Copenhagen, Denmark 
Valbyparken Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: ashtonscottphillips Hole #7 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Pro Ambitions, Amateur attempt

1    9/4/2017   9/6/2017
Review By: Dadio
Played: 126  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 33.2 Years
Pros: This course is a well mowed 18 hole course not far from the A tram line(Amarken stop or one before it) in the middle of a very nice park, only 15 min from Copenhagen's main station.
There are 3 Tees per hole, White/pro, Yellow/am, and Red Begin for a good variety of difficulty, depending on skill and desired difficulty. As usual for an unfamiliar course, I threw the pro tees to see all that the course had to offer, and it was plenty. There are tight, long tunnels, low branches 50' from tee, blind doglegs both ways, and plenty of long open shots with only a 15' path between lush patches of stinging nettles.(pro and con). Be ready to use all your shots.
The Baskets are a 3 chain interwoven type I hadn't seen before that caught well.
Cons: Now for the hard part. I wanted to like this course, but it kept refusing to help. There has been a partial redesign to improve flow(more on that later) so map here is wildly off on about 1/3 of the holes. Fortunately, we ran into a couple locals with a new map we got a picture of so we able to follow the course, altho with difficulty. I was surprised as I am usually able to follow a course with little difficulty.
This course is in a frog conservation area so much of it is left wild. This has a couple negative affects on the course. 1) They aren't allowed by the local municipality to put in proper tees so the are natural grass and quite rough in spots, either with trip hazards or muddy bogs. Either way, had to throw beside or behind 4 or 5 tees. 2) Since it is a natural area, they can't mow very much for paths. I don't mind a links course but there are quite a few drives that require a long drive onto a 15' wide path or be in very rough rough. 3) the roughs. I had my wife Norma along as a spotter or I would have lost discs, very bad since we are traveling out of back packs and I am carrying a very limited bag. The roughs are often very thick knee high + stinging nettles, not pleasant to wade through looking for discs. I know, just don't throw in them, but there are ALOT of stinging nettles.
Now for design, one of my biggest beefs with this course and prob a full point deduction. This redesign, according to locals, is a big improvement on the old layout. I shudder to think how bad that one was. There are 2 hols you are throwing into blind doglegs, and both of those you either walk back the fairway to get to next hole or cross multiple other fairways. There is quite a bit of walking across fairways to get to the next hole. Also, there are walk outs and direction changes that just didn't make sense, crossing and recrossing the course almost randomly. And to top it off, Pro 14 has you making a long drive along a major walking/riding path without very good sightlines. 9 other holes cross or drive along lesser paths. We were there on a cooler day threatening rain but I bet hitting pedestrians is a bigger hazard that I like on a nice day.
Last, maintenance. The course was well mowed, but there were no garbage cans, bathrooms or water that we saw. And to make the natural tees more exciting, It was not unusual to have plenty of broken glass on or around them. Worrying as I wear thinner shoes to play.
Other Thoughts: An interesting and challenging course, unfortunately, many of those challenges didn't belong on a course. Afore mentioned locals recommended a Course north of Copenhagen I had also considered but skipped due to time, would choose the other way next time.
On rating, not sure if it is either decent or typical but have a hard time rating it lower than 2,5. I have played quite a few pro courses around the world now and this is by far the worst of them, but still a pro course.

Disc Golf Adventures!

1    7/6/2017   7/6/2017
Review By: Arabian
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking for a place to play that is near the city center. There are many challenging holes that offer a diverse layout.
Cons: This course can become very crowded at times and park pedestrians tend to walk thought the fairway. Many blind shots, so make sure you have a spotter.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My one and only

5+    8/4/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: thomas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: I have not played many different disc golf courses (yet) but Valbyparken seems to be a very well designed course and also well maintained. There are to be plenty of challenges for the beginner as well as for the more seasoned player on every hole... many trees, some up-hill and down-hill holes, tunnels, dog legs, and short and long holes.

The course is the closest course to Copenhagen and therefore a popular course where you will meet fellow disc golfers on most days.
Cons: In the summer time the grass and stinging nettles can get quite high, so you might be spending quite some time looking for your discs if you happen to get off the fairway. When it has been raining there are muddy puddles at many of the tee areas which requires a little caution. Another thing that one probably should not complain about is the occasional lack of water in the lakes and water holes. This makes these OBs a little toothless.
Other Thoughts: I will return with an updated review once I have tried more disc golf courses around Denmark and around the world.

