Lebanon, OH 
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Tinkering Course

1    7/4/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: ryandosparks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Great for beginners if you go by the posted Pars.
Cons: Wooded areas could be kept up better. Tee pads in the woods are beat up.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect course to work on your throw. Lots of holes in the wide open. Also has lots of wooded holes to practice hitting lines.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Turtlecreek

2-4    3/9/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape.

Tee pads are in good shape and can come in handy as this course tends to stay very wet after rain.

I really like their customized tee signs. Very clear on where you are throwing as well as obstacles and distance.

Course flows extremely well. Parking right by #1 course starts with open holes through first 6-7 holes then goes back into some of the best woodsy holes in the area.

Hole variety is probably my favorite thing about this course. There are holes for the distance throwers at the beginning and the better accuracy players will do better in the woods. I really like some of the dog legs on this course. I always find courses boring that are only for the long throwers, probably because I thrive on the accuracy woods holes.

Course is really pretty.

Never crowded.
Cons: Foliage is pretty well maintained. There are a couple of holes where I think they need to cut some brush but with standing water on some of the woods holes I understand this can be difficult.

Not many benches or trash cans around.

Not many elevation changes at all. Course stays very flat throughout. Especially the wide open holes at the beginning.

Course is surprisingly not very challenging as I have seen myself and the people I am playing with botch a throw deep into the woods and recover rather easily.
Other Thoughts: No restrooms throughout the course so be aware.

Be careful on the bridges after rain, they become very slick and I have seen a couple dangerous/hilarious wipeouts on them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun...and not fun.

1    6/12/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turtlecreek is an 18 hole course, set in a multi-purpose park in Lebanon, OH, not too far from Cincinnati.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and caught as well as you need. One pin position per hole.

A mix of rubber and concrete tees. Concrete on the open holes, rubber in the woods. One pin position per hole.

Nice mix of lines once you get in the woods. Tight-ish tunnels, forced straight, left and right shots...very nice. Several of those holes are shorter, but there's a couple that will make you stretch out and throw a good shot. The rough is punishing enough that you don't want to go there, as well. Decently done design in this portion of the course.

Cons: So much open. The first 6 holes are completely open. B-b-boring. Wind will be your biggest enemy here. With the wooded holes being quite fun, it's a bummer that there wasn't more of an attempt to spread out the open holes.

It would be nice if there were multiple tees on a lot of the holes, just to help the replay factor. Same goes for one pin position. There could be many interesting alternatives on many of the holes.

Not much elevation. It's pretty much flat throughout. There is a small creek bed in the woods, but it's nothing that should really interfere with any shots.
Other Thoughts: While Turtle isn't bad, it's not overly great, either. Even with the really nice wooded holes, all I seem to remember about it is the uber-boring first 6 holes and other wide open shots.

With so many other great options in the greater Cincy area, it's hard to recommend a trip here. If you happen to be close, it's worth a stop, but if I'm back in the area, it's not a course I'd be searching out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

2-4    3/18/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
Pros: Doesn't seem to be overly crowded, course provides a different variety of shots, fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Open holes get very boring, you will hate them on windy days. Open holes are close together so pay attention. Wooded holes get muddy. Some of the tee pads could use a make over
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course but it didn't blow me away either. Not sure I'd go out of my way to play it a lot. I definitely prefer Sycamore. If not for the first 6 holes being so bland, I'd have no problem bumping my rating to 4 stars.

Good Course

5+    6/22/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Great mix of distances.
Well kept.
Finish where you start.
Very low non DG traffic.
Cons: Maybe I go at the wrong times, but this is by far the most populated course I frequent. Still, it's never like throw and wait, throw and wait or anything like that.

Accuracy is needed in the woods, as you can definitely lose a disc back there.

Wooded holes can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek has a mix of asphalt (open) and rubber (wooded) tees. And while the asphalt will hold up better, if you get out there with the morning dew, you will slip and slide on the asphalt tees. Also, the open holes are really suceptible to wind. Plan on a few more mph than what you're feeling in your driveway before you go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

1    11/14/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 29 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy for new players
mixed progression
clean woods, and fairways
18 holes all easy to find
family friendly, a course for everyone
Cons: too easy, in the long run....
Other Thoughts: I felt this course is nice, but I prefer more of the extreme disc golf experience

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: decent 18 hole course past Eagle Ridge before mason...always well mowed, half in fields, half in woods.
Cons: the wooded holes can be a doozy, some may not like the mulch in the woods.
Other Thoughts: 18 is a long hole, but i love coming here, the wooded ones are real creative.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Flyboy, but aerial nonetheless

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turtlecreek DGC is a great place to get in a round with variety (woods and open fields) AND to watch (and hear) large remote control airplanes and frequent skydivers (well...hopefully you don't hear them...that might indicate a disaster in the making). It's kind of a game of flying discs and an airshow rolled into one.
The course is well-maintained despite limited trash receptacles, and features eight open field shots that can be influenced by the frequent breezes and the few planted trees and hillocks. It has ten wooded holes that are not overly tight, but the well-defined lines can sometimes be challenging for the rec to intermediate player. A creek comes into play on a couple of holes (or more, if you do what I did last time out, and kick off a tree deep into the woods!)
Signature holes are probably the long S-bend #11 and the open 600 foot #18 (the only two holes I've yet to par, after five rounds here).
Baskets are decent, and the open tees are asphalt, while the wooded tees are flypads. The flow and design are fairly straightforward with minimal hiking between one basket and the next tee. There are usually good tee signs, and next tee signs, when needed.
The park has bathrooms, water fountains, a small kiddie play area, a walking path, and a couple of shelters, but I've not seen much other activity here besides the 'air show' and the disc golf, so it's good for the latter.
Cons: There are only a few benches on the course, which is mostly flat (though most players enjoy a variety of elevation, a relatively flat course could be a plus for older knees!).
Though there is a practice basket, the very few alternate teepads and baskets don't seem to be used much.
Well north of Lebanon, Ohio, this course is situated pretty far out from major population centers (however, it's still within a 45 minute drive for Cincinnati and Dayton players).
Other Thoughts: Just attended the Turtlecreek Open yesterday, and on a calm day, the 980 to 1020 rated players shot in the mid to upper 40's for 18 holes here, and those (ahem) who are more (shall we say) 'humble' (like me) were satisfied with 60 or better. So the course accomplishes what decent courses do: separate the wheat from the chaff. Wait..I'm chaff?!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very flat
Very Clean
Decent range of throw options
Cons: Very Flat
The course seem to be really tight with not much room between fairways
Other Thoughts: Decent course over all, but it does get a little boring after a few times of playing. Very clean and well maintained though. If its slightly windy where you are around the Lebanon, then its probably really windy on the front 9. It is a wide open field and the wind has nothing to break it for the entire front 9. It does get hard to judge the distance shots some times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tucked Away

2-4    3/6/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: This course is good for practicing some obstacle shots. You can play this course with a small group in about 45 minutes.
Cons: This course was very muddy after the rain, so the back 9 was difficult to venture through.
Other Thoughts: This course had a nice mix of open long drive holes and short obstacles holes.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.