Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #14
3 / 339ft.   3 / 348ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Socal course

5+    11/9/2017   11/10/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 49  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: El Dorado is another example of a park in southern California that does a great job mixing disc golf with other activities. The park is well maintained, clean, and friendly to disc golfers. The course itself features 18 holes with alternating pin positions, concrete tees, and a variety of shots required to get a good score.

Holes 1-9 weave their way around the front of the park near the streets and tennis area. The standout hole for me was hole 1. This is probably the most technical hole on the entire course if you play the mando correctly. Add in the fact that there is usually a gallery of locals hanging out near the teebox... it certainly increases the pressure on your drive.

Holes 9-18 wrap around the tennis complex and return back to the main parking area. Most of these holes are in the 250-350 foot range and remain pretty wide open with a few strategic trees placed here and there.

There are bathrooms and a small pro-shop on site. The baskets vary on each hole, but are all generally in good condition. Each hole has it's own shot to throw, but generally if you can throw some decent drives and keep them low (to stay out of the trees), you'll do well here.

Pros:

1- Concrete pads
2- Easy parking
3- Well maintained park
4- Bathrooms
5- Practice baskets
6- Clearly marked mandos
7- Small proshop
8- Active and friendly park
Cons: My biggest struggle here the first few times out was the layout. If you don't know where you're going... it can be quite confusing out here. Get a map either from this site or the proshop before heading out. Some of the baskets weave in and near other fairways (especially on the front 9) so keep a set of eyes behind you.

Hole 1 is pretty close to the parking lot so if you grip lock or push a drive too far to the left, there's a serious chance you may redesign someone's fender with your disc.

Pedestrian traffic is pretty high here, but mostly off the disc golf course. I think you'll have more of chance of watching out for other disc golfers than non-disc golfers during your round. The park is very popular so getting in a queue on the course is typical.

Finally, the trees here eat your discs. They are all very thick and low enough to snatch your drives. Bring a metal mini or a baseball just in case your disc gets stuck in the branches... it just seems to happen here more than anywhere else I have played.
Other Thoughts: This is a great disc golf park. I scored it 3.5 simply because of the actual disc golf game itself. The course is solid, but pretty straight forward. Every hole is slightly different than the others, and fairly simple to attack.

Park in the lot next to the library and walk towards the tennis courts to find the teebox for hole 1. Expect to see some disc golfers hanging out there! Enjoy the round!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun

1    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Loved the grass and trees.
Fun! This course presents so many birdie opportunities without being a too short or too easy. It provides a challenges but its not too hard for less experienced players either.
Big concrete teepads were appreciated.
Great course layout.
Relatively easy to navigate without a map.
Cons: Many of the front 9 and some of the back 9 felt repetitive from hole to hole.
No real "signature" hole on this course.
Most holes played short at 200-300.
Other Thoughts: Rollers come in handy on this course, as trees block a lot of shots.
This is a mostly short, technical course, that was very fun to play. I would definitely play again next time in SoCal.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/29/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome variety of shots
-Cool locals, check out the tree next to hole 7
-Low treeline promoters roller shots
-Pro shop sells drinks / discs
-Great putt practice area with 2 baskets!
-In an area that is used mostly for disc golf , save for tennis course / a library
-Located right off a major freeway in Long beach near the Lakewood border
Cons: -Tee's can get slippery
-Mud builds up around the tee for hole 17
-While most of the locals are nice , there is a few rougher ones that will beat your a** if you're rude (it is Long beach afterall , granted a nice part of it)
Other Thoughts: A staple in socal disc golf culture , definitely worth a trip if you're in the area .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Historic El Dorado

1    12/8/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy navigation, front 9 more or less run along the road, easy to find your way to the next tee pad (maps in the pro shop as well)
-all tee boxes are concrete
-friendly locals (at least the ones I met)
-beautiful park, alot of trees and plenty of shade
-good baskets: front 9 are dga mach 2s, back nine are innova discatchers
-I was told that Philo Brathwaite plays here often
Cons: -most of the holes felt the same
-mostly flat, little to no elevation changes
-no basket numbers on the basket
-was told by the friendly locals that there are drunken idiots on the course as well
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience for my first time at El Dorado. Holes are a decent length with a couple of birdie opportunities. The park is beautiful and the locals that I met up with were super friendly (Thanks for showing me around Les). Navigation is easy, however what makes it hard is that the baskets dont have numbers (due to vandalism). One major con to me is that I felt I was throwing more or less the same shot on most holes. Sure there are some different tree arrangements that alter the shot slightly, but overall I felt that the holes didn't have as much variety. There are mandatories, but they're so generous they mind as well not be there. Despite this opinion, I really liked it here. If you throw big hyzer bombs...you won't be able to do that here and may find this course more challenging. Straight shots are definitely rewarded here. It seems like a great place to bring a beginner, but as an intermediate or even advanced player you can still enjoy yourself out here. You definitely have the opportunity to air out your disc, especially on hole 12 (500+ ft, but theres a 700+ ft pin position on this hole as well). Multiple pin positions, BUT they're all located pretty close to each other...seems like it may alter the hole sometimes and alot of times it wouldn't. I am just making this opinion based on the signage, but I've only played this course once so please keep that in mind. Overall I would definitely recommend checking out this course if in the area. btw I'm comparing this course to my home courses of Morley Field and Kit Carson Park, which I feel offer more variety of shots, more difficulty, and more elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 el dorado

