Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #18
3 / 282ft.   3 / 354ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Historic El Dorado

1    12/8/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy navigation, front 9 more or less run along the road, easy to find your way to the next tee pad (maps in the pro shop as well)
-all tee boxes are concrete
-friendly locals (at least the ones I met)
-beautiful park, alot of trees and plenty of shade
-good baskets: front 9 are dga mach 2s, back nine are innova discatchers
-I was told that Philo Brathwaite plays here often
Cons: -most of the holes felt the same
-mostly flat, little to no elevation changes
-no basket numbers on the basket
-was told by the friendly locals that there are drunken idiots on the course as well
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great experience for my first time at El Dorado. Holes are a decent length with a couple of birdie opportunities. The park is beautiful and the locals that I met up with were super friendly (Thanks for showing me around Les). Navigation is easy, however what makes it hard is that the baskets dont have numbers (due to vandalism). One major con to me is that I felt I was throwing more or less the same shot on most holes. Sure there are some different tree arrangements that alter the shot slightly, but overall I felt that the holes didn't have as much variety. There are mandatories, but they're so generous they mind as well not be there. Despite this opinion, I really liked it here. If you throw big hyzer bombs...you won't be able to do that here and may find this course more challenging. Straight shots are definitely rewarded here. It seems like a great place to bring a beginner, but as an intermediate or even advanced player you can still enjoy yourself out here. You definitely have the opportunity to air out your disc, especially on hole 12 (500+ ft, but theres a 700+ ft pin position on this hole as well). Multiple pin positions, BUT they're all located pretty close to each other...seems like it may alter the hole sometimes and alot of times it wouldn't. I am just making this opinion based on the signage, but I've only played this course once so please keep that in mind. Overall I would definitely recommend checking out this course if in the area. btw I'm comparing this course to my home courses of Morley Field and Kit Carson Park, which I feel offer more variety of shots, more difficulty, and more elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Updated review of a good course

5+    12/7/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs. Baskets. Good park upkeep. Pro shop has only innova discs, which is an obvious bias, but whatever. Course layout was fun. Lots of tunnel and alley holes. Some mandatories are huge arrows nailed ten feet high on the trees. Free course maps at the proshop, where the help was friendly.
Cons: There were groups of locals hanging out all over the course getting drunk on lawn chairs and just being in the way. it gave the imagery of skid row homeless community.
Other Thoughts: Locals are still a mix of nice and rude. And still have potheads and drunks and what appears to be homeless people that play disc golf sitting on lawn chairs at tee 7 getting hight and drunk.

Course is still fun to play if you can keep a level head after hitting tree after tree in the tunnel baskets. I am going to visit more often.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 el dorado

1    8/28/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: freakinwizzz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of different shots
short and long holes
cool locals
good amount of shade on hot days
FUN
very nice park
well taken care of
Cons: socal is hot
i could imagine it could get crowded
Other Thoughts: i feel like any level of player can shoot good here. i had a lot of fun and i'm an intermediate level player

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Eldo

5+    7/16/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access course i.e. close to the freeway.
Awesome use of the trees which allows tunnel shots or big hyzers for the power players.
Good use of flags on baskets which are blind.
Relatively friendly local players that are willing to show you around.
Baksets move fairly often
Cons: Fairways cross some walkpaths
Low-inventory proshop discs-wise
Slick Slick teepads due to them being surrounded by dirt, so they can get muddy sometimes.
Difficult to navigate the course, i still have trouble sometimes.
In a nice area but there can be some 'punks' around
Gopher holes means watch your step
Other Thoughts: I have a love/hate for Eldo as i hate the area but enjoy the course, i love that it is probably the most wooded course close to where i live which allows for practicing low tunnel shots. Even though its in apublic park, the park itself is so big the disc golf course usually isn't busy with non-golfers, there are a few walkways but waiting a minute for someone to jog by is not a problem in my eyes. It also moves fairly quick, ive finished rounds in less than 40 min's there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Passing through LA

1    7/13/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes. More tightly wooded on the front 9. Some longer holes to bust a good drive on. Fairly easy to navigate, only recall one hole where you needed to walk a ways to the next tee and there were no signs. Appears that they move the holes periodically but there was bare ground around the hole locations (which turned muddy).
Cons: It was unexpectedly wet due to freak rain storm (in July?). This made the concrete tees muddy and slippery. Almost biffed it a couple of times. There are tee signs with distances, but they usually had only A-B-C distances but nothing to tell you which hole was in use. Had to guess at most of them based on drawings of the trees relative to the holes. Looked like a lot of transients hang out. Appeared to be a drug deal taking place in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: You will always have clueless people in a public park who will wander among the holes. Overall it was fine for a Fri afternoon. I could imagine the course gets busy on the weekend since there seemed to be at least one or more players at every hole on a weekday. No elevation changes to speak of as the park is pretty flat, but the mature trees make it fairly challenging throughout. Locals were cool and offered to let me play through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

5+    6/20/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in a great park.

