IDGC hosts three top level courses with Jackson in my mind the center piece of the jewel. Par 4 and more await you as you attempt to master a course that a meer average golfer could get discouraged and left scratching your head. Hole one starts you out easy and leaves a feel good feeling until the fun begins. As you move on deep and deep holes start to punish you, hyzers, anhyzers, pitchouts and forehands await. Even at one point you head back up to the IDGC and leave yourself wondering if I will attempt the rest of the round.

Of all the holes at the property hole 10 stands out the most to me. You stand on the tee box just outside the proshop and look back into the woods. Its an overwhelming feeling in my book and makes me wonder what its like to play MPO at big events.

If your ever in the area I would make a stop and try to knock out two courses. Make sure to play Jackson first before the others. You will thank me later.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC

1    11/17/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 184  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has benches throughout the course

Has excellent tee signs (signs look better than the ones posted on this site)

Some holes have multiple lines to the basket

Has next tee signs posted throughout

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations

Challenging, long course with variety of pars (6 par 3s, 9 par 4s, 3 par 5s)

Nice scenery

Water comes into play on almost half of the holes where there's little risk in losing a disc due to the shallow creek

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Had whole course to myself on a Thursday afternoon

Has a storm shelter

Well-maintained

Has practice baskets from different manufacturers
Cons:
Long course can be demanding and intimidating to those not ready for a challenge

Aside from the course already being long, some may find the long walks between holes as a con but I feel that there's good separation between them as the layout makes most of the hilly terrain and creek

Pay to play but worth it
Other Thoughts:
This is the last of the three challenging scenic courses at IDGC that I enjoyed playing. This course is the one that I will compare other courses to as I have ranked this as my first 5.0 - Best of the Best. This course is the site of the Hall of Fame Classic held here every two years. After watching the world's top pros play here, this course was a test to compare on how well I can perform when playing this gold level tournament quality course. I can say that I have more appreciation more than ever in watching them play now! It truly is challenging and will require almost every kind of shot to shoot a low score here. This course will emphasize on control and shot placement on most holes since there's only six par 3s here. The course takes advantage of its hilly terrain and creek to make a challenging layout. I haven't recall ever playing on a hole with a figure 8 pattern before I played hole #8. Playing on holes #12 and #13 were probably the most difficult par 3s that I ever played due to the tight window and the slope towards the creek. The long course and the additional walking between holes can take a toll on the body and therefore be a con for some players. The pay to play can dissuade some from playing but I have paid more to play a less enjoyable course before. $3 to enter the park and $3 for a PDGA member to play all day is a bargain! In the clubhouse, the pro shop sells discs from many manufacturers as well as issue out course maps and scorecards with the highlighted current pin positions. Along with the pro shop, there is a snack machine, breakroom, restrooms, and the Hall of Fame all inside the clubhouse operating from 9am-5pm. A soda machine is located outside the clubhouse underneath the pavilion nearby. Playing this course and one of the other two on the same day makes a nice day trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

IDGC Presents: Action Jackson

2-4    10/5/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 294  Exp: 15.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WR Jackson Memorial is the longest of the 3 amazing courses at the IDGC, and is just another John Houck masterpiece. It may cause distress to the average disc golfer, but there are 18 great holes that have extremely challenging but not entirely impossible fairways. You will find trouble if you fail to execute sound throws consistently. While it can be frustrating, the constant pressure to make good throws is one of the aspects that makes me respect the course so much. Well worth the price of admission, $5 for all day access to the 3 wonderful courses on site.

