Kamloops, BC 
Rose Hill - West Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 244ft.   3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Stunningly beautiful course

1    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: snoho
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
* Stunning views
* Blue and red (and sometimes yellow) tees cover a wide range of skills
* Fantastic tee signs and next tee markers
Cons:
* Tee pads aren't concrete
* At least one basket is mis-numbered
Other Thoughts:
This course is stunning. I played at sunset and... yeah. Play at sunset. The views from hole 2 and hole 5 are incredible. Honestly, if you play around sunset you won't get the whole 18 done because you spend so much time gazing out over Kamloops from hole 5.

Oh, right. The disc golf part!

This is a solid course. Great baskets, great tee markers, and great next tee signs make it a joy to play. The red tees are just challenging enough for fun play, although I'll admit I skipped a few holes where I just couldn't stomach the risk of the dropoff and losing a disc (I lost one anyway. Doh!). The blue tees looked like they'd offer not only additional length but alternate choices for lines.

The layout makes great use of the trees, although I did find the front nine (which is what I played) a little RHBH heavy.

Most of the tee pads are in good shape, but a few were starting to be pretty worn. An upgrade to concrete pads would make this a phenomenal course.

I plan on coming back sometime to play all 18. If you're driving through Kamloops you definitely need to stop and play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sneaky tough...

1    6/11/2016   9/27/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set up in the hills outside Kamloops, with a view over the city.

Discatcher baskets, all in good repair and mounted well. Several holes have multiple alt pin positions. When I was there, there were several oddball baskets strewn around (but covered), apparently from a recent redesign (as told by one of the designers). They would make for some cool alt holes in tournament settings.

Rubber tee pads. Several holes with two. For the most part these were in good shape and flat. There were a few that could use some work. I wasn't sure whether to put this in pros or cons...concrete would be awesome here.

While several of the holes are open, don't be fooled into thinking you can always just grip and rip. The large deciduous trees that abound are disc eaters. Get in, or behind, them and you'll be stuck with a pitch out most of the time.

It's surprising that there isn't more real elevation on the course, but there are a few ups and downs. The real challenge is on the front 9, where several baskets sit on the edge of severe drop offs. Go down some of those hills, and you're in major trouble.

Plenty of distance here, for those that like to air it out. A very nice mixture of hole lengths.
Cons: As mentioned above the tee pads sit right on that pro/con line. Concrete, man.

I was fortunate the day I was here, but being perched on top of a sizable hill, wind has to be a huge factor.

The terrain is scruffy, but it is what it is. It's not the kind of foliage you can mow. Be cognizant of where your discs land, as they like to hide in plain sight.
Other Thoughts: As an Int player, this course was a ton of fun. Higher level players will dig it for a few rounds, at least. Lower level players may get discouraged, especially on a windy day.

This was probably the best course I played in the area, from a pure golf sense. Also, the views are to die for. Overlooking the city and water, with large hills in the background...just awesome. If I could, I'd probably rate this a 3.75, but that view bumps it up for me. Absolutely hit this if you're in the area!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Rose Hill West - The "Short" Course

2-4    6/23/2013   8/11/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 215  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Located in south central British Columbia in Canada, Kamloops is positioned at the intersection of the two branches of the Thompson River near Kamloops Lake. Designed by John Houck, Rose Hill West is the shorter of the two courses, but still demands power and precision throughout. Views from high on top the mountain are amazing! With elevation present at times, discs tend to sail. However, if you really want to air it out then Rose Hill East might be your course. With four par 4's, par for the course is 58 with holes ranging anywhere from 219-515 ft. Many of the holes on the course are reachable from the tee but often require line shaping and placement.
Cons:
Because the courses in Kamloops were installed high above the city, they are exposed to the rugged elements. During the summer it gets extremely hot and being that the course is dry it makes for a long round. You can find shade throughout but it comes in clusters leaving you exposed more than most would like. During the winter it's the polar opposite, snowing quite heavily and preventing most from playing for several weeks if not months due to the heavy snowfall. When you are fortunate enough to play, the wind usually comes in to play. Winds from high on top are quite fierce at times requiring the use of stable discs, especially when throwing over cliffs and ravines.

Navigation can be a little confusing for first timers as well. Most holes have duel tee pads with wooden posts nearby to help with location and distance as well as worn paths taking players from each pin toward the next tee. However, there are a few spots where players might get lost so going with a local might be a good idea.
Other Thoughts:
Over the years I have had the privilege of visiting beautiful British Columbia on several occasions, totaling 20+ courses played in the great white north, adding to the 200+ courses played in 12 states, 3 countries, and counting... In doing so, I can honestly say that both Kamloops and Logan Lake are some of the most challenging and scenic courses I have played to date in Canada.

I came up from Seattle, WA for the 2013 Canadian Disc Golf Championships with two of my best friends who, although unfamiliar with the tournament scene, were up for an adventure! From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated as if we were a local, with friendly conversations, tough competition, and great food/accommodations.

The tournament itself, run by Carrie Neal and the KDGC, was both professional and well organized. Because the tournament has been so well run in the past the TD was able to get tons of community support through sponsorship. They had great player packs, payouts, and included an impressive list of world class players who attended from all over the world. It is unbelievable to see how much work went into this tournament, and for a DG club that is so small like the KDGC, how well they work together to gets things done for this big event. I am truly grateful for the hospitality and professionalism by all and want to give a special shot out to my buddy Bailey Teteris for going out of his way to be the perfect guide, Robbio for playing three memorable rounds together, and Whatshisname from Alberta for being so kind and genuine. It was much appreciated and will never be forgotten!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Windy and scenic

2-4    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 259  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the views of the valley, a few holes have some elevation change, and there are short and long tees, each with nice grippy rubber pads. I found the long tees rather challenging especially in the wind. While other reviewers make it sound like the trees on this course have been obliterated that is far from the truth. Yes, the course is relatively open but there are still plenty of trees to get in the way.
Cons: If you don't like wind, you probably won't enjoy this course that is set high atop Kamloops on a hillside prone to get blustery. Many of the holes are close together and landing in other fairways is common.
Other Thoughts: Not sure what material the tee pads are made of but they are far grippier than Fly 18 pads on other courses that get slick. Good map of the course located by hole 1 along with an outhouse/bathroom.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.