Roswell, GA 
East Roswell Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 81
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
The Course That Every Atlantan Has Played

1    3/20/2018   5/11/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 270  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.392 Rating) A heavily wooded gem needing some TLC.
- CHALLENGING - Lots of +300 foot throws that have to weave down a well defined lane from the Black tees. Myself as an intermediate level players, I think I'd rarely ever break par here from the Blacks. I think these tees read as upper intermediate to low advanced skill level. The Blue tees read as lower intermediate and the Red tees read as middle recreational skill level.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Arriving at tee (1), I knew the beauty of this course was going to be top notch. Several lines are worthy of pulling out the camera or phone to snap a picture. (2) is a nice looking 30 foot down shot. (6) is a valley play with the library overlooking the basket. (9) is a long 25 foot downhill tunnel shot. Not one hole on this layout I'd grade as below average in looks.
- BLACK TEES - I think this was the first time I've played on trapezoid tees precisely 5 feet by 10 feet with a tapper to 7 feet wide in the back. They were excellent except for hole (4) where the tee was flooded on my appearance.
- CHARACTER - Course amenities and comfort Items are hit and miss. A stated above, great Black tees but poor Blue and Red tees. The baskets were excellent DISCatchers. The hole signage was great for the most part, but with gaps and only located at the Black tees. Seating was at about half of the holes and tee shading was excellent. There was even a nice picnic table behind tee (12). Missing items include no alternate basket placements, no practice basket and no posted course map on my visit at the community board.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - The three sets of tees on this course are going to allow for a fair challenge for wider than normal range of skill levels. However there is a substantial drawback with this notice as only the Black tee layout is concrete, see cons.
- ELEVATION - Although there are no epic downhill plays, the elevation on this park parcel is constantly moving up and down in 20 to 30 foot increments. Several down plays and some up plays. I really liked (7) which broke left along the ridge.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to elevation, the overall variety is a touch above average. Generally a heavily wooded course with a couple moderately wooded holes. I personally threw an even mix of backhand and forehand tee shots. A fun short dogleg right par 4 on (8) and a 500 foot fairly straight tunnel par 4 on (16). One of the bigger missing elements is water. Water is noted on the online course map, but these features are small and positioned as such that they only come into play on bad throws or ricochets. Also, I played a day after a heavy rain and the water in these creeks was not much more than a trickle, so maybe not at all.

Cons: Some aging course realities and preferential issues.
- FORGIVENESS - Although short enough for novice players, for those that can't hit 10 to 15 foot lanes consistently, this course can become very self-defeating at times. In addition, regardless of skill level, players will hit trees several times out here. When there's a ricochet in the wrong direction, scrambling for par may take a miracle.
- RED AND BLUE TEES - They were horrible. I had every intention of showing up and playing the Blues as on paper the Blacks looked a hair too long for me. But after seeing the first couple of Blue tee areas, I stayed with excellent Black Tee layout. More than half of the Red and Blue tees were in poor shape. Several uneven ones, some with drainage issues and a vast majority were natural.
- MAINTENANCE - The park looks good but course amentias are ageing a bit such as older benches. Also, a couple signs look beat up and directional cues are kind-of hodge podged together and spotty.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - With the Red tee layout at 4,300 feet on paper, one may think, "Could be a good beginner's course." I don't think so. Way too many trees for someone not accustomed to releasing a disc at precise angle. I played nearby Wills Park the same day and found that one to be better for newer players.
- TERRAIN - I would not call this course cart friendly but it's doable. Lots of mini dry washes and tree stubs to make rolling around a cart a frustrating experience. Not the best course for those with knee joint pain or walking difficulties.

Other Thoughts: East Roswell Park is listed as Atlanta Metro's most played course as of this review. Being that the course is approaching 15 years in age, I'd surmise that this course is a favorite among veteran Atlanta residents as it's stood the test of time. All stated, If East Roswell Park wants to keep pace with all these great new courses coming on board, Roswell is going to need some upgrades. The tees need concrete at the Blues and Reds. Benches should be at all the holes for a hilly course like this one. Signage needs an overhaul, especially a course map at (1).
- TIME PLAY - About average. Figure two hours for a foursome.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate but with some issues. The are some navigational cues out here but not enough to be able to traverse easily without a map on first go around. There is also a few missing tee signs and I think hole (11) has been altered or at least I don't think I ever found the Black tee. I followed some flimsy arrows and a beat in path and arrived at a pad without a sign. It seemed too short to be the Black tee, but I wasn't about to walk back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid fun disc golf

1    2/22/2017   2/22/2017
Review By: gabereif
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: THE BASICS:
-18 good, fun holes of disc golf. Yee haw!!!
-The course is easy to find (and the first tee is next to the playground, not by the entrance to the park)
-Free
-Easy parking
-Great park with great amenities (tennis, great playground, ball fields, library, etc.)

