Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #8
3 / 297ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
The legends are true.

2-4    3/27/2019   3/29/2019
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 39  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. Idyllic disc golf course in a public park setting.

Three practice baskets near the parking lot immediately let you know that this place takes disc golf seriously.

The course layout makes excellent use of the park, and while some fairways play alongside each other there are plenty of mandos to keep 'em separated (ya GOTTA keep 'em separated!).

Really well-designed holes, with opportunities throughout the course for all types of shots. Like most SoCal courses, all holes are par 3s, but most of them are on the longer side of what is reasonable for a 3 - for a recreational player, there are plenty of opportunities to throw for distance.

Friendly locals. Great vibes from everyone out there, players and park patrons alike. One of our group realized at the end of his round that he had lost his phone; we asked the group behind us if they had seen it, and they told us to check the office at the tennis/pro shop - luckily a good samaritan had found it and turned it in!
Cons: Personally, tee signs were really the only thing that left something to be desired. They are clearly quite old, and in at least a few cases were not very accurate. That said, many local courses (cough, Oak Grove, cough cough) have MUCH weaker sign games, so I really have no complaints.

I suppose many will gripe about the adjacent pedestrian paths, but I feel like the course BENEFITS from being part of a public park more than it is hindered by it. The course has been there so long that any bystanders know the score and are super friendly. Compared to the city courses I'm used to, which are both littered with... well, litter... this place is pristine!!! Not a piece of trash to be found. Very well-manicured grounds on all fronts. Sure, some holes play close together, but I think the course makes great use of the land.

As far as folks feeling like the course is outdated and not long enough... wahhhhhhhh!! Must be horrible throwing over 400' and not enjoying the sport anymore. For us mere mortals, El Dorado is fantastic - you won't get more in a public park setting. Anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to get back down to this course. Totally worth the 45 minute drive from LA. Highly recommended if you are in the area! Not a far drive from Huntington Beach course, either - best one-two punch in SoCal disc golf?? YOU DECIDE.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/12/2018   10/3/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 308  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 22.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent 18-hole park style course. Mostly flat but contains quite a few trees to add interest and challenge. The available land and its features are used to the max, and I appreciate that each hole was unique and non-repetitive, which is pretty remarkable considering how little land was allotted for disc golf.

Nothing real difficult here, easy recovery from errant throws. Some mandos, if observed, do add to the challenge. Little to no danger of losing a disc here unless you throw it over the tennis courts or over the fence onto the golf course. In short, a course that can be enjoyed by all skill levels of rec players.

I encountered many people during my round and all were nice and helpful: from the guy who directed me to hole one when I was unknowingly crossing the fairway of it going from the parking lot to the clubhouse, to the group I joined in with to play a few holes, and even the proshop worker who kindly welcomed me and gave me a map.

One of the oldest courses in existence, and cool that Dunipace's name is associated with the design.

Many of the sections of this large and spread out park require a vehicle entrance fee, but the area with the course does not. Park at the library.
Cons: Nothing real difficult here on most of the holes, with easy recovery from errant throws.

Very crowded on a Thursday morning in July (just helping prove my theory that nobody in Southern California actually works, they just play outside all day!) I can't even imagine this place on the weekends.

The course itself feels cramped geographically, and being crowded really adds to that feel. It is surrounded by roads, buildings, and tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play a relaxing round- which is the apparent desire of SoCal disc golfers, as the vibe I felt was disc golf is not to be taken all that seriously here, just another fun and recreational outdoor activity that can be enjoyed year round. Nothing wrong with the attitude, just know that if you are coming in from other parts of the country the people won't be that super competitive and the courses are not designed to be all that difficult.

I love playing the old courses, but course design and disc technology has changed so much since many of these popular SoCal courses have been built, that my rating has to take that into account. It is not a bad course as it meets all the basic requirements by having 18 tees and baskets, but there is nothing really memorable or epic about it, other than being old.

Of the 4 I played in this area, I would put El Dorado about even with La Mirada Front, with Mirada Back a touch better, and Huntingdon Beach slightly lower.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun, shade and great for beginers

1    3/26/2018   3/26/2018
Review By: marhattan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Parking, shade, easy to figure out course layout, pro shop with course map and snacks available, challenging but fun and straight forward.
Cons: Here on a Monday afternoon and still pretty busy. Imagining it would be nuts on the weekends.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Socal course

5+    11/9/2017   11/10/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: El Dorado is another example of a park in southern California that does a great job mixing disc golf with other activities. The park is well maintained, clean, and friendly to disc golfers. The course itself features 18 holes with alternating pin positions, concrete tees, and a variety of shots required to get a good score.

Holes 1-9 weave their way around the front of the park near the streets and tennis area. The standout hole for me was hole 1. This is probably the most technical hole on the entire course if you play the mando correctly. Add in the fact that there is usually a gallery of locals hanging out near the teebox... it certainly increases the pressure on your drive.