As you would expect, all of the tees, signage, and baskets are top quality, as they are in all of the disc golf facilities here. A little bit of water will be in play here and there, as well as some moderate elevation change through very woodsy fairways. I won't give the hole by hole summary, but each stop along the way requires precise, accurate shots of all types. There are 6 par 4's in a row to lead off, and the longest hole on the course is 8, just to make sure the front 9 isn't taken lightly. Holes 11-13 give you a chance to make up some ground with 3 consecutive short par 3's. No pushovers, but a well placed putter throw can get you there. On the way out you will encounter 2 more par 4's, and the last hole is a great par 5. 18 is the kind of finishing hole that demands respect. Visible from the tee, but so far away you know you still have your work cut out for you. Even after taking several beatings here, I still enjoy this monster.
Cons: Scenic, but demanding. The new player will probably not make it through a round here without some serious struggles. It is pay to play, cheapskates beware.
Other Thoughts: I did get 2 birdies on my most recent round at Jackson. 10 and 12 gave me redemption deuces, and I missed a very makable putt on 11 for the turkey. Still wound up at +11 on the round, but enjoyed it none the less. Wish I would have visited more often when I lived in the area. Very much a destination for any disc golfer who loves to visit the very best courses. Sort of reminds me of Chester State Park in SC, but much longer, and a little more elevation change. The pro shop, and disc golf museum and wall of fame give you something interesting to look at in between rounds, and snacks and refreshments are available inside during business hours. Also there is a vending machine with water and soft drinks outside under the pavilion. A must play for any serious player who enters the vicinity.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wow that's hard

2-4    10/13/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: Peter S
Played: 161  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 24.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging with many long S shots. Lots of elevation to bomb a sky roller, thumber or any trick shot you have. Tee signs are descriptive enough and fairways are well defined on the very long holes making long recon walks not necessary. The holes are often too long to see the basket but you get the idea where to place your first shot for success. Also the score cards given out indicate pin position so you don't have to hope there is something on the sign to indicate pin position.

I had my best round ever on my most recent trip. However, WR Jackson is just so huge, long and steep it can wear you down. The fairways on some of the long holes seem plenty wide and I had some great long throws & hit intended landing spots but by the time I would climb up the steep hills to my next shot I found myself missing putts that I should make. The courses at IDGC are just known for zapping the strength & concentration right out of you. Even the short holes 12 & 13 that traverse a large valley/gulch place the baskets on steep fast greens forcing the perfect tight shot through trees that must match the angle of the hill to stick. Manage that and you still have to find the perfect putting stance on a knife edge and stick a putt. Any roll away is falling into the O.B. creek. You better have all the putting stances in your bag. This course will run a sword through any chink in the armor of your game.

It seems like aspects of these "pros" could and should be cons for some. This is very much a Gold level course. A new player will most likely kick their bag or give up after 9 holes here. I did when I was a newer player. It is the challenge that is the attraction here. Now that my player rating is over 900 I had a much better time playing this one than in years past.

I played in early October and the course just looked lovely, a touch of fall color on the leaves, the long open fairways are just picture perfect. Some of the pins seem to frame the most picturesque portions of the hills or trees they are set by.

The course loops back to the parking lot after 9 holes for a very much needed break or to restock on water. The IDGC building has a/c, a small museum, a well stocked pro shop and clean rest rooms.
Cons: Very thick tick infested woods in some spots make trips off the fairways not fun. Thin on next tee signs in some areas.

No escalators or free porters. Seriously folks, other that getting worn out on a steep long course I cannot fault anything here. I can say some shorter tees would be nice but that would detract from the course. This is Gold level, take it or leave it.
Other Thoughts: Often reviews say you have to throw every disc or shot in your bag. I carried about 20 discs and for the first time I actually used every one. Not only that, I used every shot in my skill set.

Make sure your dog's tick meds are up to date if you bring Fido.

Rating: I rated a 5 for my first time ever! For the over 135 courses I have played this is the biggest and best course I have ever played.

$5.00 to play all day on 3 great courses is a nice bang for your buck.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 LOOOOOOONNNNNNGGGGGG

1    4/26/2016   5/4/2016
Review By: Reb3times
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: If you're a long shot, this is your course. Many holes offer the chance at back to back long shots to have a chance at a birdie.

Good use of the rolling terrain in the area. No two shots are the same.

Concrete tee pad.
Cons: Only one tee option.

Can be a brutally long course for newer players with less skill and accuracy.
Other Thoughts: This is one to come back to time and time again to test your own skills against the course. You will need accurate long shots in order to score well here. If you go a little errant, there are plenty of trees to make you pay. The course can easily be played as 9 since the 1st and 10th tee box is next to the IDGA HQ and parking lot. Might suggest you take something to retrieve disc with because several holes have steep ditches with creeks in them that are not easily accessible, however they can easily come into play. If you don't have anything, mother nature has provided lots of dead fall in the area to use in an effort to retrieve a sunken disc. Oh, and keep a very close eye out for everyone's favorite zero legged friends.

4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.