Erwinna, PA 
Tinicum Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A challenging mix

2-4    7/8/2018   11/15/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Great mix of open and wooded holes. You need to be able to throw both "high and smart" and "low and careful" - the trees get you on the wooded holes, and the rough gets you on the open holes.
- They do a lot with a largely flat setting - and have figured out how to incorporate every slight elevation change available.
Cons:
- Signage is getting a bit old and spotty. I hate to see maintenance slip on the small touches. The course is mowed and maintained - so the holes themselves are great. But a little attention to signage and "next tee" arrows would make it even better.
Other Thoughts:
- This is a very good course, and I found myself pushing my rating up the more I thought about how good the holes are.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Come To Tinicum

2-4    7/14/2018   7/15/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + One tee pad per hole but multiple possible pin locations. This means a lot of variability between sessions.
+ All tee signs are made of sturdy plastic. They show a diagram of the hole ahead, the distances to the different pins locations and each pin's par. A dial below the sign indicates to the player which pin is currently in play.
+ Among the open holes, the grasses are mowed at different heights to create clear lines between fairways and rough. The rough areas are not too tall, so any discs that land there can still be easily found.
+ The course plays in a quiet and expansive township park area with two or three holes alongside a natural canal. There are no mind-blowing sights here, but it is still a peaceful place.
+ Very many wide open holes to let loose and throw your hardest and farthest. Many holes are in the 350-foot range or more! Be ready for a healthy walk.
+ A few wooded holes peppered in add variety to the course.
+ Easy access to bathrooms right next to Tee5. Benches and trash cans are everywhere. Please do not litter.
Cons: - There are no 'next tee' signs. It's true that the 'current tee' diagrams point the player in the direction of the next tee, but it ought not be put upon the player. Signage is part of any course, and 'next tee' signs go a long way in making the course play more smoothly. The biggest offenders of this are from hole 4 to 5 and from hole 9 to 10.
- The tee pads have a lot to be desired. The best way I can describe them is loose fine gravel. The material is unevenly spread within most tees. A player can slip on such a free-moving platform. A few have been used so much that there are deep ruts carved down the middle. This limits the player's mobility during a wind-up.
- Not much elevation challenge to speak of. There are some gradual uphill and downhill slopes, but this course is mostly flat.
- With the exception of holes 7, 13 and 14, there are no densely wooded holes that truly challenge a players accuracy and placement.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole at Tinicum might be hole 3. To my mind, it is the most dynamic of the course, meaning that it has the most varied elevation. I like its downhill slope followed by slight uphill charge to the basket. Plus, it isn't too long or too short.
My least favorite hole here might be hole 12. It was pretty flat and straight-forward.

As for the course as a whole, Tinicum Park's disc golf course is a nice open place to practice your power drives. The course does have wooded holes, but they are not the focus of this venue. Still, players who prefer challenge through deliberate placement will probably enjoy the park-style holes because of how organized and apparent they are.
The tee pads are lacking, and the elevation is minimal. There are no truly dazzling holes here, but Tinicum is a good place to go for a slow-paced and leisurely session with friends or solo.

I recommend Tinicum to the power throwers who are looking for a calm place to fling their farthest. Technical players will probably enjoy it, too, because of the occasional wooded hole that takes you by surprise. The varying pin locations ensure that playing here will not feel predictable, although it is kind of a let-down if a pin position that you like isn't in play that day. But, that's just how it goes sometimes.
Come to Tinicum for a wide-open low-pressure session of disc golf. Bring your furthest gliders!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A rebirth...of teepads!

5+    11/20/2015   12/7/2015
Review By: odysseus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tinicum is experiencing a face lift! New stone dust pads are being installed on EVERY hole! Completely level & raked (as of mid-late Nov).

And, pin positions are being changed! I have travelled to Tinicum for the past 5+ years, and this was the first time I played #5 to any position not on the hill (it was in the farthest). Nice to see these being rotated more frequently! It makes this a GREAT bomber course when the baskets (especially the back #9) are rotated to the longs at times. There was a long span where the back was only in A or B.

Not only can you bomb you heart out, but the wooded sections require touch, finesse, and accuracy. Long drives on open holes might seem like a free for all, however correct placement does go far.

Power of ~400ft is needed to score on most Par 3s. Great place to experiment with new drivers.

Well-manicured; always see the parks dept. performing land maintenance.
Cons: If the pins were rotated more frequently, I would play here more often.

At times, high winds can make this course difficult to enjoy. This is moreso true when the rough is long, but it has not been all year!
Other Thoughts: Now that Tinicum has new teepads (and hopefully, rotated pins consistently), it is on par with Little Lehigh & Jordan once again. It is the definition of drive for show, putt for dough.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3 holes to every hole, a fun course to go to

1    7/14/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: This course is a little out of the way but totally worth going to! The first couple holes are pretty much the same, wide open how far and close can you throw. But once you moved into the woods it was a lot of fun. With different lines and lengths, its never the same old throw. Going from open to woods back to open back to woods and ending in an all you can throw hole!
Cons: Other than some holes just being wide open, where its more how far can you throw than how accurate can you be, it was a very fun course.
Other Thoughts: I would have done it twice but I went after work and would not be able to get in the 2nd round before it got dark. This is a fun course and if you go right after they mow you are at low risk of losing you disc. And with 3 hole locations on every whole, it gives the course a new feel every time you play!