Holes 9-18 wrap around the tennis complex and return back to the main parking area. Most of these holes are in the 250-350 foot range and remain pretty wide open with a few strategic trees placed here and there.

There are bathrooms and a small pro-shop on site. The baskets vary on each hole, but are all generally in good condition. Each hole has it's own shot to throw, but generally if you can throw some decent drives and keep them low (to stay out of the trees), you'll do well here.

Pros:

1- Concrete pads
2- Easy parking
3- Well maintained park
4- Bathrooms
5- Practice baskets
6- Clearly marked mandos
7- Small proshop
8- Active and friendly park
Cons: My biggest struggle here the first few times out was the layout. If you don't know where you're going... it can be quite confusing out here. Get a map either from this site or the proshop before heading out. Some of the baskets weave in and near other fairways (especially on the front 9) so keep a set of eyes behind you.

Hole 1 is pretty close to the parking lot so if you grip lock or push a drive too far to the left, there's a serious chance you may redesign someone's fender with your disc.

Pedestrian traffic is pretty high here, but mostly off the disc golf course. I think you'll have more of chance of watching out for other disc golfers than non-disc golfers during your round. The park is very popular so getting in a queue on the course is typical.

Finally, the trees here eat your discs. They are all very thick and low enough to snatch your drives. Bring a metal mini or a baseball just in case your disc gets stuck in the branches... it just seems to happen here more than anywhere else I have played.
Other Thoughts: This is a great disc golf park. I scored it 3.5 simply because of the actual disc golf game itself. The course is solid, but pretty straight forward. Every hole is slightly different than the others, and fairly simple to attack.

Park in the lot next to the library and walk towards the tennis courts to find the teebox for hole 1. Expect to see some disc golfers hanging out there! Enjoy the round!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Plays like a much smaller La Mirada

1    8/12/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plentiful Parking
Shade
Left-hand and right-hand friendly holes were evenly mixed.
Trees for added difficulty.
Free!
Cons: No elevation change
Mostly short and moderate distance challenge
Hole #1 has a lot of pedestrians and parking lot overlap making for a difficult wait or shot selection.
Some signage is incomplete or inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice public park that is free to play. It does look dated, but is well maintained and has a lot of friendly, local folks to help if you need it. The park is multi-use and this can complicate hole #1 since you are throwing toward the parking lot where a lot of people are in motion (tennis, DG, picnic, etc.). Do not be surprised if you have to wait at hole #1 a while for a clear moment to throw.
The course is not overly challenging, but does encourage some disc and shot selection to make it a worthwhile venture.
Overall, this course feels a lot like La Mirada (a few holes are right next to a busy street, multi-use, public, free, etc.) but is a lot shorter (18 holes only) and has less elevation and challenge to it.
If you are in the area I do recommend it. If you have the choice to go to La Mirada then I would suggest it instead.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 first time at a good course

1    11/14/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: Mkelley21
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: everything is smooth
decent teees
lots of fun
cool atmosphere
clubshouse is rad
Cons: not long drives
hole 6 should be a par 4
the tee signs are old
you could hit a car on hole 6
Other Thoughts: bring your a game
lotta dudes there been playing years.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

2-4    12/23/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 221  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- Free to play
- Plenty of parking
- Full 18 holes
- Large concrete tee pads
- Numbers tee signs with map of the multiple pin positions and their distances
- Well groomed fairways
- Easy to follow course flow
- In a public park, but devoid of non discing pedestrians
Cons:

- Most pin positions weren't long enough to really open up long drives
- Good amount of fairway/tee pad overlap, keep head on a swivel
- Baskets and tee signs were a little worn down. It was hard to read a few signs.
- High traffic course
- Not much punishment for errant shots
Other Thoughts:

Things are little run down at El Dorado, tee signs could use some TLC. The course itself is fairly flat, open, and most holes did not require a distance driver. That being said, it was one the most fun L.A. courses I have had a chance to throw. The first few holes are shorter and tighter, towards the end they get a little longer and wide open. I strolled up to the first teebox on a beautiful sunny day and latched on to a couple of locals. This was my third new course of the day and I really didn't feel like aimlessly wandering around like I did at the two courses I had played earlier. The funny thing is that they almost denied my request. The El Dorado course is very approachable for beginners and a fun chill course for advanced players.

