Atascadero, CA 
Heilmann Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 284ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Heilmann Park Provides Many Memorable Holes!

1    1/24/2019   2/10/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1379  Reviewed: 1294  Exp: 40.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heilmann DGC is coming up on it's 20th anniversary and it's holding up pretty well. It may be a little tame compared to some of today's monsters but it's rugged terrain covered with Live Oaks trees is a perfect setting for a disc golf course.

At the start, you'll see the kiosk with "some" information, not a lot. The pads are solid concrete ones. The tee signs are an attractive mix of green, grey and black and shows the route for the hole. The baskets are an unpleasant shade of orange which doesn't exactly pop! Some of them have a white tee arrow. There are benches and brooms at most holes. Each tee sign has a message below and many offer some good common sense, such as Don't play in groups bigger than five or Allow faster players or groups to go ahead. I liked their messages. Some holes have up to five baskets positions and I'm glad to announce that there is a spinner on each tee sign that is set to the current basket position. Thank you for that.

With this wonderful hilly terrain, there are so many ops for juicy downhills, cool basket placements and awesome natural fairways owing to the contour of the land. Among the many holes that I enjoyed were;

4 in the B position. I think my notes say it was 491' slightly down through a very pretty natural fairway.
# 6 was another pretty hole playing at 267' across a canyon.
11 D featured a nice basket placement up near the street with this great gnarly branch guarding it.
# 12 A was just a sweet little 216' Ace run.
# 13 B position is 280' with a cool basket placement over and then up a small ridge.
And finally, I liked # 18 in the A position which just a short little hole but there are group of wispy little trees in the way.
Cons: I don't have much in the way of Cons. I guess some would complain that this plays like a course designed 20 years ago, way more recreational than advanced challenge by today's standards.

Some shifty looking dudes hanging around.
Other Thoughts: This is just a very solid, relaxing and enjoyable course to play. This is a course that so many of us would love to proclaim our local course. It's not overly strenuous. They aren't many places to get into serious trouble. Very little searching for discs.

I could just hug this course.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Atascadero Disc Golf in the oaks

1    11/17/2018   11/18/2018
Review By: lardog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some hills and lots of trees make this a technically challenging course. Rewards straight drives in a big way. Very fun satisfying course even though I hit a fair amount of branches. Well thought out course. Brooms at each tee pad. Fairly decent navigation. Friendly crowd.
Cons: Not a beginner course. Some potential for nasty rollers with baskets on hills.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyable course with a thoughtful layout.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice peaceful quiet park

2-4    7/2/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: Vninja
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Nice clean park. Great tee signs. Nice variety of shots and elevation changes even for a smaller disc golf park type. Never crowded both for park users and disc golf users. A lot of big trees bunch together at top to provide the course with about 75 percent of the course with plenty of shades. Of course my 75 percent is a number I'm making up in my head. It's peaceful and quiet here.
Cons: Can get very hot and later in the afternoon can get windy. First time I played there I had a hard time finding tee #6 and #10. Now it's my second time playing there and I had no problem navigating.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6.....follow around the tennis court. Hole 10.....after hole 9 go past hole 17 and etc and go up the hill toward your park car and hole 10 starts playing down.

 Tee Signs!

5+    11/27/2016   12/8/2016
Review By: ShortyToThrow
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of native oaks along with pines that force accurate shots to reach the baskets. New tee signs as of 12/2016 provide accurate measurements and direction on the course.
Cons: The hard pan can become slippery during periods of rain. It can get hot in the summertime.
Other Thoughts: Hole 16 and 18 were switched in 12/2016 to provide better course flow. Follow the next tee arrows on the signs once you get to 15.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and fun

1    8/11/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: MisterXray
Played: 179  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some low cielings, make first shot count. Lots of hard pan, come in hot and you are skipping, especially with the drought. No green to be seen. Nice and enjoyable otherwise.
Cons: Signage at teepads not accurate. Printing out the map here on DGCR for a few of the not so obvious tee pads.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course with lots oftrees

1    12/20/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 40  Reviewed: 38
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees and elevation changes for good challenges. Tee pads are good size, benches at each hole. Close to US 101. Quiet, shaded, bathroom, water fountain. Good mix of holes where a backhand drive is better and then the same if not more for a forehand/sidearm/flick. Course is well maintained for a natural setting. Poison Oak has been cleared out. multiple hole placements I am told.
Cons: Some squirrel holes. Hot in the summer. Fair amount of risk on some holes with not the best reward, i.e a bad roll can go a long way here with hilly terrain. Navigation a bit tough, I would print or download a map. Only one drinking fountain I saw along the way. Busy with a lot of players out.
Other Thoughts: Fun course.It may not be so much fun in the heat. Definitey worth playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Keep that disc low

5+    8/3/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Bossripper69
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very technical and has some length. The baskets are constantly moving keeping this course fresh.
Cons: Signage would be clutch. If this wasn't my local course it would be a headache figuring out where to go next.

