Long Beach, CA 
El Dorado Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #10
3 / 264ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Plays like a much smaller La Mirada

1    8/12/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plentiful Parking
Shade
Left-hand and right-hand friendly holes were evenly mixed.
Trees for added difficulty.
Free!
Cons: No elevation change
Mostly short and moderate distance challenge
Hole #1 has a lot of pedestrians and parking lot overlap making for a difficult wait or shot selection.
Some signage is incomplete or inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice public park that is free to play. It does look dated, but is well maintained and has a lot of friendly, local folks to help if you need it. The park is multi-use and this can complicate hole #1 since you are throwing toward the parking lot where a lot of people are in motion (tennis, DG, picnic, etc.). Do not be surprised if you have to wait at hole #1 a while for a clear moment to throw.
The course is not overly challenging, but does encourage some disc and shot selection to make it a worthwhile venture.
Overall, this course feels a lot like La Mirada (a few holes are right next to a busy street, multi-use, public, free, etc.) but is a lot shorter (18 holes only) and has less elevation and challenge to it.
If you are in the area I do recommend it. If you have the choice to go to La Mirada then I would suggest it instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 first time at a good course

1    11/14/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: Mkelley21
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: everything is smooth
decent teees
lots of fun
cool atmosphere
clubshouse is rad
Cons: not long drives
hole 6 should be a par 4
the tee signs are old
you could hit a car on hole 6
Other Thoughts: bring your a game
lotta dudes there been playing years.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Classic Course

2-4    12/23/2015   1/30/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- Free to play
- Plenty of parking
- Full 18 holes
- Large concrete tee pads
- Numbers tee signs with map of the multiple pin positions and their distances
- Well groomed fairways
- Easy to follow course flow
- In a public park, but devoid of non discing pedestrians
Cons:

- Most pin positions weren't long enough to really open up long drives
- Good amount of fairway/tee pad overlap, keep head on a swivel
- Baskets and tee signs were a little worn down. It was hard to read a few signs.
- High traffic course
- Not much punishment for errant shots
Other Thoughts:

Things are little run down at El Dorado, tee signs could use some TLC. The course itself is fairly flat, open, and most holes did not require a distance driver. That being said, it was one the most fun L.A. courses I have had a chance to throw. The first few holes are shorter and tighter, towards the end they get a little longer and wide open. I strolled up to the first teebox on a beautiful sunny day and latched on to a couple of locals. This was my third new course of the day and I really didn't feel like aimlessly wandering around like I did at the two courses I had played earlier. The funny thing is that they almost denied my request. The El Dorado course is very approachable for beginners and a fun chill course for advanced players.

Believe it or not, the fun doesn't have to end when the sun goes down. Parts of this course can also be played at night because of the way it's orientation around the well lit park tennis court. If you stick to the holes closest to the court you'll have enough light to play. Thanks for the course cheat code Mr. retired Japanese teacher (sorry I forgot your name), you the man!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie But Goodie

1    3/30/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 75  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -large tee pads
-good basket quality with multiple pin positions
-large mature trees
-clean, nice & modern bathrooms a short walk from hole one
-two practice baskets
-nice signs with distances and rough maps of each hole
-ample parking, park is easy to find
-board that includes local events
-good use of out of bounds
-course is located in a multi use park wrapping around a tennis facility. Pro shop has disc golf supplies, however no maps when I visited.
Cons: -creativity. holes are lacking creative punch. No signature hole here. very few holes over 400 feet, most are sub 350 feet and straight off the tee.
-cramped design. To fit 18 holes into the land here, the designers had to scrunch fairways together, none cross, but they come very close. At times, you'll be walking back up the previous fairway to get to the next hole. Mando's are used often to combat this.
-little to no elevation change, however designers use what is available
-only one or two trash cans, only one bench that I saw
-no number plates on the baskets. baskets are mixed, some Mach 2's some old Discatchers some new Dicatchers.
-as a result of missing number plates, it was tough to navigate for a first timer. Sometimes the closest tee is not your next tee. Sometimes the closest basket is not the basket for your hole. I did see a few directional arrows that we're helpful.
Other Thoughts: Despite the con's above, I would def play here again. I understand the nuances with updating an older course, sometimes it is very difficult to make improvements to an older design.

I would not travel far to play here however, but if your in the area it's worth checking out. Bring the family, the park and California sunshine are wonderful.

Great course for first timers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home course for the last year.

