Lebanon, OH 
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
5 / 410ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  great course

5+    11/21/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: mraoh88
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes. Love this course. The course is well kept and the location is awesome.
Cons: Some holes are muddy but other than that its my all time favorite course.
Other Thoughts: Love this course.
I have nothing else other than this is one is my favorite.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good mixup of holes

5+    3/1/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: fritzaj4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course that provides a challenge for both beginners and pros.
The first 6 holes, then holes 10 and 18 are all completely in an open field. These can be fairly easy or fairly difficult , depending on the wind.
The holes in the woods are such blast. They challenge you to utilize different types of shot.
One of the coolest things about this course is when the RC planes are flying by in the next field.
This is a great course if you want to get in a couple rounds of 18 in a short time.
Cons: The problem with this course is that the 8 holes in the field tend to be very bland holes to play. They never truly challenge you. When wind comes into play, these hole can becoming very annoying because the wind on this course can be unpredictable.
Hole 16 does not have a guide.
Other Thoughts: This is most likely my "home course," even though I do not the closest to it, but it since it so quick to play, I can usually play two times.

I think it is very good course, but because it lacks the variety of other courses nearby, like Monroe, so it is not a truly excellent course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/2/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: RedRebel0707
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open long drives and tight wooded drives.

This is a great course for beginners and advanced players alike. Provides challenges needed for growth

Sits right next to an RC air field.
Cons: Hole #2 needs to be a Par 2 instead of a Par 3
Other Thoughts: This would be considered my "home field." I play this course more than any other, and I love it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic mix of open and wooded!

1    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open and wooded holes. The open holes are all a ton of fun, and despite that they are all basically in a flat open field, they each managed to be unique. The small trees and shallow hills on the open holes provided just enough in the way of obstacles to make things really fun. The wooded holes were also great. All of the fairways were tight, but still very fair.
- The park itself was quite nice (though seemed to be 90% DG course).
- Despite that I played on a day with amazing weather, the park was not crowded (there were only two other people there while I was).
Cons: - Open holes might feel repetitive for some people (but did not for me).
- Some might argue that the pars are not really accurate. Ex: Hole 18 is 600 ft and a par 6. This is probably a little high. Par 4, maybe 5 would be more appropriate.
Other Thoughts: I know many people will think that 4.5 is way too high of a rating for this course, but I've played at many many different courses, and rarely found one that I enjoyed as much as this. This score is really based on the enjoyment factor that I had here. (Also, I must admit that my view of the course may be slightly inflated by the fact that many holes that could have been par 3 were par 4s and thus my score was much better than I am used to.)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: decent 18 hole course past Eagle Ridge before mason...always well mowed, half in fields, half in woods.
Cons: the wooded holes can be a doozy, some may not like the mulch in the woods.
Other Thoughts: 18 is a long hole, but i love coming here, the wooded ones are real creative.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Flyboy, but aerial nonetheless

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 292  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turtlecreek DGC is a great place to get in a round with variety (woods and open fields) AND to watch (and hear) large remote control airplanes and frequent skydivers (well...hopefully you don't hear them...that might indicate a disaster in the making). It's kind of a game of flying discs and an airshow rolled into one.
The course is well-maintained despite limited trash receptacles, and features eight open field shots that can be influenced by the frequent breezes and the few planted trees and hillocks. It has ten wooded holes that are not overly tight, but the well-defined lines can sometimes be challenging for the rec to intermediate player. A creek comes into play on a couple of holes (or more, if you do what I did last time out, and kick off a tree deep into the woods!)
Signature holes are probably the long S-bend #11 and the open 600 foot #18 (the only two holes I've yet to par, after five rounds here).
Baskets are decent, and the open tees are asphalt, while the wooded tees are flypads. The flow and design are fairly straightforward with minimal hiking between one basket and the next tee. There are usually good tee signs, and next tee signs, when needed.
The park has bathrooms, water fountains, a small kiddie play area, a walking path, and a couple of shelters, but I've not seen much other activity here besides the 'air show' and the disc golf, so it's good for the latter.
Cons: There are only a few benches on the course, which is mostly flat (though most players enjoy a variety of elevation, a relatively flat course could be a plus for older knees!).
Though there is a practice basket, the very few alternate teepads and baskets don't seem to be used much.
Well north of Lebanon, Ohio, this course is situated pretty far out from major population centers (however, it's still within a 45 minute drive for Cincinnati and Dayton players).
Other Thoughts: Just attended the Turtlecreek Open yesterday, and on a calm day, the 980 to 1020 rated players shot in the mid to upper 40's for 18 holes here, and those (ahem) who are more (shall we say) 'humble' (like me) were satisfied with 60 or better. So the course accomplishes what decent courses do: separate the wheat from the chaff. Wait..I'm chaff?!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll & Hyde

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 200  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 28.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. When in the open, the pads are concrete. When in the woods, the pads are rubber.

Decent signage, showing distance and line to the pin.

Navigation is a snap. The course flows smoothly and quickly.

Most likey, you will find something you like here (and probably something you don't)
Cons: This is a course of extremes. The first 6 holes are wide open and flat. I mean WIDE OPEN and FLAT. Very plain. Then you toss one into the woods and the majority of the back nine is ridiculously tight. I mean TIGHT. These extremes are so polarizing that I found myself wanting something in between.

Expect the course to be busy. There is a hiking trail that runs along with the course. There was plenty of traffic when I played.
Other Thoughts: Truly a hot and cold course. Personally, I much prefered the wooded holes. They were unforgiving, but most of them had defined fairways. These holes provide the only real challenge on the course. I read a couple reviews that stated there were alot of "luck" holes back here. I can see that argument but IMO they were mostly fair.

The park itself is well taken care of and trimmed tight. It was lush and green for this time of year.

Not a bad course by any means. It's worth a stop if your near by.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/9/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very flat
Very Clean
Decent range of throw options
Cons: Very Flat
The course seem to be really tight with not much room between fairways
Other Thoughts: Decent course over all, but it does get a little boring after a few times of playing. Very clean and well maintained though. If its slightly windy where you are around the Lebanon, then its probably really windy on the front 9. It is a wide open field and the wind has nothing to break it for the entire front 9. It does get hard to judge the distance shots some times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tucked Away

2-4    3/6/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: This course is good for practicing some obstacle shots. You can play this course with a small group in about 45 minutes.
Cons: This course was very muddy after the rain, so the back 9 was difficult to venture through.
Other Thoughts: This course had a nice mix of open long drive holes and short obstacles holes.

 Great beginner course

5+    3/1/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: zugthug1705
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice clean park
-Easy-to-follow course layout
-Pretty nice tee pads

Cons: -Not much of a challenge, especially outside the woods
-Wind can be a factor
Other Thoughts: Unless you frown upon a course with holes under 300 feet, this is a fun course to play. There is a 600-foot hole 18, which is a nice wrap-up after throwing mostly fairway drivers in the woods. I've seen people ranging from ages 5 to 65 enjoying this course and I've never found it to be really crowded

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.