THE DISC GOLF:
-There are 18 holes of quality disc golf. They're fun and dynamic and interesting. The topography is good, the setting is nice, the use of trees is excellent (several awesome tunnel shots), there are three sets of tees (with the black tees being concrete), and the baskets are in good shape.
-The signs are awesome. They list par, distance, and give little tips about the holes. They're made of metal and have nice maps of the holes.
-The rough is forgiving. No poison ivy, very few thorns. It's hard to lose a disc.
-I really liked hole 2. Downhill tunnel shot with an ace look.
-While most holes are wooded, there are enough open holes to keep things interesting.
-There are a few ace runs for players who can throw 270+.

Cons: -I'm glad there are three sets of tee pads, but they're too close together in my opinion. The reds and blacks are often 50 feet apart (with the blue tees in between) and they all use the same fairways. With all of these tees, the blacks should be harder and the reds easier, or they could use different fairways. In this way, the course does not realize its full potential.
-All in all, the golf is somewhat easy. I threw a +1 on my first round and I played from the black tees. With three sets of tee pads, I would expect the hardest tee pads to be more challenging. Advanced players won't want to spend a lot of time here. Beginners and intermediate players will have a good time, however.
-I don't think the fairways cross anywhere, but they run parallel in spots and it's easy for discs to go from one fairway to another, potentially injuring someone.
-Navigation is less than ideal in a few spots. In particular, I couldn't find the tee for 11. Also, after finishing 17, one must walk back down the fairway to get to the tee for 18. In general, getting from hole to hole feels confusing in spots the first time around.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It's fun, it's fair, and it's got everything you need for a highly satisfactory and enjoyable disc golf experience.

I came very close to giving this course a 3.5, but in the end, the golf wasn't challenging enough, the three sets of tees were disappointing in their lack of diverse offerings, and the navigation left something to be desired. That said, this course is a wonderful community resource and anyone who likes disc golf will enjoy playing this course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

East Roswell Park

5+    4/16/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 167  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for most of the black tees

Has tee signs

Course flows pretty well except for between holes #10 & #11

Has some benches throughout course

More wooded than open fairways - which will be challenging to the casual player

Almost all holes have changes in elevations

Most of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Water really comes into play on hole #2 only but the stream is shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Nice split of the front and back nines in case you want to start on hole #10 (that comes in handy when there's a large group teeing off on hole#1)

Free Parking but can get filled quickly due to the nearby playground and pavilion

Restrooms

Water fountain
Cons:
The red and blue gravel tees on most holes are not flat and could use some work to make them level

Some of the tee signs need to be updated as holes #4 and #11 have been redesigned

Lots of trees where some fairways can be quite unfair and deflect discs into other trees

Most of the holes are in a pine forest so there are lots of pine straw that makes the footing slippery to shoot on
Other Thoughts:
This course is situated in a multi-use park where other park-goers should not be an issue. There is a trail on the backside that runs near holes #4, #6, #7, #15 but there's hardly any interference at all. Kudos to the park for removing the graffiti-ridden trailers on #4, removing the fence on #6, and getting #11 redesigned after construction. This course is really good if you want to test your skills in control and accuracy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded awesomeness

1    10/17/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice multi use park with great baseball, soccer, workout, tennis, and playground facilities.

Plenty of parking and really nice maintenance overall.

The course is wooded but well balanced and has a good mix of open shots near the beginning.

There are also a great varieties of things to make this course more interesting.

11 that is newly reinstalled has an elevated basket with a cement block pyramid.

12 has an OB "island" in front of the green that turns an easy par 3 Hyzer into a slightly difficult axiety inducing shot.

There are 3 sets of pads the shot reds and medium blues are gravel in wooden frames and the black longs are nice gravel. Very wide and comfortable.

The baskets are Innova pro24s I think. Not new but well balanced and through fully placed.

Good use of elevation and hidden baskets in a way that does not endanger pedestrians or other holes.

Not too many bomber holes, but if it were any longer it might feel like they were trying to copy Perkerson and this course is actually more
Interesting to me
Good signs placed at the black tees, a the next tee signs are plentiful and look new. Thanks to the guys who made/ put those in.

Overall good course, I will happily play again soon.
Cons: Pads are a little short, I have a big run up and they often could not accommodate. This may be me being spoiled by playing Frog Rock last week though. Those pads are huge.

Some of the lines are repetitive but not too badly. But maybe too many that are more or less straight.

Most of the cons mean tied in other reviews(no hole 11, no next tee signs) have been fixed!