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Questatement
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I play at least 2 rounds a week here and have for the last year. Good combination of long and short with plenty of trees to avoid. Low canopy shots reward good elevation control unless and/or you can go over the tops of trees (some tall) and drop in. Plentiful mandos and/or OBs keeps fairway crossings to a minimum and punish the over zealous. Very few non-players to watch out for other than hole 1 which is the main walkway from the parking lot to the tennis courts and is only 10' in front of the t-pad so it's impossible to hit anyone there without trying. Baskets were recently painted/renovated/replaced and are getting moved more than I've seen in the last year or so. The complaints about some of the locas being bummish is true but they are all cool if you get to know them. There's also a solid group of working guys that I consider almost as local, me being one of them. If you have an arm for 375' or more, you can birdie every hole. Long, technical, or a combination of both define 2/3 of the holes. Manicured grass covers 95% of the course and shade is abundant on most tee pads, here, there, and everywhere. Can get crowded but what do you expect for a free and well kept/designed course?

My favorite aspect of this course is the wide range of scores I can come up with on a good vs. bad day. Most courses I shoot a variable of about 7 strokes (3 over to 3 under) but here, I shoot anywhere from 7 under to 5 over thanks to a great combination of trees, mandies, OB's, and basket placements.
Cons: Less than a foot too high, trying to get under a canopy, getting slapped down and only making it half way to the basket instead of all the way.
Other Thoughts: Come on by, I'm the guy with the glove on my throwing hand.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  There be gold in El Dorado!!!

5+    3/1/2012   5/12/2014
Review By: GilliganOGD1980
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The people who play there - The course is perfect for the intermediate player. Well managed and primarily dedicated to disc golf. Perfect for rollers and power drivers alike. Synergy between park rangers, tennis players and disc golfers... One of few places in S. Ca where somebody from out of town can make friends. INTL players from all over the world come to play there sometimes... Well designed and can be adjusted for Pro-level players.
Cons: Major holidays - unwritten rule - park becomes a place for picnics and families - (not really a con) On Sat & Sun can get backed up and overcrowded especially when Long Beach St is in session... Lots of big trees, and I have at least had 5 discs become permanent ornaments or somebody else's treasure after a windy day. Slippery in early morning hours and a few gopher holes here and there - and watch out for wasps/bees once in a blue moon
Other Thoughts: The cons are minor - I started playing El Do when it was wood posts in the early eighties - met the guy who designed it once... and have met many living legends of D golf there. The original group of people that have been playing since the 90s are some of the best people I have met in the sport. Often helping homeless people get back on their feet. Everybody is equal there... all races, nationalities, ages, social strata - come together... It is an example of why disc golf is one of the greatest sports on the planet. Even the rangers contribute to the over all atmosphere of freedom...

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Expect to hit a lot of trees

2-4    12/12/2010   12/13/2013
Review By: CK_32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - Beautiful Park
- Tons Of Shade
- Never Crowded
- Technical Course
Cons: - Tons of trees
- Ok area
- Not my Style of play
- Again too many trees
Other Thoughts: Every time I play this course I get pretty frustrated, expect to bang up your discs at least 1 time per hole. It's not one of my favorite courses but it's a good course just not open like I like to play. If your a technical player or enjoy woods and tight spaces or want a challenge this is the course for you. When you play you'll understand what I'm talking about.

Even tho it's not my preferred spot you have to play it at least 3 or 4 times. Once you master a hole it's actually kinda fun but till then expect frustration.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 flat & shady

2-4    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pretty much in the shade the whole time.
-Mix of tight and distance play.
-Manicured grass, little to no dust to deal with.
-Decent facilities.
-Very little pedestrian traffic for a course built in a public park.
Cons: -Weird locals. Saw some homeless people playing with ultimate discs. Same day saw the lawn chair group sitting around watching you play while they drink and smoke.
- No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The "pro shop" has a few dusty Innova discs. Discovering the World up by La Mirada on the other hand has every disc you could hope to find. More importantly the course is so much better. El Dorado is like a poor man's La Mirada. If you're paying a visit to LA go there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun

1    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 84  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Loved the grass and trees.
Fun! This course presents so many birdie opportunities without being a too short or too easy. It provides a challenges but its not too hard for less experienced players either.
Big concrete teepads were appreciated.
Great course layout.
Relatively easy to navigate without a map.
Cons: Many of the front 9 and some of the back 9 felt repetitive from hole to hole.
No real "signature" hole on this course.
Most holes played short at 200-300.
Other Thoughts: Rollers come in handy on this course, as trees block a lot of shots.
This is a mostly short, technical course, that was very fun to play. I would definitely play again next time in SoCal.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/29/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: DannyThunders
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome variety of shots
-Cool locals, check out the tree next to hole 7
-Low treeline promoters roller shots
-Pro shop sells drinks / discs
-Great putt practice area with 2 baskets!
-In an area that is used mostly for disc golf , save for tennis course / a library
-Located right off a major freeway in Long beach near the Lakewood border
Cons: -Tee's can get slippery
-Mud builds up around the tee for hole 17
-While most of the locals are nice , there is a few rougher ones that will beat your a** if you're rude (it is Long beach afterall , granted a nice part of it)
Other Thoughts: A staple in socal disc golf culture , definitely worth a trip if you're in the area .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.