Beautiful, beautiful, old trees dot the course. Well-manicured grass. Easy to jump around in order to skip past large groups, although locals are pretty cool (much better than at Huntington Beach) about letting singles and quick pairs play through.

I love how different the front 9 is from the back 9. The former has a lot of tight tree groupings, with fairly low-hanging branches, while the latter has more of the massive (ash?) trees and is more affected by the wind conditions.

My favorite hole is #4 because it has the tight tree grouping, but with a window just wide enough to squeeze through a drive, if you're accurate.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change, but the course uses the little bit it has well (elevated tees on #13 and #16).
Other Thoughts: On hole #12, there's an optional pin that permanently sits 723 feet away, if you're inclined to really challenge yourself. When I played the other day, the pin was in the 549 ft location, which is terribly tough for a Par 3, especially considering that the path/road going right down the middle of the fairway is OB and then just to the right of that is a massive tree. To get your drive right of the OB, but under the tree's branches is pretty challenging.

Also:
- Holes 15-17 have some pretty bumpy terrian due to wind erosion and the wildlife living underground.
- Holes 7 & 8 are good for practicing rollers.
- Aside from 15-17, it's not too hard to push a stroller here, which I've done multiple times and seen many other dads do.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling

1    2/18/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy Parking
-Pro Shop
-Friendly Locals
-Well Marked, easy to follow layout
-Shot variety
-Varied hole legnths
Cons: -Random people wandering through holes
Other Thoughts: Really nothing to complain about aside from a few Long Beach bums who decided to camp right in front of one tee box...Really enjoyed the challenge of the holes on the front 9, lots of opportunities to show off my lack of skill at rolling discs. Not really close to my house but will be coming back down for sure.

Also thanks to the tree climbing local that rescued some of our plastic on #8!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse and Technical

5+    12/10/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disc Golf Course is located around the tennis courts at El Dorado Park in Long Beach (ElDo). This is a well kept course where the baskets are moved regularly to keep the game fresh every time you go.

I enjoy the diversity of the ElDo. The front nine are very technical and will challenge you with heavily wooded areas. The low ceiling trees give the ground rollers a slight advantage on baskets 7 and eight. but I have seen some tomahawk throws over the trees that were very accurate; it is doable. The first basket on the front nine is a short drive, but is also heavily wooded. A low, solid drive RHBH to weave dog-leg left will get the disc in "Birdie" range.

Baskets 3, 4, 5, and 6 play along the Northwest parameter of the park (Studebaker and Spring). These play a bit challenging against some trees and rolling hills. This front nine is in great condition and the trees make for a pleasant hike.

The Back 9 are all about distance and weaving around older thick tree trunks. 10 - 14 are my favorite to play. Watch out for the MONSTER 12. If your feeling ambitious it has a 723ft basket that they keep out there, and they still count it as a par 3 (good luck). The other basket on 12 switches off between 366ft. and 549ft.

I like the "Pro-Shop" here. It does have a wide selection of Innova discs and bags. The DG shop shares space with the racket shop. The guys working the register know more about tennis though.

The bathrooms are in the pro shop and are very clean.
Cons: If your just starting out in the sport this is not the best course to play at. After about six months of practice on less technical courses, this would be a good one to stretch you.

Lots of gopher holes. If your not careful walking through the course you might twist an ankle in the plethora of gopher homes. Its like a resort for those rodents; per-verbal Swiss cheese in some areas.
Other Thoughts: If you want a challenging course to up up game Eldorado is the place to go. Good luck and have fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun pace

5+    10/17/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: dirtyc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: all round great place to play, anything from short to long shots. lots of trees to dodge. one thing that i really love about this place is you can use ever throw from a back hand to a tomahawk. they usually change the baskets about every weeks too witch its nice almost like you got a whole new place to play every weeks
Cons: can really think of any. some trees might eat your disc so keep them low!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice park course

2-4    7/29/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 28  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 4 - A fun course to play and locals all look like they're having fun
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 3 - good use of existing trees and obstacles in the park
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - Signs were good, but no "next tee" signs pointing to the next hole. A couple were tricky.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 5 - nice concrete tees
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - the limited hills in the park were used well in the course - one blind hole.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 3 - a nice, well kept city park
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - baskets in great shape
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 3.5 - nothing super short - but good variety
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - course makes you use FH, BH, rollers, thumbers to do well. A strong point.
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 5 - very well kept and grass mown
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 3 - a relatively open park, but course makes good use of trees
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - I was expectign it to be easier than it was
PARKING (%g weight) - 5 - plenty of free parking
Cons: EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 2 - no holes stick out as extra exciting
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There were benches and trash cans in the park, but not many specific to the disc golf course
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 2 - i played on weekday afternoons and it was crowded even then. Weekends must be rough.
Other Thoughts: Played with a local DGCR guy - had fun

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.