1    8/28/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of different shots
short and long holes
cool locals
good amount of shade on hot days
FUN
very nice park
well taken care of
Cons: socal is hot
i could imagine it could get crowded
Other Thoughts: i feel like any level of player can shoot good here. i had a lot of fun and i'm an intermediate level player

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Eldo

5+    7/16/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access course i.e. close to the freeway.
Awesome use of the trees which allows tunnel shots or big hyzers for the power players.
Good use of flags on baskets which are blind.
Relatively friendly local players that are willing to show you around.
Baksets move fairly often
Cons: Fairways cross some walkpaths
Low-inventory proshop discs-wise
Slick Slick teepads due to them being surrounded by dirt, so they can get muddy sometimes.
Difficult to navigate the course, i still have trouble sometimes.
In a nice area but there can be some 'punks' around
Gopher holes means watch your step
Other Thoughts: I have a love/hate for Eldo as i hate the area but enjoy the course, i love that it is probably the most wooded course close to where i live which allows for practicing low tunnel shots. Even though its in apublic park, the park itself is so big the disc golf course usually isn't busy with non-golfers, there are a few walkways but waiting a minute for someone to jog by is not a problem in my eyes. It also moves fairly quick, ive finished rounds in less than 40 min's there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice park course

2-4    7/29/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 28  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 4 - A fun course to play and locals all look like they're having fun
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 3 - good use of existing trees and obstacles in the park
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - Signs were good, but no "next tee" signs pointing to the next hole. A couple were tricky.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 5 - nice concrete tees
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - the limited hills in the park were used well in the course - one blind hole.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - a nice, well kept city park
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - baskets in great shape
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 3.5 - nothing super short - but good variety
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - course makes you use FH, BH, rollers, thumbers to do well. A strong point.
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 5 - very well kept and grass mown
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 3 - a relatively open park, but course makes good use of trees
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - I was expectign it to be easier than it was
PARKING (%g weight) - 5 - plenty of free parking
Cons: EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 2 - no holes stick out as extra exciting
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There were benches and trash cans in the park, but not many specific to the disc golf course
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 2 - i played on weekday afternoons and it was crowded even then. Weekends must be rough.
Other Thoughts: Played with a local DGCR guy - had fun

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My backyard

5+    8/17/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: SkipAceJoe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eldo is a technical course with tall trees and short grass. There are a variety of basket locations for each hole and baskets are moved often. Even though the course is free to play it remains relatively uncrowded aside from a few locals and an occasional beginner group.
Cons: Cons? It's hard to think of anything bad about this course.
Other Thoughts: The course has a few holes with low trees but the short grass gives big skips. A sidearm shot can be very handy here as long as you plan for the skips.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    5/21/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 'Eldo' is nice course that is easily walkable due to the flat grassy terrain. The tee pad placement is intuitive and well marked making it easy to navigate the course. There are very few mandatories which makes any route a good route as long as you avoid the O.B. walkways. There are two practice baskets at the beginning of the course and one of them has several markers around it, which makes warm ups a bit more fun. Has a pro shop if you need refreshment or a new disc.
Cons: The baskets are a mixture of age, type and condition. The flight path from the first tee crosses a walkway which is frequently used by the local tennis players. Usually windy in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This course does not qualify as great because the course does not offer enough diversity. Every shot is thrown over manicured grass, which is nice but becomes a little boring. The flatness of the course can also become redundant.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 18 Holes

5+    2/10/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course in a DG exclusive park.

- Good use of obstacles, mature trees offer a good challenge that force you to chose a tight shot under the trees or a long bomb over the tree line.

- Navigation is easy, signs are well marked.

- The course has a great vibe, you can tell that this course is well loved by the locals. There is always a good turnout however it doesn't get so crowded that you have to wait on every hole.

-There is a great mix of holes offering a great variety of shots depending on the pin positions which are moved regularly. The back 9 offers some open longer holes including the 723' monster hole.

- This is a great course to learn shots that you may not normally need, most importantly a roller. This is a great place to refine your roller skills.

- Tees are in great shape, with bathrooms onsite.
Cons: Not a lot to hate about this course. It is very flat however they make use of any available elevation change.

Some holes can be a bit short depending on the pin position, especially in the front.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is definitely worth the trip if you are in the area. It is unique to other courses in the area with the trees that force either accurate low shots or huge throws over the top.

It is an all around fun course that offers a decent challenge but remains relatively forgiving.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.