 Valbyparken - Copenhagen

1    7/2/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • The course is built in a park with a diverse topography: open areas, partially wooded, and densely wooded.
• The color map near the 1st tee box is well-made and a newcomer not playing with someone familiar with the course should take a picture of the course on a smartphone. It would help finding the way around the course.
• Each tee box has a hole marker with a color mini-map which is a good aid in determining the hole location.
• The length and difficulty of a hole dictates the "par" which makes it more fun for the new player or the player who can't throw especially far.
• A true test of any player, advanced to newbie.
Cons: • The layout of the course could have been better. Several tee boxes are not anywhere near the previous hole's basket.
• The "grass" tee boxes are really just dirt or, with a little rain, mud.
• A few holes cross others but is not a significant factor.
• The course plays difficult the first time when played without someone knowledgeable of the layout.
Other Thoughts: Since there are so few courses in northern Germany and Denmark, anyone visiting Copenhagen should take the opportunity to play this course. Don't let the posted "winter" pictures discourage you. The course is beautiful in the summer. Look at the picture I uploaded of hole #3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Valbyparken - my home course

5+    10/15/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: bombmk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with a wide variety of challenges. No two holes feel similar, they all have something different that you need to take into account when picking your shot (to a varying degree ofc).
3 tees on every hole allowing for all skill levels.
It is a pretty, and pretty well kept, park, with one exception - see more under cons.
Cons: OB definitions on the lakes are bit iffy, as we are not allowed to permanently mark them.
Large areas of mostly stinging nettles are allowed to grow very high, and is only mowed down 2-3-4 times a year by the park service. In those periods, where they are waist high, it can be a pain to play there, mostly because finding discs can be time consuming, if succesful. And you need to dress for it. Long pants or long socks. I recommend the former. :)
There are a few occasions of crossing lines of play to get to the next hole, but it is usually not a problem and minor if that.
Grass/dirt tees, but that is usually not an issue.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to give it a four. But if you came in the period when the stinging nettles are really bad, you would rip my head of for it. :)
The difference in experience can be pretty big because of it.
It really is an excellent course in terms of the layout and challenges, though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Valbyparken DGC

5+    6/20/2012   5/12/2009
Review By: rehder
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It features three different skill level tees on each hole. Each tee has its own sign and the sign show the optimal flightpath.
In 2011 some wooded holes where added to the course, which complement the existing holes very well.
Baskets are very nice and catch very well.
There are some very good holes that offer a great risk/reward ratio. Fairways are cut pretty consistently during spring-fall.
Overall it is a good challenge and there are some holes that also require a accurate short game.
Cons: All tees are either grass/gravel. Some unevenness does occur, but only to a lesser degree. Some holes are too open and do not place enough emphasis on accuracy/line-shaping. The rough gets cut only twice a year and in the summer there are a lot of stinging nettles. So if you are wearing shorts, make sure to wear long socks that can be pulled up.
The penalties for missing fairways is on a couple of holes very low.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is very flat, with the exception of a slight hill, that comes into play on holes 4,6,7 and 8. The elevation is not more than 7-10 meters. From the back tees, Valbyparken is the longest course in Denmark with an average hole length of around 130 meters.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    12/27/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: sk8viking
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Valbypark is just around the corner from where I live, itīs in a publick park, and there is good Signs, Maps and Markers, but the teeīs are just grass/dirt wich can be a problem, the grass is cut regularly and the course are in a fairly good condition.
The course has a good mix of tight technical and Open bombs, with trees, small lakes and some long open holes, but more to the bombs then technical, itīs a long course.
There are regular events to participate in, and there are scedueld meetings every tuesday and thursday where everyone can come and learn from the club members and other locals, wich is a nice thing for someone like me.


Cons: Beside the teeīs not beeing in the best condition, there are alot of stinging nettles in the summertime, so donīt do like me on my first visit, and show up in shorts.
Only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: The stinging nettles gets to much in the summer and is a big hazard if you land in them, hard to find your discīs.
The Copenhagen Open Course with itīs 18 holes is great, I would give it 4 ****, but hole 5-6-7 are not permenent.
The new Alternative Matchcourse is with 18 holes, a mix of the 12 Valby holes and some of the Copenhagen Open holes in play, a great course ontil they get a permenent 18 holes course.
I would give the Alternative Matchcourse 4,1/2 ****/*.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.