Believe it or not, the fun doesn't have to end when the sun goes down. Parts of this course can also be played at night because of the way it's orientation around the well lit park tennis court. If you stick to the holes closest to the court you'll have enough light to play. Thanks for the course cheat code Mr. retired Japanese teacher (sorry I forgot your name), you the man!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Oldie But Goodie

1    3/30/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 94  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2018
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update 1/8/18:

-low ceiling on many holes requires accuracy off the tee.
-locals adjust the pin positions probably once a month. Keeping things fresh.
-three "extra" holes
-good balance. almost equal amount of righty/lefty holes. i find myself using both a RHBH and RHFH shots at this course. Many holes you can throw either way.
-big mature trees

-large tee pads
-good basket quality with multiple pin positions
-large mature trees
-clean, nice & modern bathrooms a short walk from hole one
-two practice baskets
-nice signs with distances and rough maps of each hole
-ample parking, park is easy to find
-board that includes local events
-good use of out of bounds
-course is located in a multi use park wrapping around a tennis facility. Pro shop has disc golf supplies, however no maps when I visited.
Cons: Update 1/8/18:

-trash, lots of trash left on the course. i try to pick up as much as i can during my rounds.

-creativity. holes are lacking creative punch. No signature hole here. very few holes over 400 feet, most are sub 350 feet and straight off the tee.
-cramped design. To fit 18 holes into the land here, the designers had to scrunch fairways together, none cross, but they come very close. At times, you'll be walking back up the previous fairway to get to the next hole. Mando's are used often to combat this.
-little to no elevation change, however designers use what is available
-only one or two trash cans, only one bench that I saw
-no number plates on the baskets. baskets are mixed, some Mach 2's some old Discatchers some new Dicatchers.
-as a result of missing number plates, it was tough to navigate for a first timer. Sometimes the closest tee is not your next tee. Sometimes the closest basket is not the basket for your hole. I did see a few directional arrows that we're helpful.
Other Thoughts: Update 1/8/18:

now that i've lived in LB for a while and played 20+ california courses i have to say i'm glad this is my home course. the course has really grown on me for the reasons listed above. i've increased my rating by a full star.

Despite the con's above, I would def play here again. I understand the nuances with updating an older course, sometimes it is very difficult to make improvements to an older design.

I would not travel far to play here however, but if your in the area it's worth checking out. Bring the family, the park and California sunshine are wonderful.

Great course for first timers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home course for the last year.

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Questatement
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I play at least 2 rounds a week here and have for the last year. Good combination of long and short with plenty of trees to avoid. Low canopy shots reward good elevation control unless and/or you can go over the tops of trees (some tall) and drop in. Plentiful mandos and/or OBs keeps fairway crossings to a minimum and punish the over zealous. Very few non-players to watch out for other than hole 1 which is the main walkway from the parking lot to the tennis courts and is only 10' in front of the t-pad so it's impossible to hit anyone there without trying. Baskets were recently painted/renovated/replaced and are getting moved more than I've seen in the last year or so. The complaints about some of the locas being bummish is true but they are all cool if you get to know them. There's also a solid group of working guys that I consider almost as local, me being one of them. If you have an arm for 375' or more, you can birdie every hole. Long, technical, or a combination of both define 2/3 of the holes. Manicured grass covers 95% of the course and shade is abundant on most tee pads, here, there, and everywhere. Can get crowded but what do you expect for a free and well kept/designed course?

My favorite aspect of this course is the wide range of scores I can come up with on a good vs. bad day. Most courses I shoot a variable of about 7 strokes (3 over to 3 under) but here, I shoot anywhere from 7 under to 5 over thanks to a great combination of trees, mandies, OB's, and basket placements.
Cons: Less than a foot too high, trying to get under a canopy, getting slapped down and only making it half way to the basket instead of all the way.
Other Thoughts: Come on by, I'm the guy with the glove on my throwing hand.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  There be gold in El Dorado!!!

5+    3/1/2012   5/12/2014
Review By: GilliganOGD1980
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The people who play there - The course is perfect for the intermediate player. Well managed and primarily dedicated to disc golf. Perfect for rollers and power drivers alike. Synergy between park rangers, tennis players and disc golfers... One of few places in S. Ca where somebody from out of town can make friends. INTL players from all over the world come to play there sometimes... Well designed and can be adjusted for Pro-level players.
Cons: Major holidays - unwritten rule - park becomes a place for picnics and families - (not really a con) On Sat & Sun can get backed up and overcrowded especially when Long Beach St is in session... Lots of big trees, and I have at least had 5 discs become permanent ornaments or somebody else's treasure after a windy day. Slippery in early morning hours and a few gopher holes here and there - and watch out for wasps/bees once in a blue moon
Other Thoughts: The cons are minor - I started playing El Do when it was wood posts in the early eighties - met the guy who designed it once... and have met many living legends of D golf there. The original group of people that have been playing since the 90s are some of the best people I have met in the sport. Often helping homeless people get back on their feet. Everybody is equal there... all races, nationalities, ages, social strata - come together... It is an example of why disc golf is one of the greatest sports on the planet. Even the rangers contribute to the over all atmosphere of freedom...

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.