Upkeep could be stepped up. Squirrels are making homes under pads and no one is stopping them. Lots of cracked corners out there...
Other Thoughts: Keep your disc low. the ceiling aint that high. Watch for counter culture and 40's. Otherwise a beautiful park. Have fun

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical - heavily wooded, elevation throughout, blind shots, requires a deep bag of shots. A really interesting and challenging course that will put skills to the test. Benches at every tee and plenty of shade!
Cons: Terrible signage.
Other Thoughts: This course plays across a hillside while traveling back and forth across small ravines. A very challenging layout with a heavy reward vs. consequence feel. Pull out your bag of tricks and BRING A MAP! I left here with a big smile on my face and I pretty well suck. The router engraved benches are very cool - I especially like hole 4: Zeppelin and Volcom!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A hot, dry, course, that rocks!

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads, all with benches. Baskets in fair condition. A little paint wouldn't hurt, but all the chains are there and they are all set up well. Multiple pin positions. Water fountains were all over the course, which is very necessary in the afternoon heat in early August. The layout made for a lot of fun, challenging holes. Uphill, downhill, and usually with multiple lines at the pin. They vary between left and right turning but there was almost always an option.
Cons: When I played, I saw almost no trash. The trash I did see, was a long way from any trash cans. I carried a bit, but it was a pain. As well put together as this park is, it needs more cans. Also. A lot of baskets were really close to the next tee and had a high likelihood of posing a hazard. The navigation towards the end got awful confusing. Twice I threw at the wrong basket even after scouting. The tee signs are woefully lacking. Even worse, they are misleading. When the basket is off and far to the left is across the canyon, out of sight, behind a hedge of oak trees... And there is a basket, in the canyon, to the left, at the right distance..... Might need better signs! This can be improved and I would love to rate the place higher. The last 4 holes were the worst to follow.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really loved this course. The oak trees are always framing a shot and always pose a challenge. If you are bold enough to try to sneak through the gaps, it can be beautiful, or really painful. I ran into a local who played the first 12 holes with me and helped immensely finding my way. After he left, it got a lot harder. Be prepared to walk up and down a lot of hills. Not steep, but expect it. This place get's HOT in the summer. I was glad to have cold(at the start) bottle of water, and a big hat. Don't let that stop you from coming to play this place. It is a lot of fun. Just watch out for rattle snakes, ticks, mountain lions, and folks from the correctional facility across the creek. (not positive that was what it was but that's what it looked like. just don't throw over that fence and it's no problem. ;)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heilman

1    6/18/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: gnarcaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical shots are required on most holes. Garbage cans are scattered around the park along with benches by every tee box. After the front 9 you walk by the restroom and back toward the parking lot if you need anything from your car.
Cons: ~75% of the tee boxes have a small post with an arrow and the footage posted, but the arrow usually doesn't point to the basket, I probably spent a total of 30 minutes running down the fairways looking for the basket being my first time out there, the small printed out course map posted doesn't do it justice. The course layout starts out decent and is easy to follow, but it gets kind of confusing on the back 9. I couldn't find the 18th tee box so I ended up playing from 9 to the 18th basket, looking at the map online is much better resolution so I think I know where it is, so print it out if it's your first time. Overall the layout of the course is pretty bad, the lanes are usually tight and lightly to heavily protected and it is very easy to wind up in the fairway of a neighboring hole. If there were other people playing I could see this being a huge issue, especially when some baskets are within 50' from later or previous holes.
Other Thoughts: When I played most of the holes were in very short positions so birdies can be abundant on most of the front 9, even with a few not so great shots par is still pretty easy to save if you have finesse shots in your bag. I do really like the fact that this course forces you to throw different shots on most holes. It is a great course to practice different throws and make use of mid range discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.