Monroe, NC 
Bearskin Creek Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #18 (Taken 4/2017)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Bottom of the list.

1    3/20/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dickerson Park/Bearskin Creek DGC is what it is, and I can't say anything more positive about it.

DPBC is equipped with yellow DISCatchers with one layer of chains, one basket per hole. Tee pads are natural grass for the short tees, concrete for the longs. Tee pads are located in the vacinity of the short pads, displaying hole number, distances for short and longs, and par. No map on these signs, but not at all necessary as the course is quite open and very straight forward.

OB comes into play in a few areas, as well as Bearskin Creek, which is in play on holes 11-16. A variation of distances is present. The long tee pads will offer up some challange to this otherwise easy course.

The layout of the course flows well, and efficiently uses its area in the park. Since it is open it is pretty tough to get lost out here.

The layout of this course would be fun for a beginner. I believe this to be one of Stan McDaniel's first projects in the area, and used what the park offered quite well. I'm sure this course wasn't so bad at one time...
Cons: Where do I begin? Cons are listed in the order of importance(to me).

Baskets for holes 8 and 13 are currently missing. The tee sign for hole 8 has been spraypainted over, and the sign for 13 is missing completely, which leads me to believe this is now a 16 hole course perminantly.

Course is located in a depressed area of Monroe. My only advice would be to remember the "Safety in Numbers" phrase. Personally, I wouldn't venture to this one alone, and probably not at all during non-peak hours.

The basket for hole 7 is tagged with a "crips" paintjob on the top band(in red, still can't figure this one out). The same basket appears to have been backed into by a truck as the basket tray is bent in on one side.

Bearskin Creek is nonrelenting. The creek averages 5' in depth, and the water is near impossible to see through. Forget any disc thrown into it, you'll just be wasting your time trying to get it out and it will end up frustrating you even more. Bring throwaway plastic for these holes, I wish I did.

Very little technical aspect to the course. The front 9 plays in wide open spaces, with a couple of trees which are easy to contend with and all holes are easily reachable if you can throw around 300'. The back 9 is a little more technical, with the nasty creek to contend with, a dumpster and parking/sidewalks.
Other Thoughts: As I was playing at Dickerson I was debating the rating of the course. Early in the round I felt at 2 disc rating was right on. The experience got progressively worse, with the vandalism on the basket on hole 7 reminding me what part of town I was in, and then hole 8s basket missing completely. It was a reasonable disc golf course, until hole 13 was missing completely. It was then that I was set on the fact that this course was barely passable.

Totally not worth the trip over there if you ask me. This is the closest course to my job(3 miles away), and it took me over 2 years to finally get out there. Reviews and raitings kept me away from Dickerson. I decided to venture out of the city when the Carolina Clash was happening in Charlotte. Based on my experience here I will never be going back, not with the plethera of top-notch courses Charlotte has to offer. I apologize if this review offends anyone, but the truth hurts sometimes...

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Did not enjoy this course

1    1/9/2011   1/13/2011
Review By: Buzzs1966
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a wide open course great for a beginner on the first nine which is near the road and seems safe.
Cons: baskets were missing and damaged on the back 9, also had gang grafitti which made my wife very uncomfortable. The back 9 is farther into the park and seemed very secluded. It was very empty and not well used they appear to be trying to rehab the park but I would suggest waiting to play here when the construction is complete and probably on summer days when there are more people there. It seems to be in a depressed neighborhood so safety was a concern.
Other Thoughts: This could be a great and challenging course once they are finished fixing it up. It looks like they are trying to do this.....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 air it out

5+    10/8/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: mostly open layout that favors big arms. never crowded, except the occassional pic-nic crowd. pretty easy to follow, tee pads are concrete at long posisitions, grass for shorts. the creek is a factor on the last 6 holes.
Cons: the creek is freakin nasty... if you lose one in the water, forget it.... probably the funkiest, nastiest creek ive ever seen. this place gets no love, not many people play here. but i like it.
Other Thoughts: good place to air it out, the wind is usually a factor here, and the creek is a brutal nasty fothermucker

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come

5+    9/25/2007   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.5 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C (the creek makes it more so for lefties)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Little Course

1    4/8/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While the Dickerson Course is not set in the most idea surroundings, (the park is located in a neighborhood of lower income housing), the course play very nicely. The site lines for each hole are clear and creative with many ace run hole. Its a great course to practice your tee shots on hittable par 3s. Several large mature trees dot the fairways and pin placements have been set with creative consideration. There really was only one hole that seemed a little awkward (the 10th) it is a short, blind tee shot that doglegs right over a large hillside. A pedestrian walkway traces the leftside fairway and this combination of pedestrian traffic and blind tee shot is a safety hazard; make sure you either have a spotter along the walkway or make sure that no one is coming before you tee off. The tee pad are grass, and usually this is a very unfavorable arrangment but it really isn't a factor @ Dickerson, (perhap the course sees so little traffic that the tee boxes aren't abused).
Other Thoughts: Dickerson Park isn't a roadtrip course per se but if you're a Charlotte disc golfer, its definately worth a trip down there to shot it. Hope you Ace one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to navigate