 Tinicum

2-4    4/19/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes.Multiple pin placements for each hole gives a good variety of shots for each hole. Fairways where well defined and mowed. Rough area's haven't grown in yet but you could still see that they are in fact the rough.

Seating at just about every hole. Playground for kids, walking path along the canal. Water hazards come into play on a couple of holes, but not many.

Each hole has multiple ways to attack the basket. If you have a roller you can break that out on a few holes, anny shots, hyzer shots....long bombs. Really got to air it out on a few holes, especially 18 which is close to 800' par 4.
Cons: Some people may feel the holes get repetitive, but I don't think so. Its a nice mixture of open and wooded.

Only negative I could see is the natural tee pads being pretty worn in. Maybe moving them from time to time to prevent them from getting a big rut in the middle of them.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to see the course before I played it in an upcoming tournament (People's Detour) and really enjoyed the back to back rounds I played. We got their early enough that for the first round we had the course to ourselves so that enabled us to try multiple shots with different type of shots. Second round we noticed a few more people showing up so we played a normal round.

I didn't mind the natural tee's but some seem to be worn in pretty good. I think 3 I tee'ed off from the side. There was a lot of foot traffic and bike traffic along the canal, so I can see that becoming a potential problem while playing 10 and 11.

All in all I really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to this upcoming tournament and later in June.

 Befitting Bucks County

2-4    11/10/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: UCC Wizard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played this course back-to-back on a beautiful fall day, because we just couldn't force ourselves to leave after 18. Well marked holes with integrated maps and tee location markers at every tee box. Great combination of medium and long holes, as well as open and wooded holes. I defy anyone to play a round without hitting a tree trunk, yet all holes still offer you a chance to play cleanly. 18th hole 799 foot finisher is a challenging par 4 for anyone despite the straight-away layout. Getting there in 3 requires consecutive distance bombers. Fun finish. Large practice hole area near 1st tee, along with restroom facilities is a big plus. Being close enough to Nockamixon or Tyler State Park for high quality same day marathons is a plus.
Cons: As awesome as this course is, its a real headscratcher as to why the complete lack of quality tee boxes. This is the 1 glaring weakness. Some people complain of the flatness, but since that is definitely a personal preference, I don't hold it against the course. Tee boxes on the other hand, are not a personal preference and are unequivocally a bummer for all players. New concrete pads would easily boost this course rating to over 4.0.
Other Thoughts: Bucks county in the fall is as pretty as it gets, and this course alongside the Delaware takes full advantage. You may have to search for your discs in the leaves after throwing a low worm-burner during the fall, or wade thru some heavy fairway rough in the fields during the summer. But you'll be doing it in beautiful Bucks county.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, long

2-4    5/13/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, clean course.
Cons: Fairly boring course to play. I played two rounds there in one day and by the second many of the holes were blurring together. Almost all the holes are very flat. Most of the holes are pretty open and not that challenging. Of the wooded holes, one lacks any clear lanes and the other two are just narrow straight-aways. Also, poor teepads (or lack thereof); all they have is gravel, which has been worn down to uneven pits.
Other Thoughts: Could do with better signage on how to get from hole to hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tinicum

1    6/15/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2015
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Manicured fairways in the open fields holes add a feeling of playing on a links course for ball golf it is awesome.
I love natural tee pads but these could use a little TLC. You use ever shot here, makes for a challenging round.
The canal comes into play on various occasions which makes for some touchy upshots and death putts.
Cons: Hole 7 is a little too tight. I like technical holes but its a little rough off the tee.
Would just like some direction as you get into the park as to where hole 1 is.
Other Thoughts: Course is alot of fun!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This course is great!

2-4    11/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *A good combination of wooded holes and open holes
*Some holes with water hazards to make it challenging
*Very scenic location
*Well maintained tee boxes and baskets
*Fairway and rough on some holes
*Ninth hole is near the parking lot so you can go back to your car
*Not many places you could lose a disc
*Near some other courses (Nockamixon and Alexandria)
*Nineteenth hole for putting practice
*Very clean
Cons: *A lot of walking between holes
*Pretty Flat
*Sign missing on sixteenth hole
Other Thoughts: This is a course that will make you want to come back and play again

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tinicum is the Bomb

1    11/7/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - This place has a 19th Hole for putting
- There is A B and C pin placements
- The signage was pretty good
- The 18th hole was a BEAST
- It was almost like a mini clubhouse between the 9 and 10th hole. There was a parking lot, bathroom, and another practice basket.
- This course is half open, like 5, it's short but uphill and completely open and 18 is open but partly downhill
- You just want to let your discs fly because this course is so great.
- Good dirt tee boxes
- The baskets were terrific
- There was even a marked "fairway" on some holes
- NO garbage on the course
- NO runners that you can hit
Cons: - I wasn't sure what pin placement it was
- Some holes had long walks to the next one, and it took me 5 minutes to find the tee sometimes
- Some tee boxes were worn away
Other Thoughts: Not many other thoughts. This course was awesome!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.