Lebanon, OH 
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
4 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
In The Flat Field

5+    8/21/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: mrclc
Played: 316  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turtlecreek is a schizophrenic course whose wooded half shines while the open holes predictably fall flat. The 10 holes in the woods (7-9, 11-17) offer some of the best intermediate-level shot shaping challenges in the area. There's good variety to boot, with left, right, and straight finishes on fairways with slightly above-average tightness. Playing well in the woods at Turtlecreek is attainable and satisfying for a rec-level player. A full 18 of these holes would likely be a 4.0 disc course.

The wooded course plays in the same space as a walking trail, but never down or across it. This makes most of the course feel disc golf exclusive, which is always a plus.

Baskets are unfussy Mach 2's in good repair that catch well.

The tee signs feature distance, hole diagrams, and a happy little turtle who just wants you to play your best.
Cons: Holes 1-6, 10, & 18 are in an almost entirely flat, open field and offer little in the way of obstacles or lines. If the entire course were like these holes it would likely be a 1.0 or 1.5 disc routing. Being an eternal optimist, I will note that these holes offer some of the most consistent wind play in the area, which (in my mind) keeps them from being completely throwaway.

The wooded holes seem perpetually swampy, and hold water for days after the most recent rain. Even once the standing water has dried up, the humidity remains. This can make for some uncomfortable rounds.

The wooded tees, which once were rubber mats, are in various states of disarray. It still beats natural tees, but they could use a little TLC.

Some of the awesome tee signs are missing on a handful of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: I've seen this course fairly busy as often as I've seen it completely empty, so it's hard to predict what players will encounter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tinkering Course

1    7/4/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: ryandosparks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Great for beginners if you go by the posted Pars.
Cons: Wooded areas could be kept up better. Tee pads in the woods are beat up.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect course to work on your throw. Lots of holes in the wide open. Also has lots of wooded holes to practice hitting lines.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Turtlecreek

2-4    3/9/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape.

Tee pads are in good shape and can come in handy as this course tends to stay very wet after rain.

I really like their customized tee signs. Very clear on where you are throwing as well as obstacles and distance.

Course flows extremely well. Parking right by #1 course starts with open holes through first 6-7 holes then goes back into some of the best woodsy holes in the area.

Hole variety is probably my favorite thing about this course. There are holes for the distance throwers at the beginning and the better accuracy players will do better in the woods. I really like some of the dog legs on this course. I always find courses boring that are only for the long throwers, probably because I thrive on the accuracy woods holes.

Course is really pretty.

Never crowded.
Cons: Foliage is pretty well maintained. There are a couple of holes where I think they need to cut some brush but with standing water on some of the woods holes I understand this can be difficult.

Not many benches or trash cans around.

Not many elevation changes at all. Course stays very flat throughout. Especially the wide open holes at the beginning.

Course is surprisingly not very challenging as I have seen myself and the people I am playing with botch a throw deep into the woods and recover rather easily.
Other Thoughts: No restrooms throughout the course so be aware.

Be careful on the bridges after rain, they become very slick and I have seen a couple dangerous/hilarious wipeouts on them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: Adownard
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great variety of holes
-course for all skill levels
-great looking course that is well taken care of
Cons: -Course can get really muddy in springtime
-the open holes can be a little boring
-lots of woods to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: I love this course and will definitely make it a regular course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun...and not fun.

1    6/12/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 336  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turtlecreek is an 18 hole course, set in a multi-purpose park in Lebanon, OH, not too far from Cincinnati.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and caught as well as you need. One pin position per hole.

A mix of rubber and concrete tees. Concrete on the open holes, rubber in the woods. One pin position per hole.

Nice mix of lines once you get in the woods. Tight-ish tunnels, forced straight, left and right shots...very nice. Several of those holes are shorter, but there's a couple that will make you stretch out and throw a good shot. The rough is punishing enough that you don't want to go there, as well. Decently done design in this portion of the course.

Cons: So much open. The first 6 holes are completely open. B-b-boring. Wind will be your biggest enemy here. With the wooded holes being quite fun, it's a bummer that there wasn't more of an attempt to spread out the open holes.

It would be nice if there were multiple tees on a lot of the holes, just to help the replay factor. Same goes for one pin position. There could be many interesting alternatives on many of the holes.

Not much elevation. It's pretty much flat throughout. There is a small creek bed in the woods, but it's nothing that should really interfere with any shots.
Other Thoughts: While Turtle isn't bad, it's not overly great, either. Even with the really nice wooded holes, all I seem to remember about it is the uber-boring first 6 holes and other wide open shots.

With so many other great options in the greater Cincy area, it's hard to recommend a trip here. If you happen to be close, it's worth a stop, but if I'm back in the area, it's not a course I'd be searching out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

2-4    3/18/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
Pros: Doesn't seem to be overly crowded, course provides a different variety of shots, fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Open holes get very boring, you will hate them on windy days. Open holes are close together so pay attention. Wooded holes get muddy. Some of the tee pads could use a make over
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course but it didn't blow me away either. Not sure I'd go out of my way to play it a lot. I definitely prefer Sycamore. If not for the first 6 holes being so bland, I'd have no problem bumping my rating to 4 stars.

Good Course

5+    6/22/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Great mix of distances.
Well kept.
Finish where you start.
Very low non DG traffic.
Cons: Maybe I go at the wrong times, but this is by far the most populated course I frequent. Still, it's never like throw and wait, throw and wait or anything like that.

Accuracy is needed in the woods, as you can definitely lose a disc back there.

Wooded holes can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek has a mix of asphalt (open) and rubber (wooded) tees. And while the asphalt will hold up better, if you get out there with the morning dew, you will slip and slide on the asphalt tees. Also, the open holes are really suceptible to wind. Plan on a few more mph than what you're feeling in your driveway before you go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Nice

1    6/26/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Uncrowded with easy parking
+ Very clean and well mowed
+ Water fountain halfway through the course
+ Good mix of distances with some anhyzer shots
+ Great baskets
Cons: - Out of bounds in the woods is thick and easy to get into for new players. Also a lot of poison ivy/oak there too
- Wooded holes look like they are slow to dry out and were quite muddy
- Missing some tee signage for a wood hole
- Bathrooms have a lot of bugs
Other Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed the course. The nearby RC airplanes are interesting to watch while taking a break. I took a friend who played there for the first time and she enjoyed the open holes, but not the wooded ones as much. The course is a good drive for me, so I will probably revisit in the fall or spring when throwing out of bounds in the woods won't be too worrisome for me either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Turtlecreek DGC

5+    12/15/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fast Play
- Variety of Holes
- Ends Where it starts
- Challenging for beginner - intermediate
Cons: - Open holes can become flooded
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek is just an overall good quality course. It offers two holes above 400ft to offer some distance (one is 600) and the wooded holes provide enough distance to challenge precision and well placed lines. This a good course for overall practice. Every time i've played there, there has been little to no interference from park goers. It has nice facilities for water and restrooms. Slowly becoming one of my favorite courses to go play at.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

1    11/14/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 29.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy for new players
mixed progression
clean woods, and fairways
18 holes all easy to find
family friendly, a course for everyone
Cons: too easy, in the long run....
Other Thoughts: I felt this course is nice, but I prefer more of the extreme disc golf experience

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.