2-4    9/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and pretty. Reasonably difficult on the back nine. Front nine is way too easy. Most shots are wide open, so it's a great place to learn how to play DG and throw. There is a good variety between the long and short tees. Most holes play very differently, depending on which tees you use. Good use of elevation. Good use of trees and water to create challenging shots.
Cons: I have played the course several times and still haven't figured out Holes 7,8 and 9. VERY difficult to navigate and locate some of the tees. Have not been able to find a guide to tee and hole locations. No tee signs on the course. Very hot in the summer, bring sunscreen and a hat. The course is not in a good neighborhood. I've seen more seedy characters on this course than every other course I've ever played. I don't feel comfortable going by myself. Because the park is mixed-use, it's hard to play the whole course if the other parts are being used (picnics, baseball, soccer practice, etc.)
Other Thoughts: The course is built on the edge of a recreational area with a baseball, soccer and basketball areas. Best to play early to mid-day on weekdays.
Watch out for the creek that runs along the last 5 or 6 holes.Usually very quiet early in the day, so it's a good place to practice. Don't go to the park in the late afternoon or early evening. The fields on the course are being used for soccer, baseball and various kinds of practice. The course is beautiful and fun but got hits for poor flow, bad signage, impossible navigation, and problems with mixed use.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: whansen319
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just started playing this year, so take this for what it's worth. Nice, wide open course. Good for practicing or learning new discs without having to hunt in the woods. Few hazards to deal with (except the creek!).
Cons: Hard to find a trash can. Left a red Starfire in the creek. Hate littering worse than I'll hate replacing it.
Other Thoughts: Definitely plan to play this one again. A nice change from the challenging, up-and-down romps in the woods around Charlotte.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A gentle bear of a course.

2-4    4/9/2009   6/4/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 256  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2017
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is wide open on most holes, so let it rip. It's built in the field of a very small park. Front 9 plays around a rec center.
- Course is never crowded, so you're able to play at your own pace or spend extra time practicing.
- There are some fun hole layouts here. Course does a good job taking advantage of the few obstacles - trees, hill, creek - that the terrain offers.
- #16 is solid, enjoyable hole. From the short tees, you tee off next to a playground, to a basket protected by two trees. You sail your shot too long, you bring the creek into play. A good shot results in an easy birdie, but an overaggressive shot can spell trouble.
- Over the past several years, the park has made several noticeable improvements. There's a nice, new playground along with improvements to the basketball court. Playing this course in March 2014, for the first time in several years, it was a great sight to see the park actually getting used. Maybe more park goers will help encourage locals to put forth more attention to the course.
Cons: There are still some major issues with this course, which make it an afterthought for most people.
- Baskets are in bad shape. Many are bent, crooked and/or missing. A fair number of tee signs are missing as well. Also, with the short tees not having pads, it's a real issue that the signs aren't aimed more accurately towards the basket. On #17, for example, if you use the direction of the tee sign as your compass for which hole you're throwing to, it'd be easy to surmise you're supposed to be throwing to #18 basket instead of #17.
- Course needs better signage throughout. For a first time player, you're going to extremely frustrated trying to figure out the flow/where the next hole is. Especially with several long walks, navigation is frustrating. A good course map would be a tremendous help.
- The creek that runs along and behind holes #11 - 14, 16 & 17 is filled with trash and is an unnatural, filthy color. Among the objects I've seem in the creek are a toilet and shopping carts. If you lose a disc in there, you can pretty much kiss it good-bye or risk getting an infection going after it.
- Tee pads are too short for anything more than a 1-step run-up.
- Area surrounding park is sketchy. Unlike Sugaw Creek, which also is in a questionable area, this park is usually empty and therefore poses more of a potential risk. I'd much rather play a course that has heavy foot traffic, like Sugaw, than only come across an occasional person, some of whom seemed pretty sketch.
Other Thoughts: With some work and regular attention, course would appear much better. A 'fresh coat of paint' level of attention would improve Bearskin's image.
- For some reason, I actually enjoy the course. It's a simple, straight ahead course, and I like it!.
- As long as you know what you're in for - mainly a complete 180 from all Charlotte courses - and enjoy the change of pace, it's not that bad. It will still never confused with any of the area's good courses, but it does have a place in the Charlotte-area landscape.
- Distances on some tees holes didn't always seem completely accurate making for some fun over/under throws. Also, be prepared to not be able to find the long tee pads on all holes. After all these years, I still don't know where the long tee for #3 is. Are you supposed to throw on the sidewalk next to the building? 7 years later, you think I would know this by now.
- Rec center isn't always open, so good chance you have to go to gas station just up the road for a drink or bathroom.
- Because course is pretty wide open, they try to make up for it with challenging basket placements - behind trees, on edge of hill, etc.
- In the past, I would tell people to avoid this course. Now, with Dry Creek just 10 minutes away, I feel it's worth the time. Play both courses to get a feel for some solid Union County disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.