I'm not going to complain though really nice course.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing here, the aesthetic is fantastic and the park is well maintained. I'll be playing here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Roswell Rocks Right Now

2-4    5/5/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 373  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: East Roswell Park has several great holes and features heavily wooded fairways on the majority of the 18 holes, and drastic elevation changes are common. No water in play that I saw. I like these kinds of courses the best, because of holes like 2, 6 or 9. 2 is downhill all the way, a putter throw for me, with gaps between tall trees giving lanes to th bucket. 6 drops way down a hill and climbs up another, with a more tall trees making drive placement critical. Challenging course that has worked me both times I have played it. Most recent round I got a 64, with birdies on hole 2 and 14. There are concrete tees and signs on all holes. Good baskets on each hole, except 11, which is apparently gone (temporarily?) due to construction.
Cons: Looking for the missing tee threw me off. Otherwise a very solid course. Not exactly beginner friendly. Playground and walking paths are near several holes.
Other Thoughts: East Roswell Park is very good, despite hole 11 being out of commission. A number a of other remarkable holes that I excluded descriptions from this review. One of the best around ATL, IMO. Sort of like Richmond Hill in Asheville.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Paul Bunyan Course

5+    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 32.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Forested course
Multiple tees
Requires mix of power and accuracy
Minimal potential for conflict with other park users
Excellent administration and collaboration from park.
Well supported by locals
Cons: Black tees require some very strong, accurate pulls. The whole course has always been a bit on the long side for me. It is not for the weak or inexperienced player, even from the short tees, unless you are looking for a major challenge. All depends on your perspective. I find the number of long, uphill drives (or uphill tees) too much for me.
Other Thoughts: The course continues to improve and is a great representation of Atlanta disc golf. However, it takes more strength and accuracy, I think, than most courses in Atlanta. With a bit of redesign, some of the distance could be replaced with more technicality, turning 18 holes into 27...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

2-4    5/2/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/25/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is very wooded/technical.
- Layout is very reasonable for the land it's on. Good design.
- Signage is for the most part very good.
- With the exception of one hole (No. 8) there is space to throw discs in the fairways. It's tight and demands accuracy, but it's not unfair nor do the lanes have trees in the fairway that make straight approaches impossible (like at Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga).
- The course is very "fair". Yes, you'll be punished by an errant throw, but a good throw will give a good "look" and opportunity for the next throw. This is really all one can ask for on a technical course.
- Holes are challenging but not so tough that a family with kids can't go out and have a fun day. This course will not beat you up like some (Little Mulberry in Gwinnett Co., Ga, comes to mind).
- It is VERY nice that Holes #9 and #18 end right near the playground and parking lot where #1 and #10 start.
- Course is good for beginners and experienced players alike. One can also bring discs for specific shots, but could play the course with only one or two discs (putter and midrange/fwy.driver).
Cons: - Hole No. 11 is dead because of road construction. They'll have to find a way to get a new Hole 11 in.
- With Hole 11 out, getting from Hole 10 basket to Hole 12 tee is not easy, not intuitive, and not marked at all.
- Hole 8 requires a layup, but even after a good shot the remaining "fairway" on the dogleg-right is chock-full of trees. I'd like to see some of the trees cleared out to make the approach shots more fair.
- While signage is generally good, it could be improved. If you haven't played this course, bring a printed-out map with you; it will help where the signage isn't there to navigate.
- Restrooms are not very close to the course.
- Some of the par designations are not realistic. A 397 foot hole is a par 3 if it's open space or partially so, but on this tight a course that's a stretch. And a tightly wooded hole that is well over 500 feet being just par 4? I don't think even expert players would agree with that one.
Other Thoughts: - I really like this course. I hope they can get #11 worked out, and just a few more signs here and there and this is a truly premiere course. It's challenging but fair, a bit physically demanding but not overly exhausting.
- I recommend good hiking boots/shoes after the rains; wet and messy means unsecure footing on some uphill and downhill holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 T = Technical

1    1/11/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee Signs (old but valid), concrete black pads, very technical
Cons: Lots of trees which can make it a long round. Bathrooms only by Tee #1.
Other Thoughts: Pro tees are concrete but the other red and blue tees are crush and run type gravel. It looks like the course is going to be redesigned due to the city adding a road.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites in ATL

5+    6/27/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Challenging - requires both distance and accuracy

* lots of elevation changes

Cons: * hard to find your way to and around if you aren't familiar with it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the Atlanta area - the fairways are wide enough to allow nice distance shots, but they also require accuracy. Missing your lines will set you back without a doubt. Some of the hilltop-to-hilltop shots are fun and make this course unique. It's obvious that this course gets lots of love from the local Disc Golf crew. My only beef was trying to find my way around - took a while to find where to start from the multiple parking lots at this park. If you go to Atlanta though, this course is a must.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Magic

2-4    7/26/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great variety of long and short holes.
- Will exploit weaknesses in your game, you'll learn something new every time you play.
- Great signage.
- Well groomed.
- Great range of difficulty with different tee pads.
Cons: - Only the black tee pads have concrete, the others definitely need updating.
- Tough to find your way. Definitely bring someone experienced with you.
Other Thoughts: Play this classic Atlanta course! Great disc golf, in a well kept up park. Plenty of risks, and plenty of fun to be had.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.