Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #17
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The Manzanita is Too Much

2-4    10/17/2020   6/11/2021
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 39.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The local DG club has made an effort to clear out some of the manzanita, putting the course in the best shape I've ever seen.
Lots of elevation change and shot challenge here.
Quality tee boxes and baskets.
Beautiful surroundings and you can see the lake from some holes.
Cons: I know I'll get hate and lots of down votes for saying this, but the manzanita bushes essentially make this course a complete bother to play.
I've played Zephyr Cove off an on since I moved to Tahoe in 2000 and every time I do it I ask myself why I bothered. I keep hoping they'll rip out even more manzanita, but there is still way too much.
There are so many manzanita on most holes that once you throw you have to wonder which bush it went into or which bush is hiding it from view. A perfectly beautiful shot can become absolutely horrid because it's impossible to find your disc.
Thick pants are a necessity and gloves are not a bad idea to avoid scratching your hands up like crazy.
You will spend more time searching for your discs than you will playing with them.
It's not a course for playing solo. You need a spotter.
Other Thoughts: Don't bring your favorite discs. The potential to lose one is high.
Do dress for a bushwalk.
Be prepared with fluids as there is plenty of up and down walking. If you're a flatlander, you'll feel the altitude here.
Do enjoy the views, scenery and design, as it's the most redeeming quality of the course.
Don't play this course if your time in Tahoe is limited. Hit the Bijou or Kirkwood courses instead.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

beautiful

1    7/27/2020   7/27/2020
Review By: lucasap
Played: 153  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful lines and elevation change. Well maintained. Demand for elite shots to score but can easily par out.
Cons: Signage is out of date with distance They all pins are viewable from teepads

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional

5+    5/31/2019   6/5/2019
Review By: Tahoe Cowboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very challenging - lots of walking in steep areas

Great views from a few of the higher tee pads

Not as busy as Bijou Disc Golf Course in South Lake Tahoe
Cons: Challenging for beginners

Bring hiking boots

Lots of shrubs - high potential to lose a disc (still worth going to this course!)
Other Thoughts: Have a scout when you drive to help spot your disc


2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Tahoe Golf

1    10/14/2017   10/24/2017
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 94  Reviewed: 11
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation
Incredible scenery
Fun mix of left, right, up, and down
Only 15 minutes from South Lake Tahoe
Cons: Signage didn't have indicators for which of the multiple pin positions the pins were at. So lots of scouting was needed.

It was sometimes no clear where the next tee pad was, but not so much a con as a warning if you are in a hurry to play here to plan accordingly!
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was everything I was hoping Tahoe would be for disc golf. Great elevation, incredible views,

The course wasn't too challenging from a scoring perspective, but it had enough elevation to keep my score in check. I think shooting in the mid to high 40's here is about right for advanced level players that can throw 400+.

This was my favorite course I played around Tahoe, and I would go even if only for the view and the hike!

This is a do no miss course in my opinion!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Fun I've Had in Nevada

2-4    7/4/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: droidly
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Such a gorgeous setting that you don't really care how your game is going. SO GORGEOUS!
* Universally interesting holes, with a lot of elevation change and fun obstacles.
* Really well-maintained course--as far as I know, this park is the absolute nicest place in all of Nevada.
Cons: * Pretty sun-exposed and a lot of climbing (especially if you're a low-lander--how heavy are O2 tanks?).
* Manzanita is everywhere, and you'll probably accumulate an hour of staring at it while you search for wayward discs.
Other Thoughts: I always have to re-learn how to throw, coming up here from sea level. (And the recovery on returning is worse!) Putt hard and low, and expect your drives to mysteriously stabilize. (Turns out physics actually matters? Who knew?) Better yet, shrug off all thoughts about your performance and savor the tasty vistas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Zephyr Cove is the best course near Tahoe

2-4    8/18/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: nogginfur
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course to play, with many well thought out holes that can be played from a variety of shots. Elevated slopers make for some challenging puts too. Nice tee boxes, which the locals put a lot if work into.
Cons: A few tee boxes were not as obvious to get to first time through,. But still pretty obvious.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST PLAY course

5+    7/8/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Gdizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses
Lots of elevation change
Some great Lake views
Well maintained
Very challenging
Ive played over 50 times and still love this course, far superior to Bijou
Cons: Honestly, I cant think of any. I've lost some discs off the ridges but that's just part of the game.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in the Tahoe Basin, a MUST PLAY if you come to the area and are a disc player.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course! A must see!

1    5/26/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: gmgoober
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great views!!!!
-Challenging but not impossibly hard shots.
-Plenty of variety
-Amazing views!!!
-Good signage
-Not crowded at all
-And did I mention Beautiful views!!!
Cons: -Very Tiring if you are not prepared
-Could use a few markers pointing to the next tee box.
-One Hole has the wrong distance by about 200 feet on the sign

Other Thoughts: Amazing course. One of if not the best course I have played. It is quite a hike, but worth the reward. Wear long pants to protect your legs from the manzanita, and pack water. But you will not regret seeing this one.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/14/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 229  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - excellent use of elevation change, lots of "wow" shots
- great flat rubber tee pads
- great tee signs that give you all the info you need
- good variety of distances and line shaping shots
- very challenging course that will test the best of players
Cons: - this course could really use some navigation signs, there were multiple times when I was just wandering, looking for the next tee
- tons of blind tee shots, and with the elevation scouting ahead can be quite daunting
- during early morning rounds the front 9 plays mostly into the sun
- if you are not in good shape and used to the elevation this course can really be exhausting
Other Thoughts: This is an incredible course that if some signage were put in and maybe some flags to mark the baskets this could easily be a 4.5. Bring water and hiking boots.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    7/24/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: AngelK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great area. Good distances. Trees weren't too narrow and underbrush wasn't bad at all.
Cons: Watch out for boulders, they were unforgiving when my discs hit them. Trail could be marked better.
Other Thoughts: Manzanita undergrowth had speckles of yellow leaves, the exact same color as several of my yellow discs. Recommend against using yellow discs (at least during the summer).

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.